Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Château St. Gerlach 4 stars

Joseph Corneli Allée 1, 6301 KK Valkenburg, Netherlands

#2 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 961 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lightning in the room. A place to put my beauty case in the bathroom.

    Rich breakfast Beautiful grounds. The free umbrella when we needed it. Nice to dogs. The sculptures. The detailed explanation for the walk in the Ingendael

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our GPS did bring us to a closed gate, the entrance was 200m further away on a different street, no signage where to go. GPS position should be updated!!!

    A perfect stay!!! Good beds, very clean, very quiet. A very good breakfast! Well trained staff, friendly and helpful The park surrounding the hotel is stunning! We enjoyed every minute here. Can not write anything bad about it, so I will stop!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a minor point but it got a bit warm in the rooms in the evenings. There is a desk fan in each room, but no air conditioning. Actually no AC is fine - after all it is a charming rustic chateau, not a modern hotel.

    The staff was super friendly and extremely considerate. Restaurants were amazing - I have no idea why the Resturant doesn't have a Michelin star! The SPA was a bit expensive but quite good. The estate was very well maintained. You can goon a long stroll in the garden/forest with a picnic basket (available at reception). Parking is very convenient and had good wifi connectivity throughout the estate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning and gardening staff would enter the apartment/terrace without sufficient knocking. Otherwise - an amazing and super relaxing stay!!

    The gardens were stunning! We had a one-bedroom apartment that was terrific and very relaxing. Though the price for having our dog with us was high (€30/night) they were VERY pet friendly and even brought him a bed, a bowl and dog biscuits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inner staircases in the apartments are very steep. The beds and pillows are not very comfortable and the rooms on the upper floor are a bit too warm in spring/summer.

    The property is amazing with the surrounding park and spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the very first time we were unsatisfied with our stay. It lacked the extra ordinary attention this chateau pays to every detail in reaching the highest level of comfort. This time not.

    The chateau is five star + level. We stay here at least two times per year. It is our all time favourite. The ambiance, the luxury and every detail is looked after.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't have anything I didn't like

    I am lactose intolerant and it was no problem to find enough at the breakfast buffet to eat. They even could make a lactose-free cappuccino which I had never had before. Superb! Also there was a wide range of choice from croissants to eggs to sweet pastries and fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wonderful stay at St Gerlach. The hotel is in a beautiful setting. Rooms are big and very comfortable, staff is excellent and dinner in the restaurant Bistro Liege was a very good experience with delicious food and outstanding service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the whole experience, zero to complain about!

    their restaurant is superb, we tried the tasting menu, fabulous choice, would definitely go back again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to use shower due to low hanging beam (anybody taller than 1.85 will have this problem in that particular room), but the bath with Kneipp tablet was great.

    Spacious room, beautiful estate, great facilities and excellent staff. Dinner and breakfast were excellent as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One staff member misinformed us about how long of a walk it was to the town. She said about 15 minute walk and it was actually 45. We are very fit but we would have planned differently knowing it was that long...I should have checked myself, but she seemed very knowledgeable. We took a taxi back; we got the number from the Tourist Information and the restaurant called it for us and that worked out very nicely.

    The two bedroom two bathroom apartment was very very nice! The pool was very comfortably warm on a cool evening. I was the only one in the pool area and it felt very luxurious! We wish we had more time to spend on the grounds as they were very pretty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small rooms are small indeed, the larger rooms provide more space but seem empty due to the way they are decorated.

    The staff is very friendly, competent and quick. I rarely have stayed in a hotel where help and maintenance arrives so quickly when you call the reception. The breakfast buffet is wonderful and has further improved since our last stay. Reasonable variety, many sustainably grown products produced in their own garden. All very tasty. The sitting areas on the ground floor and around the bar look incredibly cosy and inviting. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is good but quite a walking distance from the main complex where we stayed. Likewise the Spa & Wellness - you can change before entering, but it is cramped with just a few cubicles - you have to wait in line ... Or change in your room & then walking outside with bathrobe to Spa & Wellness (no problem in summer but during midwinter with wet hair). Newspapers are available but must be bought.

    Very friendly & helpful staff. The surrounding fields and gardens are beautiful and you can make lovely walks. Good breakfasts. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel! Enjoyed every single second of our stay. Spacious room with an extremely comfy bed. Great facilities, friendly and helpful staff! Amazing view with beautiful gardens, located less than 10 mins from Valkenburg city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ate a meal in the Bistrot restaurant - portions were beautifully presented but quite small - more like haute cuisine than a bistrot. The personnel in the new coffee bar were un-friendly which was a pity as the level of service elsewhere in the hotel is excellent.

    Beautiful property with excellent facilities. We are a family of five and stayed in an appartment which gave us more space but we could still enjoy all of the excellent facilities attached to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The central heating was constantly turned up full, each time we turned it off again. There should be some hooks in the bedroom and bathroom for towels and bathrobes.

    Great apartment for the 4 of us. Loved that each bedroom had an en-suite. Kitchen was pretty well equipped which allowed us to have breakfast in the apartment. Really nice touch that you could borrow umbrellas to walk around the grounds and between the buildings. We ate in the bistro and the food was absolutely delicious and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this location, just be sure to book spa treatments well in advance. We were sadly too late but enjoyed the pool and sauna nevertheless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst everything at the hotel was nice, if you are going to charge 5 star prices you expect a 5 star stay. The rooms are very dated and the shower has no power at all. At breakfast, it is a standard buffet with poor coffee and the OJ wasn't fresh! In the spa, there are very limited changing facilities and only one shower!

    Everything was fine - I thought the service was good and all of the staff were pleasant and friendly. The restaurant is particularly good with great food, atmosphere and service! Also the spa is pleasant and the grounds and location are beautiful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is in a beautiful location, set back from the road and screened by trees so it's really quiet. The bistro served excellent food and the service was perfect. The pool was great - it's always a bonus if it's more of an exercise pool. There was a great choice of food at breakfast. The staff were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we had to leave :(

    My husband and I spent our babymoon at Chateau St. Gerlach. We loved how peaceful and relaxing it was but that there was still a lot to do on the grounds and in the nearby town. We LOVED the breakfast buffet and the staff are amazing! We spent a lot of time relaxing by the pool, renting rubber boots and going for walks in the field just behind the property and just exploring the area. The restaurant is also great and we will definitely come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More electric car chargers please on the own parking lot. All 4 were occupied and we had to charge our car at the very beginning of the compound. We found the food from the bistro a bit out of balance. Our starter was good but the main course (a pasta dish) was too simple. A salad on the side would make it a bit better but there was not any. Plus the menu of the bistro for lunch and dinner is the same, we found the choice too limited in this respect. Also the food at the coffee place Mr. quick was below our standard.

    Friendly staff, great “babyphone service”, lovely breakfast and comfy beds, sculpture garden is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we requested a bright and very quiet room in our booking, we were allocated room no. 104 on the ground floor. When we arrived at 19.30 h it was dark outside so only noticed the next morning (staying two nights) and didn't want to change room, it is rather dark and also guests above noisy early in the morning walking about with high heeled shoes on stone floor (when mentioned at check-out staff made a mark - for the next stay - that we prefer a bright room). Bathroom walls and grouting around bath also could do with a renovation. The spa and pool (good size with 14 m) is in an outer building so no direct access from hotel room, sauna small and a bit "dated"/rustique.

    Very nice country estate with an interesting art exhibition in the vast park, beautiful baroque church and museum part of the complex (a former convent and farm), classy and beautifully furnished restaurant (pricy), very nice Bistro Liege, good food, and nice coffee shop on the premises; very good breakfast buffet (even though also pricy at 27 Euros), nice big pillow and goodies for our small dog (30 Euros per day). Christian Lacroix toiletries. Very close to motorway and yet in the country. Maastricht only 10 min.by car worth seeing and good for shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were placed in a noisy room near the entrance. We were kept up past midnight by a large group of raucous Chinese tourists walking and talking outside the room. Some money could be spent on a) sound proofing the room or b) changing the hallway tiles to carpet like other hotels. The room was stuffy and not well ventilated, turning on the air conditioning did not help ventilate the room well or bring down the temperature. The bathroom was very old, at least twenty years old but functional so no complaints other than that it did not look good. Our main issue was the bed, which had a memory foam mattress and pillows! We slept very badly on the memory foam (getting less than 4 hours sleep) and decided to cut our stay short when staff were unable/unwilling to move us to another room with a traditional bed. Another minus point was the fact that no bottled water was provided in the rooms free of charge, this is something expected from hotels at half the price.

    The restaurant staff were very welcoming and worked hard to meet my wife's lengthy dietary requests. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast service could be improved somewhat with a barrista service for bespoke espresso's and cappuccino's; more room to walk around the buffet would be welcomed too

    Château St. Gerlach is our favourite hide away: the gardens and nearby forest are great for walks, the hotel rooms are spacious and very clean, the gourmet restaurant serves beauitiful dinner and exclusive wines in a stunningly classy setting. We always enjoy the pool and sauna, the friendliness of the staff (now also reachable via WhatsApp) and the privacy the hotel offers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - confirmation email - really pushy with a focus on an up-sell (not even personalized as we chose the highest possible standard of a room, so it was impossible to upgrade) - mold in a bathroom - no information about wifi provided

    - beautiful buildings and a park - exceptional sunrise over meadows - free parking space - welcome package for a dog (even a dog was surprised) - a gift from a hotel for our wedding anniversary

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and Spa were super! Just the entire athmosphere was super great. Was there with my husband and another couple and it was such an enjoyble experience! For a Weekend I felt like i was part of the royal familly :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    St Gerlach is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Yer its expensive, but the price is justified, the venue has a lot to offer (useful when its raining lots). Its a stones throw from Maastricht and Valkenburg and easy to get to thanks to free shuttle bus. All the staff a supper a friendly and do their upmost to make sure your stay is comfortable. The room was big and comfortable. All in all a great place to stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved it

    This was the 9 th time I went here , it's a gem , plucked the sweetest pears from the orchards , the pool and sauna are incomparable , it feels like home . Never want to get out . So much culture and beauty within the ch .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception did not pass on our booking to the fine dining restaurant, although they fitted us in we felt unwanted all evening. The bill was very expensive and we felt the service in no way reflected the cost. We had to wait ages every morning for a decaf coffee because the machine wasn't working properly. There are lots pf great places to eat in nearby Valkenburg

    The gardens are beautiful and the area is very peaceful. The treatments in the Spa are lovely. Our suite had a nice lounge area and a kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am allergic to the perfume sprayed around the entrance to hotel. I finally mentioned it and they did not spray it again. I am very allergic to perfume.

    Beautiful, spacious , peaceful ,and lovely staff. It was a step back in time and I loved The sense of the history of St. Gerlach.and I much appreciated the hotel taking care of booking the limo business car service for me. It was luxurious and relieved much anxiety for a solo woman traveler.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The deluxe room was dark, no air conditioning and the bathroom was cramped. Breakfast was expensive and buffet style. No freshly cooked eggs, just covered serving dishes on a heating device with scrambled eggs and bacon. Service was not good for breakfast .

    Superb Bistro. Excellent food and good service. Pleasant gardens to walk around and interesting sculptures. Bar open till late. Location is rural but near to the motorways . Clean fresh towels twice a day if required.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent place to stay for first family getaway with newborn, very welcoming to young family and all staff was very helpful and friendly to us and our 6 week old daughter. Overall very relaxing stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hot in room - apartment furniture looked outdated; restaurant (one of reasons to go here) was fully booked and could not seat us

    Nice green surroundings, beautiful castle - really nice to have lunch outside on a sunny day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was upstairs and the shower could not be used by my husband as the ceilng was too low. And getting in the shower is an issue as you need to make a large step to get in and get out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband complained about the mattress - was too soft and his back was in pain.

    The garden was beautiful, the bistrot was very good. The swimming pool was lovely and the SPA very good as well. The staff very polite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant disappointed on this visit. We have dined there half a dozen times and this time dishes were small, unimaginative and overcooked. Also the Spa and particularly the outside area is in need of an overhaul. The property has so many incredible views but the Spa looks at hedges by the parking lot ...

    The property, the hospitality service and the serene location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My negative experience with the hotel started when I tried to change from the room only to room+breakfast booking ( I made a mistake while booking by not choosing this option in the beginning), which would mean that we pay extra 22,50 eur p/P for breakfast, instead of 27 eur p/P at the hotel. However, it was not possible to do it online, so Booking contacted the hotel and they agreed to change to room+breakfast option for me but asked me to pay extra 168 eur for 2 days breakfast, which means 42 eur p/P a day !!! To say that I was shocked is to say nothing !!! I requested the change in order to pay 22,50 eur for breakfast instead of 27 eur and they tried to charge me 42 eur. I still keep the email because the hotel stated that it was not so. The room did not look nice at all, small size, very dark, extremely hot, ugly colours. Our room is not even on the pictures on Booking website. The breakfast for 27 eur was very poor. No beans, no variety of cooked eggs apart from the only omelet, no pancakes, no variety of bakery apart from plain croissants, no potato, no pudding or something similar and many more "no". It was the most expensive hotel breakfast in my life and the poorest. I was so upset that the second morning we went to eat downtown and spent twice less money for better breakfast. In the evening we tried to eat in the hotel restaurant at least to understand why it is called a castle because I saw nothing from the castle and it appeared that the restaurant was fully booked. Keep in mind that you need to book it long in advance. When we went to the swimming pool, we were shocked to see dozens of small kinds under the age of 6, who were jumping, screaming, playing ball in the pool and there was nowhere to swim for adults. Not to mention that all sunbeds were occupied, so we had to sit on the chairs indoor listening to the terrible noise of crying and screaming kind and asked for clean towels and there was none.

    Decoration in the lobby. The bed was big and soft.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was overcharged for room by hotel. One month on still waiting for promised refund. Room (125) was dark. Understandably so in old farmhouse but could have been sorted with some thought in the room lighting. Tried to charge me for 2 x breakfast for 2x nights. As soon as I queried this it was knocked off the bill. This makes me think it is something they do structurally. Bottom line - check your bill! Found insulin syringe in the mini bar. Obviously it had not been checked properly.This would tie in with the drink from the mini bar they tried to charge me for on check out.

    Nice location, beautiful gardens, generally competent staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both hotel restaurants were fully booked but when we went to one of them in the evening we found so many empty tables. Also I was not offered to be in the waiting list. The hotel staff at the pool was totally unfriendly.

    It is located in a very pretty area. The forest is also right next to it. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me personally the bathroom over bath shower was quite awkward as I'm 6' tall and because the room we had was on the first floor I found that the sloping ceiling was a bit of a restriction. And similarly if you are a shorter person the bath is very high. The in house restaurants are great places to eat but very expensive to eat in.

    The room was very well appointed comfy bed and everything that is needed for a relaxing time. Hotel and grounds are excellent and if you have the time take the Hotel's shuttle to Mastricht a great experience and free!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a Large bathroom, there was hardly any space to put toiletbag ,make up etc.

    Good beds, good pillows. Very Nice China in apartment, Nice appliances in kitchenette.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An extra window in the room. was a bit dark.

    Great atmosphere and pleasant to be at the hotel. Everyone should try the 30 mins walk along the small stream in the valley.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately our baby got high fever and we had to leave before the night and we did not have the time to try the facilities. Given the high luxury price for one night which we did not use at the end, we missed at least a minimal gesture (e.g. voucher for next time, reduced price,...) from the hotel for this unfortunate event. Of course this is not an obligation but would have been human and appreciated. Besides our one bedroom apartment was not cleaned properly, looked like it was not used for some time. Book in advance a table in one of the restaurants as both were fully booked and it is only open for couple of hours in the evening.

    Great place for a romantic stay. We were taken by a golf car to our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They allow dogs on the property, but not in the shuttle service to Maastricht.

    The atmosphere is very cosy. Nature is their backyard. The old castle is well designed. Great rooms, very nice breakfast buffet. The new restaurant Quickx on the property is great for lunch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms old fashioned ! Urgent make-over needed and certainly some fresh paint. No place left for clothes due to mini-bar and safe. Hairdryer : very poor for such a hotel Bath not suitable for elderly people : to high to step in.

    The superb location ! Friendly staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pleasant memories and want to come back to you again! Cozy chateau, flowering gardens, singing birds and grazing wild horses and bulls! Delicious restaurants and an excellent pool! What more could you wish for!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is at the edge of river wetlands. Refurbishments of the room ceilings with concrete does not quite fit

    We loved the happy and friendly service and the pool area. The Sauna is quite smallish and a cold water tub is missing. The restaurant is recommendable and breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shuttle could not find us, and decided to leave the meeting point without even calling. We had to wait 1 hour until the vehicle came back.

    Superb breakfast. Very nice environment and atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The changing rooms for the swimming pool were a bit too small, especially if you have young children in toe. Otherwise great hotel with amazing facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    draining water in bathroom, all that we put on the window ended up extremely wet, NOISE! we went for a 6km walk around the grounds, and in the Woods. The noise NEVER stopped, the motorway and the traintrack being just in front of the hotel

    great breakfast but no choice of eggs and this for 27 euro. friendliness of the staff historical landmark

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. This place is awesome and we'll repeat ;)

    The swimming pool and the saunas were great, we loved it so much that we spent there at least 1 hour every day. Also it wasn't crowded at all. The whole area is very beatiful and relaxing. There are several buildings and a very big courtyard from which you can take very long walks to the fields and hills around. The bistrot restaurant was fancy and the food was really incredible. If you like to experience elaborated food, you will have a wonderful experience. A bit expensive of course, but really worth it. The meat was delicious and the restaurant small and 5-star level. You have also a new coffee-burger place close-by, so there are other possibilities right there depending on your needs. The room was a big surprise, spacious, with access to a small terrace, old but fancy furniture. It was cozy and romantic. It's definitely the place you want to take your partner for a Valentine's Day.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The park, grass-flower horticulture yard decoration does not befit the castle. Could and should be much much better. The welcome and greeting approach at the hotel can be more personal and focused on the customer.It is a Chateau after all

    Exclusivity feeling, the church, the spa, the beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better coffee for breakfast. In my opinion, for such an establishment coffee and tea should really be on the house. Sauna and steam room a little dated,needs modernizing. Little touches like small towels in the toilets instead of paper towels. You see this in lesser establishments. Better communication between reception and spa &wellness. Could not book spa treatment at reception or indeed they would not ring the center to reserve treatments for me and my partner. I had to do it myself... not a problem, but didn't understand why it could not be done by reception or indeed why they did not have visibility of the agenda from the spa & wellness. All in all..Just little touches needed that really differentiate this luxury hotel from others.

    Staff very friendly especially in the spa and wellness. Food in restaurant and bistro excellent. Rooms very comfortable and well appointed. Surroundings very picturesque and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa area expected better equipped with more space, but not a real problem. Staff little unattentive.

    Very good bed. One sleeps like baby. Pleasant overall atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and bathroom facilities of the luxurous room should get an upgrade.

    Location is very romantic and facilities are good. Breakfast, including salmon cava and superfoods, was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The SPA area and the rooms require a renovation. Had to pay extra 30€/night for the pet, which was not mentioned on booking.

    Beautiful location, good food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a bit expensive.

    Great location. Enjoyed staying at the 2-bedroom apartment which was suitable for family. Room service dinner was also great. Breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a mess. Dirty towels everywhere, no clean towels, out of date and dirty sauna. Hotel seems to attract many families with children so quite noisy everywhere.

    The looks of the hotel are stunning

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seems dated, carpet and couch a bit worn. Bathroom also pretty basic.

    Excellent bed, large room It is a beautiful chateau. Dinner was superb, the sommelier was a pleasure. The grounds, garden art and orchard are wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms themselves are clean but a bit basic for the price and compared to the other facilities.

    The chateau and its park are wonderful! The food at the bistro is excellent (better perhaps than in the more expensive restaurant).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs full length mirror and a Nespresso set up for an easy cup of coffee. It's hard to fault much but the bathrooms do not reach the level of the suites. The need an update, a walk-in shower and water pressure.

    Charming rooms, great bed. The tranquility of the property, the charm of the Chateau, the history of the refuge and St. Gerlach. The restaurant is good although I would applaud if they would venture off the dated menu formula. By my count this was our 5th stay and we will certainly be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit boring could have been a bathroom anywhere not a 5star chateau, shower in the bath, bedroom although beautifully done was too dark and a bit oppressive.

    Beautifully decorated, gorgeous food, lovely grounds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Beautiful location. Vast property. Great room. Great breakfast. Great, great dinner, and wonderful homemade type champagne. Walking distance from Valkenburg.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a two bedroomed two floor apartment which we found to be very dated and without air conditioning which would have an influence on me returning. Another comment is that for the amount payed for the room an addtional payment of €81 for breakfast for 3 persons seems a bit unreasonable

    Overall the location and property was what I expected.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little hot at night. We would have enjoyed the coffee from the bistro (excellent) to be available in the morning too.

    Our dog was in 7th heaven swimming in the river and rolling on the lawns. For us the pool and spa was an ideal place to relax and rejuvenate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heath in the room but sleeping with open windows did the trick very well

    attentive staff; great surroundings and buildings; our family dinner outside was a special moment

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature - no airco. Fortunately outside temperature was low, opening the windows helped.

    Appartment size, surroundings, spa. Great restaurants and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I opted to pay now instead of at the hotel, but you waited til after the outcome of the in or out euro, so I was charged a lot more, the reason I opted to pay now was to avoid the very thing you did!.... Very very disappointed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water in room Shower only in bath and bath sides too high for my wife to get in. Extra price on check in for terrace off room which could not be used as overgrown with bamboo and hoards of flies and no fly killer available in hotel.

    Meal in the bistro

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive breakfast, could do with a cheap option. Little options on the menu

    The apartment was excellent, great for two couples as 2 en suites. Grounds of the hotel are stunning.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room smelled a bit weird but once we told them we got it changed automatically

    The service and the facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit old fashioned and without AC.

    The location is amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Roman swimming pool was fantastic but the water didn't feel like 29 degrees as advised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast variety can be improved

    Very nice place for a quick get away. Charming nature , very cool to bike around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent!the service was very good too!the surroundings were fabolous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    swimming pool was gorgeus. Spa facilities were quite OK too. Nice room. The area surronding the castle is very nice. The church is impressive

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Château St. Gerlach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: