Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De Gerstekorrel 3 stars

Damstraat 22, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 JM Amsterdam, Netherlands

#290 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1325 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The staff are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply nothing...

    U've been to amsterdam more than 6 times, this is the best location you value for money hotel you can ever find. Yes Book immediatly and don't give 2 thoughts about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Good location, great and kind staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet doesn’t work properly (it seems that only permit one person at time), but you can deal with it; doesn’t have elevator, so don’t bring huge luggage!

    Good location, great and kind staff! You can leave your luggage and going for a walk, even if you already check out (love this).. great breakfast! The rooms are comfy and clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Friday, clean. Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not so great. Very little choice.

    The location is absolutely perfect, the staff were very friendly. We have stayed before and will be staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Location - Central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a rat in our room! The manager didn’t do anything about it, said we have to stay in there for the night and then he’ll attempt to do something in the morning and give us a complimentary bottle of wine. Managed to get a refund the next day after kicking off on the phone to the manager and forced to sleep in the luggage room as the couldn’t accommodate us anywhere else. Absolutely disgusting! Would never stay her again.

    Location - Central to everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff friendly and room comfortable for short stay,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk to 4th floor, had to stop and take a break at the third before reaching my room, good workout though.

    Staff friendly and room comfortable for short stay, excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Super staff, clean rooms, perfect location for those wanting lots of activity
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A downfall for of being in a lively area is the noise. With the warm weather, and windows open, we could hear people on the street below all night long. Also, we were on the third floor of steep winding stairs which may be A problem for some people. The bathroom was very small and we needed to leave the door open while using the toilet because we were Too tall. It reminded me of a cruise ship bathroom.

    The staff was fantastic. So so helpful and truly great ambassadors for their hotel and their city. What a top notch staff!!! The hotel is right off of Dam Square so in a fun lively area. It is easily walkable to other parts of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Just good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel didn't have air conditioner, and we were there in VERY hot days so it was quite difficult to be confortable to sleep. The breakfast wasn't good, very few options and not so good... the room wasn't very clean when we arrived.

    the hotel is very well located, very close to red light st, pubs, bars and restaurant. Very easy to take tram to make city tours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    amazing city, amazing location, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i thought previous reviews about the stairs were exaggerating however it was very tough getting up to the 4th floor especially after a night out but that is what you should expect in amsterdam no matter where you go. the room was very simple and smaller than i expected for the price we paid. we definitely paid for the spectacular location which in the end we were very grateful for.

    the staff were very friendly and so helpful with everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Wouldn’t change a thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room, and although they provided a fan, it wasn’t working very well.

    Perfect location, room was small but cute! Staff were so helpful and friendly. 100% would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Right in the heart of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast is a little plain if you are staying more than a few days.

    Staff are friendly and helpful. Location for accessing transport and many sights of Amsterdam is great - though rooms facing the very busy Damstraat will be noisy, especially on the weekends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was the size of a broom closet. No room at all. The toilet and sink are in the shower. The flat screen was the size of a IPad. We walked up 56 steps to our attic. Very poor job in remodeling, was not finished, see pictures. Sorry pictures are upside down.

    Was close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location with plenty to,do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is very busy and noisy especially Saturday night.

    Really central location with plenty going on around the hotel and around 10 mins walk from central station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, poor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. No elevator - hard to get to the 3rd floor with the dutch stairs... 2. Since the hotel is on the main street there is a lot of noise outside 3. The breakfast is too simple

    Best location in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very happy with everything from start to finish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like.

    Everything about our stay was perfect. The check in was quick and easy, the decor was lovely. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room although a little small was comfy and had everything we needed. Only thing I would suggest is some milk for the tea in the morning. The location of the hotel was perfect and so close to everything we needed. I can’t fault it at all. We were very happy and would definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    I will never be back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no wifi in the room. I had to go outside to connect my phone with the internet. When i complained about the wifi to the reception, they didnt do anything to help. The place is noisy during the night and the breakfast is very poor!

    The location was excellent in the middle of the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced hotel, breakfast was poor, some staff were rude, shower drowned the place, small room, no bar in hotel. Noisy neighbors.

    Location was excellent, clean room, comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could of been improved a little but the coffee was good

    Amazing location! Cute cozy hotel perfect for a 2-3 night stay, friendly staff and good price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Final: as someone who appreciates room space and vibe more than location, I would go for an apartmen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay: the stairs were horrendous but i imagine the same situation for other hotels. I stayed at an apartment about 15min metro ride away from here and there were lifts but its in Amsterdam south and further from city. Room was tiny.. and toilet was even tinier....... Nevertheless I had a good night rest.

    Location: great, literally street beside Dam Square but noisy till 3am due to people on the streets! Breakfast: got it free with booking. Small spread but hearty meal :)) I'm a bread/butter/eggs person for breakfast so it was more than good for me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not look at all the same as on photos! Reaching the room was a challenge, narrow stairs and upper floor, room without airconditioner, toilet and shower were like a matchbox. On booking.com room photos were big windows, in reality there was one small window, no air at all, then we kindly asked to change the room due to my health problem, first they offered a fan instead of a room change!!! Then had got slightly better room. Not fair value for the money at all! Breakfast was very poor! Room photo and the breakfast selection added! Only value is the location, but this not worth the value we paid. As its was my birthday trip I was truly disappointed of the hotel, we booked by the photos, nice, spacious room with big windows and we’ve got spaceroom instead.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small The stairs was high and narrow No elevator No one help us no carry the bags

    The location was great The breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Ideal central location for a short break but expect some street noise. Would still recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central location inevitably means that the street outside is pretty grotty and busy - people rather than traffic. We had three rooms, all were significantly different in size but charged at the same rate Some rooms face the street which is very busy at night - earplugs a must for light sleepers! It is expensive but you are paying for the central location which is convenient for a short stay. At c£200 per night it would have been nice to have a basic breakfast included - but the patisserie next door makes up for it!

    The location literally couldn't be more central. Nice staff. Spotlessly clean. The patisserie next door!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    The price was very high for a room with no breakfast included, even though the location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could smell the drains in the bathroom and our room was right opposite an extractor fan or a coffee/breakfast shop which was very noisy, so you couldn't have the window open at night. So with no AC we couldn't moderate air. But you can't do much about it and I guess other rooms were better.

    Beds were very comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Gr8 place but dont stay on high floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that our room was on the 3rd floor stair are supper straight as if ur going up 10 floor instead of 3

    The bed super good as for the location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, helpful staff.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic, but good for the price paid. The stairs!! There is no lift however we was aware of this prior too booking luckily requested a low floor!

    Staff where fantastic, friendly and couldn’t do more to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great room comfy beds just a bit to noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy in our room even tho we were on the top floor the noise from the street woke me up each morning. But the location is worth the noise your right in the heart of Amsterdam. The only other thing is the 65 steps upto the room was a killer i wouldnt recommend for anyone thats unfit but again we knew this before we booked and it was still worth the location

    The beds where very comfy and the room was spotless clean. The staff were very friendly also. The location is the best in Amsterdam

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.3
    Won't go here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No value for money. Didn't sleep. Run down like hell. Super noisy. Heating doesn't work. Sheets for a midget. Bad wifi.

    Friendly person at desk, the only positive thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Words can’t describe Amsterdam it is a magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Bit of a earlier check in and a letter check out time wuold be nice but in no way a bad point the hotel is great!

    The very close proximity of de wallen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Amazing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't have a safe inside the room, which were not aware of.

    Everything! The location was amazing, the staff was very helpful. The room was small but conviniate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Loved every minute of Amsterdam and will be back again to stay in the future :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs 😂

    The bed was very comfy , The room was cosy and warm😍 . Great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful.. Stayed there in 2017 and also stayed in 2018 and would defintely stay there again in the future :) ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.8
    Expensive hotel, great location but would recommend another place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, and very steep and narrow stairs Luggage room horrible - tiny with almost no place at all to keep your belongings Rooms are pretty tiny Bathroom tiny and not so clean Overall not a very good value for the expensive price

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    4.6
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very steep stairs and literally no help from staff to lift luggage. This was a huge disappointment. - no room service what so ever. Not even for water - heater ineffective. Takes 2 hours to start

    Central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Fab location! Good price. Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No communal area, very tight and narrow hallways. No lift. Small room, especially bathroom. Was fine for a couple of nights, staying with close friends.

    Location was perfect! Very close to main Dam square, but not near the dodgy area of Red Light District. Walking distance to everything. Adequate breakfast. Our room was located just down the road from the main hotel and reception/breakfast area. Wasn’t a problem for us, but you can’t go to brekky in your pj’s! If there was a problem we had a phone in our room and could call reception if necessary. Keycard per person.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    The location couldn't be any better, we were literally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the 4th floor which was a bit of a work out every time we went to our room.

    The location couldn't be any better, we were literally in the heart of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was cobwebs on the roof of the room and the shower wasn't spotless

    Perfect location, staff are extremely helpful especially the American woman. Rooms are lovely and comfy beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.1
    Very good location - people moving in the stairs make it noisy..!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator and if you have huge baggage then this hotel may not be your liking. Also the stairs are very small and could hear all night people walking and talking in the stairs.

    Location was perfect and very near to Dam Square. Tiny room with all the facilities, happy to see a hot water kettle which was plus considering the weather. Thanks for keeping it. Will surely recommend for one day stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    Bed comfortable and location, size of room disappointing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos on the web site did not match reality.

    Bed comfortable and location, size of room disappointing and a double bed against two walls would be ideal if the room was given to a couple. Bathroom extremely small and not much room to hang clothes. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel and fantastic friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell coming from the downstairs pizza restaurant that was quite confronting and at times disturbing.

    Bed was so comfy and cosy, room was very well decorated and the perfect size for a couple. Views right out to the beautiful streets with great thermal control and such a wonderful and central location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Exactly what I was looking for!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely & clean hotel, the staff are very friendly & cant do enough to help. The location of this gym is brilliant, it’s approximately 1 min away from Dam square. Would definitely stat there again myself & recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    The bed is soft like a cloud, the food is good and it’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well you have to take stairs to your room because the building doesnt have an elevator, but it is because they have strict rules to keep the building as origin as it is..So you’ll need extra power to take your big baggage to your room ;)

    The bed is soft like a cloud, the food is good and it’s surrounded by all the things you want to see in amsterdam, super love

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    -the staff is very friendly,especially LIZA because i was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the staff is very friendly,especially LIZA because i was facing a problem and she insisted to help me,I really can’t thank her enough & I appreciate her effort and sincere attitude. -the location is perfect -the hotel is nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is perfect, if you value being in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in a very noisy street and the rooms are not soundproof. You can hear other guests talking through the walls. We booked the twin room, which was on the 4th floor without elevator. I seriously do not recommend this hotel if you have bad knees. The bathroom was disappointing. When we got there, there was pubic hair on the toilet. We called reception and they had the toilet cleaned immediately. It still makes you doubt the overall cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was freezing cold, there was no heating. Bad smells came from the shower drain hole. We had to close the bathroom door absolutely. If you're willing to go outside of the city center, there are lots of better hotels.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, if you value being in the city center. It's near Dam Square and the shopping streets. The staff is very helpful, polite and kind. They offered us a drink when there were problems with the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location, right next to the dam square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room had a shelf that didn't allow us to connect the beds, very useless

    Great location, right next to the dam square. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    hotel was fine, but avoid booking,com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel was fine. but really, booking.com have scammed me on my next hotel (and on my previous one, in Iceland) so book with someone else.

    hotel was fine. but really, booking.com have scammed me on my next hotel (and on my previous one, in Iceland) so book with someone else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Front desk people very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk people very friendly and helpful. Neat and clean. Very well located, ten minutes walk to central station. Small room but nice. Only a carry on will do. Bigger luggage I assume would be a problem to go up and down the narrow stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    For short trip it is 100% recommended, not the most romantic hotel, though practical.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is really small with a tiny shower

    The location is excellent, right in the middle of the down town. If you want to explore the city walking, that is one of the best places for that. Tons of restaurants in the same street, you can feel the energy of the city right by coming out of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    A fantastic stay, would definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel walls are very thin- I could hear every little thing the person next door was doing! The location is so close to Dam square that it does get noisy, by I was too tired from exploring the city to notice!

    The bed was very comfortable. The location was superb.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Friendly and very helpful staff, they gave us later...
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs were narrow and we had the room at the top (5th floor) it is quite exhausting, but I guess nothing can be done about it.

    Friendly and very helpful staff, they gave us later check-out time because we arrived at the hotel very late the night before. Clean room. Perfect for a night and maybe even longer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was in an ideal location to Dam Square, very central for tourists! Would def return there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs.. wow there was an awful lot of steps up to the 4th floor! We got a little work out every day climbing those steps :)

    Breakfast menu was quiet varied, something for everyone. It was ideal start to a full on day of being a tourist. The beds were excellent, had great nights sleep. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Expensive accommodation but worth it for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast was limited. Beds were very very soft. Builders outside bedroom window so had to leave curtains closed at all times for privacy & comfort. Builders working from 8am Friday morning loudly banging.

    Location was excellent just off Dam Square & The Red Light District. 24hour staff who were very friendly. Safe area & lots of shops, restaurants, cafes on the doorstep. Walking distance from all tourist attractions, train station & tram lines.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    very good location, helpful staff, WiFi working very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very steep stairs (nb! there is warning about it on booking.com), but was fun to climb them especially down

    very good location, helpful staff, WiFi working very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    The atmosphere and overall experience in the hotel and around was incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major but the breakfast choice was pretty limited, but I don't think you should go to Amsterdam to have a nice breakfast. There's so many shops, cafes and restaurants around that you have too many options haha. I just though the option of hot food would've been nice.

    Thought the staff, beds and room space was great. Location was possibly one of the best for the money we paid. Lisa at reception was lovely she even gave us extra time to check out since we had a late One the night before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.0
    The beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was inflated for this low budget hotel. The room was clean but small, the whole bathroom got wet when you took a shower. Noise from other rooms and outside prevented us from sleeping. The street is lively all night.

    The beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Great little place to explore Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was horrible. At night it was hard to sleep because of all the street traffic and people outside in this super popular location.

    Great staff, small clean room, fantastic location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable quiet place to stay in the craziness that is the Dam Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    68 narrow winding stairs. Glad we only had backpacks

    Location was so convenient to the city centre. Historic building but updated small but comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    The staff were friendly and very helpful, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small, especially for a triple room, windows didn’t shut tight and as it’s a very busy street it was very loud and hard to sleep! Wee were given a room change to accommodate the noise but it was still very noisy

    The staff were friendly and very helpful, the location is great right beside dam square. They were happy to help us with some changes we wanted to make. Stairs are a nightmare but is to be expected in Amsterdam, helped keep us fit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    clean, comfortable. reception lady lovely and helpful, great location for all the fun, quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    price was a little high, breakfast was very early for late night entertainment missed 2 out of 3, no fault of hotel just something to think about ....maybe mini fridge for room with breakfast items in might help

    location brilliant for all you need seconds away from centre,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay in an affordable hotel at short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator ... only stairs .... no fun with heavy bags. Rooms were a little stuffy.... had to use fan to circulate the air.

    Complimentary breakfast was excellent. Convenient to centre of town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug socket near mirror for hairdryer.

    Very central location, walkable to all popular attractions, on the edges of the lively areas but close to the Jordaan and more picturesque areas with good restaurants nearby. Helpful friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Lots of variety for breakfast constantly replenished. Main hotel building has wider and less steep stairs than many Amsterdam buildings. 24 hour reception felt very safe any problems resolved quickly. Luggage storage area available on leaving day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Lively location, walkable to much, well connected by public transport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lively central location with a lot of advantages. Easy walk to the Metro. Easy walk to Damrak. Edge of the Red Light District. Stones throw from Central Station. Tidy hotel no different to many in that area, i.e. steep twisty stairs, narrow but tall, qwerky rooms. Clean and efficient. Typical Dutch breakfast. i.e. nothing cooked. Easy 24 hour a day access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    All was good and within and above expectations
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Lisa (been there 14 years) Comprehensive continental breakfast Comfy clean beds Great location for city centre tourism It is cosy, but bear in mind we're talking Holland, let alone Amsterdam and then well priced

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.3
    I liked the location just near the Dam Square and behind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was given the accommodation at the 3rd floor with very steep stairs no escalator or helper facility so you have carry the luggage yourself till top. The room was extremely small you cant even get a place to place your luggage the bed size looks smaller than normal queen size as well. Breakfast was below the basic continental with just few items, fruits were not fresh while milk was not hot. Also the seating for breakfast was very conjusted overall in same price you can have much better breakfast outside.

    I liked the location just near the Dam Square and behind Madam Tassaud with lot of eating options just at ground. The staff was fine and cooperative as well. Cooling was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.2
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lift available, no air conditioning system, house keepers provide fresh towels with no actual cleaning of the room. very little security- anyone can access the rooms without anyone questioning them

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok if you just want a central location with basic facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and not enough cupboard/storage space in rooms. Makez for quifd a basic standard compared to the price charged.

    Location excellent for all attractions, eating etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Not charming, but does the job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Noisy rooms, with sounds from streets, get ear plugs. - Get your own Shampoo, the available one was not great.

    - Availability of Quadruple rooms - which was handy for a group of 8 on a Bachelor party. - Friendly staff at reception. - Close to touristy yet busy sites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    To come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street but nothing annoying with window closed. No lift.

    Just in the city center. Triple room is wide room with small bathroom. Hotel desk very kind and agreeable. Ready to solve any doubt and help you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    it was amazing cant wait to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was great but u can hear the people out side all night and the door were always banging but other than that was a great hotel if u dont mind that

    The hotel is in a great place lots of shops food places to eat hotel rooms was great beds were very nice staff were very help full just a shame about the noises but other than that great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyable, relaxing and fun. Made simple by the great location of the hotel and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, Very clean rooms, beds were comfortable, nice variety of breakfast. Staff were extra helpful and really friendly. Really pleasant stay I would defintely go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled with friend, our twin room and bathroom were tiny, had to sleep with windows wide open as heat was unbearable, and the fan provided just moved hot air around. Not much space for stuff, no surfaces, drawers etc, kettle kept in the wardrobe, bathroom just a wet room so couldn't keep much in there as it would get soaked. 'Toiletries' not as advertised, just a soap dispenser on the shower wall which served as shampoo, hand soap and shower gel. Beds ok, mattress would slip a lot so didn't have great deal of sleep. Be prepared for several flights of very steep stairs, avoid if any mobility issues, and don't bring anything other than hand luggage! Had to walk down the street for breakfast, as we were in the hotel's second building (just a card controlled door into the hallway, no reception or staff) a few doors up the street, we only bothered going for breakfast once as it was so cramped and airless in there. Overall you're paying for location. It's certainly basic, but you're walking distance from everything.

    Location excellent. Makes a great base from which to wander and explore. Staff friendly. Minimal noise at night. Wifi was good, and consistent, did not have to keep logging in. Big double windows that opened fully. We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the building, so it was quiet at night and felt safe to have windows open.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator very narrow stairs, extremely tiny bathroom not worth the price whatsoever

    The bed was really comfy , good location right beside the dam square

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was a great selection and very fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator, had to bring luggage up 3 flights of stairs It was very hot in the room with no air conditioning (portable floor fan only), but if you open the window for a breeze, the street noise is very loud of the drunken reveler variety The bathroom is very tiny and the shower makes the whole bathroom floor wet

    Breakfast was a great selection and very fresh Location cannot be beat, close to all the action, and <15 min walk to the central train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Large nice bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It'd have been nice to have the table and side tables wiped (dust were seen on them). Otherwise it was a good experience with friendly reception.

    Large nice bed. Although our room has a street view, the noise was not heard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel was ok nothing fancy. Beds were comfy and shower was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in triple bedroom. Mattresses on beds seemed to slide off bed! Particularly the bed on its own against the wall. Breakfast was just ok. Very limited choice.

    Very central. American receptionist lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    2.5
    Abhorrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting place. Not like website. Dirty. Terrible bathroom. Steps to first floor almost impassable. Staff not accommodating. Please take this off your site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are a challenge don't stay here if you can't manage stairs as they are very steep,but most buildings in Holland are compact

    I stayed here for 2 nights everything was good and reception staff were lovely,this hotel is in the heart of the city and everything is in walking distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a tad small but not a major problem. Stairs quite steep, no lift. But again not that much of a problem unless you have a lot of luggage :)

    Location was perfect. Lovely little Hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel De Gerstekorrel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: