Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Karel V 5 stars

Geertebolwerk 1, City Centre, 3511 XA Utrecht, Netherlands

#5 of 30 hotels in Utrecht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2065 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Great theme hotel in the middle of Utrecht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My co-workers complained about the church bells ringing every 15 minutes and therefore they could not sleep well. Obviously not the hotels fault but can be difficult when you can not get any sleep. My bath room was smelly. My co-workers stayed at the 4th floor that is right under the roof. My room was at the third floor, in my opinion the better room.

    Great omelette for breakfast. Extra options for breakfast, although it was not included in the price. Excellent parking in the middle of the city centre. Plenty of restaurant options nearby on walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Couldn't have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect place to visit Utrecht from. Right in the centre but very quiet. Superbly elegant Dining room with a very friendly feel to it. Couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub/shower was very high and would be very challenging for anyone with mobility issues.

    Good location. Easy walk from the train station and very near the city center. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely staff and fascinating building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly there were dog hairs on the carpets which caused the room to smell. Otherwise the hotel was great and the staff lovely.

    Great location, lovely staff and fascinating building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, very close to the city center - from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated and not well maintained furniture in the room - not really at 5 stars standards.

    Very good location, very close to the city center - from the hotel's interior yard you can exit straight in the pedestrian zone. Big and bright room with all the facilities and with a huge bed. Very nice cosmetics from Rituals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Pretty much perfect city retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The five star rating sends the wrong message. This is a very comfortable four star hotel… and none the worse for that!

    A grand hotel in a lovely location, with large garden, in a quiet corner of the historic city-centre. Staff always go the extra mile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was a great experience in a very cosy hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast has a very limited Varity as a 5 star Hotel, I would recommend adding more options.

    The location is fabulous, really close to the city center and the train station. The Staff Is so helpful, friendly and professional. Very cosy hotel with a big garden to enjoy the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Can't recommend more highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Excellent central location. Highly professional staff. Room was comfortable and provided everything you could want from toiletries to refreshments. Bistro and breakfast food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fantastic. It's a real character property and the staff are so professional. It's in a convenient location a short walk from Utrecht railway station and town centre. A great alternative if you are looking to avoid the hussle of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Thank you louren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed not really that good

    The location was amazing also the staff really good and helpful.. Specially louren from the reception alot of thanks to her. The breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a small shower Breakfast was 22 euros so we didn't have that Not a lot of choice on menu of the bistro.

    The room was massive and lovely. Wooden beams, a big comfortable bed and a Nespresso machine. Right in the middle of Utrecht so fantastic location, you have to pay extra to park but worth it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely grounds and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room on the ground floor of the Roman wing. The staff also used this hallway to store the laundry trolly’s. We had to make our way through the trolleys every time we want to enter the room.

    Lovely grounds and comfortable rooms. Excellent restaurants and a fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel, good location and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning staff came very late in the day. One day they had to be reminded several times to clean the room. Wellness area: pool was tiny, good for small children only.

    Excellent breakfast. Super location in the town. Quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious, peaceful, fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the garden of hotel very much. It was like island of silence and nature just 3-4 minutes walk from the very center. Beautiful hotel, very proper delicious breakfast, helpful and friendly stuff. Very highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was fabulous.

    I can't say enough goood things about this property! The staff was amazing. The rooms were super comfy with coffee makers, mini fridge, kettles, and comfortable beds. A/C was so great to have! It was just lovely. We travel alot and this time traveled for a month to five different countries and I can say that this was the nicest place we stayed. They also have bikes you can rent for 8 euro a half day that were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great stop in Utrecht!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pity the parking was not free.

    Spacious and comfortable, with attentive staff when needed. We enjoyed having the car so close, the gardens and ambience. The food was also good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    A little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the Roman wing and it felt a little tired and not so well looked after as the main hotel. Bedding was not changed in the 3 nights we stayed bearing in mind the temperature was in the 30’s. The bar area seemed understaffed at times and a bit chaotic. Was kept waiting in the instances we used it and also witnessed people leaving because of this. Not what you would expect from 5 star hotel

    Lovely historic building in beautiful grounds close to all amenities Breakfast selection very good and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The building and garden are stunning, feels like a secret...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a certain time, the gates are locked and although there was staff coming out right away after arrival at the front gate (well after midnight), it felt a bit weird.

    The building and garden are stunning, feels like a secret garden within the charming old centre of Utrecht. The room was nice, the bed more than comfortable and I loved the warm tiles in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoy our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoy our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And there is a very nice garden. the hotel has the best location in town we liked it so much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Stay here if you can. It is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Google maps. It led us to the back entrance which was a bit confusing.

    This accommodation is simply magnificent. from the breakfast, the teraces to the wellness facility everything is beautiful. Plus parking and in Central Utrecht. Excellent to meet up with friends. Will stay again if I'm ever back in the Netherlands.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Discounted rooms can come with a catch 😳, my rate of 125 euro per night secured me the end room in the Roman Wing which was facing the car park and located right next to the boom gate. I found it to be very noisy as lacking in privacy (unless the blackout blinds were drawn). Next time I’ll pay a little more for a more serene outlook. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hotel and all it has to offer.

    The grounds and facilities are simply exceptional. The gardens near the fountain was a wonderful place to sit and relax after a day of site seeing, as was the terrace bar. This was my second visit to the hotel and this time I used the pool and hot tub 😀. For the standard of hotel I think it represents great value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had rented bikes and when we came back around 11 pm we were ordered by a young woman from the kitchen to step from our bikes in a very impolite way. When I complained to the man at the desk, the concierge looked irritated and the man promised to do something about this bit nobody contacted me since then. This is already the 6th time that I have stayed at this hotel and was always very satisfied but this time was very dissapointing.

    at My previous stay I was extremely content but this time I was very dissatisfied with some of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    This hotel is a very grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is a very grand hotel. It is located in a quiet but central location. The bar area was a delightful place to sit and enjoy a warm summer afternoon. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Great location, beautiful place, carefulness in each detail,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, beautiful place, carefulness in each detail, dedication to well receive the guests. A traditional-style hotel with a good price, in a very nice city, Utrecht. I would definitely recommend and would stay again, having an opportunity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, just don't drive there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good at hotel. A bit of a challenge to get to if you are driving,as Utrecht is undergoing major redevelopment. I would not drive there again.

    Peaceful central location. All you expect from a five star hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not overly helpful. Room in attic with no real view and very dark furnishings. Not given any information on check in or shown to our room. No explanation at breakfast, just left to get on with it. Very corporate environment and not over friendly.

    Centrally located hotel for Utrecht.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The location is perfect;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the rooms is outdated. They give us the wrong time for the breakfast, so we have to hurry. The hotel has to buy a new coffee machine: the cappuccino was awful

    The location is perfect; the building is very nice but old. The restaurant is perfect. Room is okay. Our room was big with a nice bathroom and a separate toilet. Staff is friendly. the weather was very nice so that means that we were in a good mood

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Karel V
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to go for dinner one night and they said they were fully booked. There were 3 open tables that stayed open the whole night. Also on our last morning got to the breakfast room 5 minutes after 10 and they would not accommodate us

    Lovely rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Receptionist all very friendly and helpful. Also one male waiter on the terrace and at night he was in the pub. What a lovely guy. Went out of his way to make us happy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Location and standard (and great breakfast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay 15 € for car parking (within the hotel’s area) which was not clearly stated at the information from the hotel before booking.

    Location and standard (and great breakfast)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to find the parking lot.

    The stuff was very friendly and gave us a lot of information how to make the most out of our trip. The attached bistro has very tasty food and excellent wines.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant location but not good value. Some important deficiencies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No carpets in bedroom so night's sleep constantly interrupted by insomniac hard - heeled lady above who did not go to bed until 3.00 and was up again at 4.30. Grim picture on wall of bedroom. Swimming pool inadequate for this class of hotel.

    Charming staff. Good breakfast though a little chaotically organised. Excellent parking - free and close to city centre. Would have liked double duvet rather than two singles. Dog welcome but at unusually high charge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    The food, the generous size of the room and the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Google maps directing our car to the back on arrival, which is tight, awkward and involved a long reverse to get out.

    The food, the generous size of the room and the service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is such a beautiful hotel, and the Superior room we had was wonderful. Super-comfy beds, really quiet but still very centrally located. We had a small dog with us, and they had prepared food bowls and a bed for him, such a sweet gesture. The staff are all very attentive and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing room. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our two previous visits we have stayed in the main building. Now a room in the Roman wing has been allocated to us for the same price. Painting smell, awful mattress, no place for shampoo and soap in the shower, no floor towel in the bathroom. A big disappointment.

    Location near our friends home. Breakfast goid but expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Great locations and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC but a fan can be supplied. May be a little uncomfortable in the summer

    Breakfast was great but the menu for other meals was depressing so did not eat at the hotel. However many nearby restaurants including Konishiwa for Japanese steak meal are abundant and very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Good but I expected better from a 5 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit outdated and would need some maintenance. Inefficient curtains so lots of light as soon as the sun comes up. Overall, I expected better from a 5 stars hotel.

    Big bed, great location, large property with small but nice and covered pool. 2 restaurants on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    A really enjoyable, atmospheric stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no bottle opener in the room! I called reception and they couldn't track one down to give me, so the receptionist had to come to my room to open my minibar bottle of Pepsi! This was on my first evening - and disappointingly there was still no bottle opener in the room on the second evening! So I just drank the water...! I stress though, this in no way ruined what was a very enjoyable stay. :-)

    My room was wonderful - very atmospheric and comfortable. The property overall has a lovely feel to it - it's a five star hotel but doesn't feel in any way intimidating, as some can. The breakfast room - and the breakfast itself - deserve a special mention. :-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Better than a 5-star hotel :-)
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dumb system with parking tickets

    Friendly staff Good parking Great classic atmosphere Superb mattress Excellent central location in City and Holland

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Staff fantastic, restaurant staff less so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant (bistro) was a little bit unfriendly and unhelpful until they learned we were guests the hotel. Then they could not have been nicer but before that were a little snotty.

    The front desk staff upon check in was fantastic. Lisa helped us get some tickets for the next day and also called a taxi to take us to dinner. The entire hotel staff treated us like royalty and were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant stay at the hotel. Improving your attention to detail would enhance the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little uncomfortably cold in the room, there was no heating and the air con was put on automatically during the day while we were out, for two days. Fortunately, the room temperature improved with the weather! The flavour of tea bag which I used was not replenished consistently The shelves were a bit dusty.

    Room was good, Bed was very comfortable Gym facilities were good, especially the pool and jacuzzi Bicycles which we hired, were good Grounds were very picturesque and well kept All staff were helpful and polite

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The perfect place to stay in a superb city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I didn't book an extra night.

    Such a lovely way to end a tour of the Netherlands; in a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city. Parking was a concern ( hotels and car parks seem not to be common I found) but I was reassured on the phone before we arrived and it proved no problem. The hotel is as you would want it, the staff friendly, helpful and professional; and the welcome as we arrived was a delight. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the tourist attractions and Utrecht is a relaxing city to walk around. The room was extremely comfortable with a nice view of the garden. The icing on the cake is the Karl V restaurant. We had the 7 or 8 course tasting menu with paired wines. I'm not exactly sure how many as we added the recommended foie gras and the number of tasting wines didn't improve the memory. Eric looked after us superbly. Knowledgeable, friendly, certainly professional and really good fun. As an aside it was a delight to see the chef come out to talk to two very young children and create dishes just for them. I couldn't hep but think it gave him some respite from all the sophisticated dishes he created for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable bed and room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was expecting a newer and more comfortable bathroom. Not even a bottle of water for free in the room. Breakfast should be included in the room price (22€ extra).

    Comfortable bed and room. 2 mins walking to the city centre. Free wellness facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely place, pricey, need to provide better/newer mattresses.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old soft bed. I expected better mattresses for the price this hotel is positioning itself. While the furniture looks classical, they are full of dents and looking unkempt.

    The overall decoration is beautifully classical. Location is close to train station and walking distance to city center. Staffs are welcoming, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The perfect location for exploring the heart of Utrecht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a little pricey but good choice and lots of nearby cafes for an alternative option.

    The perfect location for exploring the heart of Utrecht. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a beautifully restored historical building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place, charming old building with modern facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Swimming pool" is more like a large hot tub, but there is a jet to swim against. But still a pleasant facility.

    Lovely place, charming old building with modern facilities, superb central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in lovely grounds, only slightly let down by a few niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not ready on arrival. Hotel has taken numerous pre-authorisations on credit card which are still showing as pending, 4 days after checkout

    Great hotel, good facilities, fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful historic Hotel in the centre of Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is hard to find fault with such a well run Hotel. However, we did not book breakfast due to the cost which we felt was a little steep at €20 per person if you pre-book and €22.50 if you pay on the day.

    The hotel is on a large site with plenty of space in the grounds for guests to use when the weather permits. There are plenty of facilities on site including a number of restaurants. We booked a standard room and were delighted with the size. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    perfect place. will definitely go back again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the beautiful grounds of the hotel + the location. Staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make us welcome - even putting a dog bed and bowls in the room for our pet! Food was delicious + fresh. Decor was great. Loved everything about it. Completely worth the splurge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent, close to the city center and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was not very comfortable as it was very soft for our body structure.

    Location was excellent, close to the city center and the train station. The garden was very beautiful. The breakfast was very good, even though a bit expensive. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and lovely :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Teeny tiny thing but I got a twin room instead of a double one, probably because I upgraded my room right before and didn't clarify. Also the sheet on the mattrass wasn't fitted and got loose during my sleep.

    Incredibly friendly staff, loved the wellness facilities, great breakfast served right to my room, lovely room, gorgeous building, had a really lovely stay. 10/10 would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, staff, city and people. We were made to feel really welcome there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really couldn't fault the hotel and staff.

    We checked in a little late, so all they had were twin rooms although we were expecting a double bed. The staff were extremely helpful and bumped us up to one of their best double rooms in the main building, which was just wonderful. A beautiful room with wooden beams, great light coming through the windows and great views too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel right in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of normal breakfast too high if you cannot get a deal.

    Excellent staff who greet you although there is the usual absence of any help with luggage. Modern room in Roman wing with windows on 2 sides and even in the bathroom. Well equipped with kettle and coffee machine, shower and bath etc. Quiet location just in the town but easy to drive in. We arrrived just on Kings Day’s eve and the town was very busy so the quiet was appreciated. Good looking if very expensive breakfast avoided with a unique breakfast to go pack. Easy parking. Grounds are very spacious with ponds and beautifully lit trees to wander abut. Bistro was satisfactory until they forgot our desert and it became a lengthy evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short walk from the station, marred by road construction so it took longer than expected. Room was lovely, staff was responsive. The exit via the restaurant courtyard is a quicker way to walk to domtoren than exiting from the front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall this is an excellent hotel, quiet and in an excellent location close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The floor to the wetroom did not drain down the plug resulting in the bathroom floor getting flooded - we had to mop the floor with the towel.

    Friendly and very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Utrecht is a charming city; loved ability to experience urban living and also biking to country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better television station selections - more in room movies.

    Upon arrival, visited he restaurant for buffet breakfast - excellent! But primarily we visited the cafes on Springweg for wonderful breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication by reception staff. Initially told we didn’t have to book restaurants. Later advised we were unable to eat in fine dining restaurant - just about managed to get a table in the bistro. On leaving bistro at 20.45 - was disappointed to see the fine dining restaurant had lots of free tables. Overall - very condescending attitude by reception staff.

    Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings. Excellent location. Very comfortable & spacious bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Great room, quiet but central location with easy access to the city centre. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor in wellness area was terribly slippery. I didn’t find an information folder in the room, though there may have been one, and we would have liked to have known that the hotel had bikes. We only realised on our last evening there...

    Comfortable bed, room was a good ambient temperature. Wellness centre was a nice touch, if there were only a couple of people in...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    My mother and I came to visit Utrecht to hear the bells of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother and I came to visit Utrecht to hear the bells of the Domtower on Eastermorning. It was a very impressive sound! We enjoyed our stay in Karel V; very well located, lovely room, nice bed and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good stay but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wellnes is incredibly small, breakfast is ok but for that price it could be better Overall it's to expensive for what you get

    The buildings of the hotel are amazing, very large room, perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Not a perfect place
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The layout of our room and bathroom was quite odd and inconvenient. We made a minor request of the front desk and housekeeping staff that went unfulfilled for nearly an hour. We encountered more than one person at the front desk who, while wonderfully friendly, seemed still to be in training. While we enjoyed some of the dinner courses that we ate at the elegant main restaurant, much of the food was quite disappointing. Overall, the actual experience of staying at the hotel does not live up to its beautiful physical aspects and the high price.

    The location of the hotel is wonderful for enjoying Utrecht, and the tranquil, historic complex has charm. The breakfast and the room where it is served (an upscale restaurant at night) is outstanding. Breakfast was probably the loveliest part of our stay. The hotel concierge went out of his way to be helpful, as did Judith at the front desk. The staff in the main restaurant and at breakfast delivered impeccable service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Worth every star of it's five stars
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the bistro was mediocre.

    Nice staff and very flexible. We were allowed to have our room very early when we arrived at 9:00 o'clock in the morning. A big and comfortable room Shower and bath were spacious. Very nice view from the big windows into the interior court. Excellent to visit Utrecht from here, close to Domtower and the centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location for a hotel in Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water was not hot enough for a shower on a cold day, I really expected the water to be hotter. The price was also a liitle on the high end of things, but it's all about demand and location, so I guess the prices is some sort of justified.

    Excellent location, big and properly equiped rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay just nearby the center.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't sleep first night because of technical room near our bedroom (vibrations) but we were moved day after for an upgraded room

    Very nice place to stay just nearby the center. Staff very convenient and professional. Parking and nice restaurants on site. Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just not the five star hotel you imagine. The swimming pool was TINY, the room was a little worse for wear. Dented lamp shade, and nowhere to hang the shower attachment to get it out of the bath. Dressing gowns were starch and hard and very small. Just not as luxurious as their advertisements would lead you to expect.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    in a wonderful "State of Trance" in the deliciously charming city of Utrecht :)))))))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has a reputation they want to keep. Every time I go to Utrecht I stay in this hotel. It speaks volume about the quality of the offer. Of course the parking possibility is a huge plus. And this time I wanted to see the famous event by Armin Van Buuren "A state of Trance" and the venue of the concert is.... ca a 15 minutes' walk from the hotel. Too good and true ;) The last times I enjoyed the famous Indonesian restaurant Blauw, just behind the hotel, but this time I tried the restaurant of the hotel: exquisite, what a treat. The best meat I have eaten in my life ,so far,...The location is perfect, the breakfast is sumptuous...I will comeback, I am bound to come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Ok facilities in a great structure and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate beds instead of a single king size bed, small swimming pool and very small Turkish bath, very slippery wellness area. Overall it's a good hotel, but not really a 5 star, compared to others in the neighborhood.

    Breakfast, bubble bath, atmosphere, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly personnel, top breakfast, bad acoustics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad acoustics, every word uttered outside your room (at the ground floor) can be heard, so fingers crossed other guests won’t stay out late. Rooms are not special. Sauna is okay, just note that people are supposed to use it wearing a bathing suit!

    Top location. Parking spot in front. In the centre of Utrecht. Beautiful breakfast room, in the former refectory of the monastery. Good breakfast with a la carte options, waffles, pancakes, eggs. Very friendly personnel. Bathroom goodies are are from Rituals.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.0
    I'd not give this hotel more than 2/3 start.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like for the 5 star hotel I'd expect to see higher level of comfort in the room. Way too many objects were old, scratched, dirty or broken. Floor was dirty and we found a lot of garbage behind the door to bathroom. Toilet was smelly and was looking like it wasn't cleaned in a while.

    Location is pretty central so the exit to the old town was fast and easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    very pampering!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected the wellness center to be bigger, but it's ok. Also, we did not know that it would be a problem getting an appointment for a treatment on a 24 hours notice, so that was a bit of a disappointment.

    The staff was very attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.7
    Great and medium. A big gap between facilities, service and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit worn. The sink was not working properly and the shower door was not isolated so we had water all over the floor. We got staff up to take care of it so that was good. I also had some communication problems with the reception twice when information on staying in the room for two nights and not one (separate bookings) and not having to change rooms did not communicate to other staff members. Furthermore I had to fill out a form twice for my company bill because the first one got lost. Also I think the parking is outrageously expensive and the fact that you cannot pick up bags in front of hotel at later time as in our case without paying for parking, even though you are only running in to get bags, is not good service for a five star hotel.

    The breakfast was great and the breakfast room beautiful. Staff friendly. Great to be able to choose from a menu as well. The spa was amazing and beautiful and the surroundings as well. Beautiful location and hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable and the room very big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have expected something more modern. Our room's furniture was a little dated. At breakfast we ordered something from the menu but waited at least 15 minutes for it.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room very big. Breakfast was super. There was a great selection from the buffet plus you could order warm dishes. The Eggs Benedict were very good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel in the heart of Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    * Breakfast ends at 10, so you have to somehow give up on your leisure in mornings. Breakfast service is unattentive: you have to catch a waiter if you need more bread / special meal / whatever. * Shower cabin in our room was poorly designed: it was located above the floor, so you might find a little lake in your bathroom after using it. They don't have sink in the floor, so it's pretty disastrous to take shower there. We had to use bathtub for shower instead after our first attempt to use a cabin. * Our double bed was made of two single beds, so we had to move them together time to time. * The safe box is located around the floor, so accessing it is rather uncomfortable experience. * Spa area: no extra bathrobes/slippers, soap dispensers were broken in cabins, some lockers were out of order, Turk bath were broken.

    A spacey room with all the necessary facilities. We had a door in our room that lead directly outside, so we could have a tea party on the backyard from inside our room! The rooms are old and weary, but it seems more like a part of its charm: an old hotel with history. They're pretty flexible in terms of car park: you may park across the territory if there's not enough space in the "designated" park in front of the building. Their spa area features whirlpool and a huge regular pool. They had complimentary buns / apples / biscuits for New Year on reception. The territory features a small garden and a fountain, pretty nice. They do just like a 5* hotel is expected to do.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Either the pool or the spa didn't work all three days which was a shame since we were traveling with kids and they looked forward to spending time there.

    Been there many times. Excellent hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast and in the middle of Utrecht which is a lovely car free city with canals and beautiful old architecture.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    My first flat out 10/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really have to think hard on this - - the only downside, and it's really minor, is that for some rooms you'll have to walk outside to connect to the lobby & breakfast building. On the other hand, an excellent looking spa is in this other place, and you'll be walking through a beautiful garden, so this is hardly a problem.

    Staff is nothing short from awesome. Great, great breakfast, both buffet and a la carte, both included with the same price. Historic ambience Truly excellent location within utrecht centre, short walk from the central station; can easily reach most places you want to when visiting this city on foot. Excellent restaurants nearby, not just including the hotel restaurant: excellent Cantonese, Japanese, Indonesian, or fusion food are right around the corner, and that's probably not all. Rooms are very spacious and include all amenities you'd want; and if something is short, it's brought to you instantly. Bar, bistro, and restaurant all on site, and all look great and full of ambiance. Beautiful gardens makes for a great short walk and a quiet night's rest in an otherwise bustling city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Historical location well merged with hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud bouncing on the door by housekeeping at 9 pm in the evening

    Excellent location, very nice staff and breakfast! Historical location gives additional value to the hotel! We got a very good last minute deal including breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Karel V traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: