Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Oude Zijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 EH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#352 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1098 hostel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Yoooo, cool place, great people. Good bed, good room, luxurious bathroom. Great music, great food, great bar and beer. I like the two terraces on canals. Plus, coffeeshop and smoke cruise across the street and many museums just down the block. All just a few 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal or Nieuw Market Metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of electric contacts in the room is not enough to 10 people in the room. There is no fridge in the room or kitchen. The WiFi is not available in the room only in the bar. The number of lookers is not enough to 10 people. The lugagge room is open to anyone and it has a poor schedule. The place is not well prepared to host so many people in Hostel mode. It needs to be very improved.

    Location and safety only.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was hot , there was no window that lead out to fresh air there was no aircon , the room was too hot and unbearable to stay in , we booked another place to stay literally the first night we was there and gone the next day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was unbearably hot. Found it hard to stay in it for more than a few minutes. No windows or air conditioning. Only 3 plugs for a room of 6 very disappointing for the money we paid. Would not visit again.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a hostel! It met every requirement we had: well placed, easy to get in and out, bar was decent, beds were fine. And given the large (and noisy, and messy stag) group that we were, they were perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed numbers were not cleared marked and the sheets were not changed (however the staff changed them as soon as I complained and assisted me to the correct bed).

    Excellent location, right next to the canals, bars and shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Purple walls

    We all really enjoyed the swimming pool in the bathroom was a lovely surprise, would recommend packing swim shorts for when using the loo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived to the room at 10 pm on Thursday an left our staff in the room. Went for a walk and came back at 1am to go to be. At 3 am my friend woke up because she felt something running up her back. We switch on the light and saw bed bugs in our bed, pillows, running up the mattress and across the walls, absolutely disgusting. Also blood marks on the sheets as we smashes some of them while we were sleeping. I Went down to reception and the receptionist wasn't impressed at all. He gave us a new room but nothing else, no explanation. He asked me to come back at 9 am when the manger is back. In the morning the staff at the reception checked the room with us and she was not very surprise about it, for sure they knew it. The lady said that it was one of the best rooms in the building!! We asked for a full refund and left the hostel. We had to bin our clothes and suitcases as we weren't sure if there was any bed bag in it. Bed bugs like to travel and it is very difficult to get rid of them. Please do not go to this hostel, the location is fantastic but it is not worth it!! My friend were covered in bits afterwards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s pretty basic for the amount of money we paid although every accommodation in Amsterdam is extremely expensive. There’s no breakfast included and they have a bar/restaurant at the bottom floor so they could perfectly offer the breakfast according to the charges for a night. The covers in bed are only a sheet and a blanket (not ideal at all for people with allergies). There’s no lift, which makes it hard to get to the 3rd floor with luggage.

    The young man that was at the reception on the first day was really nice, very friendly. After him there were a few different girls who were not very nice and we realise that that’s the normal service in Amsterdam. People in shops and cafes/restaurants are not very nice, generally speaking. The location is amazing, we walked literally everywhere apart from the airport. The spaces were shared by a lot of people and we could see that it wasn’t clean most of the time but early in the morning we could tell that they’ve been cleaning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's sooo expensive for what you get. Old, smelly, check out time too early,reception in horrible conditions, toilets wrecked.

    Some of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit too noisy due to the bar on the ground floor.

    Personel very nice and easy to discuss with them. Really well situated on the city center of Amsterdam: great to take the train. Very clean bedroom and bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very unfriendly, except the young boy at the bar. The room was super small and tight: just 3 bunk beds will fit better than 4.. but I think they prefer the quantity to the quality of their services. The price is bad too. I was in this structure 6 years ago and things have changed so much

    The location is the only positive aspect of The Globe hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bugs..missing mattress that that was added at 1:20 in the morning while people we're trying to sleep. Bed bugs are a huge problem

    Super close to all the amenities. Central station. Red light district etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 3 electric outlets in a 10 bed rooms, two located at inside of one bed. Too small showerroom, one hanger only. No stair for upper bunk bed. Wifi is only available at ground floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My problem there was sexual harassment of one of the guys at the room. Worse than that it was the fact of the employees did nothing, didn't even talk with the man, and of course, the right thing to do would throw him out or even call the police. He did it to me and two others girls. Unacceptable! We had to sleep with an open eye!

    Location is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very expensive, and very noisy. I had to cut my 4 day stay short and book another hotel because the first night was too noisy. Guests in the room next to mine were partying all night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure place to stow baggage after checkout (however you could store it in a semi secure area)

    The security for the dormitories was good (had to be buzzed in after showing proof of residency) also the shower.toilets were nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (8 Adults) with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was pretty smelly and the sheets were stained and burned.

    The location is brilliant and the value for money was really good. We found nothing else for the same money anywhere near the centre of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/toilet room was dirty (I don't know if it was water or something else on the floor) and the beds were a little outdated (they did not have steps for the bunk beds- you can imagine this is awkward when coming home later.

    It was quite close to a few of the other hostels and some of the busier streets along the canal. Close to the Red Light District, and a decent coffee shop across the canal. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to Amsterdam for 2 nights. Met some welsh Guys. Wrote a Haiku with them. The Hostel was very nice too. 10/10 for the city. 8/10 for the Hostel. Would defenitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not too great. Barman moaned every time we asked for a cup of tea...we're not obligated to buy alcohol you know.

    Everything was good. Beer was bit expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking room should be open for longer hours and earlier in the day

    Staff were friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay at the hostel and location were wonderful. Would 100% stay here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    How about advertising the fact that you must climb 6 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS WITH YOU LUGGAGE to get to your room??!!! How about having an ACTUAL HOSTEL EMPLOYEE MANAGER WORKING AFTER 1AM rather than just the a**hole working at the bar whom is USELESS AND RUDE AND PATRONISING?? Someone took my bed before I got back in the evening, moved or SLEPT ON my clothes I'd put on the bed to make it really obvious I had checked in already and it was my allocated bed.. when reported down (6 freakin' flights of) stairs, this bar worker said he can't and won't do anything about it. I'm not even convinced all the people in my room actually were paying guests in the hostel!! I had to get on to a TOP bunk, rescue my clothes and personal belongings from my original bed and from under sleeping guy ON my bed whom refused to move. AND NONE OF THE TOP BUNKS HAVE A STEP LADDER OR ANY OTHER MEANS TO GET UP ONTO THEM WITHOUT HAVING TO PULL THE CHEST OF DRAWERS AND CHAIR OVER TO GET UP ON IT, WHICH IN ITSELF IS A SERIOUS OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH & SAFETY ISSUE!!!!!!

    nothing except for the young boy who originally checked me in with a smile and helpful info. the rest - all of the stay - SUCKED.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift had to go 4 floors wifi only in the ground floor cafe.staff is okay okay not very friendly but also not rude.

    It's a calm and quite place. Location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not included, but the have a bar. The wifi is only in the main floor.

    The people at the reception were really kind. They give you all the information you need, maps, they speak perfectly english. There’s a smoking room there. With a pool table. There’s free wifi, but just in the main floor. The bar is good. The bathrooms are clean. They bring you a towel for free. If you need another blanket, you just have to ask for it and you will have it. It’s near from Amsterdam Centraal, and just 5 minutes for the main street. Excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in rooms. Lady at reception was quite grumpy. No proper baggage storage just a space at the end on the stairs. They didn't clear out the bin daily. Door was single glazed and had a huge draft.

    Clean, massive radiators, some what comfy beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the rooms. Only 3 powerpoints for a 10 person room so really hard to charge phones - had to do it during the day which cuts out time to explore the city.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very worst hotel, value of rooms only eligible for 10 euros . once you enter you will feel bad smell, no lift ,WiFi works only at ground floor,

    very worst hotel, value of rooms only eligible for 10 euros . once you enter you will feel bad smell, no lift ,WiFi works only at ground floor, no safety lockers, no bathroom towels, no ac, worst higen maintained in hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bedding was terrible, the one very thin blanket for a cold winter wasn't good enough. Some of the staff were excellent some weren't very helping.

    The location of the hotel was very handy close to everything you needed inside the city. The food that I had down in the bar was very nice and not over expensive as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We're a young group of friends and we're used to all kinds of hostels, but this was just plain bad. Dirty linen, terrible facilities and the place could use thorough cleansing in general.

    Great location. We got better room than we paid for (3x 4 beds), instead of one 4-bed and one 8-bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer in the bar downstairs was overpriced and flat. The check out time of 10 am felt a bit early too

    The bathroom was nice. We each had a single bed, rather than shared beds or bunk beds as offered by similar places. Also very central and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe time of year but so noisey outside of the room noise of a generator pumping water from the canal on 1 of the nights which seemed like all night . Quite noisy in general . Good for party animals 👍🏼 .

    It was cheap and it was centrally located . Friendly reception staff .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is horrible and doesn't work in the bedrooms. There is no lift which means if you are with many luggage it could be a problem.

    The showers are good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was dirty. We were a group of ten people and some of us got bedbugs after spending 3 nights in this hostel. The carpet in some areas was also disgusting. They didn’t have a separate room to leave your luggage once you have checked out. So, you have to leave your suitcase in the corridor next to the emergency exit.

    The location. It’s easy to reach from the central station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    AT THE PUB DOWNSTAIRS YOU CAN PAY ONLY CASH,THATS A PROBLEM WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE ANY CASH AND SNOWING OUTSIDE GUYS!!!!

    ...the guys that work there is amazing they can give you all the information...good deal for the money that you pay!!!is near at all the good pubs and clubs,quite rooms even if you are in front of the main street and bridges...good choice..is gonna be my choice for next year as well :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was so small and the windows did not open. My bed was just next to the heater so I was almost got "fried" during the night. The door was making loud noise every time that someone entered the room.

    The hostel is very well localized and has a fair price. The bed was confortable, the sheets were fine and the hostel provided us fresh towels. Also, there was a bar inside the hostel and it was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was I didn't have a phone charger near my bed so had to leave my phone out in the open in a 10 bed room.

    Excellent location. The staff are lovely. I only paid €15 a night. The bar downstairs is great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no locker room or space for bigger luggages, and I had to leave mine somewhere else.

    There was a really nice pub at the hostel and it was right in the heart of Amsterdam

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, and please change bedsheets, I saw some strands of hair on my beddings upon opening it for the first night, and me and my friends have a lot of bugbites at our body and a hanging holder maybe on the shower room where we can put our clothes on and other stuff while taking a shower

    The personnel are so accomodating and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was there only in papers there was no wifi for rooms Furthermore during my check in time the receptionist she was very rude in behaviour

    While at the time check out he was very polite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    prices go up a lot on friday / saturday. they also threw away my friend's contact lenses and toothbrush thinking he had moved out when he was booked in for another night

    great location, nice bar area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is only wi-fi in the bar downstairs, the showers are not very comfortable as there is no place to leave your clothes, there is no kitchen so you have to buy everything outside.

    The hostel is in a very centric area, very easy to get there from the train station. It's close to mostly everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a disgrace; depressing rooms (some of them are without windows) with white walls and aggressive neon lights, funny smell coming from the bathrooms, half of the sockets which are not working, etc.... The beds are ok but you need to pray for not having bed bugs .... As I was doing my check out, 3 women in front of me reported bed bugs on the 3rd floor to the receptionist (their ankles were covered with bites). I would strongly recommend to avoid this place. Merci booking.com for referencing such a wonderful place!!

    The location is good and some members of staff are helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dimly lit room, tiny window into vertical stack so no air flow, no a/c, etc. but luckily was still cool enough to sleep thru the night

    bathroom in room and remodeled was super nice and convenient, bed pretty comfortable good pillow, close to central station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No shelves in shower to put clothes and other stuff on.

    Cool location, 3 minutes walk from Central train station. Mostly everyone in the room came for ADE as me as well so it was fun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was extremely basic for the price we paid. Not good value for money at all. There were no windows in our 5 bed room so the room got quite stuffy and uncomfortable at times. There is aircon available which helps, but this comes with a cash deposit, paid back when the remote control is returned.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic! Central location, with many amenities and attractions in walking difference. Also very close to transport links by train and tram if you want to venture further. We enjoyed the bar downstairs. The food was ok and drinks were reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Although the room is clean, spotted few dead bed bugs underneath the beds. - Wifi is only available at the hotel lobby - Steep stairs (Have to be extra careful when climbing up & down)

    - Overall comfy and enjoyable experience - Toilet & Room is really clean (equipped with the necessary) - Less than 5mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station - Awesome River Canal view - Value for money - RLD is really really really near the hostel (good experience for first time tourist traveling to Holland)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night staff was not very friendly and it was not very well monitored. There were other guests outside our room having a loud 'get together' at 5:00am.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know how much costs the renovation in Netherlands, but for so many customers the hostel should renovate the rooms.

    The location of hostel is nice and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a dive... walls with holes... broken bathrooms... carpets with holes... no lockers... staff of weed heads that mess up my reservation twice... I got out of the hostel with bites all over my body... not sure from what...

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like when you buy a beer they bang the the tip jar and look at u like ur stupid and if you dont put any tips in they refuse to talk to you and walk away sum staff friendly and helpful some need to learn that if you give a good service then i will decide wheather to give a tip and not feel pressured to

    Location good ,price good,coffee shops close , bars underneath close to chinese food , febos,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cramped room with three bunkbeds, no ladder to get ontop of bed. Restricted space to move around, bathroom tiny. Insufficient charging points. Wifi does not work in rooms only ground floor. Carpets in room and on surrounding stairs dirty.

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean, and leaving there I have a lot of bed bug bites. I've never had that before, but staying there 2 nights and I was covered in bites.

    Great location if you want to be in the party area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could tell the sheets were clean but need replacing as looked stained and grubby.

    We likes the ease of where it was located and pleased that it was not too loud when sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean... Rude staffs and not helpfull ... Bedbug found in the room .... more than 1 bed!!!!! Be careful...

    Location is the only good thing in this hostel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More plug sockets in shared dorm would have been nice.

    Bedroom was nice, comfortable beds. Bathrooms good. Smoking area was a nice touch. Staff lovely. Great value for money, highly recommmended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (8 Adults) with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 1 mirror in the bathroom and no wifi in the rooms.

    Clean room with en-suite bathroom. Free towels provided and friendly atmosphere. Located directly behind the red light district and walking distance to Dam Square and Central Train Station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (8 Adults) with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been slightly cleaner, and was also very warm so would've been better if there was a fan available. Also having to wait at the main door to be buzzed in can be a pain if the person on the bar is busy. Shared bathroom can be annoying!

    Great location, most staff were friendly. Fair prices at the bar considering the price of other places in the area. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (6 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had the bad surprise to have been beaten by bed bug in your hostel. I am absolutely sure that it was in this room and I am suffering now of itching... This is the reason why I left this hostel one day before on the 23rd in a clean hotel. Once arrived, I went today to a place in order to remove all the bugs in my luggage and clothes. Now I have to pay additional fee in order to remove all this bed bug from my stuff on a frozen room for 3 days. I agree that I chosed a noisy place with drugged and drunk people in a messy room but what I cannot accept is the bed bugs that I got in this room. It is totally unacceptable from a place like Amsterdam to find bed unclean. We are not in Cambodia or India...This is very serious because these bed bugs can contimante all my house in Switzerland and affect my relatives. In order to prove you the facts, here you have some pictures took today about the bed bugs found in the room 208 of your hostel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny window which let in hardly any light but was sold a 'spacious, light room' The mattresses were stained and a friend of mine was bitten by beg bugs. Water pressure was poor so showers aren't great!

    The location was great but this is reflected in the price! They had recently renovated the en-suite which was a pleasant surprise when opening the bathroom door after seeing the room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The younger staff members were all polite and helpful but some of the older memebers of staff particularly 2 men in there 40's were extremely rude and unwelcomeing repeatly questioned me on if I was even a resident in a impolite fashion several times

    Location was great , loved how they have a bar and pool tables and that they have an inside smoking area for night and a beautiful outside smoking area during the day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not doing well to keep the place clean. My friends and I rented a quadruple room for two nights. The first day, we didn't sleep overnight as we had gone out. When we came back in the morning, we found bed bugs in all the beds, and we had to pack our bags and ask for a refund. After that, we had to rent something else and move out. The internet speed is rather slow, and we had to use our mobile data instead. All in all, I am very disappointed with the hotel.

    The location is probably the only positive thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is literally infested with bed bugs... INFESTED. I was bit over 50 times, I watched everyone in my room itching themselves. And even worse... I told the staff, they acted like they didn't know what I was talking about, checked the beds and said nope we don't have any! Then the last night I killed over 20 in my bed, told the owner the next day and he said "oh no those aren't bed bugs. People keep telling us but no... they're not bed bugs." The place was also gross and just felt like a fratty party dorm. I'm disgusted by the place and the people who work here... I will never come back.

    It has a perfect location and easy to get to

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk girl is not nice nor helpful; the wifi did not get to the room so you had to go downstairs to the bar to get signal; there was only one bathroom for 10 people which was not great considering most people shower at the same time; there is a limited amount of electrical sockets and lockers per room - not enough for everyone; impossible to read in the room as there is only one dim central light.

    Amazing location, super central, next to red light district, centraal station and walking distance to all main touristic sights and top neighborhoods. Part of the staff was nice and you get free towels and soap.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (8 Adults) with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    slow service for food. shower was weak. not impressed with being harassed by guy selling drugs most nights whilst outside

    great location, nice selection of beers, food in hostel was good, rooms were fine, had 8 bed room with friends

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bartenders at the reception were bad!! First he didn't allow me to sit at the bar at 7:30. I need to connect to wifi, but he drove me out to the first floor sitting on the stairs. Then the other guys said, if we don't buy any drinks, we are not allowed to sit there, even though we still stay at the hostel. I think by so doing, he has driven out his potential customers. (They were very rude)

    It is near central station and some other point of interests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's awful place. There was no light in my room. There was a chandelier, but there was no switch. In the nights I had to use my phone flashlight. There was no wardrobe, I had to keep my coat in the locker. Location is very close to center, but it's doubtful plus. There are a lot of bars around and it's very noisily all night long. The worst thing is that there are bedbugs in the house. Bedbugs bitten me hard enough, after 3 days I still see inflammation from bites. I told at the reception that there are bedbugs in the house and asked for some remedy to relieve itching. They did't offer me anything and told me that they hear about bedbugs first time and I probably got bites from mosquitoes because of closeness to river. And this is a lie, because I know how mosquito bite looks like and there is an information about begbugs in reviews of this place on booking. I do not recommend this place to anyone.

    The only good thing here is that hostel is close to city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (8 Adults) with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value for money, friendly staff, decent bar prices, location beside a quiet (for the red-light district) section of canal is nice, private room for our group was suitable - if very warm (no AC). Would definitely recommend if your budget is limited.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed a little overpriced for a hostel with 8 bunk beds to a room. The were getting close to €400 a room. The rooms, beds and amenities should be a lot better for €400 a night.

    I was able to book a bed with just a few hours notice. The hostel was full shortly after.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfriendly night stuff, no cleaning in the room during our stay, stale smelling towels and bed linen, dirty hotel corridors...

    The only good thing is the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly atmosphere, room and bathroom clean, what more could you ask for? Very close to city centre and most things in the city easily walking distance, just watch out for bikes :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let's see where do I begin: -The blanket is disgusting, thankfully the linens were clean. The bathroom was dirty and I'm really really glad I brought a pair of flip flops. -If your room is in the third floor you won't get any wifi signal. -The staff do not give a sh#$ about you, if you have any problems like other people putting their stuff on your bed, you're on your own. -Did I say how dirty this Hostel is? Yes the hallway, the room, the bathrooms everything is nasty.

    The location is convenient; but it's a catch 22. Its minutes away from central and in the red light area (DeWallen?). This area has a pretty heavy party scene which means you'll hear the music and drunk people yelling from your room until the party dies down (till 3/4am). The linens were clean; that's about it that's clean in this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked breakfast for our party and we had advised the Hostel The Globe of students with dietary needs/allergies. Yet we were still charged for breakfast as the Hostel had no recollection of this part of the booking. We need to know how to claim this back as a member of our staff had to pay for this soi our students could eat before a very busy day. One of the rooms was small for the amount of students sharing the room.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't reach room. Bar closed at 2 and it was stated it was 24h. Staff were rude. Local crack dealers were always in the hotel bar ( not 1 but about 12 of them). On the 3rd day the bar was partially closed cause football was on.

    Location was spot on

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (10 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The receptionist provides the coldest welcoming to all customers. No friendly at all and not very helpful. She even doesn't ask if everything is right. She leaves a first and last bad impression about the hotel. -Wifi only available in the lobby.

    The location, the bathroom in the dorms, the pool area where it is allowed to smoke.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel The Globe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: