Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam 5 stars

Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam City Centre, 1011 AK Amsterdam, Netherlands

#131 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1807 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location, ard 5-10mins walk from central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service from staff is below average considering that it’s a 5 star hotel. Their responses are slow and not very friendly.

    Good location, ard 5-10mins walk from central station. The rooms are nice and clean. Bed is very comfortable. Very spacious. Everything in the room are great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, good sized comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, good sized comfortable rooms. Breakfast buffet was very good. Building was unique. Very beautiful stained glass in that main staircase.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious rooms, high ceilings
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough places to hang towels in the bathroom

    Luxurious rooms, high ceilings Ample bathroom with shower and tub Stunning view, beautiful building, perfect location Super friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Not a 5* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the public areas was always so dirty The mini bar was never refilled with still water, I had to ask at the reception for a bottle of water No variety for breakfast, always the same options Definitely not a 5* hotel Everything in the public areas looked so cheap, not well maintained at all No window view since there was some work in progress at the building.

    Reception and restaurant staff were always very professional and helpful, they even accommodate a midnight request for yogurt

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel is fantastic and the history of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is fantastic and the history of the building itself is extremely interesting. I would recommend this to anyone who is in the city for any length of time, as it is so central and so everything is within reach. The pool and other wellness facilities were amazing and it was never too busy, and therefore very relaxing! The staff were very kind and they provided some Prosecco upon arrival for my friend’s birthday. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    Firstly, we got there to be given ground floor rooms facing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, we got there to be given ground floor rooms facing the street when we booked a Deluxe Double with a view. When we questioned the staff at Reception they said it’s a booking.com mistake. I said to them that’s a awful lie as we have a Hotel too and we know how it works. Then she went to her manager Abigail to call her on our request, she didn’t come and was told by the same receptionist that must be a mistake on booking.com Again, a massive lie!! She also said she has no rooms available for us to change to. We went to the rooms, definitely not quiet rooms, refused to stay and asked for resolution. The receptionist said she can change us in rooms with view but are not ready so to come back at 3pm! So they had rooms!! Came back, the rooms had a view but you had to climb half a metre on the window to view anything. The bed was on the hallway wall where you could hear everything and everyone ! The room was terribly dirty with dust everywhere, dead flies and NO HEATING! Danial from concierge took notes of everything and gave them to the manager. So we had no heating for the first night on 13 degrees cold, we had to turn the hot water on in the shower to warm up a little bit. Awful! The fridge was never filled up, we had to ask all the time!! No apologies, no phone calls, no compassion at all! On departure they charged us city tax AGAIN even though the booking said clearly we have already paid for everything. The receptionist was arguing that we have not paid as per her system, took us to Melissa from the Guest Relations office who could not have been more arrogant, ignorant and unhappy to be there. Plus unhelpful ! After 5 phone calls to booking.com and god knows who else, 35 minutes of waiting we got refunded for 1 room but not the other even though they were booked at the same time, at the same price. I just felt she didn’t want to help us at all and she didn’t have any intention of correcting their mistake and wash off their stupidity.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel and amazing staff. Would highly recommend this place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 120 plug in the sink is stuck closed so had to use my hand to keep it open

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Staff were amazing front of house and around the hotel. Cleaning staff very extremely friendly and helpful also

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.8
    It’s incredibly dirty and old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s incredibly dirty and old. Stuff isn’t qualified enough. Horrible breakfast for which you have to pay 25 euros separately. Doesn’t look same as on pictures. Definitely not 5 star and I wouldn’t recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Excellent, perfect location, staff brilliant, overall what we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold... The room was fantastic, the staff were really helpful, it was a shame that the breakfast was cold but it wouldn't stop us from staying again.

    The staff were so helpful, the hotel was centrally located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    Don’t stay there just because it’s a historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, the place is dark from inside, and ugly from outside. If you call 9 for room services, no one respond to you. The internet is so slow, you cant’ even browse your Facebook. The swimming pool is so small that can nearly fit for 2 persons. Last but not least, attitude, attitude and attitude, of the reception and spa center, they are not professional and they should show more respect when questions are asked. I stayed there for 6 nights; services can be significantly improved.

    The only good thing is the Nespresso coffee machine and the minibar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Aamazing hotel, I will definitely come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfect especially the bad was so comfortable and the free mini bar also. the pool is magical with the lights up. The hotel is designed in an old style which make him unique in amsterdam.

    The pool, the sauna, the room and the way the hotel look like inside and outside. The staff was very good and help me with anything I needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location nice facilities 👍🏻free mini bar is a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a few minor issues but annoying ! Room service was hit and miss, had to ask for the room to be cleaned on two nights ! Breakfast was a buffet which was ok but if you are later down then can be a little dried up ! Not enough space in the wardrobe to hang your clothes in the room we stayed in !

    Good location nice facilities 👍🏻free mini bar is a nice touch ! Reception was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, central for all of Amsterdam's tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Restaurant-on attending breakfast when they first opened at 0700, the food in the Bain Marie's was cold to a point of being chilled. This we brought to the attention of the staff who offered to heat my plate of food up in the Kitchen? Having attended breakfast 3 times we got the impression that the restaurant staff were inefficient and inattentive for example ,shortage of spoons (every Breakfast), uncleared tables, coffee machine not working (brought to attention of staff but nothing remedial happened). Generally for us a poor dining experience.

    Great location, central for all of Amsterdam's tourist attractions. Friendly reception staff. comfy beds, Clean spa with great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything but we my friend lost his welet when we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but we my friend lost his welet when we were traveling to Brussels and we tried to call the hotel many times but the answering machine was not working at all so we had to took the train from Brussels to the hotel next day and we supet a report of the lost welet, if the hotel answered us we would not wast time and money.

    Everything but we my friend lost his welet when we were traveling to Brussels and we tried to call the hotel many times but the answering machine was not working at all so we had to took the train from Brussels to the hotel next day and we supet a report of the lost welet, if the hotel answered us we would not wast time and money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.4
    History.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced breakfast when you book a “special” which does not include buffet breakfast. Restroom not well cleaned, shampoo, lotion, bath gel bottles appeared to be refilled rather than new. Bed pillows awful, NOT soft and fluffy. Furniture slightly damaged, edges splintered; finish worn off. TV availability was different in my room compared to other’s room. Not enough lighting, especially in bathroom.

    History. Mini-bar drinks free.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Very good location close to city center to travel offices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room prices could include breakfast!

    Very good location close to city center to travel offices for local excursions and to the train station.The room was quite large an ad the bed was fantastic!Very quiet room with great view on the canal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was nothing really not to like. Was fantastic service every step of the way!

    Everything was perfect. Very clean, all staff were polite and helpful. Perfect location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Excellent would return if possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was top class, beautiful building and location We had one small problem which was sorted out in a very satisfactory way

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location, staff and facilities but you need air conditioning/venting in all your rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you are booking in hot season i.e. summer, be aware that they do not have air conditioning and for me this is a minus for a 5 star hotel. However they do have something they call a cooling vent system in some rooms on the renovated wing - to me its just as good as air conditioning. But at first they kept us in a room without the cooling vent and only moved us when we said we would be checking out the next day. In winter, this wont make a difference but it will when the weather is 33 degrees. They really need to let people no in very clear terms not in fine print that they can not always provide air conditioning or a cooling vent as we automatically expect this in a 5 star hotel. The staff were very nice however.

    The breakfast was nice and the room we were eventually sent to was very nice, though not the first room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Very nice and comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist Ilona didn’t give us an additional 10 minutes free of charge after 12.00 (it’s a checking out time) to collect the luggage and charged an additional money for half an hour for one room. And as for the second room she ordered to leave the room immediately. Actually we asked just 15 minutes extra. As a result we had to carry all stuff from one room to another (one room was on the ground floor and another on the 4th within 15 minutes out of additionally payed 30 minutes).

    It’s a very beautiful building. We had 2 rooms: a junior suite and a regular room. The rooms were spacious with high ceilings and great bathrooms. The hotel offered complimentary minibars and there were coffee machines with great selection of coffee and tea in each room. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was various and sufficient enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Pleasant, confortable, quiet stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Free minibar, good size room, fan provided (very hot period), quality bath toiletries, comfy bed, quiet location, handy walking distance to Central railway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Attractive hotel badly let down by poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a beautiful art nouveau style hotel that is unfortunately being run quite badly. Staff were chaotic and at times very rude. One occasion was so extreme that we complained to the manager but despite being at the hotel for several days after that incident we heard nothing more. Restocking of the free mini bar was hit and miss, as was the availability of tables at breakfast with areas of seating sealed off for no apparent reason. Breakfast items restocked very slowly so we often ran out of time to have what we wanted.

    Hotel is an architectural landmark in the city and has some lovely details. Unfortunate that many of the rooms, including the expensive junior suites, seem not to have views of the canals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    It was dissapointing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor we stayed at didnt feel safe nor clean (basement), and our rooms were next to the laudry. The coridoors were smelly The hotel was dishonest with us and didn't keep their word. We asked for connected, they told us they booked us connected but when we arrived, they werent connected ! In fact they were 3 coridoors far away from each other! It was a dissapointment because we expected the same service from all the amrath hotels !

    The location of the hotel and the wifi signal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Room is nice, bathroom very nice, hotel has so many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Climate control. Room tended to get hot and there was no way to counteract that. Very low-performing AC, with large windows admitting sunlight.

    Room is nice, bathroom very nice, hotel has so many beautiful and interesting features from 90 years ago.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Art Nouveau Hotel near the cenntre of the Old Town and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Air Con, and we were there during the heat wave, staff were very good and arranged two fans for the room.

    Art Nouveau Hotel near the cenntre of the Old Town and easy access to the Canal Boats, staff were very helpfull and the room was large but a bit warm at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Had booked "Room with View".
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had booked "Room with View"...ended up at ground level with view of walled backyard. Bathroom vanity was so unbelievable worn and absolutely filthy....would be more presentable in third world country, took photos of it for anyone to view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Not worth a five-star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five-star hotel, the service is poor. Firstly mistaken my booking by telling me our breakfast were not included (and we were questioned a couple of times at breakfast again after being confirmed at the reception desk!) No service at breakfast (not even tea/coffee). The sauna was not functional properly.

    The location which is reasonably quiet and Close to central station and a couple of museums. The free mini bar!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    2.9
    Run!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We pulled up at the hotel with 4 large bags, there is no staff at the entrance, so we had to carry them up the stairs ourselves. Then at the reception desk there is only one receptionist and long queue for check-in. The check-in procedure itself is appalling; I have more human contact and pleasantness at any McDonald's in the world. The lobby and ground floor in general has a very strong smell of weed. People are smoking in the hotel lobby and in the hotel bar; the stench was everywhere, like we were in the cheapest coffee shop possible. As we carried our bags towards our room, after wandering around aimlessly (no instructions as to where our room actually is) - the lights inside are very dim and there is RED everywhere; the walls are red, the carpets are red and all stink of weed, sweat and perhaps a slight hint of vomit. Our 'room' carried the same weird and simply appalling features. The bed and floor was squeaking, the light extremely dim, a strange foul smell coming from everywhere. Just overall a very dark feeling. We left running and regret deeply throwing away 400 EUR for nothing, since we didn't even stay there and of course it's non-refundable. So here's my review. Hope this helps. Don't stay here - for this money you have SO MANY other options in Amsterdam Center which are actually suitable hotels.

    Without being sarcastic or ill-intended, absolutely nothing! This is a horrible location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 1800 but my room wasn’t ready. Not the end of the world, I sat in the bar for half an hour and had a drink, but I would have thought the room would be ready at 6pm.

    Great location and lovely old building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable, friendly historic hotel near the central transportation hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs handicap ramp at entrance.

    Loved our stay at this hotel. I was a bit nervous at first because I discovered after booking that this historic building does not have AC but it is climate controlled and the room was extremely comfortable. We arrived early in the morning & our room was ready. The staff was very friendly & helpful. Make sure to check out the gorgeous glass ceiling on the third floor. The pool & spa were an added bonus after long days of touring, as was the stocked mini bar with complimentary drinks. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Location is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It take them about 30 minutes to bring my car from the parking lot!!!! The hotel charged me €500 deposit!! The room is noisy. Room number 707. Lobby is very very small.

    Location is ok. Air conditioning is good. Staff is friendly. Hotel is clean. Beakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our luggage wasn't brought up for us, there were some things broken in the room, booked for a city view but got none, half the breakfast was already been cleaned up when we got there 30 mins before the end.

    Very chique entrance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay but HOT at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is difficult to find your way around this hotel. It was extremely hot during our stay and because of the heritage aspect of this hotel there is no air conditioning. We got the windows opened but then the noise of the traffic was a big problem. I would not stay here again in summer.

    Bed was excellent and bathroom very roomy with all creams, shampoos excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    was very hot , no air-condition, one bed two mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we have ordered a junior suite , in an upper floor we arrived and got a suite in the basement finally we found a room in an upper floor , a bed with two mattresses and no air-condition . although the staff was cordial they were unable to solve this problem

    was very hot , no air-condition, one bed two mattresses

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The Best Hotel in Amsterdam by far!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen was non existent. If was like the door had been taken off. The concertina door.. But we managed by directing the water towards the wall or having a bath and holding the shower head to wash hair. I didn't bring tell reception tho.. But it was room 427

    Everything else.. Lovey decor. Stunning building , big high ceilings, fab pool, free minibar items.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    It was our second visit there, we like it being close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some one had been sick in one of the passageways outside the room, awful,smell when we walked past. Could have been cleaned sononer and better. It was gone the next day however.

    Rooms are a decent size, Nespresso machine welcome first thing in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Could have been great but let down badly by a few failings. Stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is poor value for money and the hot food is not hot, it's burnt cold eggs. Housekeeping is a disaster. They might clean your room before 5pm but can't guarantee that. We had to vacate the room whilst just out of the shower and with my wife's hair still wet for them to clean the room as you can't stay in the room while they do. So we sat in the corridor outside, hair dripping! We had rung reception from 3pm to ask them to clean the room as were going to getting ready to go out early and low and behold the maid arrives in the middle of us getting ready some 2 hours later. There was a mouse running around the bar. There were no hand towels in the toilets and a lot of the rooms have no air conditioning so are stiflingly hot.

    Great location, some friendly staff, the building was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Awesome Amrath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second time staying at this hotel and I have to say it is difficult to find any fault or anything that I didn't like. 5* rating well deserved and we'll worth the money.

    The elderly gentleman who brought our bags and showed us to our room was extremely pleasant, helpful, polite and well mannered. A real.asset to the Hotel. As we were too tired to eat out in the hotel and as we were late down to the restaurant, 9.50am, the bar and kitchen staff very kindly provided us with soup which was delicious. Our Compliments to the chef!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Amrath Amsterdam central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, dirty bathroom, old furniture, expensive and over rated

    Big room on junior suite. Friendly staff. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi/sauna.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    It was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of potiers outside of hotel, to help with the luggage up The stairs when you arrive. The draft In The room, making it cold even when The aircondition was off.

    The bathroom of The deluxe rooms The spa The location The ambience and architecture of The hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant room, comfy bed, well-appointed, helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the bathrobes was worn : ( Bit irritated by deposit on card having paid in advance.

    Very pleasant room, comfy bed, well-appointed, helpful staff; free access to the pool and spa.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Not quite 5 star overall but the staff were lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Attention to detail. No numbers listed on phone for hotel services - had to call reception from an outside line Minibar not even restocked with water.

    Furnishings, decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    Huge hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked like a medieval prison or mental institution ! Layout very confusing inside. Advertises as 5 star yet is nothing to that standard. Spa average. Rooms dark. Breakfast ok. If on business for one night then go. Otherwise wouldn’t bother

    Huge hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was on the ground floor next to a bus stop on the main route to the train station, so there was constant vehicle noise. We attended the museums daily and they were the other side of the city to the hotel, so it was a 40 minute walk or the tram.

    Room was large and clean. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Free minibar in the room was good and kept stocked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Location was ideal, within easy walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not cleaned despite the sign left on door ( left room at 11 am, returned 6:45 pm). Call to reception resulted in housekeeper coming to room but she didn’t know why. Disappointing. Also need to understand that there is no air conditioning (heritage building) & room can be very hot & stuffy ( windows in our room couldn’t be opened).

    Location was ideal, within easy walking distance from Central Station & large number of restaurants on edge of China town & Red Light district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    This is NOT a real five star hotel, stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is one terrible hotel. Old, out dated and in need of desperate attention. I had to stay one night in a room with no air-conditioning in summer time and unable to open the windows. I had to threaten to get a charge back from my credit card issuer before they let me to cut my stay short and leave. cannot recommend and will not return

    Proximity to the station was the only good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    This is NOT a 5 star hotel - it was not a 5 Star experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out unhelpful and rude. When I complained I was asked to go to the manager rather than her come to me. The staff in the dining room for breakfast very unhelpful when we wanted Glutenfree bread and decaf coffee.

    Bell boy excellent. Room service excellent. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    A history lesson in a great location. Close to train station and cruise terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room was very awkward, the curtains opened by themselves in the middle of the night. We got changed to a much nicer room the next day. Unfortunately we lost a shirt of my husband's in the process and nobody could find it. We got charged extra taxes, which should have been included the total price. This left a 'bitter' taste of our stay.

    This is a very old and charming hotel with lots of history. People should ask about the paternoster, which is still working and the glass ceiling, which is absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The behavior and attitude of the staff . Very rude . Dirtiness of the room no one has service the room during the all day long although I had put the sign . When we ask for sth in the room each night they said we are busy come down by yourself . Totally disaster!

    Location and building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel. Stayed many times and love it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing all good

    Top top location. Excellent cocktail bar and rooms are spacious, clean well stocked and airy. Great Mini Bar. Reception is excellent and concierge is top notch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place, not for everyone but WHAT CHARACTER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place, not for everyone but WHAT CHARACTER! I would definitely stay here again. Nothing cookie cutter about this place and one canal from the center of town without being too close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Frustratingly hard/hot.
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 5 star hotel without air conditioning is poor! We had 5 days of hot weather and struggled in the room. Far too noisy to keep windows open. Absolutely no place to hang towels in bathroom, hence towels were changed 2x a day, very bad environmentally. No long mirror or any mirror in the room. Bed very comfortable but the matress set in a wooden frame extremely difficult to get in and out of the bed. Stupid glass panels surrounding toilet, very dangerous. What a pity the designer never tried out his designs first. Loved the area but will not return.

    Breakfasts very good. Spa facilities great, very clean etc...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    This was a wonderful stay and I'll happily return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location could not be better to explore the city on foot; the historic building is beautiful on the inside and has spacious rooms with super comfortable beds; the breakfast buffet has everything you could wish for and the staff is just perfect, very obliging without making a big fuss.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    While the stay was very nice, attention to the small details could have made the stay amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO AIR CONDITIONING! Only one large window and one transom window open. It was in the mid 70's during my stay and while not overwhelmingly hot, at times the room was uncomfortable. There is an overall shabbiness which kept a good hotel from being great. Water stains on the bathroom countertop. Walls had dings and scratches. Wooden corners nicked. Carpet in common area (entrance and rarely used main staircase) looks tired.

    Unique historic property in a great location. Close enough to places to see, but just away enough from busy touristy areas to keep the noise levels low. Lots of areas to wander and discover the amazing architecture and furnishings of the building. Staff is welcoming and friendly. Included minibar is a welcome bonus after a long day exploring the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    2.5
    The outside appearance of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff is awful and definitely not customer care oriented. In total discrepancy with a 5 stars ranking. Noisy room due to the high proximity with the road. Not suitable for family, children’s not welcomed. Standing of the Suite room different with the photos.

    The outside appearance of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was very nice and nicely located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very nice and nicely located. Two negatives : It's a historic building and there is no climate control. The building is not allowed to be retrofitted for AC. Secondly, the bed had a beam that hits your legs as you try to get out of bed. in my opinion , the beam should be a lot lower. Other wise , the room was great, the bathroom was great, breakfast was good, and overall a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing building, not so amazing service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service could have been so much better! We asked for a small spoon during the breakfast to 3 different persons, but nobody told us "Ok, no worries, I'm going to find one for you." We had to go and to find it by ourselves (for a 5 stars hotel, that's a little bit disappointing...). I was ill during the second night. I've asked for a hot bottle for my stomach, there was not (OK, no worries with that). But I've asked for a towel then, and the Reception answered me: "OK, I'll bring it to you in one hour!". (...) Free drinks only the first night, no fulfill of water for the second night. And no fulfill of soap and shampoo for the second night too... Cold water in the bathroom the second day. The sink of the shower was clogged since the first day... Well, many little things that make me think that the service of this hotel is not 5 stars.

    The building and the spa are amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    Worst hotel to stay, no proper cleaning and NO A/C in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel to stay, no proper cleaning and NO A/C in the room, we stayed at Junior suites. I book thru booking.com and paid everything while checking out hotel staff charged me another €61.00 for city tax, I have never given like this tax before. Even I come with my two kids they where also charged €50+€50 everyday for four nights that is I have to pay extra €61+€400= €461 euro extra while checking out. The room was pretty big but still...even the receptionist was rude....my family holidays starting was very sad. I will recommend the hotel manager or the owner to look into this matter and try to solve this issue. Thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    Not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for 5 star accommodation, hotel was dark and difficult to navigate. Took ages to check in, nothing special about the hotel, reception or the room. Chilled champagne in room wasn’t chilled, shower was of poor quality.

    Location was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    I liked everything about this hotel, particularly that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this hotel, particularly that the mini bar and spa were complimentary. It’s also located a few minutes away from the central station and less than a 5 minute walk from the city center. This was perfect because we could easily get to the bars and restaurants but we were away from all the noise. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Considering the cost of the hotel i do not understand why there was additional cost for breakfast. Considering breakfast cost £22 each the service was VERY VERY poor and not enough section or poor quality in the food.

    check out time at 12

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    NEVER AGAIN !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lift was an archaic and dangerous experience blocked there for minutes at my level, with great difficulty to find emergency exit( no indication) no help and no other exit possible by staircase management unattentive and really "bored" by my comments no excuse at all at the end seems amazing for a pretentious " star" hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food marginal at best. 25 euro for a poor breakfast. Car park was 65 Euro per nite.no lobby or lounge we travel all over the world and at best a 3 star hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Very beautiful historic hotel in a great location across from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated more hangers in the closet.

    The bedroom was large, nicely furnished, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom functional and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Strange policy i paid for my rooms on arrival and The amount...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange policy i paid for my rooms on arrival and The amount was reservd when checkiing out they demanded another payment on the amount they reserved on checkin very confusing and made me stress out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Glamorified hostel rather than 4 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant or room service was available but as I was hungry and arrived late in he evening the staff boiled me two eggs for dinner which was appericiated.

    Staff were lovely and helpful,comfortable bed and very clean room. Great coffee!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Cool hotel in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an historic hotel in a great location in Amsterdam - near the central station and within walking distance of everything. Also the trams are nearby and easy to access. The property was great - updated, clean and quiet. The breakfast was great as well. Wonderful staff. I highly recommend it and will stay here again next time I'm in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Altogether another good stay so I recommend the hotel wholeheartedly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping seemed not as assured and impeccable as on previous occasions. We had arranged to stay until noon in the day of departure but at 10.00 while we had breakfast our bed was stripped and our belongings were strewn over the floor.

    We had a large room with view of the city. We have stayed here several times and like the location near the station. We accidentally left two pieces of clothing behind which were retrieved afterwards due to excellent service through iLost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing luxury stay in a very convenient location for public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't have expected a glass door for bathroom/toilet

    Excellent location, comfortable room with a great view and a complementary mini bar. Robes and slippers were also a great touch along with more than helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel in a central area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No handrail going up steps to the front door, shower over very deep bath making getting in & out difficult, mood/ period lighting in room & bathroom made it difficult to read, apply makeup or find things in wardrobe or suitcase. On the edge of the red light district. Quite a few drunk &/or stoned people roaming streets in evening

    Free minibar, comfortable bedding, old style building, close to Central Station & train to airport or regional towns/cities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    A very nice and well positioned hotel with good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checking in and out was laborious with only 3 counters and very limited lobby space, everything seem to take much longer than you would expect.

    Location was perfect for getting around the city and a short stroll from Amsterdam Centraal station. The room was spacious, the Spa was a bonus with good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location but make sure you are placed far away from the breakfast area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room over the breakfast area which was incredibly noisy for hours in the morning. We complained after the first night but the reception staff weren't very helpful. They said they had never heard the complaint before but the scraping of chairs on the marble floors could be heard all around the main area the following morning too. We asked for a change of rooms also but they told us the hotel was fully booked for the night... We checked online after speaking to them and there were plenty of rooms available to book. Whatever about ignoring our complaint, but to lie directly about rooms is really not what you would expect from a supposed 5 star hotel. Really disappointing.

    The hotel is in a great location and the concierge were brilliant in giving advice and directions etc. It is a beautiful hotel which is very quirky.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Live in an Amsterdam design and architecture landmark!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways could get confusing and maze-like!

    The biggest draw of this hotel, in addition to the convenient location, is the amazing history and quirky architecture that reminded me of either some cultish Freemason headquarters or that penthouse apartment in the first “Ghost Busters” which was a portal to another world. One could get lost in the bowels of this hotel and never tire of the grand marble staircases, ancient wood elevators, and amazing deco features throughout!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great comfort and very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not work well, I set it on the lowest temperature but could not get the room to cool down.

    Rooms were very clean and loved the complimentary mini bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Like living in a movie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, being a very old building, has a very antique feeling about it, in a very positive and luxurious sense. Staff is great and helpful. Facilities, including in-room wifi work perfectly fine. Definitely coming back.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: