Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand café Heeren van Noortwyck 3 stars

Quarles van Uffordstraat 103, 2202 NE Noordwijk aan Zee, Netherlands

#13 of 25 hotels in Noordwijk aan Zee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1367 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    We visited on "Bunkerdag" to see the Atlantikwall and Engelandvaaders Museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double room with two single duvets! Fan in bathroom didn't work so it smelt damp, not fixed as we didn't report it until checkout.

    Nice, good size room with nice bathroom. Although we didn't take a dog they are very dog friendly and there were a few staying there. Good breakfast, cost extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Good stay, would upgrade room next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds very soft and budget room very small with twin beds together. Read the small print as no tea and coffee making facilities in the budget rooms

    Good shower and great breakfast selection. Good location for beach, restaurants and bus connections to Schipol, The Hague and Leiden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    almost everything :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had large window, but it was possible to open only very small part of it. In hot days it made a problem (we don´t prefer airconditionig).

    almost everything :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is well located for visit in Keukenhof. Flower parade was just fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change the room, because I booked also the additional night, but separately. So I hoped that I will be able to stay in the same room, but it somehow was not possible. Next room ( number 182) was also very nice, but in very hot April day AIR CONDITION WAS NOT WORKING, so in the evening it was like sauna. This room has two big windows on the sunny side of the hotel. The menager tried to switch air condition, without success. Opening the window also did not help, because it was only quite small window which was possible to open. Keeping window open at night helped a little.

    The room nr 183) was comfortable, big enough, very clean. Beds are a little bit soft, but OK. AIR CONDITION WAS NOT WORKING, but the temperature was bearable. Breakfast is very good, big choice of products, very good coffee. The staff was friendly and kind. Cleaning ladies nice and helpful. Parking could be free, but paying 7,5 Euro was not high price in comparison of more expensive parkings around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room we were in had two single beds rather than a double bed. However, we only booked the day before. Other than that we were very happy with this hotel.

    it was lovely, inviting and clean. We also loved the location; right near the beach and only a little walk to the shops. the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Heating was turned off for some reason for the night, so I...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was turned off for some reason for the night, so I was somewhat freezing, although the heater was set to max. Checked again in the morning and it was again on. The size of the radiator was small for the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff, good location and the availability of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom could do with an upgrade. The building is not accessible for people with disabilities

    Very friendly staff, good location and the availability of parking space

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Low cost and yet just as close to the sea front as the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that the rooms have no ac so in case you book on the summer it may be a problem....

    Low cost and yet just as close to the sea front as the expensive hotels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the hotel car park

    The hotel was clean, good eating area plus tasty food, close to bus stop and beach, very helpful staff sorting out journeys & timetables, would stay there again. ,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location with value the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not find anything with negative impact.

    I liked this hotel because the beach is very close to hotel approx 2 min walking. They have their own parking place and I parked there free of cost. The buffet is average but good for a fresh start. Beside the beach there are many restaurants, so you are able to choose your day meal with different flavor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    3.8
    Book as a last resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a lot of work, it smells old/mouldy when you enter, the mattress was very soft - gave us back pain, room unclean: toilet, dusty shelves, hairs in the bed and on pilowcase, toothpaste still in plastic beakers (on telling the staff we heard no "sorry"). Dusty curtains, paintwork old, carpet old. No lift, stairs dangerous, small steps and steep. Breakfast basic and 1/2 hr before end no replenishment of selections. Fruit juices taste cheap and sweetened. Even old hotels should be clean and look cared for.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional location, comfort can improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is a bit on the old side, and does not have an elevator. Stairs are steep and it is difficult to get to second floor with heavy luggage. Our bathroom still had shower curtain that clings to you when you shower - hate that. Beds were very soft, and did not give back support. Parking at the hotel was expensive at 7,50 euro per night, but cheaper than on the street.

    Perfect location to visit Keukenhof, the fields of tulips, and can't get better to witness the flower parade. The parade could be seen from our hotel room, and it was so much better to walk out of the hotel to see the parade than the thousands of visitors that had to wake up early, park a couple of kilometers away, and stand in line for toilets. Variety of great restaurants in walking distance, and choice of bicycle renting agents. Comfortable and spacious room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Close to the sea;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room with Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the sea; the heating was easily adjustable, so it was warm on a cold April day. The room was simple, but it had all that we needed; the kids liked that their beds were in a separate room with its own door. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.3
    It's close to the beach about 1 minute to the light...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close to the beach about 1 minute to the light house. The room is clean and the bed is not too hard nor too soft. I had a good sleep during my stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    Super hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to go up to the rooms

    Location almost on the boulevard. Hotel parking very reasonable. Comfort rooms slightly larger and more expensive but worth it. Breakfast buffet was good. Lots of choice and kept stocked. They are renovating so it's fresh and new in a lovely old building. Dinner Saturday was All You Can Eat sole or spare ribs. Both excellent. The live band delightful. Excellent value for the money. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    4.6
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud music somewhere until 01.00 am and dog barking until 03.00 am. Poor choice at breakfast. Synthetic duvet - either very hot or cold makes for a sleepless night, even when the music and dog stop. Frankly, an awful hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.9
    good location close to beach with parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms need some work, walls are damaged, carpet with stains and worn patches.

    close to the boulevard with all restaurants and bars, with private parking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant stay which will be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in the room. Good sturdy plastic glasses in the bathroom but were not washed every day as indicated.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast buffet. Location is very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice location a very friendly helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was a bit soft for me.

    Very friendly staff they waited for me as I came in very late. Good location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Good for business trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was quite soft.

    clean, comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to pay for the parking at the hotel - if you book via the hotel website it is free.

    The very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and view at the noisy parking place

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very enjoyable, the food was good and the staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    they prepared for me a to-go breakfast since I checked out...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they prepared for me a to-go breakfast since I checked out very early

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and friendly helpful staff. The evening restaurant was also exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good selection and good coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice time in Noordwijk!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is a little small

    Very good breakfast and very good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was missing an elevator and free parking.

    The staff was extremely helpful and nice. Room very comfortable and WIFI working well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft for me

    location is good room was big with nice terrasse

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Good staff and location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit small when you have a pet, especially a german shepherd that was advised in advance.

    Location and staff were fabulous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is quite cramped for larger cars

    The dining options were excellent, both breakfast and dinner were wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    The location and staff perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location and staff perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    All was exellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was exellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and the room while small was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather on the first day.

    Very friendly staff and the room while small was comfortable. Good access to public transport and restaurants. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a good place to stay but is conscience of their budget. The food at their restaurant was quite good as well.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.9
    Location ideal for the beach and numerous seafront...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room seemed very warm even in April. Could be quite uncomfortable in the height of summer as no air-con. Lots of dogs staying, which we're not so keen on, but all seemed very well behaved.

    Location ideal for the beach and numerous seafront restaurants. Breakfasts good variety and quality.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.1
    Staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room had balcony door that could not be locked, no safe in room, no tea/coffee making facility in room, underwhelmed with breakfast offered

    Staff excellent

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.3
    Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Relatively small room for two. Not much of a problem but an elevator would be helpful.

    Very good breakfast. Very good customer service which satisfied some special requests (e.g. late check-in).

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    6.3
    Location is perfect
    • Couple

    We couldn't sleep due to ventilation equipment running full speed at the backside of the hotel. No window, only door, needs to be open for fresh air. Virutally no ventilation in room. So don't take a room at the backside of the hotel, you won't sleep.

    Location is perfect

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    - Large family room with extra AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Still some redecorating to do in the rooms and corridors.

    - Large family room with extra AC - Nice and newly redecorated restaurant, reception etc - Reasonable and good food in the restaurant (especially the burger!) - Very short walk to the beach and the promenade, perfect as a beachside hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    You should be more kindly in order to repair my mistake in...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    You should be more kindly in order to repair my mistake in the reserve. I mean, by changed my reservation by the reservation made by ESTEC for a price of 55 € a night.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    5.8
    Location bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friday there was a wedding party music stops at 1 o'clock. Everybody deserves a great wedding party but as a guest nothing to do with the party you can't sleep before 1 as the music is to loud.

    Location bar and restaurant. Friendly personal and the ability to rent a bike. Only 200 meters from the beach or so.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    7.1
    Stayed here April/2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a comfort double room with refrigerator and tea/coffee facilities, but 'the computer' allocated us to a standard room with none of those facilities. A room swap was not possible as all the rooms were occupied.

    Stayed here April/2015. Off-street parking beside building. Short walk to beach and town centre with take-away food shops. Quiet location, slept well after long flight. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    8.8
    The room was on the 2nd floor, so minimum noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no lift and 4 lots of stairs to climb. When we came to pay the bill, we found we were paying for a Superior room costing 380 euros not a Standard at 357.20 as quoted by booking .com, - the standard room was being refurbished. Also paid 7.50 euros per night for parking and city tax has also gone up. I felt we should still have paid what we were quoted for the room.

    The room was on the 2nd floor, so minimum noise. It had kettle, fridge and TV as well as plenty of storage and comfortable beds. Shower room was compact but more than adequate.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    9.6
    The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Bike rental direct from hotel was brilliant. Breakfasts very enjoyable, rooms welcoming and very clean. Dinner in restaurant was very good.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    8.3
    We stayed in Noordwijk a few times, and this hotel is one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A new coffee machine would be nice.

    We stayed in Noordwijk a few times, and this hotel is one of the better ones. They are updoing the rooms, and we had one of the 'older' ones, but even our room was very large with a huge bathroom and very clean plus tea and coffee facilities. WIFI worked also very well in the rooms, staff was very helpful (especially when it came to opening my birthday prosecco and recommending local specialities) and the breakfast was very good, large choice of bread (Which Germans do appreciate). Dinner is very good too, creative and tasty variations of standards (you get a discount).

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    6.3
    Beautiful decoration on facilities at the bottom, your first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was hurrbile: cold scrubled eggs, hard croissants and roll, fruitsalad from tin, dark brown bananas .... Broken tiles in bathroom dangerous, hairs on my sheet, bad smell in the entrance hall, maybe from pets, hairdryer on request sticky with hairspray and years of dust etc.

    Beautiful decoration on facilities at the bottom, your first view when you come in, but nothing like that anywhere upstairs like you are in two different hotels.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    6.7
    Close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad odor in bathroom

    Close to the beach. Nice personal.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    9.6
    Excelent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Excelent location. Very nice room. Big room actually. Good restaurant with a fair price.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to dislike!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Also, the room was very clean and the breakfast was superb.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    The hotel is on direct bus route, and has a pick up to ESTEC...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is on direct bus route, and has a pick up to ESTEC space agency. Good price, food good.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was very small

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    6.7
    Smal rooms , no chair etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smal rooms , no chair etc.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    Mattresses are too soft
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mattresses are too soft

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms to small and that the lobby was closed to early

    Location

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location,very friendly staff,great choice at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location,very friendly staff,great choice at breakfast -what more do you need?

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    The so called balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The so called balcony!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice clean room, good location.
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, nice clean room, good location.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    close to the sea, own parking facilities, good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    none

    close to the sea, own parking facilities, good bed

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Everything was as I expected, all well done, very good bar...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was as I expected, all well done, very good bar and dinner was good. Staff all excellent

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    8.3
    The staff was amazing and the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator if you need it.

    The staff was amazing and the location was perfect. The room itself was nothing to write home about but was very clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast , service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not value for money, No lift

    Breakfast , service

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.2
    Quiet and in a good location, very pleasant staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet and in a good location, very pleasant staff, very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    8.3
    Parking available
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi spikes that you may even have trouble reading the email The menu in restaurant is Dutch only

    Parking available Very kind personnel

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff and a good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No internet connection during most of the stay period.

    Friendly staff and a good restaurant.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hotel Grand café Heeren van Noortwyck traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: