Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grand Canal 3 stars

Breestraat 1, 2611 CB Delft, Netherlands

#26 of 34 hotels in Delft

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1092 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    The place was very cosy, nice and clean, 2 min away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The unpleasant thing was that the rooms weren't sound isolated and if in the next room people were talking it felt like they are in same room. Also when the ladies were cleaning in the corridor and nearest rooms it was very noisy. One more thing that bothered me in the end of the staying was the fact that the cleaning fee wasn't calculated in the total sum and we had to pay additionally.

    The place was very cosy, nice and clean, 2 min away from the station and around 10 min by walk to city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Not sure bill would have been corrected if we had not spoken up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm. No AC. Used fan in front of open window all night. Bill for one night stay was overcharged. At checkout brought it to their attention. They will credit back.

    Bed comfortable. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't go back. Suggest rooms on higher floor and possibly booking directly with hotel for a bett
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I.didnt like my room. It was on the ground floor - yes overlooking the canal but all their rooms do - buf because it was low down it attracted mosquitos.. I was bitten quite severely. The room was very basic and small, tiny bathroom, no proper wardrobe to hang my clothes. It didn't really look like the picture on the website I booked through. When I enquiried if I could change my room I was told I could if I paid a additional 20 euros a night. I was already paying over the odds having booked not directly with the hotel. The receptionist on my arrival was particularly rude. Breakfast is not included in room rate. Had I not paid in advance I would have stayed elsewhere.

    The location was within easy distance of train station and not too far towalktocentre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    A nicely situated small hotel which can give you a cozy feeling.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Registration desk closes at 22h. Not a big problem since access becomes remote controlled or with guest key.

    Nice cozy hotel, renovated building with a careful architectural intervention, comfortable, nice breakfast with view over the canal. Delft city center, train station, restaurants, university, all within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Characterful and comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to store bikes. Had to leave them on street, which made for a restless night worrying they were going to get stolen. Also, very noisy on the street at night, although it was a Saturday we stayed. Maybe quieter through the week.

    Great position for exploring Delft with lovely canal views. Complimentary juice, tea, coffee and biscuits in the evening a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Good well located hotel in Delft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a hot weekend and the room got too hot. You need to open the windows to refresh the room, and the bird noises from the canal were a bit annoying.

    The staff is nice, the room cleaning service is very good, the room facilities are good. Breakfast is good value for the price, and it is served very early, that might be difficult to find outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.3
    Very pleasant stay in a clean hotel a short block from the railroad station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above. I cannot speak about breakfast in the pleasant breakfast room because I had breakfast elsewhere.

    I asked for a ground floor room as there is no lift, and was given a rather spacious room facing the canal. It had two chairs and a table, a double bed, a desklike surface, a small chest of drawers, a small fridge, an electric kettle, a television, a Nespresso machine with unclear instructions on it, a good shower, good towels, a wardrobe with four hangers, soap, cotton-tipped swabs, cosmetic remover pads, bath gel in the shower, a selection of teas. The one complaint I have is that the alarm clock-radio in the room didn't tell the right time and had unclear alarm instructions. I asked for a wakeup call and was told at first that this is not done (even though my room was mere steps from the front desk) but at least one one day someone did knock on the door at about the right time. The second morning, they forgot until an hour later. There is no phone in the room for wakeup calls. I have never heard of a hotel that would not find a way to wake a guest who asked for that help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 1. The wifi was very weak - on any of my 3 devices. When I reported that to reception they said “Oh I never have that problem, it must be your fault.” Very slack. Also, I could barely get into the toilet (required a lot of tight manoeuvring). I’m large, but not big...

    The location is great. Minutes walk to everywhere you need to be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, but it is difficult to sleep because of drunk people singing in the middle of the night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only problem is that the street is very noisy. Drunk students in the middle of the night walk around the city singing and make it difficult to have a good sleep!!

    The hotel is really nice,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    would do a little more research prior to booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and unfortunately three sleepless nights. Not replacing the coffee daily was also strange. Only free on the first day. They should rethink this policy. Parking in Delft is difficult at best and car park is a short walk away and not cheap.

    The location is in a safe area and a short walk to the restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wall are a little bit too thin, luckily I had very quiet neighbours

    The location is perfect, the room was very clean and had everything needed for a confortable stay. I will definitely go back next time I am Delft.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    breakfast was excellent every day, wifi worked perfectly and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    breakfast was excellent every day, wifi worked perfectly and we bought romance package, which contained delicious bubbles and chocolates. We enjoyed the stay so much, thank you. Moreover, we had tea and coffee at room and between 18-22 at the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A jewel of a hotel with FANTASTIC staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in rooms would be great, but, in its absence, staff are only too happy to provide pedestal fans to anyone who requires one... you only have to ask.

    Everything! Historic building that used to be the local prison (you can see the bars of the cells just above the water if you do a canal cruise), set on the oldest bridge of Delft. Fantastic location, close to everything including the train station, the main square and shops, that makes it very convenient. Clean and comfortable rooms with spectacular views of the canal. And the staff are FABULOUS... they go out of their way to make your stay even better! I had requested an early check in and they were kind enough to have my room ready for me on arrival. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in Delft...I wouldn't stay anywhere else myself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    lovely place value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator, not much security for luggage storage because they just put luggage together so you cannot be sure that noone will pick your belongings

    almost everything you need is available in the room, even an iron! Great location — quite near the central station, comfortable room, free coffee, tea, and snack between 18-22.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is wonderful and I would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a very cute boutique hotel in a very charming town. It had a lovely buffet breakfast in the morning and snacks available throughout the day. We had a lovely canal view from our room. The hotel was one of the nicest on our trip!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Just loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just loved this hotel. Great location right on the canal and 5 minutes walk from the railway station. Very good breakfast and heaps of character. Would certainly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist had very little idea about the city!

    It was wonderful! The hotel was very close to the station, and our room was by the canal with a great view. We loved the games and beverages in the common room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Really confortable, good breakfast and great localization!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was always helpful and smiley. Accomodations were warm and clean and bed was really confortable. Breakfast was complete and it had good options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location and beautiful building overlooking a canal.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit too expensive.

    Great location and beautiful building overlooking a canal. Super-comfy bed, kind staff, Netflix-level wifi, great buffet breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    My favourite hotel in Delft.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can only say nice things about it.

    It is a very nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere just beside one of the oldest canals in Delft. Its situation is the best if you want to enjoy Delft, but also very close to the train and tram station so you can visit other places like Rotterdam or The Hague or get to the TU Delft campus very easily. It is very clean and all the staff are kind and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, beautiful, relaxed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is simply beautiful. Short walk to main station. Fantastic bars and restaurants just a few hundred metres away. Room was quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I could hear almost everything from the neighbors rooms. And also footsteps from the room above.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a coffee machine, kettle and small fridge in my room which was very convenient. The location is perfect, just near the train station and city center and also walkable distance to the university.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Livio's review
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included but available only if payed every morning (moreover, with a high price...of about 12 euros)

    Clean, nice room design, hospitality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Super location staff and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband thought pillows too soft

    Fresh towels every day , bed made , very helpful and friendly staff , very central to shops abc amenities, lovely bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is a jewel and the location is perfect: quite area...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a jewel and the location is perfect: quite area, close to the train station, close to the city center (walking distance), also close to TU Delft. Breakfast is very good, but note that it starts either at 7:30 (working days) or 8:30 (holidays).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    I'd definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was OK but didn't match the standard of the room. It was a pity that the heating didn't come on earlier than 6pm

    Great room - real wow factor, very comfy bed, good breakfast. very accessible for public transport and an easy walk into the city center and amenities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay when visiting this delightful historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    A comfortable clean friendly hotel in convenient position on edge of old town, short walk from railway station and the tram to The Hague. Sightseeing commences right outside the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable, friendly, historic and accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The motel is close to the train station and is an easy walk from the station. The motel is a comfortably refurbished canal house along a cobbled street and canal. The staff are friendly abs provide nibbles and beverages from 5 till 10 pm. The historical sights in Delft are all in easy walking distance as well as are the shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    The best room I stayed at in the Netherlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Call ahead and confirm you can pay by credit card. Their machine was down, and I had to withdraw a lot of cash to pay them, adding extra fees.

    The best room I stayed at in the Netherlands. Great value, for a very nice room--with all the kitches of Delft, like a turnstyle castle key.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Quiet friendly hotel. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a little thin. I could hear talking from next door easily.

    Location and pleasant and helpful staff. They also had a lovely breakout area and supplied tea, coffee and some biscuits for free between 6pm-10pm which is a nice touch. The breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel and very friendly and accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the student parties closeby.

    Excellent hotel and very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good. Located in central Delft. Only downside was it was too near the student accommodation during Freshers Week, but that is not the hotels fault.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location near the town centre and station (though...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checked in with my dog whom I had emailed the hotel about prior to booking. Was disconcerted to be handed an A4 piece of paper with a list of 12 rules for pets when we checked in. It made me feel uncomfortable and unwelcome and would probably put me off staying there again. Had the list of rules been included on the email I would probably have chosen alternative accomodation.

    Excellent location near the town centre and station (though a bit noisy due to this). Lovely view of canal. Room was very comfortable and I appreciated the little extras like plate and cutlery in the room. Refreshments available in the lounge during the evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.0
    I've walked past this building many times and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    From an interior design point of view this building has suffered. The decor is dated (late 80s / early 90s ?) and the large double-height main room has been split up with no regard for the architectural space. What could be an impressive entrance has been turned into a cheaply-made corridor. But if these are not the sorts of things that bother you then it is a pleasant place to stay.

    I've walked past this building many times and always been struck by what a lovely piece of architecture it is. And it is perfectly sited by the canal and with a bridge outside. Friendly welcome by the receptionists and breakfast girls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Very cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is a little bit small which makes it somehow difficult to feel comfortable if you are tall. Coffee was not very good. And one small detail is that breakfast was supposed to start at 7am, but when we got there at 7am, it was still being prepared and it was ready around 7.15. No big deal, unless you're on a tight schedule.

    Location is perfect. Just less than five minute walk from Delft station and in Delft downtown. The room was very nice and cozy as well as the general space of the hotel. Breakfast was good enough with quite some options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very warm, no air-conditioning, windows quite difficult to open and because of closeness to the canal when the window was open the mosquitos came in

    all good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Delft is quaint and fun. Lots of bars and restaurants. Great student town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathrooms.Door locks need repair. Expensive breakfast not worth money

    Great location 3 min walk from train station. Big airy rooms with view over a canal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 8 nights

    NA

    Friendly staff. Interesting views of canal and student activities (beginning of Owee week, lots of frivolity). Handy to railway station, city centre, cafes and places of interest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can get free tea and cookies in the lounge area. Cute and very clean room. The staff is very nice and the location is very close to the Delft station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The bedroom was awesome with a lovely view on the canal.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure you read the pet policy if you go with your pet. Our dog slept on the bed with us and they made us paid 50 euros because of some hairs on the top bed sheet. It is actually written in the policy that dogs are not allowed on beds, so our fault that we didn't read it. However, 50 euros seemed a lot for one bed sheet!

    The bedroom was awesome with a lovely view on the canal. It was pretty hot when we were there so it was a bit warm in the room, but a fan was provided which was helpful. Perfect location for the station and for visiting Delft on foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice, tastefully decorated room with the canal just under...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, tastefully decorated room with the canal just under the window (room 2, ground floor). Small bathroom but that was no problem for us. Everything was clean. You can hear people in the room above walking around, but that is to be expected in a centuries old building with wooden floors. There was no noise from outside during the night, and they provide earplugs so no problem there. Parking on a few minutes walk (Zuidpoort). Perfect location, perfect place to stay and see beautiful Delft.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    Repair works
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    August, 2 2017 they started reconstruction. I woke up at 7-30 a.m. when repair guys apppeared against window and started with nocking. Strictly do not advice to stay there in 2017.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel beside a canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under reconstruction during the time we stayed, and it didn't bother us too much.

    It is not far from the train station and easy to get to. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.0
    Worst hotel experience of my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I walked into my room just to literally see a man standing right outside of my window (see the photo attached). Apparently, there're doing a "renovation", which includes waking me up at 7 a.m. by banging on my window with a hammer. It was like sleeping on a construction site. Not to mention a creepy dude standing an inch away outside of my window for half of my stay. Also, the Wi-Fi was basically unusable.

    The room was nicely furnished, and it's got the potential.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Good but wish breakfast was cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is i had to pay for breakfast which was fairly expensive 12.5 euros or nearly $19 canadian

    This is a nice hotel with friendly staff and right near shops and resturants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Big comfortable rooms in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet area is a bit awkward, especially if you are tall and there is no safe in the room. The breakfast was nice, but didn't seem worth the EUR12.50 WIFI wasn't great

    The hotel location is great - the canal is right outside your window!It is also an easy walk to the train station and to the main square of the old town. The property itself is a historical building and the room size was much bigger than we expected, even having room for comfortable chairs. The staff were all very friendly. The shower was a decent size, with good water pressure and hot water

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location, nice view, big bed, good wifi, good tv and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Escape route in case of fire is not safe for all rooms. (Very long, narrow and winding corridor with only one exit. Breakfast was not enjoyable at all, for example packaged bread (ontbijt koekje) that had expired several days prior, overboiled eggs, overcooked scrambled eggs, bad coffee, luke warm milk. Also: on weekends breakfast closed at 10.30 and on weekdays at 9.30 which I think is a bit too early. Staff said an ongoing renovation was done to the roof and would not cause much disturbance, it turned out renovation was done to window frames very close to our room and we could not sleep past 7.45.

    Great location, nice view, big bed, good wifi, good tv and seating areas, fantastic bathtub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    lovely staff, good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sleep well as there was noise coming from upper floor rooms and there was a lot of drilling and constructions.

    Location is convenient where the train staion is two minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Gorgeous boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are paper-thin and you can hear your neighbours. No air con so be aware if travelling in the summer.

    Compact size of hotel and the fact that all rooms overlook the canal. Free coffee or soft drinks in the lounge area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in a college town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath was a bit small but doable. We ask for one of the cheaper rooms and it lived up to its advertisement as being "small".

    Close to the railway and easy to find. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and even smaller bathroom. Nearest parking in the shopping centre about 8-10 minutes walk, which is good - notice: don't park on the street.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, cleanliness and great location - city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    Grand canal an ddeception in Delft
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were works in progress in the hotel (not indicated at the booking procedure), and the small and inefficient bathroom was in a bedroom too hot... no way to open the window during the day I suppose due to the works on the façade.

    The location on the Oude Delft the "grand" canal in Delft. Close to the train station walking distance to the centre of the small and cosy town of Delft... not far neither to the major cycling way to the university.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A charming hotel with a warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic..... a few minutes walk from the train from Amsterdam. Anything we wanted to visit was within easy reach. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities and breakfast excellent. We would be happy to return! (and hopefully will.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    A small friendly hotel in a good location both close to the town centre and the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With no lifts in the property some people may have issues with the stairs. This was not the case for my wife and I

    The friendly staff and the size and comfort of the bedroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    magical Delft
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is in an excellent location about 5 minutes from Delft Centraal station on the corner of a canal. The main attractions Oude Kerk, Grote Markt with its Waag, Stadhuis and Nieuwe Kerk and Vermeer Centre is 10-15 minutes walk away. The hotel is very convenient to the station as I had an early flight the next morning. The room was comfortable if on the small side but very acceptable for a one night stay. Delft is very well worth visiting for the night so you can visit restaurants/bars at night after the tourists have gone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am an average-sized guy, and it was difficult to get to the toilet because the sink was in the way. You have to bend your legs, and "scootch" sideways to get in front of the toilet. Once there, it is also a bit difficult to get your pants down and sit. Once seated, a slight look to your right rests your chin on the sink! After making your deposit, getting stood up and pants back up was another difficulty - then another sideways "scootch" to get out in front of the sink to wash your hands. Sitting "side saddle" would have been easier. I don't remember whether there was room, but the toilet probably should have been turned 90 degrees to the right.

    Everything was great except the positioning of the toilet/sink.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in the bathroom coming from other bathrooms or bad ventilation

    Beautiful and very good location. Be prepared to pay by cash, they said that there is a problem to pay by credit card.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    This is my second stay in this hotel and it would have been my third except that last year it was fu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like milk in my tea, and for my early morning tea on the first day, there was no milk on the hospitality tray. I was able to buy some and keep it in the fridge in my room.

    The breakfasts were outstanding. I also liked the fact that in the Lounge area on the mezzanine,free drinks and snacks were available in the evening, particularly welcome after a walk back from the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Very clean cosy hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very clean but also very small.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a window that overlooked the canal and little bridge outside - very picturesque! Breakfast was fantastic and during the evening if we did not go out we had a lounge to relax in with very comfortable chairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    Average stay with no issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator Floors are very thin and can hear sound of foot steps

    Nice view right above the canal Less than 10 mins walk from train station and city center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    The delights of Delft ready at hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While we were on the ground floor, the Hotel does not have a lift but there are upstairs rooms and carrying luggage to and from them would be a bit if a challenge. Internet reception was, especially at night, quite poor.

    Grand Canal is a comfortable Hotel within easy walking distance of Delft station and tram stop, the old town, major attractions and restaurants. The walk from the station (and tram stop) is almost entirely flat and on cobbles, asphalt or cement. We had a good size room overlooking the Canal. While we had to pay for breakfast, the food provided was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Good located but clairaudient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You hear everything from the street and the other rooms. The carpet in the corridor doesn't look nice.

    It is very Close to the City Center of Delft

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast in a great room with big windows on the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room was very dirty with a lot of stains, marks. It's the only negative thing.

    Good breakfast in a great room with big windows on the canal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.8
    Superb location especially if you are travelling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were lovely except for one older and rather formidable lady who was rude throughout - she was the only staff member who didn't say hello when we went in and out and one morning she knocked on our door at 10.55 to say if we wanted our room cleaned we must be out at 11. A bit unusual we thought. We weren't sure if she was the owner or the manager. Also we hadn't noticed the extra charge for cleaning, a bit mean we thought - surely cleaning should be included in the room rate? Small stuff I know, but it's the little things that stay with you.

    Superb location especially if you are travelling by train. Lovely canal views. Friendly staff, except one.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.9
    3 night stay could have stayed 2 and seen Delft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult parking.Noisy breakfast room.Staff banging the plates every morning,not very relaxing...but friendly staff

    food was very nice and good variety.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound insulation between rooms was poor - I could hear the people in the neighbouring room, who were up late while I was trying to sleep.

    great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    A hotel with a lot of character - how often do you get to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could have done with an extra blanket at the start of the night, although the memory foam mattress meant that it got extremely warm during the night.

    A hotel with a lot of character - how often do you get to sleep with a window on a Dutch canal? Delft is wonderful, and the hotel is well-situated. It's not a fancy hotel - but character is more important these days when every modern hotel seems to be the same....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Cozy hotel in the centre of Delft
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable and clean room with wifi, kettle, and iron. Fresh vegetables, fruits, and bread at the breakfast. Moreover, during the day sweets and smoothies were available in the common room. The staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building obviously is a bit older. Having the bathroom effectively in the room (no door in between) is not something I like, but seems to be a 'trend' in the city.

    Location is very near to the trainstation, so easy access, and we didn't notice any noise because of it. There's also a parking garage not too far away. The staff is very friendly. Having free drinks available in the upstairs seating area is a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went delft for business work and booked this hotel for five nights. The location of the hotel is very closed to every amenities and the room is right next to the canal. Staff was very friendly. Overall it was a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Wonderfiul Place, but even better People
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was right in th city of old Delft, on a canal (lovely!), people (probably students) going by on the street on the other side of the canal were very noisy and woke me a few times one night. But I wA a stuxwwnt once myself ... People in a neighbouri g room were also big mouthed one night. Perhaps noise insulation of rooms could be improved. Yet the town of Delft is so lovely, and the young women working in your hotel reception, and the location of this immacuately clean hotel all so brilliant that the most important thing for me to say is that I was very happy staying with you. The whole four weeks I travelled in the Netherlands were marvelous. I chose to travwl feom Australia to the Nethwrlanda because I love the painting (the Golxen Age) but it is the people who SHINE most in my memories, inlcluding the your receptionists.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    Good in many ways.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are a bit this. Could hear most of the conversation from the room next door.

    Modern and clean with lots of character. Excellent staaf and a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    4.2
    No sleep till ... brooklyn? or no sleep till 05:00?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you desire not to sleep at Friday nights, this is your hotel. It seems there is no noise insulation of any kind, which allows you to hear after-parties on the streets of Delft between 02:00 and 05:00 . We experienced this on a Friday night, however Delft is a student city..... The rooms have no heater or airconditioner, which makes the temperature of the room also a seasonal thing.

    The bed was comfortable. The view on the canal is nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    9.6
    very convenient location, just a few minutes away from train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room with view on the channel, the downside was that it was quite noisy during the night due to (drunken) people walking in the street. Better accousic insolation of the windows would help a lot!

    very convenient location, just a few minutes away from train station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    great hotel located at the gateway to historic Delft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    issue with bookings.com two rooms booked in my name but only one room booked 30/8/16. The hotel had details from yourselves 9/8/16

    Excellent staff good facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.8
    Nice location, cute building.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxurious Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very small, no lift so you need to drag your stuff up the stairs with no suggested help from anyone, breakfast poor and expensive.

    Nice location, cute building.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grand Canal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: