Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amrâth Grand Hotel Frans Hals 4 stars

Damstraat 10, 2011 HA Haarlem, Netherlands

#8 of 16 hotels in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1276 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was fab.

    We were upgraded on arrival to a junior suite, it was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good, there were water coolers on each floor and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the hotel doesn’t have a gym or pool.

    The service from the moment we arrive was awesome, I arrive early for the check -in and the lady was kind enough to allow us to get a room at an earlier time. We stay 9 days love the location is so centric we love to stay in Haarlem it is our second time visiting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress is a bit too soft for me.

    Good location in the town centre and the river. Room is larger than usual hotel rooms and the skylight in th middle is a delight! Like it that they provide free water from dispenser and fruit. Glad they also provide bicycle rental. Helpful staff who also booked my taxi to airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very over rated hotel- at best deserves 2 stars. Sheets were of course cotton, bed sagged and soft. Pillows lumpy and firm. Very small room with one chair. Our third floor room had a skylight but tiny window with a view of the roof. Laundry prices exorbitant. And slow in arriving. Try another hotel!

    Excellent location. Skylight in ceiling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager should have got in touch with me and apologised for our inconvenience and at least not charged us for the 1st night. Had I been in his place to keep his good will, would have given a complimentary stay. But he must have had constraints

    I arrived in the evening checked into my room around 5pm decided to see the centre of Haarlem and have a meal, felt good. On reaching our room 1/2 hour later the room was very stuffy,rang the reception complained, someone came up tried to fix it. Did not work. Offered to change our room at 11pm. It was too late. Did not sleep . Fixed to see the manager next morning at 9am. Manager was not there, and no apology. I had specifically stated on arrival that I will pay cash for the 650 odd euros which was my bill for the 4 nights. On my wife's credit card, 1000 euros was debited without explanation. Next day my room was changed and I was given the paltry amount of 50 euros as compensation. Poor impression after it's rating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some service was surly. Breakfast basic, need more than 1 pillow. Have to pay extra for robes, slippers

    Very comfortable bed, clean airy hotel. Fantastic location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose to stay here rather than Central Amsterdam and I am very glad I did so. Haarlem is a lovely town with good facilities and fabulous walks, only 15 minutes from Amsterdam by train, and another 10 minutes to the coast. And this hotel is very well run in an excellent situation between Grote Kerk and the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was hardly any breakfast left at 09.30 2 sausages no rolls no orange juice limited coffee no cake. When I complained the waiter looked at his watch as if to say "You're too late"! The waiter did go and get some bread but it took 10 mins to achieve. At €130 per night I want the same breakfast as everyone else not the leftovers. The hotel bar was glum with no atmosphere. There was very little in the way of leisure activities at the hotel. I was on a leisure holiday so it was disappointing. The room was tidy but dark with only a small window and no view. Again not suitable for a 4 night stay as a tourist.

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price / quality is unacceptable for a 4 star. For this price I expect a bathroom with all amenities and functioning equipment. Soap dispensers, a 1-stage hair dryer and no dedicated bathroom ventilation are a no-go for this rate. Breakfast is OK, but (very) basic for a 'grand hotel'.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely spacious. Hotel staff very friendly and very helpfull. I would definetly recommemd this hotel for anyone visiting Haarlem. Location is ideal as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the bathroom is privacy glass. The climb into the bathtub could be difficult for people with mobility problems.

    The quietest room! I usually can’t sleep in hotel beds, but these beds were the most comfortable EVER! If someone is on vacation, the location is fabulous. You are down the street from the Grote Market. Close enough to everything but far enough away from the congestion. The train station is an easy 10-15 minute walk down great streets. Amsterdam is an easy hop on the train. Once you’ve been there, you really appreciate your hotel and Haarlem. The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. When we make a return visit to Haarlem, we will be returning to this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good location. Close to Grote Markt and river. Room on 4th floor was very large. Easily adjustable air con. Great bath & shower. Beds very comfortable. Beautiful spiral staircase and ceiling dome. Lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like about this hotel.

    Lovely room in a lovely hotel. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on it but the hotel itself was very nice. The bed was comfortable. The location was very good with lots of cafes and shops nearby. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay and all staff were very friendly with the possible exception of the man who did the checkout the evening before we left. He arranged a wake up call but we did not get this.

    Breakfast was good. We had a good welcome at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That's they tried to over charge me by a £100. The receptionist guy was rude. Didn't top up our toiletries and had no slippers or dressing gowns. Had to go back down and ask.

    Beds were comfy, nice breakfast. Room was big enough for 3 people

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dry good breakfast. Great location right in the center of Haarlem near the town square. Short walk to the train station for easy connections to Amsterdam and beyond.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints at all!

    We chose this hotel solely on the information provided by Holland.co/booking.com and were very pleased - - it proved to be an excellent choice. If I know of anyone who is planning a visit to Haarlem, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Haarlem. It is very easy to travel by train to Amsterdam for less than five Euro each way, it takes twenty minutes and comes every 10 minutes. I would say staying in Haarlem is a better option than in Amsterdam as it is really crowded.To reach Haarlem using the direct bus 300 from the airport get off at Haarlem Centrum rather than at the train station as it is nearer the hotel. The hotel ticks all the boxes and the breakfast if included in the rate is very good as there are varied options including hot food. I would stay here again as the hotel is fine and the staff are helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is nice and clean however a bit outdated. Booking mentions there is parking with the hotel, however this is public parking

    nice location in the center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady downstairs on Sunday morning was really cranky.... I wanted to checkout and give the key card back and the first thing she said was “ wich room nr”? Not even a good morning! So this was quite a negative vibe.... rest of the hotel was good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many business groups and therefore the tables at breakfast were all occupied at the time we came or at least not cleaned. No extra staff for the breakfast I think.

    The location in the center of Haarlem with restaurants and shops is very good. There is even a good restaurant nextdoor. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating panel has a very birght green LED that will be waking you up at night.

    Comfy bed, tasty breakfast, welcoming receptin staff, location right in the heart of the historical city centre (main square)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel facility and rooms are old and requires update. Value for money is poor compared to other hotel alternatives in Haarlem.

    Bar in restaurant where we had afternoon drink. Friendly staff at reception and breakfast restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too high - OK if you usually use 2 pillows but not suitable for me. There was no gym on site. Not a major problem but would be nice to have.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy with new furniture - as was the bathroom. The location was great - right in the centre of Haarlem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had asked for a quiet room, but it was VERY CLOSE to the doors of a bar/nightclub, called something like Nibulu - can't remember the exact name. Anyway I was moved to another room and everything was fine. I have stayed here many times before and it's always been excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were too soft. One big window/door could not close properly, cold winter air came in and the heating system could not warm the room. This problem was solved next day by the staff by fixing the window and provided an extra space heater. On our second night stay (a Friday night), very loud music from 9pm-ish till 1am. It was a X'mas party in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Not only the music was loud, but also our room vibrated with the beat. Upon calling the front desk, we were told there's nothing they can do about the problem except giving us some credit back to our room charge. So we gave our room number. Early next morning we checked out, were told there's no remark on our room, and the manager was not there till next Monday. So we leave email address for the manager to update the situation and was charged the full room rate. It is now late afternoon of Monday Haarlem time and we haven't received any email notification. Either that was a broken promise or sloppy management job leave loose end, it wiped out all our good impression of this hotel.

    Great location. Right next to the St Bevo Church and the square. Easy access to Teylers Museum and all the shopping area. Drinking water and green apples always provided in the public area. Umbrella for customers to borrow.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom in the room is WITHOUT heating system, it is like a freezer. It is in unbelievable for a 4* hotel. The staff was very nice and they give us a little electric heater, but of course is not the same....when you wake up and the bathroom is frozen.... Also to be a 4* hotel is missing a gym.

    NIce location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is secure parking next door to the hotel and prices are high, €25 per day. The hotel can tell you where to park for free which is one stop out of the city on the train. It would not stop us staying there again, we just hadn't budgeted for it

    The hotel is in a fantastic central location and quiet. We parked the car on arrival and didn't need to use it again. You can hear the mellow chime of the Grote Kerk cathedral clock - it is silenced at night! The railway station is a 10 minute walk with access to Amsterdam in 30 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was opaque glass

    Location was great within easy walking distance of concert hall, shops, restaurants, cathedral and museums. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was a reasonable size and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our flight was cancelled because of strike in France, so we had to stay for one night somewhere not far from the Schiphol Airport. Because of thousands of people stucked in the Airport, all hotels near where full, we choosed this one and it was very nice. We got upgrade to executive and it was big and cozy. The guy on reception was very quick and we spend only few minutes on check-in and check-out. Unfortunately, we didn’t see the city around as we came late at night and had a flight early in the morning. From the airport we took uber it was approximately 25€ but it didn’t work early in the morning, so guy on reception called us a taxi and the price was 47€.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Found old cake in freezer... And freezer was not working. But was changed to another one next day after my request.

    the location is good in city centre of Harlem. Near a lot of restaurants and interesting places. Apples everywhere in hotel! Mo lovely green apples :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    prefer kingbeds and they were out ...

    The location is excellent with walking out of the door your have a wast selection of restaurants and bars and you are in the middle of everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room service order got lost and was very average when it finally arrived. Though credit to them for not charging us. The pillows and mattress covers are cheap synthetic and absorb all your heat during the night - you wake up cooking!

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although car park was convenient, no discounted rate available.

    Location is excellent for Haarlem. Convenient nearby car park. Spacious rooms with air con. Excellent nearby restaurants, bars and general evening ambience. Quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little sterile and impersonal. We tried on several occasions to have them make the bed without the blankets and the desk staff claimed to understand. But we finally just had to remake the bed ourselves.

    Outstanding location. It was difficult to find as it is located inside a pedestrian only area. But, once you learn that the parking lot entrance is on the main street and that the elevator takes you the hotel entrance, it is very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bars didn't have any music so very little to do on the night.

    The location was very beautiful, it was a good distance away from Amsterdam central however the train station was 5 minutes walk away. Do you could get there in 30 mins. There were plenty of shops and places to eat. The hotel was lovely and the staff were very helpful. The only downside was there was no bars playing music. It was very safe and people were very friendly. Netherlands is very expensive compared to the UK so I would factor that into account of you are travelling with children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes with the central location comes a downside of being at times a little noisy, especially if you want to sleep early. For me that wasn't a problem but for others it could be.

    I liked the location as it is in the centre of everything that is going on. I liked my morning shower with always hot water to freshen me up for my day ahead. I liked the friendliness of all the staff who were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For two consecutive days, we got old towels with holes during our stay (see added pictures), which is absolutely unacceptable for a 4-star hotel! The staff in the reception displayed a correct attitude, though without any passion for delivering service or a genuine welcoming feeling. The cleaning staff on the other hand always walked around with a smile on their faces and said hello when walking through the corridors. The hotel room (315) felt worn down/tired: the carpet on the floor came of the wall (see picture for visual), the curtains felt old and are in need of repair (hem). More eye for detail would certainly be appreciated. It is the small things and gestures that make you stand out from the crowd (and right now this hotel does not do that). In a disruptive world where these kind of hotels need to compete with small B&B's and new concepts like Air BnB, Amrath Haarlem needs to step to the plate.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, right in the city centre. We booked a room without breakfast and really enjoyed eating at some of those small and cosy breakfast places Haarlem has to offer. We can really recommend that! The flavoured fresh water in the main entrance was a treat too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. It needed prompting to refill the hot items, hotel billing system tortuous on checkout

    Good value, spacious clean and well equipped, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the front of the hotel so had to keep the windows closed because all the terraces were full until late.

    Location is great, building is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have to park a car, but I'm not sure how close you could park a vehicle - might be a ways away.

    The hotel was great - clean, comfortable and location was excellent. We loved the breakfast and how water was available in the hallways. Great place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really found no fault with your hotel.

    The staff were very friendly. We chatted with the people at the front desk and in the dining room. The breakfast was excellent. The room was very satisfactory. Haarlem is a beautiful and compact city, ideal for walking and bike rides, and the hotel is centrally placed. Bring a sketch pad. Rent a bike for a long and leisurely ride to the coast and back in a northerly loop. Classical music CD collectors should not miss Bruno Klassiek's great selection on Gierstraat. If you are lucky there may be an organ recital on the mighty instrument minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only inconvenience is that there is no car park and the shower for disabled people was quite uncomfortable. Although it was so big and with easy access, the seat was too small and without armrests, needing extra help to stand up.

    The reception is open 24 hours and the employees were really nice and quite helpful. They even gave us a map and some recommendations for lunch and tourism. The hotel is wonderful, quite comfortable and spacious for wheelchair.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated the bed, very annoying 2 single beds kept spreading apart - not good for couples Staff were helpful but didn't seem very happy in their jobs all looked rather miserable and not overly welcoming

    Great location to stay in beautiful Haarlem Room rate was reasonable Good room size and very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had a room off the main elevators so could hear noisy guests arriving (very late) after hours.

    Loved the small touches such as cold filtered water and green apples in the hallway, plus coffee and water in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible .... It kept sliding apart so not very romantic at all and quite annoying. The front counter staff seemed grumpy all the time and need to smile more, they were helpful just not overly friendly

    Fabulous location and quite a nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quite pricey therefore feel a continental breakfast could have been included. The painting on the wall above the bed was a little bit creepy. Could here the noise outside from people drinking but the room was too hot to keep the window closed.

    The skylight window. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mid May was very mild but the heating was on & it was too hot in the room so needed to keep windows opened to feel more comfortable . This was only a minor discomfort

    When we arrived we were upgraded to meet our needs .Very good restaurant, good value and most courteous & accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel in central Haarlem is a great place for a long or short visit to Haarelem. Last year we stayed several days but this year just an overnight between flights. It's less than half an hour from Schipol Airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Nice hotel in a great location just off the main square, within walking distance from the train & bus station as well as the canal and the local windmill. Staff was very helpful. We arrived very early in the day and we were able to check in long before normal arrival time. The hotel had a beautiful oval stained glass at the top of the winding stairs that you could see from the lobby. They also offered free coffee in the lobby, which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff more interested in own conversations than serving in a timely manner. Fire alarm, apparantly false, continuously going off resulting in black out blinds coming down over bedroom windows. Explanation not satisfactory and rather laissez faire.

    Location and price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: When we arrived at 9am into the dining hall, 7 tables were occupied and every other table had been used but not cleared away. I have a child who is a fussy eater with me and so we were looking for a very small breakfast but no cereal bowls were available for cereal, all croissants were gone and the only bread available was extremely hard on the outside. Room: Allocated a street facing room so all street noise could be heard. Sleeping was an issue as a result. Toilet paper: What was provided was what you would expect in a public toilet. While every business lives within a budget, I believe Lidl or Aldi do a very soft toilet paper which, I would imagine, would come within any toilet roll budget figure. No excuse for such quality in a 4 star hotel.

    Couldn't fault the hotel as it is a beautiful building; the room itself was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DO NOT travel by car! Parking and parking prices are a real problem! The closest parking house was not only expensive but full too, so we had to find another solution. In this situation you can not expect any help from the hotel. Parking outside town and taking a bus back to the city center is an alternative option.

    We liked the location a lot, the room and the breakfast were fine. It was a little noisy, but okay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses too soft, pillows very lumpy and uncomfortable. Despite mentioning this too staff nothing was done. Lobby not that welcoming.

    Great location, good sized rooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are driving, keep in mind the hotel doesn't have parking. You have to use the public parking garage which was pricey, but we were there only the one night, so not a deal breaker.

    Exceptional location right at the St. Bavo Cathedral on the market plain. Very central, walking distance, to sights. Quaint old-town, historic feel about the area: cobblestone pedestrian walks, historic buildings, sidewalk cafes, etc. The essence of Europe.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appearance of the hotel from the outside is not encouraging. The only food that they serve is breakfast, but there are dozens of nearby restaurants.

    The reception staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. They recommended an excellent nearby restaurant. The location couldn't be better and if you haven't been to Haarlem you need to go. Haarlem is a treasure, much more interesting than Amsterdam. Rooms, bathrooms are clean. The hot buffet breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in room 121 needed replacement. It was not up to such a hotels standard these days. It sagged in the middle and did not adequately support us. Pocket spring mattresses should be standard even IKEA has better beds.

    Location and staff excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception poor. No honest information. when a complint was given .(Room was > 27 degrees.No cooling possible.Rude answers. breakfast was a chaoss.No management available.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very cold. The only heating was from an air conditioning unit but was not adequate. No extra blankets in the room. The hairdryer was not very powerful and difficult to use as it was small and the 'on' button had to be held down all the time. The first room we were offered was much smaller than the one we were finally given and the bathroom was not of the same standard. The reason I asked to be moved is that all the bathroom doors are opaque glass and the bed was positioned facing it with a lovely view right onto the toilet! Zero privacy. The room next door was much larger with a more luxurious bathroom although both were classed as 'executive'. Also, be prepared for early morning noise at the front of the hotel. Building work across the road started at 7am and there was other general noise going on in the morning. Front facing rooms not for light sleepers.

    This hotel could not be more central. The location is perfect, right in the centre of Haarlem, just off the main square. Staff very friendly and helpful. The executive room was spacious and clean with a good bathroom which had a bath and separate shower Comfortable beds. Robes and slippers provided which is always nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not keen on glass bathroom doors. Don't close properly and then are at best opaque only.

    Comfy room. Breakfast very good. Staff very helpful. Fast wifi. Excellent location. Free use of solid umbrellas!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only slight downside was that for my room I had to use a normal syle key for the door ( instead of a plastic entry card ) which had to be handed in whenever I was leaving the hotel.

    Nice hot shower which was easy to use. Wi-fi worked acceptably. Made use of the safe in the wardrobe to store certain items while I was out. Bed was very comfortable for me. Location of hotel is a big plus as you are immediately in the heart of all that is going on.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't get our requested "quiet" room. Whilst we were "upgrade, our room on the top floor had a skylight which was very noisy when it rained

    Breakfast was over priced

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything else. I don't consider that this is a good value for money and I won't be staying here again.

    it was clean and the location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was a bit corporate although I guess this is to be expected given the amount of business people that probably use the hotel. Of course, Haarlem has so many lovely bars anyway!

    The Amrâth Grand Hotel Frans Hals is perfectly located approximately two minute's walk from the main market square. The hotel is lovely and the staff are exceptional. Despite the central location we heard no noise at night and slept wonderfully. I would definitely stay here again and I adored Haarlem too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I prefer a large bed to be actually one large bed -- not two twin beds pushed together. Otherwise the comfort was fine, since I was traveling alone. If my husband had been with me, we would have been very disappointed!

    Breakfast was lovely, room was clean, location was fantastic (center of old Haarlem), and the staff was very kind.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had originally parked at parking lot under the hotel. The personnel asked where we had parked, and told us it is very expensive to park in the parking lot below . Therefore we were re-diverted to a location (supposedly Free parking), where we got a parking ticket of 90 Euros . Unbelievable !!

    location was great - walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff unfriendly, both lifts out of order, had to climb three flights of stairs. Expected better for the price. Breakfast would have been 18 euros - we did not partake!

    Pleasant room, stylish bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked the staff during checking in if we can keep our luggage in the hotel for 4 days as we would be travelling to Iceland and then back to Amsterdam. Initially, they agreed but during check out, the staff mentioned that there was some misunderstanding and it wint be possible to keep our luggage as we are not staying in their hotel once we are back in Amsterdam. While these might be their rules,but the hotel staff could have checked with me and informed me beforehand so that i had time to keep the luggage in the other hotel we are staying on our way back

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have felt even more welcome if the hotel had a deal with the next door parking for a reduced rate.

    Huge room, big bed, all the comfort one needs ... and a beautiful central staircase. The hotel is really downtown, with a public parking house right next door.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have appreciated extra pillows although we did not ask so it may be an option.

    The location is brilliant, with restaurants and bars on your doorstep, have a nice relaxing walk along the canals or enjoy shopping and sight seeing. Its a very peaceful location, and despite it coming alive at night on the weekend, once the window is closed it is noise free. The staff are so friendly and rooms are adequate with daily cleaning service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite could be a bit more luxurious

    Very comfortable rooms. Amazingly supportive staff. We were thirty people and our coach (in spite of being duly booked) to the wedding place didn't show up. Receptionist Dasha found us a new bus on the spot, despite gay pride taking place at the same time in Amsterdam. She saved the wedding!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was tepid, with low water pressure and awkward location (2 star not 4 star); doors were designed to bang every single time any occupant or cleaner came in or out along the entire corridor. Will not stay there again.

    Friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would've preferred a firmer mattress.

    The location in Haarlem can't be beat. In city center, ten minute walk to the train station for day trips, five minutes to the bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was nearly perfect!

    Great location, great hotel, extraordinary food, and a worthy city of friendly and tall people. But watch out for the silent menace of ubiquitous bicycles, gliding along the cobblestones at warp speed.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception was very unexperienced and check-in with a group of 12 was painful and took forever, our room smelled like people smoked in there, and the pillows were quit hard. Would still recommend the hotel though

    Excellent location, rooms were quit big, good bathroom/shower

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amrâth Grand Hotel Frans Hals traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: