Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Café 4 stars

Tweebaksmarkt 25-27, 8911 KW Leeuwarden, Netherlands

#3 of 22 hotels in Leeuwarden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2395 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The acoustic for the singer in the restaurant was not great. We think she was good, but could not hear very well.

    Very central location. The building is awesome. Nice friendly staff. They roast their own coffee in the building. You can buy the coffee and other nice ( mostly local) products.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and service: deluxe double room has an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work so well and kept on being disconnected all the time.

    Excellent location and service: deluxe double room has an extremely comfortable king size and all you can wish for. Staff very helpful and attentive. Food is delicious! Top quality stay all in all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    A nice designer hotel in a lovely city
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tiny spot lights look great in the photos, but are of no use when you are trying to pack or get dressed. The room and bathroom are very dark. You cannot see in the mirror.

    beautiful central space designed from an even more lovely old post office where they serve a great breakfast. Our room was spacious and quiet, with an extremely comfortable bed. Fresh towels arrive every day and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    This hotel is what every hotel should aspire to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We and our friends had a wonderful weekend stay at the conveniently located Post-Plaza Hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The rooms were quiet, beautifully decorated and thoughtfully designed. Our beds were extremely comfortable... it was one of the best night's sleep we've had while traveling. We ate lunch in the gorgeous restaurant and enjoyed the creative menu. The breakfast buffet had an incredible selection and everything was fresh and well attended. It was an excellent value at 15 euro. It . This hotel offers everything you could want or need in a home away from home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were upgraded to a suite which was huge and very comfortable We had dinner in the cafe and breakfast - both were good and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful time here, would definitely go back! Thank You :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee machine in the room was not working correctly, but I brought this to the attention of the staff and they were great! So not really a dislike, more of a slight inconvenience! :)

    The staff were very friendly. The wellness facilities were clean and very nice. The breakfast was lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    The food, the room, the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater in the bathroom. I went in February and it was really cold. The bathroom did not have any radiator and it was freezing at night. I would have preferred the temperature to be higher in the room as well, but that is pretty subjective.

    The food, the room, the building. It is awesome and the breakfast is completely worth it. IF you plan to stay there, go for the breakfast option. We also had dinner there and the food was really good. Also, you can see the kitchen from where you sit and it is extremely clean and, in top of that, there is not any smell.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Great restaurant and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The white walls in the room I did not like, reminded me of my last stay in the hospital. We reserved parking lot through hotel which eventually did not become available; fortunately there is a parking garage close by for almost the same rate.

    I liked the restaurant Grand Cafe and its staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    After my complaints, the hotel staff went the extra mile to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not impressed by the quality of their food and customer service.

    After my complaints, the hotel staff went the extra mile to correct their mistakes but it left a bad experience at the end.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Like sleeping in a cloud...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is very cool! The location is great. The town of Leeuwarden is beautiful. I can't say enough good things!

    The bed, comforter and pillows make you feel like you're sleeping in a cloud. The shower is wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    short but sweet .
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants in surrounding area all closed on monday nights , except the Irish bar next door which served excellent beers and tasty food

    the beds were the most comfortable ever and the duvets the most plump and warm . Think in all my travels the best ever .....and i travel every other week .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Great ambience - good rooms. Would definitely choose again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can be a bit tricky - restricted amount of spaces. A bottle of water in the fridge would have been nice.

    Good restaurant attached. Interesting building with nice atmosphere. Modern room and bed very comfy. Clean, modern bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    the service was very helpful and attentive and the nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mattress of the bed could be better

    the service was very helpful and attentive and the nice grandcafeé was excellent place to be for a drink and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was amazing. Gorgeous rooms and extremely welcoming atmosphere. I can honestly say this is one, if not THE, best hotel we have ever stayed in. I can not recommend it highly enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    It's a beautiful hotel - modern but with nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room. Breakfast buffet was a bit chaotic.

    It's a beautiful hotel - modern but with nice traditional touches, such as old hardwood wardrobe in our room. The room was very quiet despite a party in Grand Cafe that night. I would definitely stay there again. Grand Cafe is really impressive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    the breakfast was ok, only the scrambled eggs, sausages and...
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was ok, only the scrambled eggs, sausages and the bacon were rather cold, a pity really, The service was good , young and friendly people In the bedroom, was only one chair, so a bit difficult if 2 persons want to put their cloths somewhere or want to sit. You usely do not put the cloths you are wearing in the cupboard.! The beds were perfect. Their administration should be better. My bill was far too low and I asked them to check that and they corrected the bill. But not everybody is honest and this way the might lose a lot of money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was just ok, nothing really stood out, we were expecting some more choice in the warm dishes, that unfortunately were limited to toasties, bacon and scrambled eggs.

    The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious, the staff friendly and the sauna was awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended--the hotel, our room and the staff were outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Affordable city parking is available but requires a moderate walk from the property.

    The hotel itself is fantastic, but the addition of the Grand Cafe truly sets this property apart. We found everything we wanted and had a great stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel in the center of Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect service. Nice rooms in historical building. Well equiped room and bathroom. Location in the centre is great too ! Can only recommend it if you want to stay in Leeuwarden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful and stylish hotel that even has its own beer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room and bathroom was a little to dark

    A beautiful and stylish hotel that even has its own beer. Quite but very close to the citycenter. Nice staff. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    A absolutely lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting for doing make up is not fabulous. My husband and I had massages booked and my massage bed didn't have a face hole so my neck was incredibly sore when I left, from having to turn my head to one side. I would have also preferred my male masseuse to have left me in private to dress and undress.

    I loved the decor, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Food was tasty, drinks were tasty. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with very, very friendly and helpful staff! A lovely building!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a limited number of parking spaces, so I had to put my car on the public road in front of the hotel were you have to pay from 8 in the morning until 10 at night.

    the staff was excellent, the restaurant & bar very 'gezellig', this beautiful old postoffice is turned into a great 'stay over' location. The old part of the hotel is a bit dated, but I had a change to take a glimp at the new rooms and they are very stylish. Very helpful and joyful staff. I was alone at the restaurant for diner and they made me feel comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Instant comfort and happiness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far too short amstay!

    Loved this hotel so much in June that I came back and brought my husband, who was equally enthusiastic This place is luxury yet price not bad. Fantastic staff who go the extra mile, let us breakfast nearly an hour after breakfast was over. Delicious food, beautiful spacious room, clean, quiet, a wonderful place, you could spend all day here and feel really relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    A charming hotel with a very good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking is at a garage 10 minutes walk away. The walk is charming though. The driving in Leeuwarden is atrocious. There is construction and GPS has real difficulty getting you back to the area of the hotel. This hotel is near the train station and so could be used as a base you could take day trips from. But at present I would not use this hotel as a base from which to take drives into Friesland and elsewhere.

    The hotel restaurant is very good and this is a big plus. Hotel is right in the center of town. Room is very large and charming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Pleasurable, pretty town, friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town was closed on Monday. Only had 1 day in Leeuwarden and did not get into any of the sights

    Bed was soft and comfortable, room well appointed, bathroom and shower excellent, could do with a shelf in bathroom for toiletries

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Good stay. Good weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the hallway. The noise isolation isn't great. When people in the hallway speak, it's as if they are in your room. Also all doors close with a bang. So sleeping in can be a challenge. The rain shower. There's not enough water pressure, so it's a bit of a lame shower - not great to wash your hair.

    The grand café is very pretty. The room was nice with a good bed. And staff was super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    - excellent beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - from the room you could not look through the windows - including breakfast and parking high rate

    - excellent beds - good location - nice friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Lovely building, well appointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback was having to park quite far away. But that is not the hotel's fault.

    Very atmospheric building sensitively modernised. Fabulous breakfast with superb selection of bakery

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Comfy bed, a silent street view, large room and of course -a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 Euros for an extra 2 hours in the room is expensive for a late checkout. The air conditioning was out of order and there were workers on the roof working for that. Both of those didn't bother us.

    Comfy bed, a silent street view, large room and of course -a hard to find in Holland- elevator

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.7
    Decent but pricey place to stay, go elsewhere to eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms don't have a fridge The breakfast is pretty basic. It's not bad, just nothing which makes you say... "Wow" The restaurant was a disappointment. We had an issue with one of the dishes which ended in a back and forth with one of the waiters. The hotel staff is pretty ok. The restaurant staff seemed argumentative.

    The location is good. The rooms are spacious though a little too dark. There are many nice restaurants nearby that serve good food and have friendly service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Hotel is wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is very poor for such a good hotel. Also they are quite aggressive with their check-out policy (knocking the door, phoning room etc)

    Hotel is wonderful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful new hotel in Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little difficult to work.

    Beautiful hotel. Love the restaurant downstairs, where they had left some remnants of the former post office. Great gin & tonics!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the cleanliness, the decor and the quality of the place.....a true 4 star hotel that lived up to a 4 star rating.....Not all 4 star hotels can claim that.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Very nice design of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaners need some more training, the space next to be bed, including the telephone were very dusty. Arrangements for parking need to be made clearer, we were not aware that it had to be reserved and had to park some distance away and pay.

    Very nice design of the room. Excellent bed. Hotel right in the centre of Leeuwarden, so exploring is incredibly easy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    The best possible place to stay in Leeuwarden
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi rather erratic.

    everything was just great, very clean room, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and relaxing, well situated, lovely dining and lounge area. Well appointed, nice design in old post office, but very spacious, rooms spacious too. Good value continental breakfast, worth having this rather than the big breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with a superbe restaurant in the old post office of Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very nice, rooms are big and nicely furnished, but the best part is the restaurant which is located in the old post office, definitely recommended to have dinner there and not only for the atmosphere, the cuisine is very good too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Marvellous setting for breakfast in the old post office
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only after checking in were we told that non of the rooms on one side of the hotel had working AC, , they claimed that they were fully booked and no other room was available. However as we checked in at about 4pm I doubt if everybody had already checked in and that with a little effort we could have beeen reassigned to a room with working AC. That said the charming maid did her best to improve the situation by providing chilled water, thinner Duvets and a fan. By the way this occurred on the hottest day of the year so far 28 degrees and we had just cycled 35 miles to get there,

    Marvellous setting for breakfast in the old post office

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Great service and location, but very dark room and mediocre breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel room (on the side of the hotel where the cafe is located, with windows facing the back yard) was EXTREMELY dark. Even with all possible lights on, it was very difficult to find you belongings or read, for example. This is not unusual for hotel rooms but as someone who prefers a lot of light I fond it irritating that rooms only have 2-3 spot lights and and not enough lights. The room (011) also did not have a working desk so it was impossible to work there. Luckily there was always space available at the grand face, so I worked there. The breakfast was a standard breakfast and had always the same ingredients. It was also very carbohydrate heavy, so for those who don't bread, the selection was quite small. Also on several occasions, some items were finished already at 9.30 even though the breakfast lasted until 10 am.

    The service at the hotel is really good, and every member of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My first room was without an air conditioning and the staff transferred me into another room with a smile. The location is excellent and the cafe is stylish and has a nice variety of different seating arrangements. The staff at the breakfast also always prepared a fresh non-dairy latte for me, which was very nice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel with upmarket feel to whole building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was a little soft for my liking, breakfast could have been a little better organised.

    Fantastic dining hall had wow factor, general upmarket feel of hotel reception/lounges/external appearance of building. In room fittings and fixtures were of very high quality, bathroom suite was very well finished, my room had large windows onto front of hotel. Room was not large, but adequate. I had an evening meal and the breakfast buffet both of which were of good quality, their own brand coffee was great. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Post Plaza / Grand Cafe is Outstanding!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have made our stay a little better would be if they had had some washcloths to go along with their fluffy white towels.

    Everything about the Post Plaza and Grand Cafe was outstanding!!! The hotel was beautiful. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom in our room was one of the best we have seen in Europe. The staff and food at the Grand Cafe was fantastic. We ate all our meals there. My wife really enjoyed their Espresso Martini. Our experience there was outstanding! We highly recommend the Post Plaza and Grand Cafe to anyone traveling to Leeuwarden and Friesland.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Warm welcome, lively restaurant with super staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No step free access into hotel. We had use to cafe entrance and go through dining room. Disabled parking outside hotel is metered and only allowed 2hr stay. Staff suggested we move our vehicle after 6pm to underground car park near hotel. This is only available after 6 pm but you can then stay until next day. Cost was reasonable.

    Warm welcome, lively restaurant with super staff. Amazing architecture. Good central location. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Wow....look forward to a retun visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    From the moment I entered the hotel through the restaurant and bar entrance, I had immediate attention of a staff member who escorted me to reception. Check-in was seamless. All staff super friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    I'd give it 4.5 out of 5 stars because of limited parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There is limited on-site parking by reservation-only for 12 EUR / day. If all the spaces are reserved, your only effective alternative is a public garage a half-mile walk away. And it closes at 10p.m. on week-nights and 7 p.m. on Sunday. There are no in-out privileges. So it ends up costing about 3.5 EUR every time you exit (or 7 EUR for each morning exit). And it's cash only or an EU Pin card (no Visa/MC). So while it's cheaper than onsite parking, it's inconvenient if the weather is particularly bad and chews through cash you might want for other purposes. There really isn't a business center. They had an old XP PC in a hallway alcove that was adequate for online check-in but no printer for boarding passes. Not really a big deal with airline phone apps however. And Schipol airport has free on-site WiFi so you don't really need a data plan.

    The morning breakfast buffet was plentiful and good. And you could request eggs cooked to order. The staff was wonderfully helpful and polite. It's about a 5-7 minute walk from all the downtown sites and more restaurants than I could count. The hotel and most area restaurants have free WiFi coverage. The hotel is about a 2 hour drive from Amsterdam. Be advised that it's also helpful to have a phone with Google Maps. There have been a lot of infrastructure upgrades in the last few years and my standalone GPS as well as the Amsterdam rental car with a Nav System did not have up-to-date maps for some areas. It has a somewhat Spartan exercise area in the basement with a few machines and an older stationary bike; elliptical; and treadmill without media options. And unlike the rest of the hotel, the basement doesn't have WiFi coverage. So you'll need to have pre-downloaded whatever you might want to your device.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Stylish city centre sleepover
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a tad expensive for our taste so we skipped that. We slept on the street side —on a Friday night— so did have some noise.

    Very stylish rooms with designer + antique furniture overlooking the old houses in the street. The hotel is adjoined to a recently renovated grand cafe which is excellent and has its own coffee roasting facility. The overall ambiance of the hotel was really good and right in the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Terrific Hotel in Fryslan, Leeusarden, the best of it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel is excellent. The staff were super helpful and friendly. The hotel is spacious, so you can be in a public area without a lot of people. The room was standard size, but the bed was really great, no noise from outside either. Shower and toilet area perfect. The Grand Cafe was great for lunch, and breakfast was really good and great value. Eggs delivered to the table after ordering your choice at the buffet at breakfast. Super location to discover Leeuwarden. Would definitely stay here again and again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Post Plaza hotel Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could not check in just a little earlier, on our way to a party had to change our shoes from the back of the car. Don't like that type of non-flexibility

    nice beds, nice decor, beautiful place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will need to park the car in a public garage and walk 6 minutes back to the hotel

    very comfortable room, great breakfast, very good facilities, great staff, nice building!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Restaurant in the Post Office
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been bigger. Car challenges when checking-in..... need to offload bags and park car; then check-in. Not really a comfortable chair in the room.... Desk space was rather small by comparison.

    Rooms small, but clean, neat and well decorated ..... a city hotel. Restaurant in old Post Office bldg. was novel, well designed and presented a variety of quality food. on-site parking available at reasonable rate. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just wonderful!

    A beautiful hotel, situated in a former bank office and a postoffice. Renovation is lovingly and respectfully done. Food is great, staff is amazing. Quiet, but right in the middle of this gorgeous city. I can absolutely recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    My go-to in Leeuwarden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking lot is a 5-10 minute walk away, but expected for this location.

    Staff was great, bed was great... nice character to the place. It's within walking distance to everything I needed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.8
    the welcome, the service, the ambiance in the new part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clear distinction between old and new

    the welcome, the service, the ambiance in the new part of the hotel, the breakfast! Well done on those aspects

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with popular restaurant in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite cold. It took us 3 hours with the heating fully open to get it warm. The bathroom had no heating at all and was freezing cold.

    The room was large and tastefully decorated in a mix of modern and antique furniture. The restaurant is an excellent place for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Always lively, beautifully decorated, good food and a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Super holiday where everthing but the weather was nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head without fine shower, IT was there but did not work, room no 5

    Nice welcome by Staff Nicely prepared room Very nice bed and pillows Nice bathroom Nice tee and boiler

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, didn't want to leave my room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Loved the room, amazing bed! It was so comfy. Staff were excellent and the hotel had paired up with a taxi company which was very useful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable bed, great shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had only two small windows, highly positioned so no view outside.

    Very comfortable bed, great shower. Good breakfast, freshly made omelets and french toast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.4
    The Hotel was centrally located and had beautiful interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got room with spa bath and paid a lot of money for that. On arrival we didn't get our room until 1610 (was due at 1500) so we were told to wait in the restaurant. Having waited for almost 2 hours we got the room but was told by the receptionist that the spa bath wasn't working and booking.com should have mentioned it to us - unfortunately i did not know anything about it or else i would have gone for a room half the price. Anyhow later we were told to pay for our breakfast which was included when we paid for a month ago. I showed receptionist the email who said they must have not changed the booking conditions in booking.com and still demanded us to pay. We were not happy with the service we received and probably think twice before returning back.

    The Hotel was centrally located and had beautiful interiors.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    The location just I the vicinity of the old city center was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities was too far away.

    The location just I the vicinity of the old city center was perfect. The restaurant located in the old post office offered delicious food accompanied by happy & professional staff. An extra plus for the local touch of the food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    If you stay up North in The Netherlands, this is a must do/see/stay !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What can I say ! Beautifull refurbished old building with great atmosphere, young & alert staff, perfect room, excellent restaurant. If this is not a "10", nothing else is !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location in the old town of Leeuwarden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High class independent hotel, comfortable room, professional friendly staff. The Grand Cafe in the hall of the former Post and Telegraph building is very atmospheric. A well designed conversion. And the food is good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Accommodation with flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great accommodation in a novel building, easy access to local sites and abundant restaurants. Helpful, attentive staff. Ltd secure parking, best booked in advance. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.2
    When do you have breakfast in post office last time?
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a very bright/smart idea to do restaurant & part of the hotel in old post station. The concept of the hotel is unusual and well performed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    8.8
    Stay in style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our (comfort)room there was only one chair. Although the noise stayed within limits we were unlucky to hit a day where there was construction going on in the adjacent building. The breakfast looks expensive (didn't try it though).

    Hotel and grand cafe have got 'the looks'. Good location. Friendly staff. We were given the key before check-in time. Coffee- and teamaking facilities in the room. Waterbottles and sweets as a welcome. Good lighting. Excellent bathroom. In general very quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Great value from money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress comfortable but not firm enough for my taste (but that's very personal and had a great night).

    Great value from money. Restaurant building worth the visit on its own. Good food, great G&T. Friendliest service in a long time. Really good surprise.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Classy hotel with very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, comfortable and very clean room, wellness with bubble bath and sauna (which we weren't counting on), friendly staff, central location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Excellent short break.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our short stay. We had a fantastic room which was cheaper than a standard hotel chain Executive room.We ate in the hotel and it was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.8
    Great design hotel in the very centre of Leeuwarden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no fridge in the room. This is something I had expected from a 4star hotel.

    The newly opened restaurant of the hotel is impressive, in the main hall of the former post office. Original menu options.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I have to say something that I liked a little less, it would be the airconditioning. Our airco wouldn't cool off the room as much as my travel companions would've liked.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the restaurant (grand cafe) for dinner. Our waiters were very welcoming and had extensive knowledge about the food that was being served and the accompanying wines. Furthermore: the hotel looks amazing, it is situated in an old building (the head postal office) in the center of Leeuwarden which is beautifully renovated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, lovely staff who went the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft for us ( personal choice ), and it was no airco in the rooms, while outside it was 30 Celsius

    Very nice dinner in the restaurant, and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Many Thanks!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning non-suffisant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Alles was perfect, van incheck, het verblijf, de bediening,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alles was perfect, van incheck, het verblijf, de bediening, alles was perfect geregeld.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.0
    A hotel with an aesthetic emphasis and professional approach
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs improvement

    A hotel with ambiance and a very friendly to the customer needs approach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Room without proper windows, no view, too dark
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room without proper windows, no view, too dark

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous building, excellent location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous building, excellent location, very friendly staff. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Post-Plaza Hotel & Grand Café traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: