Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland 4 stars

Westerweg 60, 1445 AD Purmerend, Netherlands

#4 of 4 hotels in Purmerend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1726 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    The beds are super comfy and the sight outside is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being set in a remote location, you get quite dependent to their restaurant and that's a bit pricey.

    The beds are super comfy and the sight outside is amazing. Could use a fridge in the room but otherwise you'll find everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    NIce enviroment.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very kindly personal on reception.

    NIce enviroment. Nice nature outside. A lot of bunnys, different types of birds, and animals. Fantastic golf area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    great view from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very off night porter who clearly didn't want to be there double room booked yet 2 singles pushed together was what we got. then, the 2 beds were different height or different mattress.

    great view from balcony. awesome mint tea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    Location, peaceful and scenic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty unvacumed carpet, stains on chairs and falling apart. Marks all over walls, bathroom had drilled holes in walls? Did complain and got a free meal.

    Location, peaceful and scenic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in a nice location, in a comfortable and clean room. Good staff and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant stay. Excellent surroundings. Good hotel with nice staff. Good breakfast. Big and comfortable room. This was our second stay at this hotel. Our first stay had also been excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant rural hotel convenient for Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were concerned that despite reporting a leaking pipe (adjacent to our room) twice to reception staff, nothing was done to remedy the problem.

    This is an attractive hotel at the heart of a large golf complex. It is also well located for visiting Amsterdam (good bus service close to hotel). The rooms, although large and comfortable, are a little tired.However, we enjoyed our stay and thought the restaurant very good. We liked the setting and waterfowl around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfy room and would stay there again but wouldnt pay the extortionate breakfast price again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive for what it was. There is a bar there that wasn’t open and when we asked about it the staff said it opens for private parties only. Not something you would expect in a hotel. Nowhere to get a drink in the evening.

    The room was a good size and it was close to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful location with multiple golf courses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficulty in finding the hotel through an industrial estate off the N244. A swimming pool would have made it perfect. Golf after 8am very expensive.

    Beautiful location with multiple golf courses. Lovely views from the restaurant terrace. Evening menu limited but of excellent quality. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wide choise of breakfasts. Located close to picturesque villages on the Ijselmere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in a nice location, in a comfortable and clean room. Good staff and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything: the location and surroundings, the quietness and cleanliness, the comfort and the view of the room and of the premises on the golf course, the staff, the breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    Not worth it at all, not even to spend the night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was terrible, we could actually feel the springs (I have an IKEA bed that is more comfortable!). The hotel in general is in very bad shape, and you can find evidence of this anywhere you look. Even taking a shower was a bad experience because the bathtub was clogged! I guess this hotel is famous for the golf courts, but we didn't play golf so for us the hotel fell short. In fact, we disliked everything about it, so it has been by far our worst hotel experience.

    We actually did not like anything from the hotel. If we go to a 4-star hotel, we would expect to have "an experience" that is better than just staying at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Very nice location and surroundings, friendly staff, good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything related to the rooms was very dirty, old furniture, dirty and old carpets, looks like the last renovation has been made 10 years ago! There was a nasty smell in the room and also very cold!

    Very nice location and surroundings, friendly staff, good restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    excellent location, beautiful nature and scenery, very good...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything in the hotel is very old, room looked very dated, old furniture and nasty carpets. Cleanliness is not a strong point, there was always a nasty smell inside the room and bathroom!

    excellent location, beautiful nature and scenery, very good food and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Cheap to compared hotels in Amsterdam but pretty much that's all the positives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is old and worn. The staff was not too friendly. The room was dirty and very cold. As we walked to our room from the reception, there were used glasses at the room doors and grass and dirt on the rug all the way. Even we knew that the room is far from the reception, it was surprisingly far - really far. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

    The location was lovely and the bus stop to Amsterdam is just in walking distance. They have free parking. They allowed us check-in early as we arrived 2 hours in advance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    Filthy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start...... the man on check in really needs to look at his customer manner. I walked in after a long day’s work and he looked down his nose at me as I was in jeans and a t-shirt. He was not pleasant at all. The room might have been nice if it was not for the peeling ceiling in the bathroom, copious amounts of someone else’s intimate body hair that was all over the place. It’s not pleasant when you pick up the soap to find someone’s pubic hair on it, or you take a tissue out the dispenser and someone’s beard clippings are on it. Absolutely revolting. There were splash marks on the table from a drink so it had not been cleaned. The carpet was heavily stained so I did not want to take my shoes off, my bed sheets had holes in them so I slept on top of the duvet with the second duvet over me. The toilet seat was old and stained. The grouting in the bathroom was covered in black mould. The walls were covered in marks. I just did not want to touch anything but at 11pm I just had to get on with it. Had it been earlier I’d have asked for a refund and found somewhere else. The furniture was extremely dated and tatty. Chipped paint and woodwork. Stained light switches and doors. The lighting was extremely dark but I suspect that was to hide the dirty, tatty room. If they wish to do this though, they’ll need to make it pitch black. Huge disappointment, from the outside it looks nice but inside was a disgrace.

    The lady on checkout in the morning was very pleasant in contrast to her colleague when we checked in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Superb location and surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning of the room, bed was not properly made.

    One of the most amazig thing about this hotel is location when travelling by car. We used this place as a start point for exploring the neighboring Edam, Volendam, Puremerend and of course Amsterdam. Surronded by green golf fields hotel is very calm and quiet place to return to after busy and crowded Amsterdam. Parking and wi-fi are free and easy to use. Price/quality is excellent. We enjoyed walking around or just sitting outside (our room was on ground floor). Definetely recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location - somebody needed to kiss the potential awake
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does not have a soul - the rooms are big but the furniture is old and done without any taste. Clean but run down. The stuff is executing rules and processes that are driven by internal views - the customer has to fit in!

    The hotel is situated in a beautiful area and the surroundings and there golf course are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Supernice staff and we liked the location and golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet in the room was disgusting. Overall the hotel had a lack of polish and decor. Avoid our room number 232 which has an ongoing noise from the water heater.

    Supernice staff and we liked the location and golf course. Also nice meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Good food, Good service, Beautiful outdoor space but disappointing room(smell,spots on the rug,..)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were old and the rug dirty with spots. You can see mold in the shower roof. But it was kept clean . Doesn’t look like the pictures. Room were spacious though. There were insects , don’t know where they were coming from. The bed wasn’t really comfortable. Breakfast was okay. Can be better. There was a persistent gutter-like smell during the whole stay in the hallway and my room . It was awful.

    Service was nice. The food at the restaurant was great. I only ate fish but everything was well done and tasted wonderful.And the outdoor is beautiful. And the fresh orange juices were my highlight!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a night or two when you are going to spend the whole day outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you ask for a quiet room they will send you to the end of the building which is like 15 minutes walk on a hallway from the reception. We stayed in a room with two bathrooms, however, there was no hair dryer. The Hotel itself was not clean, carpet very old and dirty, plus some garbage on the floors.

    I liked the size of the room and how clean it was, also the view to the golf fields was great! I also like they give you a Bus schedule for the bus stop which is like 5 minutes walk from the Hotel and takes you to Amsterdam Central Station like in 30 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you choose room with high number, the way to the room is really looong because of the weird shape of the hotel

    Awesome location! Beautiful surroundings Great connection to the Amsterdam just 30 min by a bus Very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    A great short break location with good transport links to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our two rooms were clean and tidy but would benefit from an update (looked a bit dated and worn)

    Nice quiet location excellent hotel if golf is your thing! Breakfast selections really good and all the staff very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    Location is very Nice, restaurant serves nice food and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given had no heating, it was actually colder in there than outside. Rooms are very dated and in need of updating.

    Location is very Nice, restaurant serves nice food and coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    The main advantage of this hotel is location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is really cold inside! If you are booking in winter, beware - I did not find any battery in the room so they are not heated. having stayed in March, we needed to wear jackets in order to cross the corridor on the way to the restaurant, and to look for the extra blankets to be able to sleep. It might be designed as a purely summer location, probably...

    The main advantage of this hotel is location. In order to get there, you need to make a drive through a gorgeous narrow Dutch road between the channels which just looks amazing! It would be challenging to get there without a car though. The rural natural surroundings of the hotel grant a nice window view. The rooms are large and spatious. If you do yoga or any other morning exercises, you will have enough space in the comfort of your room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful location with nice restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can see the hotel has refurbished the rooms recently, but still some more improvements can be made as most doors are damaged (just above the floor); minor issue.

    My third visit was very nice again. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with very tender spare ribs and a beautiful creme brulee with vanilla yoghurt ice cream (see photo). Staff super friendly at reception and in restaurant. Beds comfortable and large rooms. Nice soft towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel approx 30 minute drive from Amsterdam City center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ceiling tiles in bathroom should be replaced as there is some mold.

    Same as last time. Nice staff, comfy room, big free parking and close to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel at golf court close to Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my room some cupboards were damaged. In the hallway some ceiling boards had big leakage stains. All of this is not problematic, but some additional maintenance is needed.

    Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Bed is comfortable. Bathroom looks recently redecorated. Staff is super friendly (as well at the reception as in the restaurant). Restaurant is good and reasonably priced with many dishes to choose from. Parking area is spacious and free of charge. Amsterdam city centre is an half hour drive. Overall a really nice hotel to stay....... .......and as I read in the room documentation everybody can play golf here as you don't need a special golf license; something I will definitely consider for a future visit :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If there is something to improve: the temperature inside the room, it was a little bit too cold. Restaurant is closing very early (at 8:00 pm)

    Room are very large, restaurant/food is ok, nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.5
    Unsafe location and cold rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location: Far from central (about 40 mins bus) and costs you 10 euros per person (only bus trams not included in this cost in case you want to use in the central) to get to central every day. The location is extremely unsafe and the hotel management would never inform you about that. If anyone is travelling by car then this is not the right place for you. The hotel claims to provide a parking space however, it is a public parking which is not monitored or managed by anyone. Our holidays got spoiled as someone broke my car windows and stole clothes and shoes from the car and the hotel did not take any responsibility for it. When we reported this incident to the police, they informed us that these incidents are very common in this vicinity, especially around the hotel and another similar incident had happened the very same day. The hotel management immediately mentioned that they are not responsible for any losses as it is not their parking (it was the first time during our stay that we heard it is not their parking as they claimed it to be theirs throughout). The hotel management never informed us that the parking space is public and we should park the car at our own risk or we would have looked for a safer option. No restaurants or shops anywhere close to the hotel. Comfort: The room was cold as the heating system was not working. Although they provided extra heaters but they never worked properly either. The room service is lazy as they come for cleaning only at a specific time (around 10am) and would not make up the room if you leave your room after 10am. Out of our 5 days stay they cleaned the room only twice and that also they did not bother washing/ replacing the used tea cups and did not replace the empty soap cans till we specifically requested . Based on my experience, I would not recommend staying in this hotel at all.

    Horrible experience to say the least. Highly doubt the genuineness of the rating given to this hotel on booking.com.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    A huge dissappointment, we decided to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very disappointing, very old furniture, carpet and curtains. Carpet had many stains and there was a bad/old smell in the room. Bathroom also very old and the whole room did not feel clean or comfortable. It was completely opposite the pictures shown on booking.com. When we asked, the receptionist told us the pictures where from the deluxe rooms, which is fine but if the other rooms are completely different and dated the hotel should be more transparent about that. We also had a very high rate because it was New Year’s Eve, and that is also fine unless the hotel closes its bar and restaurant at 8 pm. The rate should have been 25/30% of what they were asking.

    The receptionist was nice and tried to help us when we told her the room was no where near what we had expected. Unfortunately there were no better rooms available for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cold, could not turn heating up. Some lights not working. Shower height lock broken, no Kettle or drink facilities in room (Kettle available from reception if you ask, but come on). But for me the bath tub made up for these points

    The location and the restaurant were excellent and you have a bath in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Wake up in paradise
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have slippers, an electric kettle and drinking water. What brought discomfort. And also far away from central city. But overall it’s a good place to stay.

    Beautiful area and view from the room. So peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    The breakfast food and the dishes in the restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    How the staff approached me in a rude way when I was somewhat too early for breakfast. Everything was ready in the breakfast room while the staff was taking a break or so. When I came in I was rudely sent away while the door was forcibly closed and locked behind my back. It was a weekday and 6:30am for breakfast shouldnt be an issue. Especially when everything is ready....if the formal opening hour is 7am I don't think it shouldnt be an issue to let someone early in and at least enjoy the self service coffee and take a rol.

    The breakfast food and the dishes in the restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    I would stay again but in a different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that the bathroom was not cleaned- there was boogers on the shower curtain and stains on the sink that I had to clean myself before using. * if I can clean it so can housekeeping*

    Nice location staff was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Very quiet and green, very nice golf facilities, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old hotel, the facilities look old fashioned, it's a bit far from the city center

    Very quiet and green, very nice golf facilities, free spacious parking lot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    It's a Golfing hotel, so I guess the golfers had golf on their minds, maybe they thought it was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were big, but tired and worn and very dusty a good layer of old dust clearly visible under bed the sheets were smaller than the mattress which just drew our attention to the pee stains on the mattress

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the corridors (leading to rooms) are very very dirty with a lot of stains everywhere. Please change the carpets. They ruin all good feelings about your hotel.

    We loved that the room was big and spacious. There was access to terrace. It is perfect place when the weather is good. The golf field was very close as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Good staff very helpful when I informed them my bed was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and mattresses need to be changed I believe they served their time

    Good staff very helpful when I informed them my bed was not comfortable they changed my room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    4.2
    More a 2 star experience and wouldn't recommend staying here if you're not coming to play golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely no 4 star hotel (an Ibis budget has more in room facilities and ameneties), room and bathroom are very bare and lack any kind of warmth, furniture and fittings are run down and outdated (there were scratches and chips off everywhere, tear in the sheer curtain and the room smelled of smoke even though the rooms are supposed to be non smoking). Bed is just okay (pillows not so comfy). The rooms have no airconditioning or fan. Hotel is difficult to get to if you don't have a car (and even then it's on the wrong side of the town for easy access to the high way).

    Very spacious room in quiet surroundings (edge of town with view over golf course, not close to any major roads)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with beautiful nature surroundings where somebody...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toooo much walking from the reception to the room because of the way the hotel is built (almost like a horseshoe with the reception at the one edge and the rooms at the other). No refrigerator or at least an mini-bar in the superior room.

    Nice hotel with beautiful nature surroundings where somebody can take a walk. Superb view to the golf area. Tasteful breakfast with great variety. Easy and spacious car parking, free of extra cost. Near -by car- to many attractions (Zaanse Schans, Edam, Volendam etc).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Ideally situated, peaceful, surrounded by golf course & nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom decor & decoration, also very very poor lighting in the bedrooms, definitely needs updating.

    The breakfasts were excellent and also an excellent variety with excellent cooked food as well as fresh fruit. If the weather is good there is a huge outside terrace overlooking the golf courses

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice location outside the citycenter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long corridor you'll have to walk to get to your room. There is carpet on the floor on the corridor which makes the rolling of the wheels under the suitcases difficult.

    Location at the Golfcourse is fantastic. Quiet, peaceful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    Shower and bed, room seize
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No security at parking and the smashed window of my car did not help the experience as well. Mainly, because it has happened before according the staff and no investments in security are done. Horrible!!

    Shower and bed, room seize

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast. Wifi. Beautiful Property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not helpful. Payment process was messy and confusing. Manager was rude when I made a suggestion.

    Good breakfast at an additional cost, beautiful property, good value for money since we got a good rate. Good wifi. Took the bus to Amsterdam (took 30 min) buses available every 20-30 min.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Found wanting in some areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 3 coat hangers in the room. Ridiculous.!!! No kettle provided in the room. We asked reception for a kettle on the first day. We were told one would be delivered to our room but it never arrived.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    Scenic, peaceful break, close to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms upgraded but not all....make sure you ask for an upgraded room. No amenities in the room. No room service.

    Surroundings, food, restaurant, staff ok...great value for money...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I went to the hotel to relax, but I was sadly surprised that I woke up from the sounds of neighbours talking and even taking showers. On top of that it seems the boiler was just beside my room and started working early morning but heard it throughout the night as well in a lower tone. The rooms are a bit out of date I must say for a resort like that.

    I liked the area it was in, lots of greenery ofcourse due to the golf court. The room was of comfortable size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.2
    View from the room was beautiful onto the golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No working safety deposit box in the room. There was a safety deposit box, but it doesn't work and this is apparently the case throughout the hotel. Unacceptable for a 4 star hotel in my opinion. I came from abroad so had a passport with me, which I do not want to leave up for grabs in the room. No AC in the room. The room was stuffy. Window is actually a large sliding door, so I did not dare to leave that open at night as I was a woman alone. The place is not clean. Hallway to the room: lots of big stains in the carpet and I noticed a sock lying on the floor on the evening I arrived, which was still there the next morning at 10am. Room is very spacious with a decent bathroom, BUT room wasn't clean. the bathroom had some stains and hairs that shouldn't be there and was full of shoe prints from the cleaning staff on my second day there. Furthermore, I noticed in one of the cupboards a number of empty wine bottles of a previous guest, which had not been removed by the cleaning staff. Chairs outside were very dirty, full of bird poop, old and new...

    View from the room was beautiful onto the golf course. Nice that you can open the door and sit outside, but the chairs could do with some cleaning... Spacious room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to know since the moment you reserve, how to get to the location. Please give this info in your web page.

    Peaceful location. Good food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    4.2
    Had seen better times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty rooms (Trash under the bed), mattresses/beds showed "water" signs, Beds not properly made. Just everything in this hotel was "worn out" a little.

    Breakfast was great and healthy. Funny Golf-People. Helpfull staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful location. Will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too big! for being so basic, would prefer a bar/fridge/kettle to the unnecessary space.

    Lovely and quiet location not for from Amsterdam. Super quiet and peaceful. Free car park. Super friendly staff! Comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Hotel needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation, the bathroom roof is awful, the TV is very small and the windows open only if you slide them. Corridor carpet is dirty.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only faults we could say of the room were that the lighting was not great, with a series of dim lamps instead of a main light. Also, had the room contained a mini-fridge it would have been just perfect.

    Loved our stay here, just wish we could have stayed longer. Very relaxing in a beautiful location. Staff couldn't enough to help and were very friendly. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    A good stay and very confortable and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff,young lady,did not give you any information. After 2 days we saw a kettle and cups in front of one of the rooms. We went to the reception asking where you can get the kettle and cups.......oh the reception, but the lady who check us in,has not say a word about it,sooooooo we were a bit upset.....

    Love the spacious neat room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in bathroom (underfloor heating was on and it was 27 degrees outside) big waterstain on bathroom ceiling. It was a very long walk to reception .we were almost right at the end of the building , make sure Yu book a room close to reception

    Great breakfast , good golf shop, great golfcourse . Big room . Had a very good meal in the evening restaurant . Staff was very helpful translating the menus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Carpeting needs replacing and in the bathroom the soap dispencer and soap holder needs repair.

    Convenient location and public transport within walking distance, also parking was easy located on the property. Very friendly staff and well organised. We had a pleasent stay and will return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice place, older furnish, great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband asked receptionist for a hair balm, we wanted to buy it. She promised to bring it to our room. I was waiting in the shower for 30min, but nobody came

    Breakfast was extra paid, but absolutely great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Room was great, breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at dinning restaurant was unfriendly, we cannot understand the language from menu and staff won't help us, asking us check with translator. Staff were unfriendly to us and kept us wait for bill checking for over 10min compare other customer immediately.

    Room was great, breakfast was good PS: Staff at front desk was friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Good and peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the bed. It was two separate beds joined to make it a double bed..

    I liked the property on the whole.. the backyard opening from the room was beautiful.. and the location is good.. walkable from the bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Good room out in a lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was spacious and comfortable, with a view out onto the green landscape / golf course. A kettle was available from reception if you asked for it. The restaurant on site was quite delicious also. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    peace and fresh air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heat of the oder was bad for the air-conditioners to work inadequately. The night time service was not available and there was not a mini bar in the room, it was bad. Although the attendant at the reception provided us with the necessary help with our drinks.

    It is a golf hotel.The town where you are located is very calm and peaceful.You are passing through a lush and long area when you go to the hotel.The neighboring houses in the country are built in architecture which will make you very happy.You will want to take a picture. The hotel was handy, large and clean.My room was very big and green area view. The car park was adequate and large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.2
    Cheap but Dangerous ....Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all i didn't like that the walls were so thin,that the water in the other customer room woke me up at 4.a.m when he was having a shower. secondly the parking area nearby the hotel, was unguarded and without video cameras, reason why i found my car with the glass broken, and stolen things! I recommend precaution if you are going to stay at this hotel because it is very dangerous !!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would deserve a bit of renovation.The equipment of the room was quite old and the rugs were dirty by the steps of time. The hotel itself is clean but you can see the ways where people walked.

    We booked the hotel because of the prices of accomodation in Amsterdam. The room is spacious, towels were clean.Staff was very nice.The nature around the hotel with its golf field were also very nice. We had really good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    super rooms, comfortable accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of hotel is far away from Amsterdam city center , by public transport it is difficult to reach to hotel

    super rooms, comfortable accommodation. have a rest here nd RELAX

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Out of this world!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no in-dining options after 10pm.

    If you are looking for the unadulterated definition of serenity, peace and quiet - this is the place to visit. The location, the village around the location - everything is just perfect. I will definitely be back there

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    3.3
    Unfriendly and no value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personeel was totally unhelpful and unfriendly to a travel who arrives late and is tired. Room was not very clean. It is all a bit old and is in bad need of renovation. Wifi was slow. Positive was a good desk, but the lack of electricity socket spoiled that!!! It wasn't expensive but I have slept in many much better and friendlier hotels in the same price range.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location for our travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need to ask for tea making facilities, though they are happy to provide them.

    Convenient location for our travel. Good nearby public transport to Amsterdam, but probably a bit far out if Amsterdam city your travel destination. Good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little tired looking and we had hoped to have a special Xmas dinner here as we had a 7 course meal last year but whenever we arrived this was not on offer and even though I had sent an email to ask for a table to be booked for it no one thought to let us know! They were fully booked for lunch so we ended up with an ordinary meal on Xmas night. We were also a little disappointed that the hotel are now charging for breakfast as having this included in the room price was always an added bonus.

    We like the location of this hotel as it is close to the town and with a car Amsterdam is only 25mins away. The restaurant food is good and is reasonably priced. We have been @ this hotel for the last 4 years and the menu has not changed so perhaps this needs to be looked at!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    6.3
    Only by car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the city center... If you don't have a car, it's really difficult to arrive the hotel. No train to that region... You can only use the busses. But until 1 am!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Spacious clean comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly in Amsterdam, busses are rare

    Huge room with double bed,sofa,table a still lot of space. Staff was friendly and helpful. Direct bus from Amsterdam centraal,even at night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    It was overall a very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ran out of shower gel one day, but after making a mention of it, it was fully refilled the next day.

    It was overall a very good stay. Exactly what we expected from it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    You get what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long walk to the rooms and the it was not really clean. Could be better but still ok.

    Price is obviously the main advantage and the quality depending on the price is pretty good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Great Golf, views and Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Golf Course and beautiful views from the dining area. Purmerend is very close, with a nice Central Market Area (Koemarkt). I would definitely stay again, and would like to come back for a golf trip with friends.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    We managed to get an upgrade to a "deluxe room" at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't do anything about this, but the rooms are set over 2 floors in a U shape. There is only 1 entrance/exit to rooms so it can be a long walk if your room is at the end of the U. Try asking for one nearer the reception. These also appeared to be the deluxe rooms.

    We managed to get an upgrade to a "deluxe room" at no cost. All rooms are large but the deluxe room had been recently refurbished and was lovely. If you can get a room on the ground floor, you have patio doors which open onto the grass area at the back of the hotel where you can sit on the chairs provided for each room. We did not visit to play golf but the greens are well kept and very popular with both guests and local players. Very large car park and the hotel is in a very quiet area. Used as a base to visit Edam which is only 4miles away and Marken which is 10 miles away. We used public transport to visit Amsterdam.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Two thumbs up!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing. They were extremely helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffet was the best meal I had while in the Netherlandsby far. The rooms were clean and I loved the shower!! Would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Clean, tidy and comfortable, restaurant disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually no vegetarian meal options available in restaurant. Room could have done with updating

    Staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are clean. All round value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: