Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of WestCord Hotel Schylge 4 stars

Burgemeester van Heusdenweg 37, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Netherlands

#3 of 14 hotels in West-Terschelling

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1414 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer was useless! Some glass glasses in the room would have been nice. Also the pillows were slightly lumpy and could do with being renewed.

    Beautiful View of the Marina from the balcony in our bedroom and from the public rooms. The artwork relating to the locality was bright and interesting. Good bike storage in the main car garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except the male breakfast staff. They were good but I think they forgot that they work in Hospitality, at least pretend that you are enjoying your job.

    Very nice hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff, except for the ‘older’ male staff during breakfast, they were a bit moody and uninterested. Overall this is a truly wonderful hotel with amazing ocean view rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ventilation in the room and bathroom could improve. Especially in the bathroom, there's no electronic ventilator so it smells a bit humid when we first entered the room.

    Good location, it located in the walking distance from the harbor. Good restaurant for dinner and breakfast. We had good fun playing bowling in the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    We were here 6 years ago and we decided to come back and stayed at the same hotel. Friendly and helpful staffs. Food were amazing. Breakfast were great! The hotel is beautiful, our room was spacious and comfortable beds. We had sea view room and it was amazing 😁.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not made up, dust bins not emptied, etc. during part of the stay. Room charged at hotel rate nevertheless. Breakfast only at 8 am whilst the hotel knows quite well that ferry check in is at this time. Reception and check-out desk without staff till 8 am, again whilst the staff and hotel know quite well at what time leave of ferry is scheduled, given the tourist industry at the island completely depends on the ferry link. However, praise for the night guard who helped to leave in time.

    Large spaceous rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I undertstand we had to reserve the sauna, but also pay for it is a bit pushing it given that the hotel is not cheap.

    The hotel is nicely located over the port - walking distance from town. It also rents bycicles, but we needed one with a motor and we went to the shop in the corner. In one day you can make the furthest away cycle track - but there is a ton of wind, so while my and my partner struglled with normal bycicles, my 65 year old mother in law was all happy with her electric bycicle. The hotel is a great basis for exploring the island. One of the evenings it was pouring rain and we did not reserve the restaurant. They had no place inside, but quickly made space available in the room next door and also arranged a great vegan meal. The truffle croquettes were incredible. The swimming pool is nice and warm - at 18:00 - when its dinner time for most guests there is no one there and its a great time to relax and enjoy it. Breakfast was good and varied - nice fresh smoothies and juices and home made granola. Rooms are super confortable with large bathrooms with bathtubs and nespresso machines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little expensive of course.

    This is the best hotel on the island without any doubt. The room is spacious and has a nice sea view and balcony. Fair breakfast. Around 15 to 20 mins walking from the harbour/to the center. Clean room. Kettle, Nespresso coffee machine and mini bar are really convenient. Love the shower and bathtub as well!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 409 is spacious and well appinted, but unfortunately it is tucked into a corner at the back of the hotel and has no view!

    The general level of service and quality of the hotel facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibility to have a simpel meal. Only a meal cooced by a star chef was possible in the restaurant of the hotel. So we had to go somewhere else for a salad, vegetarian dish or a pasta. Always by bike, because you were to far from other places.

    The breakfast😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly the bed covers had coffee stains in them. The room has no airconditioning which I found to be quite strange. Road noise wasn't too bad; but the loud & drunk tourists waiting for a bus in the middle of the night right in front of the hotel was not great: I had to close the windows which made the missing airco a bigger problem. We had a "superior" room and while the room itself was very nice, it wasn't located in the best spot (bad view, road side with that bus stop in front). The door to the bathroom and the chair in the room both had ugly nicks and bruises and there was a stain in the carpet. It's nothing too bad, but again, not very "superior" either. Lastly, the TV was quite small.

    Super comfy beds, great breakfast and the friendliest staff I've ever met. Really nice that the room has a mini fridge, big enough to fit some bottles of soda. Great views from the terrace and the restaurant. Nice quiet location. Easy to rent bicycles and the bowling alley is super cool. Again a big thumbs up for the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not spotless and finished toilet paper was obviously replaced by a used roll from another room. As mentioned., the staff were very friendly but at check out the desk was left to two interns who couldn't decide on anything. The manager was not in sight and the senior desk officer was busy on the phone and not to be disturbed. That left the intern walking up and down and we had a boat to catch. Finally the intern took the decision by herself, which was great but absence of seniors not so much. The issue was payment for the use of the sauna. Be aware that it is not included in the price although it is not mentioned at your reservation, nor at the front desk when picking up towels that there would be an extra charge. The intern waived the extra charge because we only used the sauna for less than half an hour (a charge would allow you to use the sauna for 3 hours, I believe) and were not told that we had to pay separately.

    The hotel is very well located and the view over marina and Waddenzee just stunning. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool and sauna are just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many things: starting with the price (I paid double comparing with a normal price, becaise the "support" of Booking.com together with the hotel management), continuing with the breakfast (far for a 4 stars hotel) and finally with a fee at the check-out (3 euros) while I paid 328 Euro/night/room.

    The view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No transport between hotel and harbour was a bit of a dissappointment; also there were no slippers and bathrobes in the room, which would have been nicer Also, coffee comes from a standard machine - not freshly made, which is a slight disappointment for a 4 star hotel.

    Clean room, sea view is beautiful, staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was quite hard and the shower had not been cleaned properly when we arrived (or throughout the rest of our stay).

    Really beautiful hotel. Great view if you have a balcony overlooking the harbour (which we did). Really nice breakfast buffet. Lovely staff. Big parking area for bikes which was great. Fantastic heated indoor pool. The bed was quite hard and the shower had not been cleaned properly when we arrived (or throughout the rest of our stay). Other than those two things it was a really great experience. We'll go back for sure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no Airco on the room, en when we where in Terschelling the temperature was very high, outside but also in the room, For this kind of hotel its a pitty.

    The room we had was luxury en extended, with a view over the yacht harbor, so was the Hotel. There were many facility's such as a swimming pool, wellness etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea view was not good because we lived on the 4 th floor and there was a big roof of the restaurant below us.

    Comfortabel room, the restaurant on the terrace

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some confusion about the times the rooms were to be cleaned, but that was a minor issue.

    We stayed in the hotel for three nights with our two children. We loved our large family suite with a balcony and view of the sea. The beds were comfortable. It was easy to rent bikes and head out onto the bike paths around the island. (We had to make a short trip into town to get a bike to fit my ten-year-old.) When it rained we used the indoor swimming pool. Breakfast was very good, although it would be nice if the hotel included fish in the buffet. The staff were always friendly and were kind enough to mail an item we left behind in the room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No minibar in the room. Wifi signal very weak and slow.

    Very comfortable spacious and clean room, wonderful bathroom, great sound isolation. We had view over the marina which was excellent. Everything is new, clean and very functional. Enough space in the room and in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, dinner were good. Bar with bowling and billiard were nice as well as swimming pool and beautiful view over Waddenzee. Great stay with kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, clean room, lovely terrace overlooking the sea & awesome breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grea location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff

    Room, service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms a and some communal area's weren't clean.

    Lovely choice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi on the sixth floor is slow.

    Prosecco breakfast every morning, beautiful view of the harbour and the Waddenzee.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our room the wifi signal was weak.

    The views are spectacular.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thinking along with situations that need help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff wasn't particularly helpful.

    nice view from room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appartement dark

    Very good location, good beds nice bar restaurant area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive

    -Beautiful hotel rooms and common areas -Beautiful view

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I was pleasantly surprised by the availability and readiness to help with our special dietary (gluten free bread) need, which we had not signalled before coming

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Mattress too hard. Rather dated swimming pool.

    Great breakfast with stunning view. Excellent room service meal when our son was sick. Fun bowling. Beauty salon with good facial.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Paying for the sauna. Looks of the room! Tempature of the room, very basic breakfest, No support, guidence of the staff! To much to tell!

    Hmmmm, nothing special!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was not always up to speed. In the evening more simple dishes should be available. With no complaints about the-lunch card.

    The seaview, the comfortabele room with seats to read and relax.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just a tiny hiccup. About the general info book located in the room: Spelling mistakes and sentence building in certain languages was not professional enough for the way this hotel presents itself.

    View Friendliness staff Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pool was big enough for swimming, the ambience of pool and sauna appeared a little bit faceless, no bathrobes and bath towels were in our room, only available on demand (service desk) probably. Paying for the sauna was new for us and seems to be unusual for a 4-star-hotel.

    Room (superior seaside) & bed were really good, shiny balcony, great view. The front desk women were very friendly and really considerate. Breakfast was suitable. We enjoyed the terrace. The parking area/garage for cyclists was positive. The island of Terschelling is a real paradise for cyclists with enough space and places to spend stress-free holidays.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel facilities were excellent and the chance to sit on the terrace with a cold beverage and watch the world go by was an wonderful way to relax after a day spent biking about the island.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra to be paid: 5 Euro for room service extra coffee cups No Shuttle service to/from harbor

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The entire hotel is a little old fashioned. All amenities are there, but they look a bit dated and boring

    The staff and the restaurant are excellent

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent and friendly staff. Restaurants are excellent. Splendid location overlooking the sea front.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only gourmet dinners available in the hotel would be good to have "medium" options

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast

    Familyroom with two bedrooms and livingroon

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restautant is Top!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A memorable and delightful stay. The only downside was the restaurant was too expensive and shame the room was 2 beds, even if that is normal in NL.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work in room

    Location, bike storage, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly atmosphere, helpful, excellent facilities, nice bedrooms/bathrooms , superb views.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Niks op aan te merken

    De kamer met havenzicht !

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pillows were too soft.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: