Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fletcher Hotel Jan van Scorel 4 stars

Heereweg 89, 1871 ED Schoorl, Netherlands

#5 of 5 hotels in Schoorl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1406 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, our bathroom had a strong smell of urine. The staff was very helpful and tried to mask it with some spray but obviously it didn't solve the problem. Also, the 'spa' area has one single changing area for both males and females. Moreover, the towels provided are very small so that I didn't feel comfortable using the sauna.

    The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice spacious room with kitchen area. Not a very beautiful room (with special attributes for people with a handicap), but it was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was perfect for one night and our purpose.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dogs were allowed only in the hotel room. We escaped our own town for the New Year fireworks and guess what? The hotel had fireworks in the garden right before the only pet rooms! We checked out after one night. Pets are not allowed elsewhere in the hotel. So we did not attend breakfast, which was allowed in the lobby next to the sliding doors (!) Roomservice is € 6,50 p.p. extra ..

    -

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Already at the beginning the parking space situation was annoying. Only small tiny area around the hotel to put the car somewhere. And when all guests are there with their cars it’s a search. And you pay for it. The restaurant was to small for so many guests. Annoying table search in the morning. Not much space to walk to the buffet. Overcrowded and annoying. Not comfortable. Unfriendly staff. Long queues at the coffee machine the whole time. The swimming area seems already a bit old, cold and not comfortable.

    Our room was nice for the price we paid. It was a small and cozy place. But to small for more then two nights. No real place to put your stuff somewhere. Only one chair and a big roof pitch so that u couldn’t stand properly everywhere. But all in all for short time a good place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms for guest with dog are very dark compared to the rest of the hotel. Wifi is so so and the breakfast simply to expansive for the quality/variety

    The location is good as close to the wood and dunes as well as the lovely village. Rooms are fairly large

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom could have been a bit bigger - and the parking spaces are a bit too tight

    The hotel has made a smart move dividing breakfast into 2 shifts. It's still busy, but definitely not unpleasant. Breakfast is very nice and you sit outside, weather permitting. Location is nice, very green. The hotel is quiet. We loved the bar!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no air conditioning. only roof window to look up to the sky in room we were in.

    the beds were comfy,room size was good except for the raking ceiling which we bumped into a couple of times,facilities were good,staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and comfortable room Bathroom rather small for room rate Nice outside terras and small garden Green environment and direct access to bicycle roads

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is with 16€ per person by far too expansive for the quality delivered. Room floor is not cleaned every day

    Location is nice and villeage and dunes easy to reach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nasty stains on the bathroom door and frame. No apologies or excuse. Service very slow in restaurant. Front office staff is only sitting in the office, be up front with your guests..don;t hide.. especially during such a big event with hundreds in you hotel.....

    Location for the event was fine

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, upon entry, even though the girl could speak English, would only speak to my partner in Dutch, even if I asked a question in English she would turn to my partner and tell him the answer in Dutch also she gave us all the hotel instructions in Dutch, I knew they had it in English , so came back down to ask for them and got them in English. She was obviously very respectful to my partner but what the ???

    Great location, second time I have stayed here. Very clean large rooms, luxurious

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and did not look like the pictures at their homepage at all. There was no minibar. Almost every room has a small kitchen but they're not usable. The price per night is overrated due to the conditions of the rooms.

    Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean. Staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    watercrane in the bathroom was really dirty, corridors in the hotel are also not that clean, lot of spiderwebs. just a pitty because this could have add the something special touch.

    very quiet room, good bed, slepped like a baby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were spider webs and stains outside all over the doors and windows. Also I am curious how this hotel got 4 stars? Hotel really needs some renovation for the price they ask for a night. We paid 240 euros for the suite room, and I have seen cheaper hostels that are in better shape than this room. Furniture was very old, outdated. They need an interior designer for this hotel, better furniture, and a good cleaner.

    Friendly and good staff, good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this was our first time to stay and also the last time . 1 double beds - really uncomfortable , small and bad quality , There was a gap between two beds which shouldn't be . 2 . We had the room in a very weird floor , almost like in basement . 3 . Towels were thin , and they didn't put new towels the next day 4. Hotel hasn't shown that parking is extra -

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not that comfortable. Room not very atmospheric, bit stingy on towels and toiletries. No aircon. Hard to find parking.

    Good location, nice breakfast. Great blackout blinds. Balcony.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verouderd hotel, alles was verouderd

    Ligging

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot shower and no hot tap water! And the pool water was cold too.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking terrible and too small room, simple and too warm .

    Breakfast and welcome at reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top hotel alles is perfect!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connectivity. It works for mobiles/tables...but not for other devices like play station.

    Swimmingpool Spa area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dated but the location more than makes up for this.

    Decent family hotel. Kids loved it. Good food and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travel by bike. For a dry parking we must pay 5 euro! Schandalous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service only until 8.30pm and restaurant only until 9pm.

    The very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good beds, close to centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms in low level are a bit dark

    The room is spacious and the location is lovely behind the dunes. Breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room old fashoined. Looked like an appartement from 80 s. Also noisy

    Location . Beautiful nature.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the woods and center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working

    Great hotel - very comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shouldn't know....

    room, breakfast, environment,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breskfast was not op to scratch. The room was old and is in need of renovation

    Nice location, friendly staff, great extras

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in restaurant very slow. Everyone else had a tablecloth but our plates were put on the bare wooden table

    staff were very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no words needed. All perfect

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I have stayed here a few times and I like the location and quietness that comes with it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, but expensive. Also there's a private Parking outside, but costs 3'90€ per day. For a hotel like this, the Parking place should be free.

    Good Hotel in a great location. Easy to rent a bike and run away from the routine enjoying the different nearby routes. Big room with terrace, nice renovated bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside was the two single bed pushed together to make the king size, it felt like I was constantly having to push the mattress back together as they slipped away.

    We really like our stay. Staff were really friendly. walking distance to the sand dunes and what a lovely area to walk through, rooms very clean and comfortable. can't wait to return to this hotel. Really liked it.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Booked a family room, while it is spacious it certainly needs renovation. The price per night is way too high for such room type, it needs some serious work.

    Dining room is renovated and the food is excellent! The staff is pleasant and we could check-in 3 hours earlier than usual!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was not ready even though we checked in at 14.00 my son had vomited in the car so had to change him in the toilets. Even though a room had been allocated but not checked in we could not put the lunch on the room bill. I was sick during the night and needed to check out earlier one night cost 400 euro;s. I myself have been a hotel manager and if you leave earlier that is up to the hotels discretion. Totally disappointed. We be booking Sandton Hotels as usual next time excellent staff and service..........

    Not a lot !

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud band playing until 23:45 in lower stock just below our room. Mobile phone will not connect indoors. Bad management, staff seems poorly instructed.

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very dated. The breakfast was tasteless. There were additional charges when we arrived that added to approx. 25 euros - tax, parking, charge for pet.

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough parking places

    Room, breakfast, location, staff

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fitness centre was very small and basic. Rooms are also very basic.

    Great price. Nice country setting. Large room.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's very far away .

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Couple

    Parking limited

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Car Park Charge

    The evening meal was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome rooms!! Great helpful staff! 100 m to a national park! Nice price!

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolute fair price and nice accomodation

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great and friendly staff. Good room, breakfast could be better (fresh fruit).

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small desk in the room. Parking difficult and few places available.

    Large room, enough sockets, balcony

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The spacious room, great restaurant and good breakfast. It's location is good too and very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Interior is quite inferior/ old. WiFi was not good.

    Location Breakfast Bed

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: