Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of H2OTEL Rotterdam 3 stars

Wijnhaven 20a, 3011 WR Rotterdam, Netherlands

#36 of 58 hotels in Rotterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2339 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Art Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    negative: under the bed it was not cleaned, rose pattels and dust this was the only negative point

    we couldnt get immediately in our room so we went to the market first. At noon we were able to get into the room. basic room, nice decorations, beds are good, bathroom (only shower) basic, room was ok negative: under the bed it was not cleaned, rose pattels and dust this was the only negative point suggestion: fresh orange juice conclusion: very good receptiondesk, very friendly, breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room with terrace was beautiful, we were at the end of the boat so had a nice private terrace with view on the river. Nice breakfast in the restaurant too! Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not very comfortable for my bad back. Also breakfast is ok but a bit basic. The aircon machines are very old and mine did not work.

    Location is excellent and the staff helpful in changing my room due to a broken aircon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a big difference from the picture and the real place. The air conditioner in our room was out of order, we asked for help and they promised to check. We went out for a city walk and came back after 3 hours, no one did the checking. Ended up, we have to move to another room. The receptionists were not very friendly, seemed dont care. We’d appreciate the lady who showed us the car park and the technician who helped out with the air conditioners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tint with hardly any storage space but we only stayed for one night so wasn’t an issue.

    Amazing experience staying in a proper boat, staff was incredible especially the bartender, food was absolutely delicious, we had an amazing time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we arrive the rooms are not ready and the cleaner went home, we have to wait for them to rearrange another room but they act in swift response

    good breakfast with added options available to order, pancakes, type of eggs, bacon and sausages. friendly and helpful staffs. comfortable beds but room is small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Art Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not really a boutique hotel but more a budget hotel. The walls are too thin and the mattresses too soft. More suited for couples visiting the city than for business travellers as writing desk is quite small.

    location, close to Blaak station, near the markthal . The bar is really nice and breakfast is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft and bad for back. Room was quite small with beams/poles from ceiling making it difficult to move around in one half of the room

    Nice staff; good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After the shower the floor is wet and almost full of water because the toilet has no door (half door design only)

    The staff are nice and willing to service, appreciate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pasta buffet on the saturday night was a bitter terrible disappointment. Firstly it was not a buffet, but I was willing to overlook this in translation but the portion was at best a starter and to be honest I have had bigger tapas in Spain!!! I would not recommend eating the hotel. There is much better value for money very close.

    The room was great and different - it is on a boat. The staff were great and very helpful. The bed was a little soft but my taste but actually very confortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast staff. They have a couple of miserable old women who serve breakfast, with faces like they don't want to be there and they don't want you there! No customer skills whatsoever and just downright rude. It's not like we had fussy needs. We just wanted fried eggs and beans, and made our own toast in readiness for them. Beans come out in a separate pot...cold. So asked them to warm the beans up, came back cold....asked them again.....came back col...., 3rd time they came back slightly warm, but then the eggs were stone cold as waited so long. And the filthiest looks you could ever get from the staff. Sorry for asking for something to be served as it should be! So gave up at that stage, and vowed in the 6 months I'm working in Rotterdam never to return, even if nowhere else is available. I suggest giving this place a wide berth.

    Location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could perhaps have had a little more choice, but that is nit picking.

    The hotel is quaint as it floats on the canal. It is in a fair location, a little bit out from the centre of Rotterdam (so nice and quiet), but close enough that you can still walk to the places that you want to. Breakfast is continental with an order from the kitchen (for cooked breakfast, eggs, pancakes, etc.). Staff speak very good English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap bottle in the shower was empty. Little more attention to such details appreciated. Let:s be clear: it did NOT ruin the experience...

    When going to Rotterdam, sleeping on water is a must! Excellent price/experience ratio. Kindly upgraded to upper deck to room with window for an extra 5 euros. Thank y'all again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, extremely clean. The idea of this floating hotel is amazing. Front desk staff is very friendly, kind and welcoming . Breakfast was filling and tasty. Although my stay was a bit short but I really enjoyed it a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ugly with only Ikea furnitures (and not the nice ones, but like the 10€ very basic table) There was only a tiny tiny window in the bedroom, which faced another wall... so there was no light at all. In addition, that only window, which was ridiculously small, did not close correctly so it was freezing cold at night (at least the AC was working). We paid more than a hundred euro for this one night and it was way overprice... the room we got is not even listed on the website...

    Location is nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold and dark with no heater in the bathroom- it wasn’t cosy at all. The walls were tinny so you could hear a lot of noise from outside. The reception staff weren’t as warming/helpful as other places we have stayed.

    Bed was comfortable and the breakfast included was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have heavy luggage it can be quite challenging to get it to the room though the staff was nice enough to let us use the private lift from the reception.

    The design of the hotel is unique, we felt like we were in a cruise ship without the seasickness😆

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason we had rooms service only once (after the first night) in our 3 nights stay.

    The location of the hotel is very good, we had a rearmost room with a terrace, so it is a room with a view, facing a bay, which is a very pleasant view. The staff is friendly, and surprisingly, the bed there was very comfortable, even more comfortable than at home :) Yo can go on foot easily to any central place in Rotterdam, and the metro station is just 2 minutes walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We stayed in the normal-basic room which was very good for one night, but for a longer stay i can imagine it would be a little bit hard to move around in the room with my husband, since we had some problems while packing at the same time.

    - Great Location close to main shopping/bar/restaurant areas as well as Blaak Trainstation - Very helpful staff, I was not feeling well in the morning and they were very understanding and helpful for my husband's requests, which is well appreciated - It is very nice to be staying on a canalboat-hotel - bathroom and shower was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the builders in the early morning. There was a note of apology in the room but no fore warning with the booking. Breakfast very expensive

    Clean, convenient location, polite staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, our room was small and cosy. The beds are very comfortable. It's close to a main shopping street and the Markthal and plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the immediate area can be a challenge.

    Very friendly staff at this boat-el in downtown Rotterdam. Very nice bar and breakfast area. Was happy to see that check-in after midnight was no problem, even though Booking.com says 00.00.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. A very good standard of hotel for business trips with character over and above the usual boring chain hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was 17.50 euro a night in a nearby multi storey, beware the max headroom is noted as 1.85m. and you'll need a degree in electronic engineering to get your car out again! Lighting in the room is a bit dim, one desk lamp is operated via the wall switch the bedside lights with small switches in the lead. It may just be our room but there was a constant smell of damp carpet, worrying on a floating hotel.

    Quirky place to stay and a good location, we had no problem finding shops, bars and restaurants in easy walking distance, staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are currently building in the neighbourhood, so it was a little bit difficult to find, and also the views from the room were disrupted by this works.

    The fact of being on a boat is just different from normal hotels, the location is also very fine for experiencing the city center. Its unbelievable that on arrival the hotel was so high and when we left so low because of the water level changes!! We had a reason for a long chat after!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little small. Area fairly remote but I think that's just the spread out nature of the city rather than the boat being in a bad place.

    Room comfortable and clean. Being on a boat was cool, communal areas really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor a bit worn and dated in the lobby and corridors. Rooms at the bottom of the boat are quite dark and gloomy even with the lights on. The twin room could do with a couple more plug points or an extension lead at least - they all seemed to be in one corner of the room! There was some building work going on near the hotel so it was a little noisy in the mornings.

    Great location: close to lots of cafes, bars, and restaurants. Staff were helpful locating my bag which I accidentally left at the hotel after check out. We didn't try the breakfast but it seemed like there was a good selection available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dark. The walls rather thin, so I could hear everything outside. There was a damp smell in the corridor to the room, but I guess that's to be expected for a boat.

    Great location. Comfortable bed. Room was well-sized.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room it is not possible to open windows. Lights were not well positioned.

    Everything was good. Position, public parking very near, breakfast ok, bathroom and beds are also good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was unhelpful and unfriendly. I had to walk through both the bar and the restaurant full of dirty dishes and half-eaten food to get to my room. Disgusting. The stairs to get to and from the boat-hotel were narrow and dangerous. Wifi was sporadic at best - I could hardly check my email. Noise from the bar was unbearable and my room was located between carts of towels, bedding and dirty laundry. I felt as if I was staying in the linen closet! The ONE pillow was tiny and lumpy. The mini fridge was filthy with mold. Bathroom was long and narrow, barely enough room to get past the sink to the toilet. And there was no door on the shower. Terrible experience all round!

    Location was central to architectural sights, not near the train station or metro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was average, felt a bit like a canteen.

    Great central location, nice outdoor patio for my room, nice floating bar in the evenings. Clean and comfortable bed, well appointed room with a desk. Have cycles to rent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Concidering sleeping on a boat down town bed and shower was really comfortable and there is sufficient space even to have a nice evening at home. The terrace was perfect for breakfest, reading and relaxing during the day as well as having a nice glass of wine in the evening. They serve eggs for breakfest fresh when you order without extra charges. In general more free mineral water would make a perfect stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for my liking and pillow too hard. They claimed they had just bought new pillows because customers had complained of too soft, so I guess they can't make everybody happy. Next time I will bring my own!

    Excellent location in the City center, walking distance to a lot of sights. The fact that it was a boat gave a great ambiance to the stay. B-fast was good, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved Rotterdam and this H2Otel is very handy for a lot of the attractions and within easy walking distance of plenty places to eat and regular city transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odour in our bathroom and a lack of ventilation.

    It was a novel experience staying in a floating hotel. I found the staff very friendly and caring giving the hotel a homely atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean. No coffee or extras in the room. TV visible from one bed only. Confort just ok. Very humid room.

    Super service in the kitchen and eating area. Original concept.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has inopenable windows. One needs to use the air conditioner the whole night.

    Very good location. Center is in a walking distance. Interesting place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our family room wasn't available and then there were trolleys full of bedding in the corridors the whole time.

    The hotel was interesting and the rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a wonderful hotel on the water, but everything is not well maintained - the hallway and the rooms are shabby and also not very clean. The selection of the breakfast is OK, but again quality is not.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    because it is under the water, there is no windows. the room is not good for noise isolation. you can hear people walking and talking in the middle of the night.

    the hotel is very special. the location is quite good. it is near to the metro station, market and brick.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor rooms, terrace (for extra price) was shared with an another room and with the corridor. Small window, container feeling... Inexperienced staff struggling with issuing the invoice and

    Canal location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you need absolute quiet to sleep, a boat is not ideal, as you are low down and not well insulated from the road and river, so there was quite a bit of noise - although it didn't bother me. Also if the weather is very wet or icy cold you'd feel a bit exposed and damp. But these are not serious negatives.

    It was lovely staying on a boat. The little terraces on deck some of the rooms have are really cool. The staff in the breakfast room were particularly nice. Wifi worked very smoothly. Check in and check out we're very efficient. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to the public transport stations, was easy to find it. Was clean and well worth the money i have paid for it. The restaurant had a good menu, and the food was very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We contacted H2OTEL before by email and phone with the request of earlier check-in which was unfortunately not possible however the person mentioned that the room should be ready by 14.30 (Normal check-in 15.00). To be on the safe side, we reached the hotel at 15.00 and upon arriving at our room, the cleaning lady informed us that the room is not yet ready and would need another 20 min. of preparation. The front office's feedback was that during the weekend its always challenging to manage the logistics but did offer us another room without mentioning there's construction ongoing in the area which they should have at least informed beforehand.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cramped, no fresh air only Aircon as plexiglass bubble window was near waterline. Shower base was slow to drain and there was an art to operating the mixer taps

    On a floating platform, great for something different and in an awesome location. Also has bike hire. The bar has a nice terrace / deck on the canal. Very convenient to trams, trains, not far from ferry. Walking distance to cube houses and market hall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are three building sites with concrete and pile driving surrounding the hotel on three sides. They start driving the first pile at 6.45am. They mix concrete all day in a creaky machine. I asked reception when the work happened and she was very vague and seemed surprised I would ask. The canal has a coffer dam right next to the hotel which means there is no interesting boats coming past or moored there. I work in civil construction and I know just how noisy this sort of work is. I also know if a hotel complains they can usually get quieter machines or work more sleep friendly hours. So here is my complaint.

    The interesting room decor. The breakfast was excellent. Having a kettle and fridge in the room is unusual in Europe and we appreciated them. Our room was large with a veranda and we think that was extra money well spent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can't open the windows so the air con had to be left on as it was a particularly hot spell. That's all really.

    The area was probably one of the nicest in Rotterdam. The water, the boats, busy bars etc. helped create a really nice atmosphere. Also, the centre market and town were just a stones throw from the hotel. It was great for a short weekend trip. Perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked for 2 nights but we upped and left after just one. The noise from other guests during the nightwas unbearable; parties, marathons above deck, people standing in the hallway making loud phonecalls, all well into the night. We barely slept and to top it off the room was damp. We mentioned why we were leaving at the reception desk the next morning, and afterwards sent 2 emails regarding the stay (as the first mail was left unanswered). So far, all I have received is an email that management is looking at it.

    The hotel was in a brilliant location, close to the city centre, and within perfect reach of the Museumkwartier for example.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Art Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior information on the noise from the construction project next to the hotel during the day.

    The location was very convenient for the centre of Rotterdam.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small and since the ac was not working properly, the room got a little stuffy. The breakfast was ordinary.

    The hotel is ideally located with a really cosy bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no free parking places available next to the hotel, private parking costs 24 € per day. Table is to small, not enough place to work

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather cramped, that goes for the room, the bath room and the bed. One can expect that on a boat though. But the lack of any charm in the room added up to that. Paid 92 euros for 2, but for that price I've had it better.

    Hotel on a boat, nice location and a fine terrace. We had a room below deck, which had coffee & tea facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was slow and spotty. Room had only a tiny window.

    The terrace was nice and faced the setting sun (room #12). The front desk assisted in sending me an electronic invoice. Easy check-in/check-out. Close to Markthal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heat in the room. We requested an extra heater.The overall score on booking.com is too much for this hotel. The description is again too much versus the actual.

    Good location.Good breakfast. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from boat

    Good "Hotel" as it was a Boat. Overall very good, but room had a window with view of Quay wall that's how it goes when you are on the water. Central for museums etc

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy if there is a group of people in the corridors.

    Perfect location to visit Rotterdam. Staff was really helpful and nice. Small but really comfy rooms (but hey! You're in a boat so that is the normal thing). Bathrooms were really big and nice (for a boat!). Nice bar with great views. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Art Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at the check-in required payment upfront claiming suspicion that we would leave without pay, despite having all Credit Card and ID information. They were extremely unhelpful leading me to pay everything upfront with my debit card. Other staff, despite more polite were completely useless in clarifying the payment of the parking system. Noisy construction right next to the hotel. There should have been an alert regarding this major inconvenience. Cheap furniture, no amenities, and bad sound insulation. For me, never again.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect a novelty boat feel from the room. It's just like a normal hotel with no window in the cheaper rooms. Gets a bit stuffy if you don't use the air conditioner.

    Quality breakfast at affordable price. Bar and breakfast area has a nice view over the water. Comfortable clean room and good location for our 2 night stay on holiday in Rotterdam

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Indifferent reception. Not a lot accessible in the immediate surroundings. It is worth booking the overpriced hotel parking because the walk to the free parking they speak of is not one you would want to do, and the alternative pay parking nearby is 24€ a day and does not take most credit cards. From the pictures, we were expecting chic charm. Instead it felt like a chain budget hotel. Not bad, just not particularly good. Mediocre dinner at the restaurant (and not a lot of alternatives within easy access), though the waiter was friendly. Breakfast ok, but nothing special. Very noisy. Between banging in neighbouring rooms, footsteps overhead, general creaking, and the very early morning construction work right next door, don't plan on getting a lot of sleep.

    The room was small but adequate and quite clean (though the window was filthy). I brought my daughter here for the fun of staying on a house boat -- in the end it was disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy. There was too much noise even at 2AM. The walls are paper thin or something... The mattresses in our room were abysmal!!

    All facilities that you might need are there. The room was clean. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Altough there was a separate breakfast menu, I´d wished for more variety as there could have been more vegetables as well as some type of porridge. Having had breakfast every single morning meant having the same breakfast every day. Another thing I didn´t like: The room had a carpet flooring.

    The rooms are very comfy and cosy and the service staff (from check-in to check-out) was very hospitable. I could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff of the reseption at the check in was not behaving professional. We asked to be moved of room because too close of the housekeeping storage area and she was looking like she didn't know how to do it. The only solution was offered to us was to check out the day after and check in again. Obviously the day after was Sunday and we didn't want wake up so early in holiday. Next day we found our door blocked from house keeping stuff. Hotel was not full and I bealive they could give us a better room.

    Breakfast was alright. Stuff of the restaurant friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great position and it got a terrace on the canal where you can relax. Room are clean and new. With all the things that you need. Definitely we will be back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I had to write something on this list it'd be the internal plumbing that noisily shunted waste frequently (sounded like a "SaniFlow").

    Close enough to the main areas for convenience but tucked aside just enough to be peaceful. Excellent breakfast and evening meal. Attentive and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room assigned for us originally, didn't have electricity. Then we got another room where they stored all the cleaning materials and fresh linen at the front of our room (not an actual issue, but didn't look professional). It took more than half an hour for the tiny heater to warm up the room, and the while the room is arranged so the 2 single beds inside form a double bed but you can't use it as a double because there's quite a gap between the mattresses. Half of the rooms have a "window" facing the wall of the pier giving you no actual view. So it is all right to stay there for 1-2 days but I wouldn't call the place comfortable.

    The location of the hotel is excellent indeed and it's a good value despite of its issues.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. But advance info on the local transport options and pricing would have been very helpful. But the local people are great and very friendly.

    A good experience. Very comfortable accommodation. Right in centre of city. Great surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was building works taking place across the water while we were staying and these did disturb the first nights sleep. However despite this we still had a great time and were all very pleased with what the Hotel offered.

    Good location, close to a number of good bars and restaurants and the new market hall. Bar at the hotel also has a good selection of beers, with friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning did not cool the room and you felt like the air wasn't circulating at all. Also there was no hotel safe which made me a little uneasy because I had to walk around with valuables and passports instead of leaving them in the safe like we usually do. These are not major issues for most people, but they mattered to us. On a positive note, it wasn't a far walk from the main city attractions and the staff were nice and gave some great travel tips for our next destination.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit weird, but then we're on a boat so normal standards can't be applied. slight musty smell, but again we're on boat.

    Great location, and a good price. The rooms were simple, but entirely functional. Comfy beds and a good bathroom. Strangely once on the boat there was no sway or rocking so you wouldn't really know you're on water. We didn't eat breakfast but the restaurant was in a great position on the water.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra to have a balcony, hoping for plenty of natural light in the room. Turned out that this terrace had public access and my door to it; solid wood! (*;*) The window minuscule so the room was dark! :(

    Breakfast buffet was exceptional and hotel staff; extremely nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean and comfortable hotel in a unique setting. We booked a room with a terrace and when we checked in we were given a room at the end of the property with a private terrace. The breakfast was very varied and fresh. The staff were very polite and helpful and the restaurant serves delicious home cooked food. The hotel is 2-3 minutes walk away from Markthal (the food market) and the shopping areas. If you book parking, it is in the building opposite the hotel and is underground and very secure. Overall a very good clean comfortable stay in lovely Rotterdam.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to storm Doris, It was impossible to travel to Rotterdam the afternoon of February 23. The hotel was informed My arrival was therefore delayed by one day. This hotel has got a non refundable policy I was fully aware of, but this was unavoidable. They refused point blank to refund that night. I also discovered they charged me for changing my dates on November 29 2016. Money grabbing unprofessional management. Shocking. Will not recommend for that reason only.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, very polite and courteous. Speak English very well. I travelled with my 8 month old baby, and the staff made the trip very pleasant, helping moving pushchair and luggage in and out of the hotel, cot and baby chair during breakfast. Very good hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could leave some extra pillows .. didn't sleep very well because the pillows were very poor .. that was the only fault though we were very happy with everything else

    I loved the pods with our own deck to sit out on.. the pods were so clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite cold when we arrived, we got to Rotterdam around 10am and couldn't check in until 3pm and it was a freezing day so you can imagine all we wanted to do was get in a warm room. Our room was fine but my parents heater had broken so they were about an hour without any heating but got it fixed in the end

    Good location, we paid around £85 including breakfast the rooms were nice but very basic I wouldn't of paid more, we stayed in a double room with terrace. About 10-15 mins walk to the 'cube houses' and 'markhall' around 30 mins walk to the euromast. They'll happily sort you out a taxi if you need one. You couldn't feel any movement with it being a floating hotel, nice breakfast they have a continental breakfast out but you can order a fry up

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you're inside your room, you hardly get the feeling of beeing on a boat. The rooms and the interieur pretty much look like other rooms in 'normal hotels', which isn't neccessarily a con but for the ones looking for a new 'boaty' experience it might be a bit dissappointing. Also, you don't sense the movement of the water at all, which - for some people might be even better, but for me, it weakened the experience beeing on a boat. One cannot open the round window in the rooms, which together with the moisturous air inside created a slightly unpleasant feeling - maybe owed to the location along the water

    The Boat is located centrally in Rotterdam and in the vincinity of the Train Station 'Blaak' the second biggest traffic hub after the central station. There are a lot of sights and shopping opportunities close by. Literally the whole city center can be easily explored by foot from the H2otel. There is a water taxi hub closeby. The rooms were sufficiently spaced and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse H2OTEL Rotterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: