Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem 4 stars

Toekanweg 2, 2035 LC Haarlem, Netherlands

#9 of 16 hotels in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2370 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    A life saver.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lack of a proper double bed.

    Pretty much everything except the price (the Netherlands are sooo expensive! And the Valks weird lack of proper double beds!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    It was as good as a Hilton hotels with large and fancy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offered to upgrade our rooms for extra 10 euro per night but we refuse to do so however they gave us the upgraded rooms because the basic one was full. That was not very cleaver thing to do if they end up giving us the upgraded rooms! But we get the upgraded rooms for free... 🤩

    It was as good as a Hilton hotels with large and fancy rooms. The hotel has been renovated recently so it feels like new. Great value for money compare to expensive hotels with small rooms inside amsterdam city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Accessible by public transport, late check in available,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited ventilation options, was very warm inside the room in late summer.

    Accessible by public transport, late check in available, clean, tea provided, friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, very high quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift panel took a little bit of getting used to! Bit fancier than usual and not always obvious where a button needed pressing.

    Hotel was undergoing renovation works to upgrade facilities and we could see the benefit of these. It was beginning to look incredible. We had a room in the new part of hotel which was amazing. The reception, communal areas and walkways are all exceptional. We had a family room which was really well laid out and a great space for the family. Very impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The responsive of the staff. We came back to the room and found the door to the balcony was open. Called the front desk only to be told that it was not a serious matter. After I told them it was serious and insisted I should talk to Security, she relented and transferred my call.

    In construction stage. Many stairs and long hallways to the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall stay, food and comfort good, they catered for my diet gluten -free
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found some of the waiting need a bit more training as for the money they charging for dinner it was a bit hit and miss with the service I have special dietary requirements gluten-free some staff are more helpful then others

    Overall the food was very good it is a bit awkward at the moment as they are refurbishing but very good choice food at breakfast and food dinner was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.3
    Bad! .. will not come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    BEWARE !! ... the hotel is under construction (which will continue for 2 years more as explained by one of the staff) ... one guy from the construction companies gave us very very bad attitude and wanted to fight with us when we were sitting outside in our terrace when he was working far from us, and I feared for the my children.. long story short, when I told the hotel staff, they offered me a higher room (not even an upgrade, not even shows a decent apology to the issue happened) , they gave us only late check out when there was a problem in the toilet and we had to switch rooms again !! .. (they ruined my stay with those incidents) ... lots of doors and hallways to reach to your room (not convenient) .. the breakfast is very very poor ... Haarlem is very beautiful city, i'm sure you will be able to find a much better hotel than this one even though it is a well known brand in Holland , but this branch is Not at all good ... I can't explain enough !

    The rooms were some how spacious and there is a nice terrace (but not private) .. the parking is free .. the staff were nice to some extent but not how a 4 star hotel staff should be! .. the breakfast is large.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    welkomen Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had to pay on arrival or were pre charged through our visa card Euro$ 1200, other banks only ask for a $100 or pre approval from visa card seems that booking.com hotels have issues with their customers

    we were in a newly renovated building, all were brand new and has very clean and spacious amenities with a balcony. the hotel has restaurant and bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, good overall standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Short staffed in the bar one night, so wait was a bit long. Currently doing extensive renovations, but in fairness these didn't disturb us at all, and the complementary drink was a nice compensation.

    I've used this chain before for business, and always liked their hotels. Spacious rooms (our economy room had space for 3 double beds, had a sofa and a balcony). Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old, not at all the rooms you see on their listing. They are renovating and show photos of their updated rooms only. Once you arrive you receive earplugs ( for construction noise) and a free drink to compensate for inconveniences. I would have liked to know this when booking. I called before traveling and asked if our 16 year old son ( who was already in The Netherlands) could check in for us as we would arrive late. Confirmed by phone was that he only needed picture ID. Upon arrival with all his luggage, he was rudely turned away and told he needed written consent.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed this better than stsying in Amsterdam. We commuted by bus and train into Amsterdam easily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge / cool box did not work.

    The rooms in the revamped section were beautiful. Large and bed really comfortable. Bus available out in the street. Staff were very helpful. Meals were very reasonable in price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    This hotel has a new wing, so if you stay there, then it’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good if there were entrances from the big carpark, if not we will have to lug the luggage a distance since the carpark is huge and quite full. Absence of swimming pool and sauna/steam bath

    This hotel has a new wing, so if you stay there, then it’s air conditioned(useful in the summer) and very clean. Would be given a perfect score if there were free weights in the gym Located in industrial area, so it’s quiet, bus stop is nearby, which brings you to Amsterdam or town centre(1 stop). Foo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot. No air conditioning no good chance to air out (shared balcony). Air valve on window did not really work Bathroom needs a makeover. Medium cleanliness. Room for improvement to improve cleanliness. Expectation for this hotel category not met

    Big room Free parking Nice but expensive breakfast Haarlem is a very nice town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the minibars empty and even if you ask hotel do not feed the minibars in the rooms, then why did you invest for those minibar & equipments in the rooms ?

    Package fit perfect with the prive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The hotel was a good base from which to explore Amsterdam, The Hague and other parts of the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were no drawers in the bedroom for clothes or beside the bed for small items such as manicure tools or medication.

    No additional charge was made for car parking and location was conveniently situated for driving to other parts of the country.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant! Love it here and will definitely be staying again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to use the sauna and it said in the manual in our room it was on the 5th floor in the reception block, so we went to have a look but couldn’t find it. Went and asked reception where it was and she said they didn’t have one.. gutted

    Staff are extremely helpful! Second time staying here and it gets better every time. Room is spotless and luxury. We love staying here! Everything about the hotel is amazing! Only one ‘negative’ above....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall, quite enjoyablee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were coerced into paying an extra 15 € for an upgrade as the room which we had booked was in the old section which was being renovated. The entrante to the the hotel is through a dark entrance and one has to take the lift to the reception on the floor above.

    Excellent breakfast with large choice. Free parking but not securised

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.0
    Horrible stay and will not be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service was horrible. Building was very inconveniently located. Horrible experience. Very disappointed and felt like I wasted my money staying at this hotel. Will never stay there again and make sure I spread the word for friends and family to never stay there.

    Nothing about the place that I liked to be honest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly Staff and a Great Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were OK, but lacked some modern conveniences, such as a refrigerator or USB charging outlets that most 4 star hotels in Canada would have. Some of the furnishings were a bit dated. There were major changes being built for a new bar area, which looks like it will be great when finished.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have ever seen in Europe with a variety of exceptional choices. Very good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was being cleaned while we were at breakfast. When we came back the staff was still in our room. We left, and came back in 10 min. We would have preferred if the room was being cleaned after we left for the day, not while we were still in house. Otherwise everything was great!

    A modern facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in spite of the on-going renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right now there are renovations (construction of a new reception area) which causes some not so nice viewing of the facilities, although they are de-coupled from the rest of the building. We were at the hotel during a week-end and there was no work being done during that time, therefore no noise. In the reception they are offering some very nice “ear plugs” for the noise when the building work is done during the week. We were happy that we did not need them.

    Our room was very good, clear and spacious. The hotel is not in the center, but if you arrive by car, it is not far away. Otherwise the Hotel is offering a Shuttle to go to the Train Station, which we did not take. The breakfast was in order and well served. Recommended unless you go during the week and you do not like to stay when renovation works are on-going.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the location. Very far from the city center and there is nothing going on there. But there is a bus 300 goes to the city every 10 minutes which is around 40 minutes ride.

    Although we booked an economy room but our booking were upgraded free of charge due to renovation. Also we were offerred a complimentary drink at the hotel bar. Large comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    He breakfast serving staff was overwhelmed with their task.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    He breakfast serving staff was overwhelmed with their task. Tables were not cleaned, 'reserved' signs were still up and nobody was coming ... The management need to provide more staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was to our satisfaction - we will recommend your hotel to friends and family

    Staff were very friendly. Rooms large and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Wifi great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    We would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took three days to get the bathroom light changed, but that was probably a communication error.

    The hotel is definitely in the upper echelon as a European hotel. All aspects are comparable to a four-star + U.S. hotel. Great people. Never a rude person, but always willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very hot. There was air conditioning but I hadn't thought it was necessary during April. Consequently woke up because it was so hot and couldn't get back to sleep for ages. The room lighting was a bit dull.

    Nice spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel to explore Amsterdam and Haarlem from
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is currently under renovation, but to be fair the hotel tried hard to minimize the impact and manage dust/noise levels. It will be great when its finished. Also, breakfast was a pricey extra so we preferred to just grab something to eat on our way exploring Amsterdam, Haarlem and surrounds.

    Rooms were clean, modern and spacious. Bathroom was especially impressive. The hotel was across the road from a bus station and there was plenty of onsite parking. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Good option if you are looking for a hotel with normal rooms near Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An impressive reconstruction was on the way in one of the buildings. Every morning the demolition works stared around 7.30 am. On my return to the hotel the noise and the vibrations continued till after 7PM. This was not announced when I booked my room. But it wasn't finally the ongoing works that bother me the most. It was the stuff that offered a room in the annex building on extra cost per night. I didn't appreciate the fact that they have available rooms and they are not arranging the guest in the best possible way.

    Great size of the rooms; coffee maker in the room and good restaurant on the first floor. Free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was great, it was clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the cold side I turned the air condition to 24 C and waited but still it wasn’t really warm. Room service was great, food was great but I had to call several times before they answered the phone.

    Breakfast was great, it was clean. Personnel very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    A good place to stay in Haarlem
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower cabin was designed very nicely, but had a slippery floor surface. If nobody broke a hip there yet, somebody would. Be careful!

    Lisette, the reception manager, was extremely empathetic and helpful, and managed to sort out a problem which would have cost me a significant amount of money. The breakfasts and dinners were rich and tasteful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    Work in progress
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy from loud alteration works being done next to the reception area when checking in & hard to hear properly. Was told I had my room upgraded- however, when I checked my invoice next day after leaving hotel found I had been charged for this! This should have been told to me at check in.

    Restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.3
    Arrived early (12pm) was feeling very ill had to pay 30 Euro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early (12pm) was feeling very ill had to pay 30 Euro to get into my room before 2pm. There was major renovation works ongoing at the hotel - the reception were handing out ear plugs at check in (no mention of this at time of booking) To top it all off the hotel but a 200 Euro hold on my card that hasn’t been released 4 days later!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    very good had it not been for the temperature problem mentioned above
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was impossible to lower temperature in room under 18° . To sleep, this is way too high so we didn't have good nights in spite of the otherwise excellent room/beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfort rooms always very spacious, bathroom excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite various repeat stay over the past few years, reception staff and/or reservations do not reflect same during welcome.

    Comfort rooms always very spacious, bathroom excellent. Breakfast buffet top notch!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.0
    Ok, but to expensive for just sleeping there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in the commercial area. Balcony not separated. Not a nice view on the parking lot. Part of the hotel currently under construction. Had to pay 20 EUR extra per day, to get a quite room in the renovated part.

    Free Parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.0
    Room size is good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put in a ground floor room overseeing car park. Basically can't use balcony. No tissue in the room, nor slippers, nor shavers, nor body cream. Daily cleaning was haphazard. Used towels not taken away, too many clean towels, etc.

    Room size is good. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable and spacious
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious, clean, and well-equipped room with superbly comfortable beds. A very good and varied breakfast, and plenty of choices if you are a vegetarian/vegan or on a restricted diet. Quet and peaceful, and the location is easily reached by public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast. Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road could still be heard but not as much as the first room

    Breakfast was excellent. Something for all tastes. On arrival we were informed that our room was in the older part of the hotel and that the rooms were better in the refurbished area. We looked at the room. It was rather noisy -being near the road. The receptionist found us another room which was a suite. It was much quieter and certainly spacious. The jacuzzi bath was a bonus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    At a very beautiful not very known city
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in desk personal where absolutly nice and helpfull. We had to stay at the hotel because one relative needed to be at hospital for a few days and they showed really concerned about everything de needed. Breakfast was really good with a lot of options to choose from. If Í ever come back yo the Netherlands Í would definitelly stay at this hotel...hope it'll be soon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Make sure you don't get the eco-room, which is old and smelly :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room and was not aware that for this money I would be placed in a very old room, which smelled funky. It was also not easy to enter the room, as there was a piece of furniture blocking the door, so getting in and out with a suitcase was hard. The fitness center closed on saturday early, when I wanted to go and work out shortly after 3pm it was already closed. I do not understand this in a 4 star hotel… also there was only one sort of tea in the room and no fridge or refreshments, snacks in the room. Also there is no vending machine, where such could be bought - only drinks. Due to bad news at home I needed to go back earlier. I booked without the cancellation option. Where I come from, people help each other and especially in such unexpected situations I would have expected some humanity and understanding. I was speaking to booking.com and the hotel manager trying to get a solution for example to get a voucher for the room but it was not possible.

    I liked the fresh apples at the reception desk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Something lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work was being done and staff seemed either distracted or too busy, seated promptly in the restaurant but then left for ages before we attracted a waiters attention.Food was good though. Overall the feeling was you were a number rather than a guest!

    Booked a suite for the last day of our holidays, couldn't fault the facilities, although its a long hike to the room and no help offered for carrying bags etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was blocked in our room and after asking for new towels they never arrived.

    Always lovely to stay at Van Der Valk hotels such a nice hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    The room in the new part of the building was superb. Building work ugly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signposting in the car park. We directed at least three other guests to the entrance.

    The room in the new part of the building was excellent. We were told on arrival that we had paid for a basic room and we could upgrade. Considering how long it had taken us to discover the present entrance to the hotel (which was not at all clearly marked) we would have preferred a complimentary upgrade rather than a complimentary glass of wine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    STAFF IS GOOD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- THEY HAVE SHUTTEL TO THE AIRPORT BUT MUST TAKE APPOINTMENT AND IS NOT AVAILBLE ALL THE TIME , TWO TIME I WANT TO GO AIRPORT BUT NO USED YOU MUST BOOK OR REQEST TAXI FROM HOTEL TO PICK YOU TO AIRPORT 2- FOR CLEAN ROOM , THE HOET NOT CLEAN ROOM THEY JUST ARRANGE THE ROOM

    STAFF IS GOOD GOOD PARKING AND FREE

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Seven more stormy hours at sea than scheduled. The hotel was a welcome lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather shortened our exploration of the neighbourhood drastically. Heavy rain could have spoiled the experience but the hotel was very comfortable. The food at breakfast had a lot of choice and the tournedos we chose at the evening meal was the best beef we've eaten in many years. Hotel and restaurant staff were excellent.

    The bedroom was generous for an economy room. What more could we want?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Good mid range hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast Hotel undergoing renovation however the new rooms were very good, the resturant is good, bar needs updating but I would expect thats in the next phase.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Free parking and only a 5 minute bus ride or 20 minute walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated but the hotel is having building work done at the moment so i guess it will be refurbished at some point.

    Free parking and only a 5 minute bus ride or 20 minute walk from the town centre. Very large room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect base location for tourist visit by car to Amsterdam region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was pricey at 18 euro/person. We skipped it. I wish there were a lower-cost, more scaled-down version. It often seems the hotels are trying to out-do each other with the size of their buffets, which drives up the cost. How about a good coffee and small bite to eat?

    Huge room. Separate bath/shower/sink in one room, and toilet/sink in another room. We had booked economy room, but on check-in we were told that was in the older part of the hotel that was undergoing renovation. We rebooked our room to the newer part of the hotel at an additional cost of 25 euro per night. This was definitely worth the additional amount. Perfect base location for visiting region around Amsterdam, especially if you have a car. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel, whereas parking is near impossible to find anywhere near Amsterdam. The city of Haalem itself is a delight, much more relaxed and pleasant than the busy-ness of Amsterdam. We enjoyed returning there after our long days of tourist activities. From the hotel to city center is a pleasant 1/2 hour walk along the canal, another 10-15 minutes further to the train station. Optionally you can take the bus for 5 euro per person each way. If you buy a regional Amsterdam pass at train station, you can travel over a wide region at very reasonable cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    A trip around The Netherlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locking the outside door at 10pm .

    The rooms are large and well furnished and very comfortable. The bathrooms are spotlessly clean and the restaurant serves good food. It's proximity to Haarlem and an easy drive by car and good public transport to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was extensive and fresh, but 15€ seemed a bit steep.

    Clean, modern and quiet hotel (in the renovated section ; unsure about the older section).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like that the balcony did not have a separation from the balconies of other rooms. We found cigarette stumps on our balcony, did someone look in our window or listen to us talking?

    The best WiFi of any hotel I've been in. Great location and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    convenient for business and privat stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can only recommend Comfort rooms in the new building are very comfortable, especially like the big balcony, Great shower - super strong WIFI, good breakfast buffet, bus stop just in front of the hotel which goes to Airport and Haarlem Center, Reception area currently under rennovation but does not harm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Spent only one night with the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spent only one night with the family. We had great experience. The room was fully renovated. It seems that they thought of all the small detailes. We ordered room service, and though it came very late, they decided not ti charge us. That's the way to do it. Breakfast was amazing as well. We strongly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.5
    Never use this hotel what a shambles
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all , staff were unhelpful , didn't have our booking , took 2 hours to purchase additional rooms and one of our party had to sleep in the car . Disgusting way to treat guests

    Nothing at all , staff were unhelpful , didn't have our booking , took 2 hours to purchase additional rooms and one of our party had to sleep in the car . Disgusting way to treat guests

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    Maybe next year will be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was being remodeled, and they had not added air conditioning or operable windows yet, so it was referred to as an "economy" room, though it was the same size as all the others. I stayed here 7 nights, and then one additional night. The staff seemed to think that, since it was a non-refundable booking they could force me to choose an "upgrade" to a normal room, hiding behind policy instead of admitting their deceit. I fought for a normal room and got it. The website shows a clever rendering, which will look great when it's done but the remodel is in full swing, and I recommend waiting until next year if you want to book here. Maid service is great, rooms are clean, but the old part of the hotel really needs an upgrade. The desk people risk becoming psychopaths under these conditions, and for them I recommend learning better service at a top hotel in a major city for a year, or in Tahiti or someplace, just for therapy.

    The breakfast selection is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent quality inexpensive
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about, a sectioned off part of the hotel was being upgraded which caused no problems but given apologies at reception and a free drink for any inconvenience which there wasn't

    Excellent hotel in many ways, very modern, very clean, meals were excellent, staff brilliant and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value for the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Refurbishment work in older section of hotel noisy.

    Comfort Plus room was very comfortable and included a walk-in wardrobe with plenty of room to store luggage and keep room clutter to a minimum.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    HIGHLY recommend!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    * Great location - 300 bus stops right outside taking you to the centre of Haarlem or to the airport. * Staff were very friendly and helpful (one gentleman recommended us to use the 300 but to the airport on our way home) * Hotel room was immaculate! Very modern and clean with a shared balcony (no one else used their balcony at the same time as us). We paid €10 extra to have a bathroom with a bath and it was the best €10 we spent! * Breakfast was available at an additional cost of €15 each I think! (Between €10-€15) but for the total cost of the stay it would have been nice if it was included. ** renovation work is currently taking place on one side of the hotel which we were unaware of when booking. We were offered 2 complimentary drinks because of the disturbance but we were never in during the day so we wasn't affected. But when we were checking out it was VERY loud so if you were wanting to stay in during the day you will hear it. ** * gym and pool are available but we never used them to comment. * unable to comment on the food/drinks because we never ate in. We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to couples! Not really for families with young children as there is no entertainment. Please remember that when you come out of Shipol Airport you can get the 300 bus DIRECT to the hotel for around €5pp! Don't waste your money and time getting the train. Enjoy your stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    The rooms are really comfortable and the shower is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little too far from the Haarlem town centre. The room has limited hanging space, which can be a problem for business travelers.

    The rooms are really comfortable and the shower is great. Fantastic full fitness centre on the property that is free to guests. Plenty of breakfast options.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice newly remodeled room and room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For reason the our bathrooms are smelly with pee. The lobby is poor with directional signage especially during the construction. The lobby and parking lot is far away.

    Nice newly remodeled room and room is spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    bus stop to the city next to the hotel, easy to reach by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old rooms, access to new rooms only with upgrade, old rooms no ventilation, close to street

    bus stop to the city next to the hotel, easy to reach by car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    4.6
    The most disappointing hotel we have ever stayed in.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was very, very poor. The room had not been cleaned properly before we used it. Ridiculous to be expected to eat outside with all the building work being carried out at the hotel. (earplugs provided by the hotel!)

    Not up to the standard of Valk hotels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    Won't be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The thing that annoyed me the most was the fact they immediately tried to up sell me a more expensive room in the "renovated" part of the hotel, thus showing me the ethos of the hotel in an instant. The part I was stuck in was clearly showing its age. My room also overlooked a noisy main road. At least there was a kettle, albeit they only provided a paper cup to drink out of. There was scaffolding all over the hotel due to the renovations. The bar near reception was pretty grim too.

    It was clean and spacious. The receptionist at checkout was polite and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Short break in Holland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No nearby restaurants, 20 min walk into Haarlem but car or taxi easy to do.

    Helpful, friendly staff. Newer wing with comfort rooms better than original but being refurbished. Good for visiting Haarlem (lovely)and Amsterdam. 30 minute drive if wishing to visit Keukenhof gardens which was main reason for our visit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing ... Perfect stay... great staff... great facilities... lovely choice at breakfast and evening meal.

    We had an excellent stay as always.... We have been coming every year for past three years... this year was particularly special as it was my partners 50th and the lovely staff left some champagne and flutes in room on the day of her birthday which was a lovely touch when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Space, comfort, cleanliness -- who could ask for more?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super clean, well-furnished, great matrass, pillows and bedlinnen for a good night's rest, spacious, great location, loads of parking (free) -- everything I always get when I check into a Van Der Valk hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all the steps down to the floor we stayed on, no elevator.

    bathroom nice and big, room nice and big, everything was great. There were some noisy guests on our floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room just provide paper cup that under expectation. Will be value worth if hotel shuttle to town is provided and the normal room rate to include breakfast.

    Free parking is fabulous. It's executive room at lvl 7th .. so the room is really spacious and nice. Like it!! And, the rain shower is superb too. Good location with public bus access which 5 min walk to bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from town or Amsterdam and difficult to reach the hotel if you don't have a car. I got a room in the old wing and it may be better if the room is in the new wing.

    The breakfast was really great. Not far from Airport or Keukenhof. Dinner menu was so delicious

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.4
    I stay there on a regural bases on business and I was there...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I stay there on a regural bases on business and I was there for 5 nights with my wife joining me for the weekend I asked kindly if our room could be changed for the weekend to a better room with a view as I had a room overlooking the roof of the main building But sorry to say The staff were in accoumidating

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    I really liked the room I stayed in;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really liked the room I stayed in; all the furniture and the bed were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was also nice and spacey with a seperate bath and shower- there was also a tea/coffee station which is always a plus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    A good base for Haarlem and bulb fields
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barman was average in attitude and poise

    Some of the staff were excellent - Patricia in restaurant was a delight and looked after us brilliantly. Room was lovely (comfort plus) light, spacious and nice balcony. Plenty of car parking. Bit out of town but bus route right outside hotel. Incidentally this route also ran directly to Schipol I think.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice facility, but limited conveniences nearby, and ridiculous hours for the fitness center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing dinner service and food quality. Terrible waiter. Best fitness gym associated with a hotel, but the hours were so bad we could never use it. Weekends late morning until 3pm, and week nights until 6:00? Ridiculous hours...essentially useless for anyone who does sight seeing during the day and wants to use the gym in the morning or evening. This is a good enough reason to try another hotel next time.

    Nice rooms, very clean, very nice bathroom. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Staff very nice and beds very soft great sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo we were shown of our rooms were very nice that's why I booked it but they where a lot nicer than the ones we got as we booked economie rooms

    The staff were very nice the beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Practical, but no character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge characterless concrete building. Extra charge for child's cot A lot of stairs up to reception (not obviously signposted either). Door with lift access is available but locked after 10pm.

    Large room Free parking and easy bus ride to Haarlem centre Huge building, so rooms available at busy period.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Haarlem traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: