Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hajé Hotel Heerenveen 3 stars

Schans 65, 8441 AC Heerenveen, Netherlands

#4 of 4 hotels in Heerenveen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 596 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improvement in cleaning,the lamps full of dust,no changing of sheets done during our stay,otherwise everything is good

    The rooms are okay and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very Retro, we loved it. The staff was extremely friendly and Jente brought us a drink although the bar was closed. The room was very clean. It was like being beamed back 25 years fashion-wise. We loved it. Comfortable beds, tv (small, but who needs a flatscreen). Great value for money & lovely breakfast with fresh orange juice. What we liked was the personal touch; staff really care about you. Go to a van der Valk hotel & yes, it's much more modern, yet we prefer the human touch more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at the hotel at 19.45 after an eight hour journey to be told the restaurant closed at 20.00. We rushed up to the restaurant to be told that the chef had been told to close the kitchen early! After some persuading we were offered one hot dish with no choice and some very poor wine. Not a good start to our stay. Also our room was cool on arrival and the only heating appeared to be from the bathroom. As with most hotels, the room was poorly lit, but that seems to be universal these days. Very comfortable bed and pillows though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were outdated. There is a strong smell of some kind of detergent in the hotel. I wonder if its to hide certain odor. A bit dark and gloomy. In need of renovation and some fresh paint. Cleaning not that good. Stains on the bed linens didn't really wanna make me jump into bed. The bedcover and pillows for decoration I could have been without as they were not fresh. Carpet old and dirty. Although the bathroom were nice it lacked knobs and a towel rack. The sink is very small and put in a corner. The size is not very practical at all.

    Staff helpful and spoke english perfectly. We stayed for two nights. Bathroom very fresh and contained both a massageshower and spabath. Got the bridal suite wich had a large hall, bedroom with a fireplace and bathroom. Lots of storage. Breakfast was good. The hotel is located at the outskirts of Heerenveen alongside the highway. Good for easy access/transportation and over-night stays. Gas station beside the hotel. Parking is free and big. Motel feeling. Feels a bit off and sleepy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken curtain, too hot inside, pillows were too hard, not clean at all, too few toilet paper, breakfast hours too narrow, interior could be more modern, shower too small, floor and sink stays wet when washed and showered

    Shower was fairly new designed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We booked a comfort room with 32m2 and get a room with less than 16m2 for same rate as the 32m2!! I complaint but doesnot help! to pay the rate for a bigger room and get a really small one is not acceptable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is not 24h/24h. Had to leave early, we didn't know what to do with de keys of our room... reception is closed till 7Am. Breakfast not before 8 am...

    Easy to find & park + free wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging 12 EUR for a quite basic breakfast.

    Booked an one person's room for one night . Good value when nothing special is expected. Small and clean room equipped with the very basic for one night's sleep: small bed, desk and cupboard . Internet connection was OK. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel. I had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the quality of the food was good. The rooms are basic but clean and warm (have been there in the winter) Staff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff, paid extra for a family alone and got 2 single beds and a chez longue so all squeezed in the single beds. Also the pipes were very noisy

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    might need some investment in refurbishing of shower en carpet. poor isolation from noises from other rooms. snoring neighbour kept me awake for some time.

    hospitable staff, good value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed at this hotel during an annual European trip for the last 8 consecutive years it has certainly gone downhill in many respects. It has changed management 4 times and it is now time to find other accommodation! Staff numbers have been cut to a minimum, they are all very pleasant.........when you can find one! You have to pay for the duration of your stay on arrival, makes it difficult to complain/get a refund if you have any issues during your stay! Breakfast is nowhere near as good as it used to be & if you need help in finding an item you first have to find a member of staff! Lots of mosquitoes in the 'warmer' rooms on the pond side of the hotel, screens put up at windows are ineffective! In conclusion all quite basic accommodation, facilities and services for the price at present. We will not be returning anymore.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very outdated, property needs renovation. There's also a sort of old smell in the hall and room

    Excellent beds, spacious room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The complete stay

    There was nothing to like

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View on the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people at front desk! Excellent attention.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t use restaurant

    Hotel was ok. Close proximity to the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needs upgrade.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor for €13 Heating not working in room

    Bar facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast, but for the price acceptable.

    Room was a decent size, clean, decent mattress, relatively quiet for the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good selection of foods for brakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Looks cosy and comfortably.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not available in the mornings prior to 930 am. Taxis are very difficult to get

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no acces to the outside telephone line in my room. Also there was no network for my cellphone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty, people smoking drugs and drinking outside the room windows. Disgusting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo en general

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't really work in the room. Worked ok in common areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated decoration in room. bathroom/shower is updated

    Location. Parking. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    comfy bed the staff was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very motel like at hotel prices

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a little out of the way from the town. Public transport is also not frequent. Would suggest travelers have a car to visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of staff in the breakfast room.

    bar prices where reasonable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very basic rooms. Still good value for money

    Plenty of parking. 15min walk to city center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 24-hr reception

    Staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was poor on the evenings we ate there.

    Adequate hotel. Working in the area. Was close to the town where we ate ever night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are very old,and not so clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the hotel, too hot in the summer

    Enough food wide choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location near Highway

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very nice and good parking good meals excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing it's all good value.

    Great location for Assen circuit. Always clean and always good food. Try a meal in the town as well, there's plenty of choice.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very run down, with stains on the floor in the entrance, very old furniture and cheap covers. The shower was very old and altogether the room looked old and shabby. There were strong de-odorisers in all corridors of the hotel, and I was told that they were put there to mask the smells in the hotel. Breakfast quality was low and there were no coffee or tea facilities in the room. There is a bus stop next to hotel but staff recommend to use taxis which are very expensive. Altogether a disappointing stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are old and dirty. This is one of those hotels where they have 30 seconds or so to clean the whole room. There are lots of stains in both the sheets and on the floor. I saw atleast 7 drink stains / cup stains in the (bath)room.The furniture is old and there's even paint falling off the wall... Although this is not a surprise looking at the bunker-like exterior of the building. This is definitely not a place I recommend for leisure staying, it's more of a last resort. Interestingly enough everything has a price tag on it so I guess one could buy almost everything in this hotel, who would do that?! I would recommend the other hotels in the neighborhood.

    The price is pretty decent

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Trouble with mosquitos outside the season. Probably not all rooms had the trouble, but there was a pond very close to my room, where there had just been some dredging. I missed a light switch near my bed (had to walk in the complete darkness to my bed), but they told me this was an exception, other rooms did have it, and missed a small table near the bed. Very extensive breakfast buffet, but there was no staff at all. These are, however, only small inconveniences.

    Very cheap. All facilities. Beautiful interior. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    To expencive for too old facileties Should be ashamed to charge you €70 for tgis

    After 2 days my back still hurts from the bed

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: