Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of American Hotel Amsterdam (former Hampshire Hotel – Amsterdam American) 4 stars

Leidsekade 97, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 PN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#90 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4801 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beautiful building had been beaten up probably in the 1970's and is now a bit run down BUT is currently undergoing a major overhall - noise and dust etc. from builders is why my ratings are slightly off - so i guess a year from now (written june 2018) it will be back to 5*

    love the location and architecture

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very big downside in our stay was that the hotel has adopted the policy of turning off the air conditioning at night. This results in most uncomfortable nights during hot weather. Opening the window is not a solution if the room overlooks the square - which is noisy. Also, there were flies enjoying the breakfast buffet.

    Excellent location and lovely restaurant décor. Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent positioning in the old center and the place to begin Lovers cruise it's just near the corner ! Just walking and admiring the beautiful canals and streets, shopping, eating... Nice room with a beautiful view and Very comfortable beds ! I'll return in this place !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel need renovation and maybe revise the fees policy and charges, the rooms layout is very strange and uncomfortable.

    the location of the hotel is very good!!!! the building of the hotel looks great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Changes in the breakfast and no wine served before 11am. The breakfast buffet is not as nice as it used to be in years past.

    I have been several times in this hotel. Last time they put my partner and I in a triple room with an ugly view. I asked for a room change, and they were accommodating, they put us in a cute, clean with a wonderful view room. The same happened with the breakfast: because in the past years we were used to their full breakfast brunch, but this year they only had a small continental style breakfast at the same price. We asked them about this problem and they told us that we could order hot food from the kitchen if we wanted, but we had already eaten so they give us a discount.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I mentioned, possibly better lighting over the sinks in the vanity area.

    Excellent breakfast provided. Entire staff was outstanding. One very minor glitch (didn't affect me since I'm a guy) was that in our room, which was one of the newer renovated ones overlooking the canal, my wife felt that there wasn't enough light over the vanity mirror to put on makeup etc..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dowdy and in need of refurb Some rooms Depending on position the tram noise can be a reall Problem as there is no soundproofing Price !!!!

    The staff were very helpful The American cafe / bar We were swapped to a bit quieter room which had had a refurb With no hassle or problem couldn’t be more impressed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was most unhappy with the bed in the Classic Double room.. The mattress was thin and kept sliding off the base. It was very uncomfortable and I never got a good nights sleep.

    The location was excellent, close to the museums, trams, shops, and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor view from the balcony, room gets very hot from the sun. No milk for hot drinks, only creamer unfortunately. Toilet roll is very cheap and uncomfortable and hairdryer very weak.

    Excellent bed and room design, felt very light and spacious and was extremely comfortable. Good shower and bathroom felt expensive and bright. Plenty of plug sockets and lights, and an unexpected balcony was appreciated too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was not clean, dirty carpet, unclean bathroom service in dining room broken hair dryer stained carpet dead bugs in bathroom and dusty window sill

    comfortable beds friendly personel beautiful dining room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent room number 526, really unforgetable, with a little terrace face to Leidsplein, like a little castle, me and my wife appreciate a lot and willing to come back soon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en suite was poor. The floor area of 1 sq. m. was awful, take out the space for the toilet and you’re left with around 7 sq. ft. to move around in. Nice! Fittings were tired.

    The Art Deco restaurant was absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent hotel location and beautiful interior. we where upgraded on arrival which was wonderful. the room was bright clean and airy. comfortable bed. tea/coffee making facilities. just outside to wonderful bars and restaurants and everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't completely clean, and a hair that I found on my bed makes me suspect that the sheets were not fully changed before we checked in.

    We were let to check in early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife found the mirrors in the bathroom too high for her, there were others in the room though so she got by.

    Very comfortable bed in a room which had a balcony overlooking the canal. The bathroom was a good size with a wet room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Cafe Americain and Bar Americain were both excellent. We found the location of the hotel to be excellent, a short walk from the museum quarter and the trams stop right outside. You can also catch a boat trip from in front of the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the restaurant ambience & brkfst was not to standards for 24 Euros

    I loved the location - near the Centre & near the place for the canals boats , the old style room & the view from my room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, maybe a swimming pool would have been nice after a long day in the city.

    Great location in Museum quarter, canal side room. Good restaurant and bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was definitely Dutch style, with a selection of cold meats and cheeses etc. I could have poached eggs or boiled eggs. I would have liked bacon and eggs. .

    The location was perfect for us. We were able to take a bus from the airport and it left us within sight of the hotel. It was beside a canal and we took a canal tour by boat from just outside. There were trees and a fountain out front which created a lovely space to enjoy a drink and gaze at the busy street beyond. We loved the ambiance of the hotel, the art deco style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the cafe ambience of the restaurant, but the menu was rather restricted and the pricing difficult to understand, specially at breakfast.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful with the wheelchair. The room was cleaned while we were at breakfast, which was excellent. The terrace was lovely and we enjoyed relaxing with a drink by the fountain. The location for our purposes was ideal, with the canal cruise outlet across the road an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in at 12pm way before the standard 3pm which was very much appreciated for tired travelers, newly renovated restaurant was very chic and great spot for food/drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion Under renevation Tacky rooms Unflexible staff at reception Construction work made it uncomfortable due to early works

    Location Fairly clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a little small but that is usual for Amsterdam.

    The best location in town for easy trips to all the major attractions. Opposite tram stops going in all directions. Great restaurant, outside terrace and classy late night bar. Easy to walk to lots of eating options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room types, not 100% clean, no fan or window in the bathroom

    First allocation of room a disaster, we spent the night into a 2 stars room, tiny, oldish, dirty - hairs in the bathroom- and very uncomfortable. Said we wanted to leave the second day and eventually were offered the type of room we paid for from the beginning. So at least this worked ok. Poor breakfast, a lot of waiting time for lunch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little dark. Hairdryer difficult to use as positioned on left wall. Hard to dry right side as curly cord too tight! Trivial I know!

    Very nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given needed renovating. We complained and were given a beautiful room.

    Our room was stunning, really comfortable, great view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the location was good it is in close proximity to a number of bars. We were kept awake often during the night by drunk people shouting in the streets sometimes until 4:00-5:00 am. This was disturbing enough to make me hesitant to stay again at this hotel. Sadly they cannot do much about it.

    Great location for many if the attractions in Amsterdam especially a number of the art museums. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. Rooms were a little dark when trying to read stuff.

    Beautiful hotel and all the staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tidy room, after a shuffle we received the bed type we booked, but our view was rather disappointing, and room was cramped. Probably normal for hotels in the area though.

    Really awesome loacation, walking distance from most great site seeing spots.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was to much trouble for the staff , the room was comfortable and air conditioned , and just a short walk to all amenities will be booking again breakfast was very faster also used the restaurant food very very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast very disappointing and not worth Eur22..50 paricularly as there is no egg station or hot food. The breakfast a la carte menu very strange as you have to order items separately with an individual price, e.g. bacon (Eur4.50), fried egg (Eur2), boiled egg (Eur1), cherry tomatoes (Eur4) etc. Toast (Eur2.50). Prices weren't indicated for coffee and tea so we were staggered to receive a bill for Eur18 for 4 cups of tea. We asked for a pot (1 teabag and boiling water) and requested more boiling water for a second cup plus another tea bag so beware (suggest you take one from your room). By the way, reconmend the eggs benedict for Eur6. It's a pity about the menu and also the breakfast staff were inattentive and seemed to lack good training.

    Great location, trams no 1,3,5 to downtown and central station stop in front of the hotel, canal trips just outside hotel, hop on and hop off bus and canal trip within 5 minutes walk, museum quarter 5-10 minutes walk, plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Local bus to the airport stops just across the road and costs Eur5. Dining room decor is wonderful art deco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a quiet location Center City is not the location

    Excellent Center City location with multiple trolly route stops outside Vondeler Park minutes from the hotel for strolling biking picnicking or just hanging out with locals on a Sunday afternoon Canal, restaurants and on site cafe great for slower evenings of people or boat watching Rooms spacious modern and very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing negative I could say about this hotel. The location was fantastic!!!.

    the hotel staff was wonderful. the room was lovely overlooking the canal and the bed was extremely comfortable. the is our favorite hotel in Amsterdam and it just gets better each year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First night we stayed at very small room and then they have changed our room to a bigger one, which one was great. When you book a room in this hotel, you should mention that you want a big room. The hotel is too old and needs to be renovated. I understand that they want to keep its histrocial feature, but there are so many possible ways to renovate the things without breaking the texture. I think they need to take care of this beautiful building :-)

    Staff was so helpful and they really did their best to help us. Their housekeepers really did an amazing job. When we turned back to our hotel room, we always find our room very clean and tidy. The barman works at the hotel's bar is so nice and funny guy. You should visit him and listen Elvis songs...He really has a great voice ;-) Even though hotel is located at the heart of a city center, the rooms are so silent and curtains are so thick, and the bed is extremely comfortable. You can sleep as long as you want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Dining roomwas disorganized. It was 20 mins before the table was set. It was 35 mins before order taken An additional 15 minutes for delivery. Unaccepable and detracted from an otherwise excellent experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have their own basement parking and for self driver you have to park a public parking nearby and it's expensive. If you are hotel guest you are entitled 20% discount

    I like the location of the property which is strategically located in the middle of everything. The staffs are helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had breakfast on one of our four days in the Cafe American - great decor, very atmospheric. The food was perfectly acceptable but, at 22.5 Euros per person for the buffet, we felt it was rather over-priced compared with many hotels we have stayed in. As an alternative, there are lots of great little cafes serving breakfast in the area.

    A wonderfully stylish hotel, very well situated and with very helpful staff. It was a very easy bus ride on the number 397 from Schipol Airport (6 euros). Perfect location for the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and all the great restaurants and cafes in and around the Leideseplein area and really not too far to walk into the main canal area along some very picturesque streets. The room (a classic double) was very large with a good bathroom and a lovely view over the fountains at the front of the building and along to the Singel Canal. There was a kettle and a coffee machine and the supplies were kept well topped up. One of the canal tour companies (Lovers) goes from right outside the hotel so a great way to orientate yourself upon arrival in the city. The concierge team were very helpful in supplying maps, recommending restaurants and organising a taxi for us at the end of our stay despite the (most enjoyable!) disruption of King's Day when the whole city turns into one huge orange party - an experience not to be missed! We would definitely stay in the hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old n the price is not "old".

    When we arrived a guy came out to take our lugages up to the stairs n that helps as we all ladies with heavy lugages.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had been at a concert and my husband was feeling slightly unwell. We decided some food in our room may be the thing and called down to Reception (thrice before we got through) just after 10.00pm but amazed that they could not offer any room service at all after 10pm. I had to go out and bring some food back, which I found surprising in a hotel of this type. To their credit they did later offer us a drink voucher.

    Location, very helpful Concierge

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite crowded with not much space to open suitcases. On the upside it was spotless clean and bed was extremely comfortable.

    The breakfast buffet is good, the breakfast room is nicely located with views to the outside streets which is nice to sit and watch all go by. The location is very good within easy walking distance of many of the main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was great with a big comfortable bed. We had a balcony facing the canal and it was wonderful having breakfast in the balcony on a warm and sunny spring morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor with a view of the canal, so I was told. It was in fact a loft room and the windows were such that there was no view of the canal, only tge sky. There was also a pillar in the room that made it impossible to move around my side of the bed. You couldnt even look in the mirror to see if your outfit looked okay as the pullar was right infront. The bathroom wasn't private enough, had a hudge gap of around 3 or 4 inches underneath so the person inside had no privacy. The room was very expensive for the size.

    Hotel was very central!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Bed was very comfortable; bathroom small, inconsistent housekeeping; hotel under construction felt location was in seedy part of city; next time will book in museum quarter directly. Reception and concierge were first rate. I am comparing this stay to prior 3 night stay in Utrecht at the Grand Hotel Karel V where we had a suite; after the Utrecht stay, we went to Amsterday and the AMerican hotel for 4 nights. Thx. Newton Thompson

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of mold in bathroom. No air all week. Staff kept insisting that we did not know how to adjust thermostat. Turned out AC was not working & maintenance could not quickly fix issue. On last day we were assigned new room.

    A few staff members at front desk were exceptional but most just did not want to be bothered. Concierge services assisting with getting taxis was great. Nice views in both rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a slightly larger room as there was not alot of room at the bottom of the beds

    The dacor inside the building was stunning. Breakfast was great especially the scambled egg with salmon. The best of all was how friendly and helpful the staff were.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby could use a facelift and be made to look better (and in line with the general charm of the building); The windows could use a bit of caulking around their aging frames to reduce exterior noise from the neighboring streets which abound with tram screech and clatter, as well as roudy night revelers.

    The room was comfortable and spacious; The bar offers top-quality drinks; The café has a lovely retrò design.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms basic and very small, bathroom the smallest I have ever experienced. View from room poor,outlook onto other rooms, Concierge and reception staff very friendly and helpful but restaurant supervisor at breakfast was very rude on two occasions and would not answer my questions. I have stayed in many fine hotels in capital cities and this is the worst for value for money.

    Lovely building in a great situation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the breakfast. The furnishings and decor is a bit old - some things (elevator, carpets and decor in the corridors) are rather from the last century and could use some refurbishment.

    The hotel has a great central location (one of the prime social spots in central Amsterdam with lots of pubs and restaurants, Leidseplein, is just around the corner) and is very well-communicated (tram and bus stop 100 m away, a ticket office for all main Amsterdam attractions opposite the canal and a cruise-boat stop in front of the hotel). Rijksmusuem and shopping areas also in short walking distance. At the same time, it was very quiet and peaceful - no noise from the trams or the crowds from Leidseplein. Apart from that, we got an upgrade to the magnificent junior suite with a beautiful view on the canal - highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too expensive to eat! We were severely overcharged in the cafe on the first day twice and found the bar closed at 11pm even for guests which was disappointing! We are not big drinkers by any means but it would have been nice just to sit in the bar a little longer without being ushered out!

    The hotel was ideally located very clean very comfortable and overall great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has clearly been a cash cow for years: its soul has been betrayed. They sold out. Today it caters for tourists mainly, wIth a well-loved cafe for Amsterdammers on the ground floor. We were extremely disappointed that this hotel - or its many owners (i.e. investors, profit mongers) - do not get the essence of the American: a glorious, turn-of-the-last-century architectural gem that should simply be true to itself: a four-star no-nonsense affair with pedigree and character. Rooms that date back to the eighties (with carpets that can spin a yarn or two) are more in keeping with the spirit of the original place but are clearly past their sell-by date; early/mid 2000s rooms are tacky, tasteless and kitsch; the latest remodelling will doubtlessly add insult to injury. Stop trying to re-invent yourselves, for heaven’s sake. Concierge and elderly bell-boy are fine; Other members of staff are moronic or part-timers with little interest in running a hotel.

    this formerly magnificent grand hotel - with its splendid art nouveau architecture (facade and cafe only) and setting - has immense potential. Location is brilliant, so is its history. Little else to commend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since my last stay a few years ago the restaurant has changed and so has the breakfast. The bar takes up most of the area. The tables in one area are very squashed together and do not give the relaxed and special feel that you used to get. The service in the restaurant for breakfast and lunch is not very good. It is very disorganised, nobody seems to have an area or specific jobs to do. I think management need to observe and give more training and guidance. We waited 10 minutes to be given menus, after askIng twice. It then took a further 10 mins for someone to take our order. At breakfast we had to ask a number of times for coffee. The breakfast buffet has changed, It is a basic continental and hidden away at the back of the restaurant not the special experience it used to be. There was refurb work going on in the hotel too, which we were not advised about. This meant that from 8:30 there was a lot of noise coming from work, drilling, banging etc. And we often had to share a small lift with dirty workmen, building equipment and piles of kit, not really the special feel the hotel has given before.

    The location is excellent and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. It was amazing.

    Everything. The beds were so comfortable, the shower was powerful and the location was just amazing. We stayed in a recently renovated room and it was just lovely. The staff were very kind and helpful also. Loved having the nespresso machine in the room too, which was refilled every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a loft so there were stairs involved getting to the bed.

    Probably the nicest place I have ever stayed. You will have to pay a little more (and we had to pay 30€ a day extra for a canal view) but it was worth the luxury. So convenient to museums, park and tram line. Beautiful art nouveau decor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our actual room was very dark with only one small window

    The location was excellent, the staff, bar and restaurant were lovely. Breakfast was very good and kept us going all day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with the standard and decor of the rooms given the price and previous reviews. We also had issues with check-in where the reception staff claimed we'd canceled one room and made quite a deal out of resolving the issue (although it was a hotel/booking.com issue apparently and not our fault). Even the next morning they could not accept the check-in issue was not our fault and continued to not accept fault for the awful check-in experience. The bar staff was lovely and did give us four free drinks while we waited for our rooms which were appreciated but did not make-up for reception/check-in experience. Restaurant experience was not good although the food was OK three errors in our order including forgetting the one child in our group's order. This dish did eventually arrive after everyone else had finished and the cost of the child's meal was removed from the bill. The waitress implied there had been a lot of issues with service that evening and she was very apologetic. We had two 'deluxe' rooms out of four rooms booked by our group (three room were under my booking and another room was booked under a different account). We paid extra for one deluxe room to accommodate an extra bed for a child and this room was absolutely not deluxe standard (no balcony, not big enough to justify paying extra for a child bed to fit in, tiny bathroom and awful black/red decor). We were given a second deluxe room upon check-in and this room and this was a lovely room with a balcony and great views. The third room was OK, tiny window and little natural light, although it was clean and bed was comfortable. Feel we did not get the deluxe we paid for to accommodate two adults and one child, would clarify what they mean by 'deluxe' before booking such a room here as probably not worth the additional cost.

    Great location for Amsterdam city break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unfriendly and didn’t help us properly in changing our room after two requests. We had to wait until the morning of the day after to finally get a proper room, because the one they gave us was extremely small and windowless. We drank two small bottles of water from the mini bar and they made us pay 12 euros!!! The most expensive bottles of water in the world (which should have been for free). The bathroom was clean but missing the basic amenities (no soap in the dispenser).

    Historical building. Only the exterior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great ! We brought our bikes , but we walked to many of our destinations! We were upgraded to a great room with a canal view, the bed was so comfortable and room was super clean and quiet. The bar is a must, with photos of the many celebrities that came by this historic location! The restaurant is great as well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent up to final night and then really noticed the noise of a nearby bar on street behind the hotel -struggled to sleep once awake with the deep bass noise. However it was the Thursday before Easter weekend and was only one night out of 4. Sometimes that’s the trade off of a hotel in great location...room facing the canal would have sorted this little inconvenience I think.

    Great hotel, staff couldn’t do more to help during our stay. Fantastic hotel bar with walls adorned with hundreds of celebrity visitors over the years. Bed very comfortable. Would return without hesitation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so noisy.... our room was at the front of the building right on the Main Street and you could hear all the noise and people coming and going in the hallway .....trains, people partying, cars, police sirens... all night.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room lights position can be better, even when all lights are on the room feels darken.

    Very helpful staff. Great location, close to city center and the museum area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the upper floor, which was a nice room but it was far colder than the rest of the hotel. While the heating was on all the time and much appreciated, the bathroom had no heating, and cold air came in from the corridor. We had to get extra blankets for the bed. Otherwise we liked the room.

    Liked the central location and the pretty fountain. Room facilities with kettle were good. Bed was v comfortable. Room was v restful-no noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't ready while we get to the hotel. We had to wait until 2pm. There was during our journey some technical issues. No water on March 14 from noon to 3pm. One day, we went back to the room after lunch to take a nap around 2pm and our room wasn't still cleaned up. After all, anyway, the Hotel is wonderful and our journey was perfect. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I WOULD LIKE MORE REFUNDED THE MORE I THINK OF THIS STAY THE MORE UPSET I GET! I WAS OUT IN A ROOM WAKING UP TO DRILLING AND BANGING RENOVATIONS ON THE FACILITY, I WAS COMMUNICATING WITH THE STAFF BEFORE THE TRIP AND SAID IT WAS FOR A SPECIAL OCCASION AN TO UPGRADE THE ROOM WHICH PUT ME WERE THE WORKERS WERE!! MORE LIKE A DOWNGRADE IT RUINED THE HOLIDAY AND OUR ANNIVERSARY TO BE FAIR

    I WOULD LIKE MORE REFUNDED THE MORE I THINK OF THIS STAY THE MORE UPSET I GET! I WAS OUT IN A ROOM WAKING UP TO DRILLING AND BANGING RENOVATIONS ON THE FACILITY, I WAS COMMUNICATING WITH THE STAFF BEFORE THE TRIP AND SAID IT WAS FOR A SPECIAL OCCASION AN TO UPGRADE THE ROOM WHICH PUT ME WERE THE WORKERS WERE!! MORE LIKE A DOWNGRADE IT RUINED THE HOLIDAY AND OUR ANNIVERSARY TO BE FAIR

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful historic hotel with staff that made me feel like I'm part of the family. I enjoyed my stay here and will always choose this hotel when in Amsterdam. Breakfast was perfect and opening hours for sauna were until late hours which I appreciate so much after long days of meetings and really cold weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was some staining on the carpet in the room.

    Beautiful building, fantastic location and really helpful staff. 3rd trip to this hotel as we always have a great experience here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The American cafe was beautiful and had a lovely atmosphere. Our room was a good size and was cleaned daily - although we did not have a canal view our room 542 has a good sized balcony -which would be great in good weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the face the hotel toot £395 at begging of stay and then took another full payment £395 when we finished our stay, as we didn’t have a credit card, both transactions were pending on my account for few days before one payment was taken and other was returned.

    Rooms were nice and bed was comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing g

    This property is in an excellent location perfect for visiting all sites. The staff are excellent particularly Raisa and the Concierge who was working from 5th to 8th March. The room was large and The bed was so comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The rooms were dark, which is a pity. The bathroom facilities were good to very good. The restaurant was good, a fabulous room, but, in common with elsewhere in Amsterdam very expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is in city centre, in the morning you hear the first trams driving around.

    Great hotel in city centre of Amsterdam. The hotel looks amazing from the outside and inside everything is perfect as well. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Near the Leidsche Plein area with all the attractions around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems quite petty but there was no clock in the room or any bath robes which would have been a nice touch. Also reception knew our trip was for a very special reason so just a small acknowledgment of that would have gone a long way.

    We arrived at 10am and although check in wasn’t until 3pm they stored our bags and our room had priority cleaning so we were able to check in at 12noon instead. The day concierge was extremely helpful and gave us lots of advice. The hotel is in a great location. There have been comments about the breakfast but we found it very filling and not much more expensive then having breakfast out. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little smaller than pictures led to believe but balcony outside made up for it!

    Amazing staff helped me with figuring out where to go, very clean and very nice location a few minute walk to all major sites and shops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not so comfortable.

    Location - simply perfect! All major attractions (the Dam square, museums, Jordaan) are within walking distance. The staff - very friendly and helpful. Restaurant and bar on site. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we found was the water pressure was quite poor at times and heat of the shower was hard to control - definitely not a reason to not come back though

    The location is fabulous for the centre of Amsterdam and the tram routes to go a little further a field. It’s in a slightly quieter location than other areas too. Rooms are spacious and very clean, beds are very comfortable and staff are wonderful. We travelled over the “Beast from the East” period with cancelled flights and ended up staying another night but in trying to help us there it was really clear they value their guests ... can not recommend highly enough

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in-room heating was slow to take effect and the hot water took a little longer than expected to get up to an acceptable temperature. Was not terribly impressed with the service in the restaurant, which was slow to even acknowledge that I was waiting for a table.

    The room was smaller than expected, although the balcony made up for that. The bed was very comfortable, especially the pillows. The view was fantastic and the location was excellent - close to the Rijksmuseum and right next to a central transit hub for easy transport anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladies start early (8am), sound from corridors, dusty and a bit cold despite elements on maximum.

    Location, style, free to use espresso machine in rooms. Polite and helpfull personal.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: