Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Babylon Hotel Den Haag (former Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag) 4 stars

Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, The Hague City Centre, 2594 AC The Hague, Netherlands

#23 of 39 hotels in The Hague

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2660 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price and 4 star hotel I was expecting much better conditions and also the breakfast was very poor. Staff not very friendly or helpful.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking (but ask the staff to advice where to find it).

    Up-standard hotel in the short walking distance (10 min) to the city centre, and next to a big park. Spacious rooms, nice design, free minibar :), and good breakfast. Bike rental is nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View was awful as lot of building work going on outside hotel. We broke a glass on our carpet, informed staff and 2 hours later it was still not cleared up, made it very difficult to get ready for the wedding we were attending having to avoid the glass on the floor. Also no mirror near to the electrical sockets. Ladies like to style their hair at a table near sockets for straighteners, curling tongs etc.

    Very comfortable room. Close to station, so no extra taxi required. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did not provide me with shampoo/conditioner or body wash. When I asked for them to refill the soap dispensers, they informed me it was too late so I had to go and buy my own even though I was only there for one night. The hotel smelled really badly, and wasn't well ventilated in the hallways. Also the air-conditioning DID NOT work at all, and shuts off in the middle of the night. The beds are very uncomfortable and I had to put all four of the pillows because of how thin and horrible the pillows were. I paid for breakfast to be included and ended up having to go and get my own as they did not have any plant based options and have a horrible coffee machine that only gives cows milk. Instead of helping me find a solution, the staff told me to either eat/drink whats there or go somewhere else.

    The location was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the room was very poor considering it was a suite. No mirror in the room at the dressing table to allow you to sit down and get ready.

    Location great for station. Free minibar even though we didn’t use it ha ha Staff were very helpful and friendly Bed exceptionally comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be furnished with more toiletries and slippers provided in the room. The rooms need more colour as the furnishings are in dark colours.

    Excellent location. Love the refreshments to welcome guests eg water and fruit. The girls at reception were helpful and friendly. Wifi, coffee and free mini bar great bonus in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car Parking with luggage was not very good. The cark parking is a short walk away and difficult for an older person to walk and carry suitcases. No assistance was provided The fridge in the room had no bottle opener I did not get a discount on the car parking Building work was on going from 7.00am

    The hotel was accessible for the city of Den Haag

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows open onto inner atrium. Loud ventilation system that always remains on till 22. most windows do not open. Breakfast very expensive — 18 euro per head even kids. No bike parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok. Quality of food so so and the scrambled eggs was an insult to eggs (or was it something else??) - really dry and tasteless.

    Junior suite was nice. Strange position of sink in bathroom though - watch your head!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive Parking fees

    Superb location, free refreshing drinks in the lobby, staff was super friendly and helpful. Comfy & clean room, very quiet even with our room being opposite the lift, no noise from there at all. We loved an espresso coffee machine in our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing

    We had a really good experience at Babylon. The hotel is in the very heart of the city and everything is just in walking distance. We easily found parking slots around the hotel but they also offer a 20% discount on the parking fees in the nearby garage. The room was very well designed and there was a selection of pillows on our bed. The mini bar is toll free. Breakfast was excellent and they allowed us to check out late without any comments. As a bonus, it was quite cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My double bed turned out to be two single beds moved together with a double bed top layer. I found out when I woke up in the crack between both. Not amused.

    Inclusive minibar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were very comfy and pillows too. The room was cleaned each day. Plenty of tea bags/coffee etc. The location is very good. would stay again! The room 301 was overlooking the front, which I had requested. Well done all round. We didn't have breakfast as our son & family have rented a flat 1km away, so we could easily walk along the road to them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent, since we arrived from the airport by train, and also travelled by train to nearby towns. It was an easy walk to the centre and an straightforward cycle ride to the coast. The availability of bikes was very useful. Staff were extremely helpful and appeared to remember us each time we arrived at reception, which added the personal touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to call or go to the desk three times, due to power failure. There was no bar fridge in my room. My husband and I have stayed in the hotel on a number of occasions before and throughly enjoyed our stay. This time it was the most expensive of our stays and most disappointing.

    The bed was comfortable, the shower worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    key card reader in elevator don't work the first, second or third time. gotta be careful about prices as they vary depending on day of the week. it could be an issue with booking.com for not showing this explicitly

    great location, literally right next to the train station. clean, and decent size room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find the entrance, maybe because of Google maps but the is no big grand sign saying "Babylon Hotel".

    Location right outside the main Centraal Station; same one that goes to Amsterdam Airport. And they have a Bath and free minibar with good stuff premium inside!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad beds, no small towels, no frendly reception. We were 3 family in group and one of us had a small room althoug we have pay the same price.

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pity that the coffee came from a machine. The electronic room key gets cancelled out by proximity to mobile phone and bank cards, as this operates the lift as well as access to ones room, it can be frustrating. We were not told about this glitch beforehand. Because the lift reacts to your key, it seems to get cancelled out when someone else uses theirs as well. We found ourselves being forced to go down when we wanted to go up....still don’t understand it!

    A Modern and stylish Hotel. Great buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Well designed modern room and very comfortable bed and pillows. We were very lucky to be given a free upgrade from a standard twin to a superior room on the 9th floor with spectacular views over The Hague. There was a seating corner with two comfortable armchairs as well as a desk and , joy of joys, BBC 1 and BBC2 on the television. The hotel’s location is perfect, right next to Den Hague Centraal, and the tram route. The historic centre with the main museums and attractions is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The Plein with all its cafes and restaurants also 5 -10 minutes walk. Traveled with my sister and we both say that would stay here again. The staff were friendly and helpful, the Dutch are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was going so well until the last day. The hot water did not work and therefore had a choice of a cold shower or boil water in the kettle for a strip wash! The staff were unhelpful and could not muster an appropriate response when asked for an alternative way to have a shower, not impressed with their attitude and lack of interest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good location and comfortable bed. Minibar drinks were included and breakfast was all we could ask for. I´d definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the Hague!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is only 1 min. waking distance from Den Haag Central Station and room is spacious. Well cleaned and room has bathtub with plenty of hot water. Park is next to hotel and worth visiting Escher museum is 10-15 min. by walking. Breakfast has many varieties like egg, cheese, salad, bread, sausage, bacon,orange juice and coffee/tea. Gluten free bread is also possible upon request. Staffs are friendly. I recommend this hotel strongly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected a bit more from breakfast but what was offered was good

    Beds were comfy, staff was super friendly and helpful, and free minibar was an appreciated perk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work on the property next to the hotel tainted the nice view but did not produce any noise.

    The building looks nice on the outside and inside. The suite was roomy and neat and the bed was great. Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish room. Breakfast too expensive. It's hard not to bump into anything using the wash basin (see picture). No fridge.

    Excellent location, right next to Central Station with regular trains to Schiphol airport and many other destinations in the Netherlands as well as trams and busses to places in and around The Hague. Also within easy walking distance of the city centre. Quick and friendly check-in and check-out. Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disabled room not fully equipped, involving moving bed and help for wheelchair user into bathroom. Heating difficult to control, causing two power cuts. Gloomy view onto offices, poor light entering room.

    Location at Centraal station the only big plus. Staff were good to overcome hotel shortcomings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent. All the stuff in the mini-bar is included - this was a lovely surprise! The central station of The Hague is below the hotel which provides easy access to trains, trams, buses and even the metro. The staff is friendly and always ready to help!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was good, but perhaps for this type of more upscale hotel we had expected a bit more choice at the breakfast buffet.

    The location is really convenient because it is right next door to the central station and within easy walking distance of the very heart of the city. The hotel room was nicely decorated and the bed was really comforable for a peaceful night. From the breakfast you have a view over a nearby park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrobe is not in room by default, needs to be asked from housekeeping (at least it exist!)

    Very good hotel, location, very friendly staff! Complimentry minibar was good surprise also. Defenitely will come here again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only fluffy feather pillow were available, some people need thicker and denser pillows (e.g. latex). It would be important to ensure that one extra such pillow is available in the wardrobe The movalble glass wall in the shower is undersized: it is impossible to get a shower without leaking water outside on the floor. This is annoying. For that high price, I would have expected more attention to such details.

    room very large

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive not value for money paid over €300 for 2 nights and no breakfast Rooms are a little dated Concierge do not answer the phone. Not sure if the number saved on the phone is dialling, but they did answer on front desk. May be a telephone issue. Tried on 3 different occasions

    Room size was very good does need an upgrade Staff are friendly Great location Great park view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only stayed once night :(

    The staff were marvelous - helpful, friendly and very professional. The room was fabulous and the park side view from the ninth floor - spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasn’t cleaned one day but the staff promptly brought in change of towels and were very apologetic. This is GREAT service. Excellent front end team.

    Quick check-in Professional and courteous staff who are ever willing to help Spacious Functional room Tea/coffee in room Large bed and bath-tub Bottled water in reception Definitely returning to this property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gym and spa facilities are not in the hotel but a partnership with facilities near by. This is ok and the facilities were quite close, but through the description we thought they would be in the hotel and weren't prepared (e.g. take a backpack with our equipment to get dressed at the gym).

    Great staff! Very nice room and very good breakfast in a very central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was difficult to find we followed signs to reception and ended up in the gym !! also the key cards were a bit temperamental using the lift.

    Staff were helpful and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very expensive (28 EUR per night) but at least the hotel offers a 20% discount.

    Our room was on the 8th floor and we had a great view of both old and new parts of Den Haag. The location of the hotel is excellent, right next to the Central Station, everything is so close by.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really cheap and the parking costs are very high (28 euro per day, but you get a 20% discount from the hotel), no sauna in the hotel (different to the pictures on booking.com)

    Directly next the central station, 10 min walk to the sights, 10 min train drive to the beach, the hotel has no fitness studio, but you can use the fitness studio in the building complex (beware of the opening hours)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room temperature is way too cold! We asked for a space heater which solved the problem but created quite a bit of noise and dry air!

    Staff is courteous, efficient and sweet! Location is perfect to nearby transportation, dinning, shopping. We could not ask for more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When the weather is windy, which is often the case in the Hague, you can hear the wind howl through the air vents on the floors of the hotel.

    Spacious, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast choices. Convenient location in city centre, with easy access to central train station and motorway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is next to the main railway station. Reception staff were very helpful. We were able to leave our luggage on the last day with no problem. The room was spotless, bed super comfy, shower with plenty of hot water - all excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning ( heating ) was not really efficient, soap dispenser was almost empty or may be just mean in dosage.

    Location is great , just outside Den Haag railway station , well connected and in a walking distance to the city center. Room very clean, Smiling staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating system in the room was lazy, so a bit cold during the whole night. Looks old for this price. No battled water in the room, just empty glasses

    coffee machine for breakfast is really a value ad. great bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not able to control hewtijg in room. reception have controls to turn it on or off. Also not sure but sheets did nit feel pure cotton.

    Restaurant fantastic..Had a delicious chimichurri steak and mushroom.pasta. Lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    just that i thought there was a sauna/ steam room facility with hotel ...but there was something a bit like a sauna... salt bath .. that didnt appeal to me..

    free upgrade on arrival! ie free mini bar which was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are really uncomfortable... that's my only comment.

    Room was great, terrific shower, awesome view and very helpful staff. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for breakfast is far over the top, too expensive At a hotel of this price range you don't expect just a soap dispenser in the bathroom

    Good beds, hot shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View out of windows was internal offices but not really too much of an issue for 1 night

    Staff at this hotel were excellent attentive friendly and prepared to go the extra mile made for a nice feel about the place generally handy for shops restaurants main Den Haag train station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast pricing( more expensive than a 3 course meal in same restaurant)is something to consider!

    Excellent, central location with easy access to centre, public transport and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold and cannot turn off the air condition or adjust the temperature. Pillows are too soft and not comfortable. Shower pressure low.

    Room and bathroom were spacious. Good selection of TV channels. Coffee machine in the room and free mini bar!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was so popular and fully booked out i could only stay for one night!

    superb location; friendly and helpful staff; great amenity; clean and spacious room; comfortable bed; clearly above average breakfast. exactly what you'd expect from this class of hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No power outlet close to the bed. No power outlet in the bathroom. Price a bit expensive

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Excellent location close to the train station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was difficult to find when coming from the station.

    We were given an upgrade to a junior suite, which was beautiful with views over the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unexpected city tax - I thought I'd prepaid everything and feel I could have been better forewarned of this additional charge.

    Very friendly and helpful service from all staff. Room spotlessly clean. Great variety of breakfast food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other family friends stayed another night, (Sunday) & had a disappointing poor experience & service in the restaurant at dinner. Would recommend eating elsewhere on a Sunday! (5 min walk to a great selection of restaurants, snack bars etc )

    Good reception staff. Nice breakfast selections. Nespresso coffee machine in room. Good safe facility to keep luggage after checking out, enabling freedom for final day. Comfortable beds & pillows. Convenient position next to Station & facilities, shops etc. Plus opposite a lovely park. Also able to get local trams & busses- good for access journeys to beach (30mins approx). Next to good public secure car park (hotel discounted prices - ask at reception).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking situation is not ideal. You pay 28 euro/night to park and there is supposed to be a 20% discount at the hotel. They give you a card to scan, but the machine did not accept our card. We paid 84 euro for a 3 night stay, which is a lot for The Hague.

    Very comfortable room and bed. Super close to the central station and our room overlooked the park. Also nice to have a Nespresso coffee maker in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible noise from hammering outside bedroom from very early in the morning. Bedroom has nasty odour - needs airing regularly.

    Helpful receptionist

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The weather was bad, torrential rain . Not pleasant to walk from train-station to the Hotel. Unable to use indoor passage (doors locked).

    Breakfast well organized and very friendly staff. Location - easy to get to using public transport. Room spacious, clean / tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No good restaurants nearby...

    The location is great!!! With the train station right next to it and a lovely park opposite with deers and ducklings, it's one of the best hotels we have stayed in!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my friend visited on the 2nd morning she tried to park her bicycle at the bike stand outside the hotel but was asked to moved it across the road in the end she had to lock her bicycle under a tree... i suppose the hotel could have accomodated a visiting bike for a couple of hours?

    the bed was very comfortable, view from the room# 901 was superb location is extremely convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am always staying in the Hampshire Babylon hotel. The costs are rather high (but in my opinion justified), however the staff is always very friendly, the hotel is clean and very conveniently located. I plan to stay here next time as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit dark, despite that there were seven different lamps in the room.. The sliding door of the bathroom did not close properly.

    The location of the hotel is good. The receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived at 11 am and the room was at our disposal immediately. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way how they keep the hotel, plus the method of payment; they've authorized the card by the total amount and than the next day (after I asked the night before to pay directly) they took another payment with a new transaction. Not a problem but annoying... anyway good just cause is very close the station...my second time and the same consideration...

    Near the Central Station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Professional and helpful stuff. Clean rooms. Though we had a little problem with our room that was immediately solved. There was a construction site, very noisy, right under our window. So we were offered a quieter room of better quality and a complimentary breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is/was some mayor construction work ongoing in front of the neighboring train station (Sept 2017), so I had one especially noisy morning as my room was overlooking the site.

    Big Room, big windows, comfortable bed. Staff was friendly (had a late night/early morning arrival from Amsterdam airport). Location close to Den Haag Central Train station as well as the tram lines to Scheveningen Beach. City center with restaurants / cafes in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning cannot only not be switched off in this hotel but it is constantly going full speed at low temperature. They say that they cannot do nothing about it. Never ever again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an Iron & Ironing board that never came, I also was stupid enough to have ordered a coffee to the room (8.5 euros)

    The location is great! Except for the Massive Construction Site next door, so dont expect to sleep til late or have a snooze during the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains always needed to be closed when you want some privacy as the adjacent building was 10 meters from my window and has meeting rooms+offices. When checking out, they told me it was impossible for them to print out an invoice on company name, even though I did request that during booking the room. They said booking.com could provide this invoice. Now it seems that this is not possible and I need to contact them again to get something which is valid for reimbursement. Incovenient.

    large room, nice bathroom, very good location, nice price. Would recommend for business travelling or weekend stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottles water in the rooms and you had to pay for it at reception. Quite expensive for the comfort of the room. There was also no parking for private bicycles at the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has no charme, no lively and welcoming bar or restaurant, all very basic and it's not because of the modern design, I enjoy modern design but this one feels heartless.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the Hotel offers a reduction on the parking, the fees are very high.

    The location is great for visiting The Hague. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have expected for the price a bigger room. Also when first call the location and asking for further details regarding the parking possibility, they mentioned the hotel offers only 20% for the underground parking which was already high (22 euros). Upon arrival, the very nice receptionist has informed us it is however possible to park on the side streets during the weekend for free.

    The location is absolutely perfect. Easy to reach by bike the see and city center! Also I appreciate the fact that at the reception they offer the possibility to rent a bike!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower/tub plumbing needs servicing in the original room.

    Can't beat the location from Centraal Train station. 15 min walk to city center though. Staffs were accommodating. Gave us another room because of plumbing problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could have been a little cooler, it was a warm couple of days and little air flow.

    Comfortable and spacious room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very close to the train station but no noise heard in the room I had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could have been easier to get there (it was not so obvious where to go exactly)

    They have offered my free upgrade for my room. Good localization, helpful personnel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking garage to far from hotel. Enter through shopping center from parking one is directed up a flight of stairs, only to be told Reception is on the ground floor. Lift ride necessary down one floor. Bathroom a bit dated, with shower head over bath Not dog friendly Breakfast far to expensive at €18.50 Checked out after one of my two day stay.

    Not much

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Babylon Hotel Den Haag (former Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag) traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: