Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eden Hotel Amsterdam 3 stars

Amstel 144, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 AE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#277 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5319 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded our hopes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Swipe card door key not always acting first time on outside door, stairwell to apartment could be a little smarter without the vacuum cleaner being left at the top of the stairs and sometimes a laundry bag at the bottom. Inside the apartment was very clean, well laid out with excellent views across the Amstel. A prior warning about the road works outside the hotel would have reduced an initial negativity on arrival but in the event they caused very little problem.

    Wide choice of continental style breakfast with option of freshly cooked eggs, Bread, pastries and croissants always fresh always. Pleasant greeting by staff each morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel for location & comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could of been cleaner.

    Thought great location & quiet. We did not spend lots of time in the hotel as enjoying Amsterdam. Catered for everything we needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location. Apartments have potential once construction is done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I disliked that the first night they did not give us the apartment room we paid for. The downgraded us and thought they would get away with it. They switched our room to a full apartment the second day after we addressed the concern. The apartment was beautiful inside but the entire streets and side walls were torn up out front. They are renovating the hotel behind the apartment. It was impossible to sleep. I would not stay there until the construction is done

    The apartment was clean and beautiful. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room were really small. We had to put a seat on a table for both hosts go out of bed. Only one bed light. It seemed a one person bedroom but was given as a two persons... and as such did not correspond to the fotos presented on booking

    Fantastic location. Perfectly clean and nice bathroom. And breakfast really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had mould on sealant in shower the plug didnt fit the basin in bathroom so shaving and washing was hard to do no extraction fan so after shower a lot of steam.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    This hotel is very central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was extremely small, especially for the price. The mattress was too soft and the breakfast was very expensive. For a price of nearly €200 with breakfast I expected something more

    This hotel is very central

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like about the hotel was the beds, when I booked my room I booked a double room but the beds were to single beds pushed together pretty much.

    The hotel was lovely! Much better than expected l, very clean, helpful. Friendly staff. It was right in the city centre next to bars restaurants etc and not to far from the station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    So So!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in process was a real trial.House keeping problems.Closet space very minimal.

    Location was great! Common areas were well done.Concierge was truly well informed and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road in front of Hotel is completely dug up. There are large rubber mats set out so you can walk there, but obviously no cars can pick up/drop off.

    I got sick while there and the staff was very helpful and understanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.0
    grubby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    desk staff miserable. room was grubby, dirty walls, poor coffee/ tea provision, tv was ancient and poor. floor was grubby. found rubbish under the bed. noisy staff in passage way beneath our room clattering bins at midnight. photo of hotel on website not a true picture of reality. we were misled.

    the location was ideal for us. and the concierge was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is good, staff is very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are very small, the bed is too soft, in some rooms the window is to the inside of the building (no air circulation), No Refrigerator in the room!!!

    Breakfast is good, staff is very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in a great Amsterdam location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really apart from not having a bar open in the evening....but thete were plenty of local places to get a drink. we absolutely loved this hotel

    The location, room. Staff friendliness ...everything really

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    We enjoyed pour stay in Amsterdam. It is a beautiful city that is walkable. Hotel is reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Walking through the bathroom/toilet to enter the bedroom 2. No door to the bedroom from the bathroom/toilet 3. Construction going on outside that completely destroyed the canal view 4. Highly priced for a non canal view apartment/hotel

    The staff were helpful and pleasant. Stay was comfortable. However, due to construction that is taking place outside the hotel, the value for the apartment paid for the view was wasted!! We appreciate the staff upgrading us to a 4Star apartment. Nonetheless, the canal view was disrupted due to the road works construction happening just outside the apartment blocking the canal view!! So if you are booking the place for the canal view, avoid this place. But it was indeed a good place for stay - quiet, 20minutes walking distance to city centre and 30 minutes to the central station, many food places around, a tram stops about 3 mins away from the hotel that will take you to the central and the apartment itself was spacious, but with one problem with the design - you go through a bathroom to enter the bedroom from the kitchen!! and there was no door dividing the bathroom/toilet and the bedroom which was uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Over all our stay was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean but could have been better. Dust on all doors of cupboards and wardrobes a stale smell in wardrobe. Plastic spoons for tea and coffee tray was poor also only coffee available for rooms is coffee pods which not everyone likes. Had to ask staff for items for coffee tray as tray not always filled up. Mould on bathroom shower tiles and at shower door which could easily be cleared with bleach spray. These small points corrected could make a difference.

    Good choice at breakfast. Staff polite and helpful. View from window of canals was good. Room was large bed comfortable. Excellent having late check out at 12o’clock.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Re above . Overall excellent hotel . Good clean Rooms great shower

    Great location only problem was that the road out front of reception was being repaired .Staff overall very friendly only problem I was having a problem with our television I asked staff to look at problem 3times 3 different receptionist .No one ever came to check it out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointment. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second stay at the hotel and the overall quality has drastically dropped. Poor customer service, arrogant staff, worn out rooms, elevators not working during my whole stay had to use the stairs ehile carrying heavy suitcases and no one bothered to help.

    The location only. Although the road works caused a major inconvenience which we were not informed of at the time of the booking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay in Amsterdam. Showering was stressful was expensive at £170 per night with no break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very cramped. Should have had a rail to assist entering the sh ower. Was not safe for older people Price should have included breakfast

    The location and cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location for visiting attractions in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 25 year old son joined us and had a single room. I was shocked at how small it was considering our double only cost 100 euros more for the five night stay. Our room wasn’t cleaned for two days running and was only quickly tidied after we complained. Breakfast is not included with the room and is quite pricey at 17euros per person (we didn’t eat at the hotel).

    Excellent location for visiting attractions in Amsterdam. Pleasant rooms with free WiFi and plenty of points to charge devices. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Rembrandtsplein is a lively area within metres of the hotel. We’ve used this hotel before and have seen the changes over the past 28 years!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel, with all facilities and excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't remember; yes, may be the lifts, which could run faster...

    The hotel is right in the center of everything in Amsterdam; there is even a public parking just in front of it! We were lucky having a bed room with view on the canal; an breakfast is cheap and well dressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Location was perfect we spent as less time in the hotel as possible!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our keys stopped working at least every day ( no they weren’t near a phone or anything else ) quite annoying when you’re on the 4th floor. Coffee and sugar isn’t replenished when the room is cleaned we had to ask. WiFi didn’t work in the room. Toilet door was just a piece of glass no privacy what so ever. Staff didn’t seem interested after checking us in how to get to our room wasn’t explained we were left wandering around lost one member of staff couldn’t do enough for us we didn’t catch his name a bald headed chap in a suit always smiling his attitude was let down by the rest of the staff. Our room was at the back we didn’t mind but staying for a long weekend the noise from the back street was horrendous I didn’t have one full night sleep there. Basically no choice for breakfast annoying if you’re wanting to just grab something quick and go out for the day.

    Bed comfy abit small for the price we paid we expected bigger and the rooms were ok sized for just sleeping. Ice machine a nice touch about the only thing you don’t get charged a fortune for we were scared to use it at first.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    They changed my room in the second time I asked .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, everything old, wi-fi didn’t work, construction in front of the hotel and they didn’t warned me ...

    They changed my room in the second time I asked . Nespresso machine .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    what an amazing location and freindly staff lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a bad smell in the room each time we returned at both day and night, it is possible there was a plumbing or drainage issue as the smell was quite sewage like. everything else about our stay was amazing and we aired the room and sprayed perfume every time we returned.

    the bed was extra comfy. however there was a bad smell in the room each time we returned at both day and night. it is possible there was a plumbing or drainage issue as the smell was quite sewage like. everything else about our stay was amazing and we aired the room and sprayed perfume every time we returned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location you can get pretty much to every major area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small and compact rooms not suitable for a family

    Great location you can get pretty much to every major area with a bit of enthusiasm and strong legs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a canal view as shown in photos—which implied a canal view. Under construction outside. Tiny room with tv mounted on wall near foot of bed—impossible to pass without banging my head at least once...etc

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Very basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms etc didn’t exactly match up to the photos, was much more run down and less clean in person. The corridor we stayed on also had a constant sweaty smell and a trolley of dirty towels remained outside our room for the duration of the stay.

    The hotel is right in the centre of Amsterdam, less then two minutes walk to Rembrandt square.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Location as perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was hopeless. I wasn't the only one to complain. There was a mouse running about in the dining room. As I saw it on the last morning of our holiday I mentioned it to the attendant but didn't formally complain.

    Location as perfect. Rooms were a good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside streets under Construction to front entrance. Had to use a different street to arrive dragging our big suitcases. Was not informed to use a different street and entrance thru another hotel.

    Location Concierge desk, Robert, was exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Short but enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very small for two people, the room location was not very good we couldn't open our curtains as the window backed onto a alley which lots of people walked down, very over priced for 2 nights, TV didn't work

    Comfty bed, location, and clean room, facilities and staff very helpful and polite

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was much smaller than expected and a bit crowded with the desk and chair. It was difficult to manoeuvre and open our suitcases.

    The location was excellent and the concierge staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and functional. The breakfast was very good. Our room was air-conditioned which was wonderful as we were staying there in an unusually hot summer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable bed, great location, coffee and tea in the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, cleanliness was poor (dirty pillow case, dirty mugs, no soap available in the shower and not enough tissues in the bathroom and no fridge inside the room.

    Comfortable bed, great location, coffee and tea in the room, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent break away with my Mum (aged 83) in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were roadworks at the front of the hotel which made it a bit tricky underfoot. There is another entrance though, but not on the canal side. Expect this problem will be resolved soon.

    Superb location with stunning views for rooms overlooking the canal. Magnificent breakfast with excellent service. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was fine as a place to sleep, and had great staff, but that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very, very small. I had requested two single beds and was given two very, very thin, small beds. The TV in the room barely worked and kept making alarmingly loud crackling noises. The bathroom was cramped, and had a glass door which wasn't very good for two friends sharing such a small room. I found toenail clippings in the carpet, which was pretty gross. We could hear a LOT of banging and construction noises during the week we stayed, and a lot of noise from the other rooms.

    The staff were amazing, very friendly, very helpful. The location of the restaurants and shops nearby were great. It was very easy to get to from Schipol Airport, taking less than 20 minutes altogether.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Amsterdam is worth it, but I would recommend finding cheaper hotel with the same standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door is in glass. Not much privacy. View from the room was so bad. People were working outside so we had to have the curtains closed. Our view was right into the gray and falming backyard.

    We arrived quite early and wanted to check in when we got there around 10, but unfortunately all the rooms were dirty and we would have to wait 5 hours super exhausted in the lobby. After asking three times for a room we got coupons to use in the hotel bar. The staff in the bar did everything they could to make us happy. They deserve creds. The hotel rooms are modern and clean. Location is perfect! But there was roadworkes right outside so we couldn’t get out taxi driver to get outside with all our luggage. Handy to know if you’re traveling in August 2018.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Convenient and affordable, but would prefer something slightly more upmarket and up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pokey, tiny window, old fashioned, basic, dodgy wifi, road in front of the hotel being dug up.

    Central location, affordable, comfortable bed, pleasant staff, decent communal areas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic, however our room was very dark so we always had to have the light on even in the day time.

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, original room had twin beds, we requested...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of the breakfast

    Friendly staff, original room had twin beds, we requested moving to a double bedded room, this was arranged for day two. Excellent choice at breakfast although expensive. Excellent dinner in the onsite restaurant with nice ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was great, it’s in the center of Amsterdam you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the bathroom I didn’t like and not much clean.

    The location was great, it’s in the center of Amsterdam you can find anything you want around you. Clean rooms but the bathroom was not clean, they forgot to put toilet tissues one day, very quiet hotel. I recommend it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Great allocation right on the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue with the room was that it was rather dark. There wasn’t enough lights in the ceiling or enough lamps to make it bright enough.

    Great allocation right on the canal. Beds were really comfortable. Staff were really helpful. Room was clean and massive!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great service from reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service from reception. The other entrance of this hotel leads to the 4* version of the same building. Strange set up but you get a lot for your money. Matters is extremely comfy. We stayed on ground floor but not noisy at all!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Bed very comfy, apartment was very big and great view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I bought a box of donuts I left them in the room and when I came back after the cleaner had been in my room the donuts were gone but the box was still there

    Bed very comfy, apartment was very big and great view from the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location.small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive as per the rate and size of room.but i feel as its in center of amsterdam the other hotel prices would be more higher.

    Main location of hotel perfect. And staff very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, having to fork out much extra for breakfast, lunch etc.

    Great location, central to everything. Great size room with all amenities that are required

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Amsterdam is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WIFI is not password protected, and also kept disconnecting every ten seconds before reconnecting again, I think they should fix it and also make is password protected.

    The location is amazing, the staff is very friendly, the service was really good and easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.9
    Unfortunate
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room very claustrophobic Uncomfortable bed and very expensive.

    I love Amsterdam, but the hotel was so small and expensive for a room what you can’t even walk around comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was on the small side but was still very nice!

    The location was fantastic! So close to the centre of Amsterdam. The room was cleaned everyday and we were topped up with toiletries every day aswell! The beds were comfortable and the air con worked amazing as it was a hot weekend when I was in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    Honestly, i stayed in the apartment of eden hotel, on the last floor and there was no lift and we ha
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please change the attitude of the stuff. and please the make the apartments clean

    Honestly, i loved Amsterdam but the accommodation in eden hotel was all bad experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    BEAUTIFUL VIEW
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was just too great,room overlooking the canal.Close to the tram station and many attractions(walking distance to most of them).Friendly,helpful staff.Great value for our money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Really overpriced, but okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV - no English channels for news - pathetic. No CNN or BBC. Small TV. Outside facilities are completely under construction, so behind the hotel by canals there is NOTHING to enjoy re. strolling out by the canal. It's bad. The view is useless, therefore, though the hotel tried to accommodate as much as they could re. luggage and taxis. The staff was mixed - desk staff on and off (one woman who had an air of seniority about her was not warm and literally ignored me while I stood there - I don't know where her head was at - I was right in front of her at the desk for several minutes and I mean SEVERAL...she finally responded when I said "Excuse me?" and was helpful, but not warm. Efficient. I'd like a human experience, thank you! Another woman later in the eve when I had a question and upon checkout was better. Maybe it was a bad afternoon (on my checkin experience - it certainly was silly). Conversely, the concierges were great, as I said). Expensive for what you get re. size of room, which was small and only a shower. Otherwise, with a better price, it would have been fine.

    Outstanding location re. next to a busy square and tram. Excellent Starbucks and other cafe nearby, worth going to. Trendy area, for bars. Rembrandt Square rocks. Excellent concierges and one young woman on the counter was very kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfy bed, clean and tidy hotel in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The late 3pm check in was a pain, especially for those who fly in early, having to walk around Amsterdam central before even checking in was tiring. Offered to pay extra to check in early but refused. Couple staff had a slight attitude towards British people from what I could tell. Main vending machine didn't work. Offered breakfast but didn't accommodate for dietary needs, no vegan options.

    Comfy bed, clean and tidy hotel in general. Looks better inside than it does out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Happy stay.👍😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel have no mini refrigerator. The construction going on down the hotel entrance. Anyway it is the upgrading work, it will be perfect if it completely done.

    The property is at the good location and with a nice view from the window of hotel room. The morning breakfast , food are good. The staff are good and very friendly. Especially to Mr Robert, very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and attraction places. It is creditable to the hotel to have staff like him. Thank you to Mr Robert for his kind assistance during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is well situated, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As my family and I were travelling to celebrate my husbands birthday, I emailed the hotel and requested champagne and a few treats for our room on our arrival. I was assured there was no problem and all would be in place. We arrived into the room to find nothing there, very disappointing especially for me as I had hoped to surprise my husband and start our celebrations. They did send us a few strawberries and champagne, when everyone had gone to their rooms and it was too late. It annoyed me because they didn't seem at all bothered by this blunder. So if you are looking for something special don't be surprised if it is not there when you arrive. We arranged late check out on the day we were leaving hoping to have a sleep in. We were awoken by housekeeping at 9.20am and again at 11.00 , she wanted to clean the room. We told her we had late check out, she told us we should have the do not disturber sign on our door. so if YOU want a lie in now you know what to do

    The location of the hotel is very good, it is within walking distance of most tourist attractions.. There are many nice restaurants and bars near by. if you do not want to do a lot of walking there is the option of using the tram which runs on the square every few minutes. There are always a lot of people about the area so there is a good atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    We was given a free upgrade upon arrival and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my room was a fridge but filled with stuff by the hotel like fizzy drinks which was very expensive and there was no room to put water or anything I had bought for the room from a local supermarket

    We was given a free upgrade upon arrival and the room was very nice and clean. Hotel staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff especially the lovely coffee lounge lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ....however the room I had was tiny with clostrophobic view of other windows My mums room was if possible even smaller and the view was of a dirty skylight with waste strewn over if most unpleasant. The hotel gets a reasonable score because of the location and staff and because staying in our rooms was thankful not a priority. And because of the rooms I can’t rate it as value for money.

    Friendly staff especially the lovely coffee lounge lady. Great location away from the seedy centre and near Rembrandt square with good restaurants. Clean overall in the room....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location, rooms could do with an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    air conditioning units and rooms in general need a good cleaning, beds are not double nor queen, they are single beds put together We took the biggest room which was an executive room and room is not that big with small bathroom and no shelves in bathroom or space to put any personal care items

    Location of hotel is very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel has an excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not cleaned every day. I had to remind reception desk staff to send the cleaning staff to my room

    The hotel has an excellent location. The staff at the reception desk was extremely helpful, prompt and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay but the room and location wasn't great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very comfortable but small.... our view looked out to a building under construction. If we were to go again I'd ask for a room change !

    The hotel is located in a great central location and was great value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    The location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady at the reception during checking in was unfriendly, seemed inexperienced and unprofessional. We had booked an apartment which was supposed to have a bedroom, a living room and a kitchenette which I reconfirmed by calling them a few days earlier. But on arrival, we were taken to another building on a different street around the corner, where the so called apartment was located - on the 3rd floor, no lift, narrowest possible stairway, one small bed room, dark, hardly any ventilation, no living room, the small kitchenette was part of the small bed room. We were really disappointed that it was neither explained on the online booking site, nor on the phone when I called them to reconfirm the facilities. So, we refused to take the apartment. The lady at the reception then offered us a double room in the main hotel building at the same price, which was again a small room with twin beds which were very narrow and unstable, and a small bathroom without any lock and with almost transparent glass walls which was not nice in terms of privacy and also at night when one person switched on the light in the bathroom, the other person can’t sleep because the entire bedroom will be flooded with the bathroom light and noise. Overall, we had a lousy stay in that hotel. Not going to stay there again.

    The location was great. Breakfast was good value for money, friendly staff at the breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great room in prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Location was great. Beds were amazing. Short walk to great restaurants, museums, 'coffee shops', bars, etc. Wish we would've stayed longer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Adequate, but expensive for what we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, just enough room to walk around the bed; tea making equipment not complete: no milk. The usual bathroom accessories, when I opened the little bar of soap to use, over the the three days we were staying, the soap disappeared not to be replaced. The shower tray was very smooth, and became slippy when showering. Black curtains in the room were not a good thing when the weather is stifling hot. On our second day we arrived back at our room about 4pm and the room had not been serviced, though we did not mind too much. I know someone has to have the rooms overlooking walls and back streets, but we were hoping not to experience this.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, bedlinen was sparkling white and bathroom clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Brilliantly Location, 2nd time and looking forward to going...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... just go out via the tram line side as there are road works on the canal side which should be finished soon.

    Brilliantly Location, 2nd time and looking forward to going back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.3
    The bed was really comfy and hotel was in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was horribly stained, no toilet paper in the room after cleaning staff had come asked reception took nearly 2 hours to get paper. Had gifts from the Heineken museum in a bag which the cleaning staff put in the bin apparently thinking it was rubbish even though there was a glass in the bag and it was clearly a heniken tour bag, also my phone charger was moved over the other side and was plugged in clearly being used by who ever cleaned my room

    The bed was really comfy and hotel was in a great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall a very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time we went in we went thru the back road which is all broken and had to walk, directions to the right road would have helped. Breakfast is expensive and overall price for room could have included the same.

    Property is quite good and conveniently located close to restaurants with a lot of good food choices. Staff was very courteous and helpful. They have a good restaurant. Bell desk is helpful and has good deals on local sightseeing and airport drop

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one very slow and small elevator that can only fit three people at a time which make it very hard to access your room. Rooms are very small and showers are wrongly designed and unsafe to use. Also, very expensive for what you get not worth it at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    I wouldn't stay here again rip off for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay so for €700 our room.wad far to small couldn't even sit on the toilet properly had to sit sideways it was that small ! Our view from our window was a pair of dirty knickers that someone in the hotel through out, the other windows opposite had cans of beer and cigarettes and Joints on the ledges, we got a breakfast one morning for 1 person and charged €64!!!!! The wifi hardly worked, when we asks for some milk for the tea we were told we had to pay €3 for it which i refused. That's a rip off, all in all I'm disappointment about the hotel! And won't be recommending it and won't be staying here again.

    Just liked the wifi but then that hardly worked.!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Most comfortable Bed at Rembrandt square hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information sheet in the room as to how to use phone btw rooms or connect to wifi.. Cleaning of rooms was very late in the afternoon . It’s a rabbit warren of 2 hotels together . Check in staff pleasant but casual .

    The king size bed was the most comfortable ever with plump cushions and good quality linens ! Could walk to all the sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1 one female staff was so cold to us.Firstly, in my reservation of 3 or 4 months ago, I did mentioned we bring our boy of 5 years with us. but she refused that this information was received.And she got impatient.Secondly. we reached the hotel around 3pm, and she told us that our room was not prepared and she said she even couldn´t tell us when it could be ready, so she suggested us to walk around the city... in reality, after the long-time air freight, we were all very tired..... While the client just before us had the same situation(room not ready), that staff told her to enjoy a welcome drink FOC en their own restaruant. What a shame! 4.no fridge in the room.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    We loved staying in Amsterdam and the Eden was a perfect location to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee cups in room we’re not always cleaned when room was. Minor problem.

    Rooms were perfect for what we wanted. Concierge was very helpful. Location was within walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds instead of a double, after paying £145 a night, I expected a double bed, beds were comfy all the same though. Just had to stick to your own side or slide through the middle!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff were friendly & helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was pretty bad, very slow and at times couldn't use

    Staff were friendly & helpful. Location was great. Good selection of items for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location for the businessman and the leisure visitor, with impecable service by the stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms have only one window looking in the skylight, so not much sunlight is coming through, neither any view. Those rooms have a poor internet connection and most of the times I could not get the wi-fi to work, although my phone appeared to be connected. The room has no mini fridge and the bathroom is... a little limited of space. Maybe it was the single room that included all these characteristics. A little better coordination is needed between the cleaning personnel, so the room is available upon arrival. Nevertheless, this is the hotel I will go back to, again and again.

    The personnel is very polite and helpful. The location... could not be better, as it is in the city's heart and everything is within walking distance (public transportation, nice restaurants, clubs, etc.)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    A budget hotel at a premium price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in room and no fridge to store own drinks. No option to get an iron/ironing board sent to room. No room service for drinks at any time of day. No restaurant/bar after 5pm. Two beds pushed together with two single duvets. Bath towels would not even cover a child. Two sheets of toilet paper when we checked in. Room small and dark. Staff unhelpful.

    Location good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast bit steep but so many places around no need to eat it at the hotel

    Fantastic location. Room was clean & spacious enough for a weekend break.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Okay hotel with a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although location was good, the price for the room was not worth it. The room barely fit two twin beds, which were pushed next to each other with no separation. I was on this trip with my father and the beds were practically connected. The bathroom was even smaller, the shower flooded when it was used and the bathroom door was transparent when the bathroom lights were on.

    This place was in a great location! Only a few minutes from the hustle and bustle of downtown Amsterdam. It’s also right next to the Icebar which is a cool place to stop by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Included a nespresso coffee machine in the room with 4 pods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom and the small shampoo and body wash wasn’t replaced. Also double bed isn’t really a double bed, just twins pushed together with the gap still in the middle.

    Included a nespresso coffee machine in the room with 4 pods provided daily. Location was great for the city, short walk to everything without the noise of being right in the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    Overpriced, small and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no value for money the hotel room smelt and was small and uncomfortable. We had high hopes for a nice spot in the canal when booking and were disappointed as soon as we arrived.

    The staff were friendly when we arrived and were able to order a taxi when leaving.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Eden Hotel Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: