Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam 3 stars

Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam City Centre, 1018 DH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#260 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 220 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern hotel with some new technologies (like self-check in and check out). Comfortable and clean room. Not far from center - about 10 minutes to walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about .. except maybe the room could be cleaned a wee bit better 🤔

    Very convenient place - good room. Person checking me changed my room to a larger room .. very sweet and proactive . Extremely convenient from public transport perspective - Tram 9 & 14 leave about 2 mts walk from the Hotel. Tram 9 takes you to Central Station. Both go thru Dam area .. so great connectivity 👍 Infact took the Tram to Central Station and into Schipol with 2 bags 👏👏👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super small, the shower was small as well, you couldn’t even turn yourself. The room was noisy, also not clean, lots of dust! Super expensive for what you get

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups in bedrooms somewhat small for hot drinks. Nothing else to add.

    Excellent hotel. Very well situated, on direct tram line 9 from Centraal Station. Very easy access to centre of town, close to the Zoo and Hortus Gardens. Good beds, good bathroom and shower. Lovely breakfast room and bar and good selection of breakfast buffet. Really friendly and helpful staff, always smiling. Would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding my booking on their system on arrival took an hour due to issue with booking.com, had to move rooms due to stains/something found on bedding/pillows, and toilet fan not working. New room had further stains on the side of the bed, and some some sort of stuff on the chair with some body hair, thought that side of things were not as hygienic as I would of expected. I just think they needed a better clean, and anything with stains thrown out.

    It had a lift, the people who worked there were all absolutely lovely and happy to help as best they could, and really friendly, Especially the gentleman with the big beard, he was great! Beds were really comfy, room came with fridge, ironing board and iron, and a lovely coffee machine. Plug sockets right by the beds and USB ports right by the beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. I enjoyed everything about this hotel.

    Large comfortable rooms, especially by Amsterdam standards. Modern fit out and nice big bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and we could not hear any noise from the street. The trams stop is only about 100 meters away and the location is close enough without being right in the thick of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have Aircon, which would have been good as the weather was very hot. The shower was tiny and the shower curtain, when wet, would stick to you while showering - not the most pleasant of experiences. Also there was a small amount of coffee and tea given per day.

    The room was large and the beds were very comfortable. Located a short walking distance from the centre and right next to a tram stop with good links to different areas. Very modern and contemporary decor. The staff were very friendly too. In a quite area which wasn't too busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the mattresses could be a bit better. Very thin and easily move when sleeping.

    A lot. The staff where very friendly and room was in excellent condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel has 2 parts both good but one with air condition and modern and the other without air condition rooms without AC could be hot in summer also if you want to walk to dam it takes you 45 minutes if you don't use metro

    the hotel in very quiet area next to super market and small restaurants and 3 minutes walk to metro all the staff were great and helpful and advice very good I like also the small touch in the hotel offering chocolate waffles candies all day on the lobby and the happy hour they offer cheese and olives checking in and out is automated so it takes minutes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

     The corridor smelled of weed .. 20 minutes from city centre by walking

     The check- in was fast and easy.. Clean room and wide space which was very nice to stay at .. the staff was very friendly and helpful specially Mr. Mohamed and Abdullrazaq they were of so much help.. there was a coffee shop named coffee and bites I think they had the best coffee in town and very friendly great service (recommended for breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor smelled of weed .. 20 minutes from city centre by walking

    The check- in was fast and easy.. Clean room and wide space which was very nice to stay at .. the staff was very friendly and helpful specially Mr. Mohamed and Abdullrazaq they were of so much help.. there was a coffee shop named coffee and bites I think they had the best coffee in town and very friendly great service (recommended for breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst review I have ever left. Arrived late at 1am after very delayed flight. Key did not work and no staff available to help. Eventually hit in to a tiny basement room that was warm and lacked airflow. Bed was uncomfortable and sheets of poor quality. Pillows enormous and unsuitable for sleeping. Very noisy from 5am. Could not wait to get out.

    Very little

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I liked the fact that it was close enough to the city centre for me to walk. It was about a 20 minute walk but the weather was beautiful so it made it a lovely stroll. Also there is a tram that you can get straight from Amsterdam Central station directly to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, could hear next rooms TV clearly although they could have been a bit hard of hearing and had the volume maxed

    Everything else was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t very comfortable but everything else was fine, even the food and drink I bought from resception were reasonably priced.

    Good location with plenty of friendly bars and cafes close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report!!

    Location: Close to tram station. Staff : Very helpful. We came early in morning as room check-in was at noon so requested to keep the luggage and staff offered for free BF. Abdul who did night duty was good and guiding about the city. BF : Huge spread and good options for vegeterian .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything! The location is convenient just 3 stops from the center. Also we liked the cofe Box Cocial near the hotel, they serve wonderful breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only concern was I booked through booking .com by my credit card!! Upon check in my friend paid it through her card but when I check my balance on my credit card they also got money from my credit card. Very inconvenient!! But the property was excellent!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not so big for a family but good enough for a single person. Lighting was insufficient.

    The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Good location. Modern and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a three-star hotel I would expect: manned reception, not some supermarket style automated check-in (very impersonal and time consuming)...and maybe a toilet roll rather than industrial toilet paper sheets out of a dispenser?? Also, the bathroom was very small indeed

    Outstanding breakfast, 4-star. Bed also very comfortable. Lovely location outside the main hubbub of Amsterdam but easy walk into centre (my business was local, hence my booking there)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    By check in they didnt find our reservation first, after a few minutes they have found it it was under a wrong name in their system. After we get the Keys we found in our room on the window a cup of tea with smoked cigarettes in it. It was from the guests before us.

    The room & comfortable bed with lot of pillows. Didi the barmaid was really friendly and helpfull & funny.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast should be included with the room not an up charge.

    Updated, spacious room and bath for three adults in a safe and quiet part of town right on the metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the double bed was actually 2 mattresses on a bed frame and they were moving creating a space between them.

    rooms are spacious and tall. The hotel is 15 min walk to city centre and 30 min from the central station. It's a quiet area and you can find some restaurants near by and a zoo. You can hear a lot of birds singing. Self check-in and check-out it was a cool feature. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not that comfortable and on the second day I room was not done properly (house keeping, didn't change our sheets, even though there were stains on it, they didn't vacuum the floor and when we arrived, one of the towels was dirty. However when we told the reception, they offered us free breakfast and changed our sheets and brought us new towels, so the staff at the reception was very nice.

    The people at the reception were super nice and very helpful. The hotel was very good located and public transport was like two minutes away . The check-in was super fast and also self check-in so that pretty cool and easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in we were told we still had to pay while I had already paid through Booking. When I told this to the staf they immediately accepted this without checking my receipt after which they overcharged us for the tourist tax. This seemed like they were trying to get money out of us. At breakfast we asked for soft boiled eggs as they were out of them. I the, saw them remove the card as they were trying to avoid other guests asking this question and they served us the cold hard boiled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed four nights and, after a riverboat trips, two more nights. Rooms are VERY small, although well appointed. We were in a newly remodeled room the second time, and there was no room for luggage, no shelf in shower, etc. Very poor lighting in room.

    Great Staff and morning breakfast was amazingly good ... everything you can think of, including eggs to order and wonderful crusty fresh warm bread. The new Bird House bar/restaurant promises to be very popular. Trams run just half block away ... can go anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, and the bathroom was even smaller, couldn't even sit straight on the toilet.

    Great location, close to city center and also in the greener part of city. Nicely decorated reception and rooms. The staff was very helpful. Rooms have comfy bed and pillows. Tram stop is nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving.

    Very comfy bed and a great location, an easy short walk into the City and to the train Station. Although we did not go this hotel is opposite the Zoo so would be perfect for anyone wanting to visit. The bar area downstairs was under new management and shows some promise, once fully stocked I think it will be lovely and a great place to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really comfortable beds and just a walk to the tram station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff's sympathy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, they solved me a problem very well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow rooms, no ventilation in the rooms. You can not even open the window. No air conditioner.

    İt is not worth for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's enough pillows to cover the entire floor space of the fairly small room.

    Everything was quite acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ridiculously high price No AC Very, very, very, small room and bathroom

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else was terrible. DONT STAY HERE!!!

    The staff were very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small rooms but this is standard for Amsterdam

    breakfest, staff, localization

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was great.

    Very up market hotel, and luxurious room, fantastic helpful staff. Great bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    really small room for 2 people but I think this is standard for Amsterdam

    great breakfast, super helful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New rooms are fantastic

    Good area, calm and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel, close to the tram stop. Good restaurants near by. Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I already want to go back

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, no space for luggage! 😣

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, tiny bathroom. Could barely get to one side of the bed.

    Decent location. Close to the downtown area but not too crowded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from out side the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room had no air conditioning control Windows do not open

    Staff were friendly Room was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As many hotels it has to few places to hang towels etc in the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This exceeded our expectations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is spacious and modern and the wifi is excellent. Good location to city centre and close to trams.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .The walls are overcrowded so we heard every jokes from neighbor.

    The bed was very comfortable..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been a bit bigger, but it served its purpose.

    The bed was comfy & it was nice and modern. Nice g&t’s at the bar too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed like a dorm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door knob is loosen

    Close to public transportation & UvA

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    veiw from basement window

    Breakfast and staff were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and out was easy and staff were very friendly. Rooms were perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Couple

    TV was rather crap. Did not complain about it though :)

    Location excellent. Great Breakfast Buffet. Offer bike rental, a great way to explore the city.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was around 25mins away from amsterdam square but tram was easy enough to use and was close to the hotel.

    Good value and friendly staff. Tram stop was close to the hotel and after first day of walking become very useful.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in a tiny tiny room with 2 single beds pushed together. The staff member at the counter when we checked in was very non hospitable. We were not told about the free coffee and tea service in the foyer till we were leaving. It was very expensive for what was offered.

    It was clean and close to the metro line

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet was tiny,couldn't possibly move, it was at an angle couldn't close the door and use the bathroom either, beds very uncomfortable and we had asked for a double bed and got 2 singles pushed together with 2 single duvets , doors had all splashes of drink spilt down them and walls, was not what I expected and for the money I expected more

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would not pay an additional charge for the breakfast if it was not already included in the hotel room charge. There is a place next door with similar bfast prices and great food and coffee/tea. However, it was hard to beat the convenience of going downstairs for bfast and then going back to the room to get ready to leave for the day.

    The staff and facilities were nice. The breakfast in the morning was great when included in the hotel room charge - Tons of breads, cold meats and cheeses, coffee, juice, fruit, eggs, bacon, yogurt and cereal. In addition, you can always get free coffee and tea in the lobby. The location of this hotel is great - There are a few great restaurants near by (Cafe Koosje, Cafe De Plantage) and the tram will take you in the city center in just a few minutes (also very easy to walk anywhere you want to go) Would def stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing special with the hotel. I think it is too expensive for the facilities it provides. No slippers in the room. Two single beds would separate from each other during the night. Despite turning on the central heaters, the room was still very cold. Plus the electric-heater in the room did not work, so we ended up with borrowing a fan heater which was very noisy. Although it says the hotel is in the central Amsterdam, you need to walk for around 20 mins for the city center.

    The staff was really helpful when my friend felt unwell on the day we left. The cleanness was alright. Nice park view from the window.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness, in our three days stay they never changed soap. One day we let windows open to change air but when we returned in the evening we found windows still open...

    Location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms have not been renovated for a while and can't compete with larger international hotel chains catering to business travellers such as Courtyard by Marriott in the same price class.

    Very well located in a quiet part of Amsterdam, with great transport links via trams and metro (underground).

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well the bathroom had very poor installations. Shower did not work properly at all. Room was very small. Breakdast was expensive and not very good. The last night we stayed we were woken up by very loud noises and shaking. We assume due to some kind of work being done in the hotel, but we weren't even offered an apology for that. I would not recommend this hotel.

    The location, the staff in general and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the middle of our stay ( young couple) there was some works being done in the hotel so since 8 o`clock there was drill going on. They should have moved the works till 12 where everyone is gone from the hotel so people could get good sleep.

    The location is perfect! two tram stops from Rembrantsquare and 10 min tram drive to the Dam Square or The Centre. The beds were incredibly comfortable. Worth to see the zoo just across the road. Staff were very friendly. The room was cleaned whenever we wanted since when you up up do not disturbed sign your room won`t be touched. Good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rude staff and dirty bathrooms, especially the communal ones. En-suite bathroom wasn't as bad but there was a funky smell coming up the drain. VERY thin walls meant we could hear every noise in the hotel, resulting in sleepless nights, especially during the weekend!

    Good location, tram station nearby and good area.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were very slow on both arrival and check out.

    Central location, easy to jump on tram into Dam Square, room clean. Easy to get to and from airport

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did ask for a double bed and end up with two singles, so I was a little disappointed but overall it was lovely, to be back, it's the second time we have stayed with the Hampshire hotel and defiantly not the last! See you in August 😊

    The service is very good

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was more than we wanted to spend (but Amsterdam was getting sold out) Shower drain didn't drain well. They said they would fix it but it wasn't fixed.

    It was on a tram line (take tram 9 or 14 from train station and get off at artis zoo) They gave us a map of city in check-in They have 2 lifts Good breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poorly designed toilet- air freshener would've helped elevator sometimes didn't work beds were very soft

    Walking distance to city centre Elevator Late check out Large room size Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got ripped off by a private taxi from airport to hotel. Cost 120euros when it should of been no more than 50euro. Do not get taxis anywhere. Public transport is cheap and adequate.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I chose the double bed “preference” and wrote a note saying that this is important and asking the hotel to cancel my reservation if they don't have double beds available. Even though I made a reservation weeks in advance, this was ignored. When I complained, I was given a tiny and dirty substandard room with a double bed, facing a loudish street. After a bad night, I moved to a twin room, which was of a reasonable size (for a budget hotel) and quiet, but the beds were very narrow (under 90cm?) and had very narrow duvets. The bathroom smelled of sewer. And breakfast buffet was very basic. In short: this was a bad experience.

    Location – good if you have a business at the UvA or want to spend time at the ZOO.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had hoped for a double bed as that is what we specified when we booked but got two singles pushed together. Wasn't ideal for sleeping as beds kept separating during night. But overall the hotel was very good 😊

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small and it was two single beds put together, the extractor fan in the bathroom stayed on 24/7 and was an annoyance when trying to sleep, there was also maintenance in the morning that we was not made aware of. Furthermore the room did not seemed soundproof as it was windy it was like having the window open all the time with the amount of noise. They also tried charging me the city tax twice.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They need to update the bathrooms. The door doesn't close completely, its like if the door were too small for the bathroom. there is no privacy, you can see the person inside. The w.C. is not a standard WC, it is disgusting.

    The staff in the front desk is friendly and helpful. Good lobby room.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No downfalls, other than wasn't much room to manoeuvre on the toilet, but no big deal & I would 100% book again!

    Booked 5 rooms, for 9 girls! All twin rooms, over two floors (as one of the girls was on crutches and needed a ground floor room) this happened after i made the booking and the hotel were very generous in changing a room for us! All rooms were clean and very nice. TV, safe,etc - everything we needed! Staff were lovely and advised us on trams and sold tickets at the reception! Very very pleased, good price, good location, only a short tram ride or 10 minute walk to Dam square!

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: