Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam City Center, 1018 DH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#260 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Not bad location. Rooms a little cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a little small for comfort considering the hotel wasn’t in the heart of Amsterdam. For any snacks and drinks bought at reception only card transactions are accepted..why not cash?

    Automated checking in was quick and easy. Hotel was in a good location (5-10 minute tram ride into Amsterdam central).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.7
    Average - the photos of the bedrooms are misleading- they look bigger than they are. The room small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were very good but one young woman was not helpful. She didn't know so would tell us anything e.g. we booked twin beds and were given a double bed and she said we could pull them apart. The room was like a cupboard and no space to pull them apart and they were joined with one mattress.

    Some of the staff were good. The hotel is clean and central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    The room was in the renovated side of the hotel with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to add - trams were across and down the street, centrally located, the place is great.

    The room was in the renovated side of the hotel with an elevator (big in my book) and we had two twins, but room enough for an arm chair and a desk along with wardrobe and cupboard. Seemed pretty roomy for an old building, and the bathroom was great - brand new, clean, convenient,. Breakfast was typical - cold cuts and breads, and maybe we could have requested eggs cooked a specific way, but didn't try that. All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.5
    Out of the rush, but still close to the action
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fairly slow WiFi, no fridge, no bath tub, no a/c. To me all those things didn’t really matter, as long as the bed is good :) cleaning could need some improvement, towels left on floor weren’t changed and not all pillows were put back on the bed after making it (never had this happen before, just to mention it, I am not picky)

    Lovely neighbourhood close to zoo and diamond factory area, as well as university of Amsterdam where my conference was. Self-checkin went smooth, room was ready at 11 AM already and all was there, fairly new bathroom, safe, coffee and tea maker, desk and window that opens. Great view from 4th floor, and loved the bed, big size box spring with great matras :) to get there: take tram 9 to Diemen (Sniep) from Central Station and get off at Artis stop. A lot is in walking distance, like red light district. Only Rijksmuseum is a bit far.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Very easy check in and check out service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very easy check in and check out service! Very clean lovely size room! Was perfect location if you wanted to be little bit out of the main action but still close enough!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.2
    Plantage Advantage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room didn't have a fridge, but there were cold drinks available near reception. My medication needed to be kept cool, so unfortunately it got warm. I should have checked in advance.

    The area in which the hotel is situated is superbly green and leafy! There are museums and parks nearly and the world famous original European Zoo - Artis just across the road. 2 minute walk to the main entrance! From your room, you can hear the barking of the Sea Lions at night if you listen carefully! But they don't disturb, it's rather comforting! Public transport is excellent but we even walked to Amsterdam centre from the hotel - it took less than 30 minutes and there were many very interesting shops to explore on the way. The staff were friendly, efficient and extremely helpful. The rooms (we had two) were cleaned every day. The wi-fi was excellent. Also charging points in reception as well as usual sockets in rooms. It is well worth the price. We really liked our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Great location in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the wash basin on the first day, with it not being possible to let the water out, and the TV stopped working for one day.

    Generally nice. The room was pleasant and clean. The range of channels on the TV was good - let me improve my language skills and catch up with the UK news on the BBC. The self-service check-in and check-out needed a member of staff to help with each, so it wasn't truly self-service, which would have been difficult.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice neighborhood, close to trams and easy walk. Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little warm without air conditioning. We were initially in a room on the lowest level, it was not nice, they moved us to a room on 2nd floor and we were very comfortable.

    Very clean, while small room the ceiling is high. Vet comfortable beds. A couple of stops on the tram to the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    It was OK the zoo across the road was very quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting, lighting !!! The heights of the bathroom mirror, the heights of the towel rack andtowel hooks on the walls and including the sink height is for tall Dutchmen not the average 1:55m person

    What eggs? Staff friendliness is super and knowledgeable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.1
    It’s ok to stay 1-2 nights if you are on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was uncomfortably small even by European standards. The shower was tiny also. After staying at the hotel we moved to the Viking boat and our state room over there was larger than the one at the hotel.

    The location of the hotel was very good - next to the Zoo (loved it! ) and to the center. The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    5.4
    Spend your money elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was in the basement at the front of the hotel. The room smelt quite strongly of damp. People smoked weed outside the front of the hotel a LOT during the night, every night until about 4:30. This was incredibly loud and annoying. The bathroom also sometimes smelt strongly of weed - I have no idea why as it had no windows and no extractor fan!

    Location was pretty good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I cannot think of anything that I did not like.

    Very clean and comfortable room with hairdryer, iron, coffee machine, kettle etc. Good location, the tram stop is across the road and it is a short ride into the centre. The hotel is opposite the zoo, very close to the holocaust museum and a few pubs and places to eat. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my stay.
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed at was quite small but It is a very minor issue.

    The location is good, nice and friendly staff, checking in and out was very easy. The rooms where very nice and I would definitely stay again!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows were a little small in our third floor room, lift was a little, modern checking in felt a little impersonal, no AC (but a fan was provided!) these are all such minor faults....

    Modern ways of checking in, 24 hour snack and drink fridge, good location, comfortable bed, clean, staff were very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great location,walking distance to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are too close to each other,thin walls through which you can hear everything next to you and walking steps of everyone above you. Room was next to the street which wasn’t ideal,you can hear people walking and talking all night. The restaurant closes at random times,one night at 10 next night at 8PM! Stay there but plan to eat/drink somewhere else.

    Great location,walking distance to the city centre. self check in/check out service was really good and convenient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Very fine hotel in the center of amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very fine hotel in the center of amsterdam. Nice breakfast and very kind staff. The bathrooms was clean and everything in the rooms was perfect- I shall return, thas for sure.......................

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    Very pleasant stay in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom was tiny & cramped although clean. Ground floor room was near reception & outside so very noisy when people started chatting or going outside to smoke. Ask for a higher floor ! Also no bar or restaurant which at least kept noise down but several really good local cafes.

    We liked the location. Good situation by zoo, cafes & short tram ride onto town with stop a few minutes walk from hotel. Very comfortable bed although a very small single room. Excellent local places for breakfast & drinks eg “Box Sociaal “ that offers fresh, interesting food & organic wines . Totally recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Exceptionally clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Just the fact the key kept on getting stuck before it actually opened the door.

    The check-in & our were very easy. The key kept on getting stuck though. The room was extremely clean. The place looks new & it wasn’t too far from the infamous Dam square. Plus, it has the advantage of being in a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    5.4
    Loud, stuffy and cramped up room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid a very high price for this hotel. The staff were lovely and very helpful, however when we got to out room which was supposed to be a standard double, the door hit the bed... not a good look. After squeezing into the room between the tiny gap we realised that our "double" was two single beds put together, which were on wheels and would move around every time we sat down on the bed or moved. The window did not open which wasn't great considering it was a hot summers night. All night you can hear the trains going past and people in other rooms as the walls are thin. I would not recommend paying over 100 for this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    5.4
    It’s was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room has no AC can be hot during summer and the bed was not comfy is only thin foam top.

    Location are great just right at the Artis tram station. Self check in and check out with the machine are convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, good location and price. Rooms a touch too small and bathroom a squeeze to get into.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room Two singles pushed together (not a double bed) Difficult to squeeze into the bathroom without disturbing the other person! (Sliding doors would be better perhaps?)

    Nice hotel in a great location. Very clean with comfortable beds. Bedroom was absolutely tiny, if I were a dress size bigger I wouldn't of been able to squeeze into the bathroom. As the room is so small the door only opens a bit before it hits the bed!! Great temperature and pressure to the shower though and the bathroom was modern and fresh. Snacks and drinks are available from reception 24 hours which is great and there are a number of team lines servicing the hotel meaning you can get back there any time day or night. We were very grateful that a fan had been provided in this weather!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Fab short break in a nearly perfect hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower curtain could do to be replaced and with one that doesn't stick to you. Also could do with a towel rail or more hooks.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    9.6
    It was very quiet being next to zoo and a little ways from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bathroom are very small. The layout is very efficient so the stay was not uncomfortable, just very close quarters.

    It was very quiet being next to zoo and a little ways from central city. The metro stop is close, so very easy to get anywhere in city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were funky. Very narrow single beds.

    Nice Location. Tram #9 and #14 pass right in front of the hotel. Rambrantplein, The Dam short tram ride away or take a nice walk following the tracks, can't get lost!. Nice modern lobby. No AC (but with the cool weather room was comfortable) Also there was a fan in the closet if needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room (esp bathroom) was a little cramped, but tolerable. Bed could have been a little more comfortable, but was fine.

    Excellent experience overall - more luxurious than I was expecting. Great value for the money. Also the smell in the lobby is surprisingly wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    Awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was very small but I guess that is Europe. The price I found high but same again it is everywhere. Otherwise it was a very pleasant stay and would go back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    Place was really clean and very nice to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked for double bed and got two singles pushed together. That was a bit of a an inconvenience.

    Place was really clean and very nice to stay in. Staff were lovely and the location itself was really nice. Tram just outside and the walk into town wasn't too bad

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.3
    Modern hotel with some new technologies (like self-check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern hotel with some new technologies (like self-check in and check out). Comfortable and clean room. Not far from center - about 10 minutes to walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Very Convenient Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to complain about .. except maybe the room could be cleaned a wee bit better 🤔

    Very convenient place - good room. Person checking me changed my room to a larger room .. very sweet and proactive . Extremely convenient from public transport perspective - Tram 9 & 14 leave about 2 mts walk from the Hotel. Tram 9 takes you to Central Station. Both go thru Dam area .. so great connectivity 👍 Infact took the Tram to Central Station and into Schipol with 2 bags 👏👏👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was super small, the shower was small as well, you couldn’t even turn yourself. The room was noisy, also not clean, lots of dust! Super expensive for what you get

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cups in bedrooms somewhat small for hot drinks. Nothing else to add.

    Excellent hotel. Very well situated, on direct tram line 9 from Centraal Station. Very easy access to centre of town, close to the Zoo and Hortus Gardens. Good beds, good bathroom and shower. Lovely breakfast room and bar and good selection of breakfast buffet. Really friendly and helpful staff, always smiling. Would certainly go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    5.8
    It had a lift, the people who worked there were all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Finding my booking on their system on arrival took an hour due to issue with booking.com, had to move rooms due to stains/something found on bedding/pillows, and toilet fan not working. New room had further stains on the side of the bed, and some some sort of stuff on the chair with some body hair, thought that side of things were not as hygienic as I would of expected. I just think they needed a better clean, and anything with stains thrown out.

    It had a lift, the people who worked there were all absolutely lovely and happy to help as best they could, and really friendly, Especially the gentleman with the big beard, he was great! Beds were really comfy, room came with fridge, ironing board and iron, and a lovely coffee machine. Plug sockets right by the beds and USB ports right by the beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    I'll be coming back to the Lancaster Hotel from now on.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. I enjoyed everything about this hotel.

    Large comfortable rooms, especially by Amsterdam standards. Modern fit out and nice big bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and we could not hear any noise from the street. The trams stop is only about 100 meters away and the location is close enough without being right in the thick of it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful little hotel just outside of the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room didn't have Aircon, which would have been good as the weather was very hot. The shower was tiny and the shower curtain, when wet, would stick to you while showering - not the most pleasant of experiences. Also there was a small amount of coffee and tea given per day.

    The room was large and the beds were very comfortable. Located a short walking distance from the centre and right next to a tram stop with good links to different areas. Very modern and contemporary decor. The staff were very friendly too. In a quite area which wasn't too busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel, with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt the mattresses could be a bit better. Very thin and easily move when sleeping.

    A lot. The staff where very friendly and room was in excellent condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.2
    enjoy my stay in lancaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel has 2 parts both good but one with air condition and modern and the other without air condition rooms without AC could be hot in summer also if you want to walk to dam it takes you 45 minutes if you don't use metro

    the hotel in very quiet area next to super market and small restaurants and 3 minutes walk to metro all the staff were great and helpful and advice very good I like also the small touch in the hotel offering chocolate waffles candies all day on the lobby and the happy hour they offer cheese and olives checking in and out is automated so it takes minutes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    Nice helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

     The corridor smelled of weed .. 20 minutes from city centre by walking

     The check- in was fast and easy.. Clean room and wide space which was very nice to stay at .. the staff was very friendly and helpful specially Mr. Mohamed and Abdullrazaq they were of so much help.. there was a coffee shop named coffee and bites I think they had the best coffee in town and very friendly great service (recommended for breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.2
    Nice helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The corridor smelled of weed .. 20 minutes from city centre by walking

    The check- in was fast and easy.. Clean room and wide space which was very nice to stay at .. the staff was very friendly and helpful specially Mr. Mohamed and Abdullrazaq they were of so much help.. there was a coffee shop named coffee and bites I think they had the best coffee in town and very friendly great service (recommended for breakfast)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the worst review I have ever left. Arrived late at 1am after very delayed flight. Key did not work and no staff available to help. Eventually hit in to a tiny basement room that was warm and lacked airflow. Bed was uncomfortable and sheets of poor quality. Pillows enormous and unsuitable for sleeping. Very noisy from 5am. Could not wait to get out.

    Very little

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    I liked the fact that it was close enough to the city centre for me to walk. It was about a 20 minute walk but the weather was beautiful so it made it a lovely stroll. Also there is a tram that you can get straight from Amsterdam Central station directly to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Zoo view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls, could hear next rooms TV clearly although they could have been a bit hard of hearing and had the volume maxed

    Everything else was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    7.5
    I wanted to relax and that’s exactly what I did!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn’t very comfortable but everything else was fine, even the food and drink I bought from resception were reasonably priced.

    Good location with plenty of friendly bars and cafes close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel to stay as close to tram station/ cafe shops and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to report!!

    Location: Close to tram station. Staff : Very helpful. We came early in morning as room check-in was at noon so requested to keep the luggage and staff offered for free BF. Abdul who did night duty was good and guiding about the city. BF : Huge spread and good options for vegeterian .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    All is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything! The location is convenient just 3 stops from the center. Also we liked the cofe Box Cocial near the hotel, they serve wonderful breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only concern was I booked through booking .com by my credit card!! Upon check in my friend paid it through her card but when I check my balance on my credit card they also got money from my credit card. Very inconvenient!! But the property was excellent!!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.1
    Review for a Standard Double Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not so big for a family but good enough for a single person. Lighting was insufficient.

    The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Good location. Modern and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    Outstanding breakfast, 4-star.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a three-star hotel I would expect: manned reception, not some supermarket style automated check-in (very impersonal and time consuming)...and maybe a toilet roll rather than industrial toilet paper sheets out of a dispenser?? Also, the bathroom was very small indeed

    Outstanding breakfast, 4-star. Bed also very comfortable. Lovely location outside the main hubbub of Amsterdam but easy walk into centre (my business was local, hence my booking there)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    6.3
    its ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    By check in they didnt find our reservation first, after a few minutes they have found it it was under a wrong name in their system. After we get the Keys we found in our room on the window a cup of tea with smoked cigarettes in it. It was from the guests before us.

    The room & comfortable bed with lot of pillows. Didi the barmaid was really friendly and helpfull & funny.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again next time in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Continental breakfast should be included with the room not an up charge.

    Updated, spacious room and bath for three adults in a safe and quiet part of town right on the metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.3
    rooms are spacious and tall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the double bed was actually 2 mattresses on a bed frame and they were moving creating a space between them.

    rooms are spacious and tall. The hotel is 15 min walk to city centre and 30 min from the central station. It's a quiet area and you can find some restaurants near by and a zoo. You can hear a lot of birds singing. Self check-in and check-out it was a cool feature. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    The people at the reception were super nice and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not that comfortable and on the second day I room was not done properly (house keeping, didn't change our sheets, even though there were stains on it, they didn't vacuum the floor and when we arrived, one of the towels was dirty. However when we told the reception, they offered us free breakfast and changed our sheets and brought us new towels, so the staff at the reception was very nice.

    The people at the reception were super nice and very helpful. The hotel was very good located and public transport was like two minutes away . The check-in was super fast and also self check-in so that pretty cool and easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    4.6
    Several times felt like staff was trying to scam us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we checked in we were told we still had to pay while I had already paid through Booking. When I told this to the staf they immediately accepted this without checking my receipt after which they overcharged us for the tourist tax. This seemed like they were trying to get money out of us. At breakfast we asked for soft boiled eggs as they were out of them. I the, saw them remove the card as they were trying to avoid other guests asking this question and they served us the cold hard boiled eggs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.5
    Great Staff and morning breakfast was amazingly good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed four nights and, after a riverboat trips, two more nights. Rooms are VERY small, although well appointed. We were in a newly remodeled room the second time, and there was no room for luggage, no shelf in shower, etc. Very poor lighting in room.

    Great Staff and morning breakfast was amazingly good ... everything you can think of, including eggs to order and wonderful crusty fresh warm bread. The new Bird House bar/restaurant promises to be very popular. Trams run just half block away ... can go anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.8
    Reasonably priced hotel in a great location, but with a modestly sized rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, and the bathroom was even smaller, couldn't even sit straight on the toilet.

    Great location, close to city center and also in the greener part of city. Nicely decorated reception and rooms. The staff was very helpful. Rooms have comfy bed and pillows. Tram stop is nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    A lovely relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving.

    Very comfy bed and a great location, an easy short walk into the City and to the train Station. Although we did not go this hotel is opposite the Zoo so would be perfect for anyone wanting to visit. The bar area downstairs was under new management and shows some promise, once fully stocked I think it will be lovely and a great place to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size of room quite small and no air conditioning.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    The staaf,room decoration and space, cleanest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staaf,room decoration and space, cleanest..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When a hotel sees a booking from a couple they should put one big bed for them and not two small ones together

    The staff was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    The friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too small and a lot of noise from the street

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly, good location, however the lack of air conditioning and ventilation around made
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air-conditioning

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.5
    Good quality hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged twice for the rooms !

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.3
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff. Clean.Close to centrum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.9
    Cups where dirty on arrival and there was no fresh tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cups where dirty on arrival and there was no fresh tea and coffee making facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Check in and out was so easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Check in and out was so easy. Lovely hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is very clean and a good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.5
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected shampoo and condition for the price. Tv was tiny. No fridge or milk for coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Location and staff are amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double bed was two singles pushed together, so would slip apart if trying to sleep in the middle

    Location and staff are amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small rooms

    Clean and modern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Beds was very comfortable, location was quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds was very comfortable, location was quiet. Check and check was so easy .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    V comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    V comfy bed. Close to tram.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Really comfortable beds and just a walk to the tram station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really comfortable beds and just a walk to the tram station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    good balance cost Vs quality. Staff members are very kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff's sympathy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service, they solved me a problem very well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    4.0
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow rooms, no ventilation in the rooms. You can not even open the window. No air conditioner.

    İt is not worth for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: