Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen 4 stars

's Gravenhof 6, 7201 DN Zutphen, Netherlands

#1 of 3 hotels in Zutphen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 799 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.7
    Quite adequate for our purposes and a convenient driving distance to Europort the day after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally found the duvet on my bed very heavy, causing disturbance to sleeping when turning over. My wife's duvet also had a substantial piece of plastic, which appeared to be heat fused onto the fabric covering.

    Inclusion of a bath and shower was a bonus. The car parking is convenient, as is the location of the hotel in the town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is located in a beautiful old building in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel suffers from rigid policies, such as 10 EUR early check-in fee for a room already available an hour before the stated check-in time. The breakfast was fine, but overpriced, seemingly taking advantage of the scarcity of alternative options on sundays. We stayed on a warm summer night where air conditioning would have been nice

    The hotel is located in a beautiful old building in the historic center of Zutphen. There is a nice terrace in front of the hotel. The staff is helpful. Rooms were comfortable, though perhaps a little business like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and windows didn’t open so in the recent heat was uncomfortable and claustrophobic. Breakfast very mediocre and in a room too small for the amount of people.

    Convenient

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location but not really an old beautiful mansion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 17.50 Euro’s was very ordinary. Shower ceiling too low for my 5ft 8 inch daughter!

    Rooms are fine, but hot no air conditioning anywhere! Our lock would not work, so we were upgraded to a suite which was great, thank you,it was in the roof and baking we had to beg for a 2nd fan! Dinner was quite good. Tapas bar closed as it was so hot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    a Nice hotel (a good 3star) location very well in walking distance of the lovely towncenter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, we couldn't open the window because there was too much traffic noise. We didn't like the plastic cups in the bathroom and we missed a small tray for our shower foam in the shower cabin.

    We enjoyed walking in the nearby historic town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    A great location in a beautiful town. Hotel okay but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internal layout of the hotel is odd. The breakfast room is okay, but there were queues for hot drinks. We had a beautiful room, but the weather was hot and despite keeping the fan on all night, it was never cool.

    The hotel has a beautiful view from the front, towards the church, and you can walk from the hotel into the old town, which is lovely. In nice weather the restaurant is open air in the courtyard, which is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.8
    Zutphen is a beautiful town and the hotel is within the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a beautiful facade behind which it is a mediocre hotel. Apart from the cleaning ladies, the staff was uninterested and remote. The shower was powerless and water ran into the rest of the bathroom. The room was too cold.

    Zutphen is a beautiful town and the hotel is within the old city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold even though we put the radiator on the highest stand. There was no kettle in the room to make tea. Disappointing for a 4-star hotel.

    Comfortable bed. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.7
    The accommodation is in the centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff did not believe that there was a very loud noice in our room. So at 02.00 am we ask for a solution. If not we will left the hotel. The solution was another quiet! room. That was oké. But still they don't believe that the noice was coming from inside the hotel. After they check it, next morning, we were true and the staff make their apologies.

    The accommodation is in the centre of the city. In the museum directly behind the hotel is much information about the history of Zutphen. Very interesting. Especially when you make a walk through this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Helpful staff trying to get key card to operate 11-OClock at...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    finding room 21 (room number hidden behind a pillar) key card lock that failed twice and no plug for the sink in the bathroom

    Helpful staff trying to get key card to operate 11-OClock at night and a very nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with an historic flavour in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in the centre of mediaeval Zutphen overlooking the beautiful gothic church of St. Walburgis. It is not a ‘luxury’ hotel, but is perfectly adequate as a pleasant and comfortable unpretentious tourist hotel with a historic flavour and friendly staff (they all speak English). It is priced accordingly and is therefore good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom with walk-in shower was small and because the glass separation wall of the shower is not sealed to the floor, water poors under the toilet and sink, so you need to use some towells to keep the floor dry. There is only a small lounche area with one couch.

    The perfect location in historic downtown area next to shops and restaurants. (public)Parking in front of the hotel, nice terras and Bistro .Rooms are modern, good beds, quiet even with the windows open on the front side of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    6.7
    Fine location in the most historical part of Zutphen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very cold and we couldn't get it warm. When we complained about it in the morning, the girl at reception just said 'sorry' but did not do anything about it. Like offer a discount or ask any further. This is very bad service

    Fine location in the most historical part of Zutphen. Beautiful building

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    4.2
    not to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For 4 star hotel idiotic cramped room and bathroom. Corridors were long and too low. At arrival in the evening heating was turned off; partner didn't sleep because of cold. Even before 10 o'clock contents of central breakfast table were removed with ugly bucket on trolley. Didn't get a bill ( asking myself afterwards if it was correct ).Only the location and the facade of this hotel is 4 star, rest is 2 star.

    Facade hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of sewerage in room on arriving. Staff told me how to get rid of smell rather than sort it for us. Toilet stained. High pitched sound intermittent throughout the night.

    Location. Our family live in town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small/narrow room without tea/coffee facilities

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to take off from for a visit of this beautiful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a one-person room. Not comfortable. . . .perhaps my mistake.

    Location, situation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    4.6
    A 3 start hotel with the price of a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner, noisy rooms in the first floor, very small room, very basic toilet, very basic facilities

    Good location and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great facilities and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great facilities and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    It was a nice surprise to be upgraded to a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice surprise to be upgraded to a suite. Overlooking the square, beautiful😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent and the staff was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent and the staff was very kind. We have had an excellent dinner at the Brasserie.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast very expensive and very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive and very disappointing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful historic building, good modern rooms, first class restaurant and a wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful historic building, well restaurated and with good and new hotel rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an odd smell of disinfectant that occasionally wafted through the room.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Historic property. Excellent Standards
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Free Gluhwein!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bathroom

    Location, good breakfast, in center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    pleasant evening and night, good breakfast. No music !! ( good)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    ?

    beautiful old townhouse

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is located almost in the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located almost in the city center. Friendly personal, room for 2 people is rather small but clean. Price is reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel rooms feels quite sterile in comparison to the lovely facade of the building.

    Central location. Modern decor. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    A great place in Zutphen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historic property . Good bikes for rent. Breakfast room very stylish. The art in the common area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Great meal, comfortable bed whilst visiting a friend in Zutphen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small.

    Comfortable bed, good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Good breakfast, very nice terrace, had a quiet room towards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathtub/shower can be difficult to get in and out of.

    Good breakfast, very nice terrace, had a quiet room towards the back

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    great breakfast and in centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good location but need to pay to use public carpark which is expensive.

    great breakfast and in centre of town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the bathroom. The room looked unused for a couple of weeks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    Very handily located for exploring the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curious draught in our bedroom.

    Very handily located for exploring the town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    Single bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed. Too small, for kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom design is flawed. When you take a shower the whole floor gets wet. Ugh.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.5
    Staff great, super location, a bit run down, bathroom smelly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an unpleasant smell from the drains in the bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower

    Central location Comfortable bed Very clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Small bathroom with a low ceiling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom with a low ceiling

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.7
    I liked the bed and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bathroom had a strange odour and this smell also occured when in the stairway at the entrance/reception. I think there is a problem with leaking sewage system. Bathroom got flooded after taking a shower and the door does not stop the water because it is close to the shower.

    I liked the bed and room. Breakfast was nice!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice friendly staff, great location, comfortable room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very low ceiling in the bathroom and you actually couldn't lift your arms over your head in the shower. Otherwise bathroom was fine.

    Nice friendly staff, great location, comfortable room and bed, Nice restaurants attached to the hotel, soon the museums will move right next door. Zutphen is a nice relaxing city with plenty of shopping and restaurants. Terrific courtyard in the fron for a relaxing drink at the end of the day.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location in a beautiful, historic building and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Guest who want to go to sleep before midnight should avoid the rooms in the historic portion of the hotel because the hotel operates a restaurant/bar on the terrace in front of the main building which is open until midnight. Shouting and laughter directly below our hotel window made it impossible to relax or sleep.

    Excellent location in a beautiful, historic building and a good buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.9
    The location is exellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noise from the street. A refrigerator truck was parked right beneeth my window, early in the morning, with the cooling unit running at window hight.

    The location is exellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.7
    Nice front to building and forecourt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Carpet and bathroom floors were filthy! What are all those milky stains? Uuuck. This hotel has a dual personality. An impressive front building but worn out hallways and the room I had had dirty scratched walls. Worn out basically. Manager. Would you disagree?

    Nice front to building and forecourt.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    3.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At the booking I asked for a kingsize or seperate beds Upon arrival it appeared there were only small (1.40) double beds and if we wanted kingsize we had 20 euro more! When we did this we got a very unattractive family room under the roof! Unacceptable money pinching behaviour of a cheap hotel.....never again!!

    location

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.1
    Brand new room with design furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. Bathroom has a low ceiling; My hair touches the ceiling when I took a shower. 2. I asked for a quiet room and I got a room next to an air fan outlet on the roof which is noisy 24/7 and can be heard also inside the room. 3. I had to sign a form upon arrival with the details of my stay but the price field was empty ("price: ____ euro"). When I commented in a friendly way I that it's a bit unusual to ask people to sign forms that are partially filled in, or in this case to write a "blank cheque", the receptionist argued my ideas were most unusal and that nobody ever complained about it. I didn't feel very welcome and he didn't seem interested in the experience of the customer.

    Brand new room with design furniture.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.6
    The historical setting of the eighteenth century townhouse...
    • Solo traveller

    The historical setting of the eighteenth century townhouse of the nobility in middle of the old city in front of the magnificent church building brings you ages back in time. Recommended also for those who are used to too traditional glamour hotels. A fine equilibrium in the architecture is found between the historical parts, modern style, art and efficiency.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.1
    the location is fantastic, the reception staff extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the coffee-house - bistro staff very stressed..........and ruly......and that on xmas days...........

    the location is fantastic, the reception staff extremely helpful, but they have to work with an outdated product./ rooms.....but the good news is they start in 2015 with renovations

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.3
    Very understanding and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sewage and smell in bathroom.

    Very understanding and helpful staff. Great building and location.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    7.9
    Nicely renovated room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nicely renovated room

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location near centre and historic area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower over bath with no shower curtain and slippery bathroom floor

    Excellent location near centre and historic area

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.3
    Ligging in de stad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ligging in de stad..

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.5
    Central location, close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small, and very very noisy rooms. You can literally hear every word your neighbors say.

    Central location, close to train station

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.8
    Kindness staff, quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kindness staff, quiet

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.5
    I arrived late due to rail delays.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I arrived late due to rail delays. The bar stayed open for me - helped me unwind!

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Size of the room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.2
    Location right in the middle of Zutphen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were lumpy and not comfortable

    Location right in the middle of Zutphen

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Good location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Price was high and rooms were small.

    Good location and friendly staff. Satisfactory bike storage. Good amenities, plus outdoor cafe.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.5
    Room was small but comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, the omelets were cold.

    Room was small but comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    6.7
    Good location and price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms have to be renewed, very old !

    Good location and price

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shower is not well protected by a wall, whole bathroom is wet after use

    location

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Solo traveller

    The location is perfect. Just minutes away frow everything. Very relaxed and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.9
    good value for money, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good value for money, excellent location

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.6
    Good motorcycle parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Steep stair to annex rooms

    Good motorcycle parking. In tune piano.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    8.8
    The price was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the room very small but clean.

    The price was very good

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is old. It really needs to be renewed and repaired. The bathrooms are not hygenic and need repair.

    Location

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: