Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hanzestadslogement De Leeuw 2 stars

Nieuwstraat 25, 7411 LG Deventer, Netherlands

#9 of 15 hotels in Deventer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect location, in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airco

    good beds, nice atmosphere, good breakfast. In the middle of the old centre. Very good restaurants in the neigbourhood(take one of the hotel recommondation)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    An interesting and unique experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit cramped, due to all the stuff they had in it. However, the bathroom had no space problem. Biggest issue is that the reception closes at 1700, and you have to let yourself in the building through the back door after that. And there's a little trick to getting that door unlocked. It's simple once you understand, but I had to learn it from a fellow guest after standing outside several minutes. So practice unlocking the back door prior to 1700, while the front door is still open.

    I found the hotel's "boutique" style merely interesting. But for people who are really into that, it should make for a highly enjoyable stay. The room was quiet, and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was cramped and old. Bathroom was one flight down. The stairs we had to use were not private since they ware also the emergency route for other rooms. Clearly not ideal. The bathroom itself was a huge bare space with a highly uncomfortably high toilet seat. Although the room and bathroom were clean, the costs of EUR 90,-- for a night I feel are way to high for the services provided.

    Hotel in the historic centre, behind classic sweets shop. Nice staff. The town Deventer proved to be a nice place to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Convenient hotel at a good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was a classic style basic hotel room which is appropriate for a historic building. It was perfectly fine for my stay but might disappoint someone looking for modern furnishings.

    Comfortable bed in a historic building in a central location. Parking is not at the property but a parking garage is in easy walking distance. The breakfast was good and set in an interesting café. The staff are very friendly. Price was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Made to feel really welcome nothing too much trouble. Would love to visit in summer..
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs bit steep like climbing a hill, not good for us older people. But we managed.

    Bed bit soft but clean and room clean and tidy. Breakfast excellent such a choice of cereals, breads and meat would highly recommend it to others. Location excellent to. Really enjoyed our time there and would come back again hopefully soon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    One of the sweetest places I have ever stayed
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly owner who makes you feel at home immediately and beautiful setting. What can be better than a generous breakfast in an old bakery and candystore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    A delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was tiny - not a problem for us, but this might not suit everyone

    This is a charming place to stay - set behind tea rooms that include a wonderful collection of old kitchen things. There is a lovely courtyard to sit in if the weather is fine , and a selection of drinks and nibbles is available to buy out of hours - a very helpful touch Our room was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Different - but would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although our room had a nice big radiator, the bathroom didn't appear to be heated - and as it was snowing and extremely cold outside, it was very chilly. On reflection, we should have asked for a small heater.

    The stress of a difficult rail journey due to rail works and an accident, melted away the second we stepped into the hotel. The entrance is straight into a fabulous little café where we were given a very warm welcome, along with an offer of a free coffee and a sit down, before registration - which we gratefully accepted. Our room was on the ground floor and although quite compact, offered a little kitchenette, with kettle, tea and coffee. Beds were lovely and comfortable. The owner and staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. It isn't a conventional hotel as it contains the fabulous café and a museum, which sadly we didn't have time to visit, but my friend and I loved our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry nice personal and the hotel was perfect 👌 I'm coming back👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Fanatic service and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fanatic service and breakfast! Highly recommend with children

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Ms. van den Beld was very nice host.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ms. van den Beld was very nice host. Breakfast was quite good, especially the bread with raisins. Clean room and comfy bed. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    There are a few steep stairs to the room. If you struggle with stairs this might not suit you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place and people are very friendly. Worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Quaint
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness great hospitality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    A quaint gem in Deventer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were lovely and so helpful. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Best valua for money with comfort and great food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual, the venue (comfort), cleanliness, friendliness and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Deventer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, the sweets shop area at the entrance is lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit stuffy.

    Nice hotel, the sweets shop area at the entrance is lovely to see. The staff was quite friendly and served some lovely tea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    9.6
    Friendly host and great location for the town and venue I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing was accessing the property at night. Not a problem in itself but as it was round the back of the main street a bit off putting for myself as a solo traveller. Just a minor issue though

    Friendly host and great location for the town and venue I was visiting

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and traditional, cosy rooms with kitchenette...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and traditional, cosy rooms with kitchenette which really came in handy, bath and shower. Lovely breakfast selection - overall very happy with my stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.3
    Nice family run hotel behind an historic sweets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice family run hotel behind an historic sweets shop/annex museum. Nice quiet room with a kitchenette. Good working free WiFi internet. Good breakfast surrounded by historic artifacts. The hotel is reached through the shop which is not always open. Once you are booked in there is a secure rear entrance that you can use.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    Great location in the lovely city of Deventer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location in the lovely city of Deventer. The breakfast was really good, with a range of very nutritious and delicious options. The room felt spacious, warm and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Great location, sweetest people ever, delicious breakfast,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great location, sweetest people ever, delicious breakfast, kitchenette in the room with free tea and cakes, very quiet at night . The hotel is also a candy store and inside, there is a museum of tea and coffee.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    5.4
    The WiFi was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were tiny and overflowing with stuff. There was virtually no space for our luggage. There was an overwhelming smell of mold and we couldn't close the window at any point. It was noisy, all the time - either from the other guests, the parking lot or the renovation workers. During the day you can't nap or rest even for a second. We had a key only for the back door - we felt like staff and not valued guests. I would hesitate to visit it again.

    The WiFi was good

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    I booked it for a collegue, according to him above...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked it for a collegue, according to him above qualification

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    A warm welcoming, cosy and charming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A warm welcoming, cosy and charming stay... exactly what you'd hope for combining a sweet store with a hotel

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    cosy atmosphere and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cosy atmosphere and very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.1
    Nice comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite expensive for an older hotel.

    Nice comfortable beds. staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Friendly, cozy, fast internet!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly, cozy, fast internet!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Very cute place and friendly and helpful owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed is a bit too soft.

    Very cute place and friendly and helpful owner.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    8.8
    Sweetshop and extensive traditional Dutch breakfast options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The public hall upstairs was a bit smelly near the glass door.

    Sweetshop and extensive traditional Dutch breakfast options!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    10
    Location, staff, price, excellent suite at price of a normal...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, staff, price, excellent suite at price of a normal room

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Hotel Hanzestadslogement De Leeuw traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: