Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pension de Harmonie 3 stars

Voorhaven 94, 1135 BT Edam, Netherlands

#5 of 5 hotels in Edam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 387 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The access hotel from Edam buts stop was far to walk with a baggage. There could be a small transport to and from the bus stop. It expensive hire taxi from Amsterdam center daily during the 5 day stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't see the WiFi password anywhere in the room or in the café. I didn't really need it, but it's something people would appreciate. Underneath the rooms is the café. There were only 5 people drinking some wines when we arrived and they were simply talking, in the room you could hear the talks and laughs, which is a bit annoying if you're a "bad sleeper". So bring earplugs, especially if you are there on busier days (this was a Monday night!!)

    The rooms on top of the roof! Nice views over the houses. Breakfast downstairs in the café (bar), very special atmosphere to have breakfast, but super cool. Breakfast itself was simple but perfect: nice bread, cheese and other stuff, coffee, tea, boiled egg, cereals. Perfect to start the day with! The room was fully equipped with kitchen, kitchen tools, a table and chairs, a very comfy bed. Simple, but perfect. I think this is a perfect place to stay in case you want to see the area (Edam, Volendam, etc)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside the bedroom excellent but access from outside landing a little tricky, with uneven steps immediately at threshold

    Excellent accomodation in the picturesque village of Edam

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fewer stairs. Easy parking in late September but wouldn't bet on it in summer.

    Fantastic breakfast. Kitchenette with refrigerator very handy. Good value for your money. Edam is a sweet town in September.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view of canal but just across the road once come out of front gate. I think larger room has canal view. Our room was pretty quiet.

    Part of central Edam. Loved the space and very easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. I liked that we could leave our luggage upon arrival, and the staff placed our luggage inside our room when the room was ready.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were with a two years old child we stayed just a sunday night and nobody tell us that there was a concert and after they played music quite long. The cleaning wasn't good under the bed

    Location, good breakfast, large room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was no full length mirror in the room, and the mirror above the sink is intended for tall people. I had to stand on my tiptoes in order to see myself. Wi-fi is pretty weak and the breakfast could be more diverse. Also there were a few spiders in the room :)

    Overall we had a pleasant stay at this property. Nice and peaceful location, friendly host. The room was spacious enough for two people. There was plenty of free parking near the property. And it's a very convenient location if you are traveling with a car. The city of Edam itself is worth exploring, and also don't miss the Edam Cheese Market on Wednesdays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the band it's too loud in the evening and night and is not suitable for families with small children.

    The location was excellent. It is clean. The breakfast is good. The staff is friendly. The hotel has a bar with a very good live music. It's a perfect accomodation for people who enjoy night life.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Backyard could be a bit nicer.

    Apartment in old house in Edam. The entrance from backyard, furniture and everything is in retro style, very warm. Free parking in the street anywhere, good breakfast, very polite and helpful host. Edam is a town from a tale not far from the sea and Amsterdam. I would stop here again. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find anything.

    Where to begin. Everything was just great. We were surprised by our four-bed room - it consisted of a living room in the ground floor and two sleeping rooms and a bathroom in the first floor. This was so comfortable because we didn't disturb each other. There was nearly everything in the room, iron and coffee maker included. I have never experienced such a well equipped hotel room. The breakfast was excellent. The choice was not as wide as in big hotels but everything was great quality. The surroundings of the hotel are astounding. There's a channel in front of the hotel and Edam is such a beautiful and peaceful town. Amsterdam and other places are easily reachable by public transport, I recommend buying Amsterdam & Region Travel Ticket.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very small, fine for a 1 night stay to check out Edam. Hotel was closed except for a private function so couldn't really experience the full offering.

    Location was good, the rooms were cosy, very cute hotel. Everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the floor is sliding down ... but it is a funny stuff of an aged typical dutch house.

    It's in a very charateristic town center, the building is quite "romantic", the breakfast ok, the staff is nice and helpful. Parking around the channel is easy and free. The rooms are in the top of the houses, and the panorama between the old typical dutch houses is fashinating. And the room is clean and everything works well. Really a place that you need to try.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived after the advertised check-in time (our fault, we should have phoned ahead to warn the proprietor) and the hotel was locked up. No response from various phone numbers in the window. After an anxious half hour wait some neighbours managed to find a key-holder to let us in, then the owner arrived and all was well. In fairness some smaller guest houses cannot be constantly manned, so always observe the advertised check-in times or phone ahead if running late! Our only criticism was the non-response from advertised phone numbers - we almost gave up and were about to try booking in elsewhere.

    Well-situated on canal waterfront, short walk to a choice of restaurants. Secure cycle storage. Pleasant bar used by locals. Pleasant staff. Helpful owner found a restaurant who were willing to feed us despite late hour.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking.com page said there might be music until 8pm, but it went until 11pm. Not a big deal to me, but I was at the back. If you were closer to the live band and wanted an early night it would be a problem.

    The room was great, well set out with Tv, kitchenette and bathroom. Bikes to hire as well, not awesome condition but did the job. The breakfast was good value too, a good range.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wi fi is very poor, and they don,t mind it we had a situation with our dog and it was important to us to have wi fi to keep contact with vetenerian

    breakfast is excellent, caffe is downstairs so you don,t need to go far for glass of wine or coffe

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe a lockable shed for a bike would be great

    friendly staff, good breakfast and room, also small kitchen area and overall very clean. you can rent electric boats and explore the canals

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room wasn't serviced at all during our stay so an extra toilet roll would have been useful as we were staying for 3 nights.

    We arrived late on the first night due to our flight being delayed and the lovely lady who greeted us offered and made us ham and cheese toasties as there was no other local alternative to get any food at that time. The bed was super comfy as well!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a nice little studio with a personal entrance, a fridge and a cooker. The breakfast was tasty and various. Overall, a very quiet, relaxing and romantic place, definitely recommend it for the couples. You can even rent a bike at the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious, very bright and clean. Nice courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More vegan options would be nice at the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no one

    cleaness, interior, location, comfortable, the staff is so kind to inform anything for us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old home

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The fabulous location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people. Enjoyable little town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel hosts live music nights, this is under the bedrooms. If you want to sleep early better check if there is an event on

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insects & WIFI

    Staff, kitchenett

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely owner. Edam is perfect with this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice location in Edam, also very good live music in the bar the evening we stayed. A good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get into property initially

    The atmosphere of the place and the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no elevator and you have to climb a very steep stair to you room. it is okay for us since we are young

    everything is nice in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its location is a bit far from amsterdam

    Its coziness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and windows too small to let in air and inaccessible. Shower was outdated.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi. Problem with door lock. The room Not adopted for The family with little childrens.

    Location. Comfort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beers, room at the roof, Edam canal view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quaint, authentic Dutch living, in a quiet area, close to the c enter core of town. Great breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traditional small village

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the stairs to the room very steep

    Really great breakfast, good room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had hoped to have dinner but evening meals not being served.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    environment is very nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer, wifi not good.

    Lovely accommodation, don't need to go through the pub to get to rooms. Right in the centre of Edam, we loved it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good breakfast. Comfort and clean room. Very pleasant hosts.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bed broke down twice. A light broke down. Another bed very noisy.

    Breakfast was very nice. Enough quantity few variety.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights not all working,fittings dodgy

    Nice location,private backyard

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    For room at ground floor facing front side, the guests sitting outside the hotel drinking, singing and talking so loud made me unable to sleep. The staff made a mistake about my booking of 2 triple rooms, instead I was given a 2-room apartment. The room is clean other than having to share one bath room together with toilet.

    Nice small hotel located next to a canal. The environment is peaceful. Excellent for a relax holiday.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    ............................... i had to go home to soon haha i wanted to stay

    what was there not to like? the music, the people, the staff, Im going back asap

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Its near a pub so it might be noisy.

    Nice location, the staff is nice. Room is clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Problem with Wi-fi

    Ok room and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Location and scenery is great!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice place, very good location, friendly atmosphere, reasonablz equipped apartment.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good location, free parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    steps from the side goes past some storiage items

    location is good

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Understanably it is not most modern facility

    The location

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The room, above the pub was wonderful and quite unique

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Hotel Pension de Harmonie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: