Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wilhelmina 3 stars

Kaldenkerkerweg 1, 5913 AB Venlo, Netherlands

#19 of 21 hotels in Venlo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    Spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and outdated Shower in the tub Shower was leaking (took one towel to soak everything up) Breakfast was less then I expected (no croissants, soft buns, no freshly cut fruit but tinned fruit, no milk or butter milk and not a lot of healthy options ) The rooms and the breakfast rooms seemed tired and outdated

    Spacious room Friendly staff Quiet even though our room was on the front where the road and train station are Nice corner with extra bed for our son

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean, central, well connected.
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there with family for a sad issue. The Hotel was a nice start, clean, confortable and close to the city centre. Great position when coming from either Eindhoven or Schiphol. Clean rooms and a good restaurant add up for a very good experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, less than 5 minutes by walk to center,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If possible, request quiet room, we had windows to street and was very noisy.

    Great location, less than 5 minutes by walk to center, parking in backyard, perfect for overnight after trip.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be better. I cannot find any vegetables! Coffe machine need repair because cafe sprayed all over around.

    Nice staff and a great location. Near to train station, but our rooms were very very quiet! Rooms were clean and warm, bathrooms also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    I'd definitely consider Wilhelmina again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice staff and a great location, literally across the road from the train station. Very easy walking distance to the town center. Not a 5-star hotel, but clean and reasonably comfortable rooms and value for money rates.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    if you're staying in Venlo this is a good choice, close to train station, shops and restaurants
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe the bed was personally too soft for me but overall is good value for money

    the staff went out of their way to accommodate us and serve early breakfast, very pleasant stay and good value for money. no extra charge for the dog and free parking which was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    A generally shabby hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room furniture poor, at least one easy chair would have been nice. A bedroom without bedside tables is very poor. The corridor carpets were faded and VERY shabby, the walls in need of painting. Breakfast could be better. The scrambled egg was solid every morning.

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. WiFi good and easy to connect. , Reataurant good but 'nouvesu' for dinner. Location directly opposite the railway station and close to the town centre,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good stay we will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs and overall presentation of the breakfast.

    Easy to find. Very friendly and efficient reception staff. Great clean room with easy access. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Venlo
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet could be more varied.

    Cozy room on the back, very quiet at night. Comfortable bed (and pillows), and spacious toilet. Good coffee for breakfast. The receptionists were very helpful and professional, I checked in in less that 3 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    The location is ideal for train & the city but in need of an upgrade.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a makeover. Shabby. Rooms very basic for 2017. Dated , carpets worn. Dinner in the restaurant had very nice food but appallingly slow service.

    The hotel has character & the location is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.6
    Would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tourist information in English,asked for extra pillow but none available, staff were unfriendly, asked for water at the bar and was told I could drink the tap water from my bedroom !

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for few hours in our room, but the room we had is in the first floor and since the hotel is built on top of the restaurant and bar, it was a little loud during midnight.

    We did not really plan to stay in this hotel, it was an emergency because we didn't know that the train station in Venlo closes during the night and we had a 4 hour waiting time before our next train. The hotel is just 1 minute away from the train station, and even though it was midnight the owner accomodated us and give us room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Perfect position, right in front of Venlo’s station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    ok will prefer better hotel next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom too small, hardly u can keep tolieteries

    Bed was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The hotel is cosy and staff helpful. I will come back to Stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Good Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In front of the train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Next to train station
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors, the stairs, the carpet are old and used.

    Location is exceptional. Nice breakfast, but no sweet available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    venlo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs a little care - stairs corridors

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Rustic but clean and comfortable and good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older decor but ok

    Rustic but clean and comfortable and good restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    close to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ..

    close to the station nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Very close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very close to the train station. Quite acceptable room size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.8
    Good enough for a night but Nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balkony was closed. Breakfast was Not good

    Staff in The Morning . Huge room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    yes, everything were very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    yes, everything were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Budget basic accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 1 soap dispenser for shower. No shampoo. No soap in sink.

    The staff are excellent. Had a very good breakfast in a bag since I checked out early.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be cleaned a bit more thoroughly.

    Staff exceptionally nice and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel very close to the railway station
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel very close to the railway station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    We requested quite room for studying reasons.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested quite room for studying reasons. It was very quiet and comfortable. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Perfectly satisfied with both the service & my accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to mention.

    Very easy check in & extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    The staff are warm, friendly, and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are warm, friendly, and attentive. The breakfast is excellent. The location is perfect for a visit to the center of Venlo. A good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small

    Location was great for both trains and public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly, smiling and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One could hear the conversations of guests in the neighbour rooms.

    Friendly, smiling and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice, clean and awesomely close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, theyand let us do check in late in the night and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    COMFY BEDS, QUITE GOOD BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BROKEN AND VERY OLD WINDOWS, UNPLEASANT SMELL ON THE CORRIDOR, ACCESS TO OUR ROOM, NO KETTLE IN THE ROOM

    COMFY BEDS, QUITE GOOD BREAKFAST

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening menu could have more variety.

    Bed very comfortable,staff excellent and location handy for town centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    If you must !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaniness of room and corridor + lift

    Old and dirty No air condotioner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    They helped me get a rental car for a day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv channels were not coming in.

    They helped me get a rental car for a day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice big room and they found a place to store our bicycles...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice big room and they found a place to store our bicycles over night. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    very kind service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very kind service good breakfast clean and nice room and everything at a good price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    Great crew ,nice and clean room,wonderful breakfast,prime...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great crew ,nice and clean room,wonderful breakfast,prime location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and perfect location with free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and perfect location with free parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    5.0
    We just stayed overnight which was enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We just stayed overnight which was enough. I wouldn't stay longer than that. The rooms are super dated and the carpets are old and stained. Not one of the three staff members we encountered acknowledged us or made us feel welcome.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    6.7
    The service, hospitality of the staff and the quality and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are a bit outdated, old furniture, old carpet. Bed was ok. Breakfast was a bit too standard.

    The service, hospitality of the staff and the quality and choice of the food in the restautrant.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    5.8
    Staff was friendly, breakfastbuffet was good, location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All interior is old, and there was not even a kettle in the room. The room was small and had fixed cracks in the walls all around. The heater in the room did not work. Asked for a double bed, got two single beds next to each other.. Too expensjve for what we got.

    Staff was friendly, breakfastbuffet was good, location is close to the station, bathroom was small but nice.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    2.9
    Great location opposite station close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No double beds available in this hotel. Beds are really very bad, bad smell in corridors, elevator and staircases. Very outdated hotel, really needs renovation and new furniture.

    Great location opposite station close to city centre.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.1
    The hotel smells "dusty", but it isn't.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Furniture needs a renewal.

    The hotel smells "dusty", but it isn't. Once the window opened, it's fine. Restaurant quite nice, breakfast ok if not expecting too much.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic rooms. But for a night stay, fine. And not to expensive as well.

    Location is good. Although street noise when the window is open. Breakfast was ok.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast, cosy breakfast room, clean room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The noise of the washing machine at 11 PM and 7 AM. The wardrobe is too small for two people. No coffee making facilities in the room. Our room facing a busy roundabout was rather noisy when we opened the window.

    Excellent breakfast, cosy breakfast room, clean room and bathroom, friendly staff, near the city centre. Free parking and Wifi.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    Everything!
    • Solo traveller

    Everything! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    7.5
    Excellent Location and friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On a Saturday night,the Bar was closed and no Fridge in the Room.

    Excellent Location and friendly Staff

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    7.9
    Attentive staff, nice room with en suite toilet, comfortable...
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be better

    Attentive staff, nice room with en suite toilet, comfortable bed. Right across from the station, but quiet at night

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    7.5
    staff getting my breakfast ready really early allowed me to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    carpets on stairs and landin need replacing.

    staff getting my breakfast ready really early allowed me to catch my train. Great!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.2
    great price for the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    great price for the rooms. and an awsome breakfast which was included in the price! Just great!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location. opposite Venlo railway station

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.1
    Directly outside the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms could use updating.

    Directly outside the train station. Well located and easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In desperate need of refurbishment .

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    Everything - including free parking and Wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None at all.

    Everything - including free parking and Wifi.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: