Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Hostel Heart of Amsterdam

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 118/120, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 DT Amsterdam, Netherlands

#295 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2075 hostel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location but bedbugs and so dirty!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs!!!!!!!! So dirty! Lots of garbage and dust inside the locker. Staff didn’t say that you need a key for locker to be taken at the reception. I had to come back and ask for it. It’s 5 euro deposit. But then he said that he told me about it. Wasn’t really nice. Same for my roommates.

    Very good location, right in the center. Walking distance to Central station. Breakfast is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location right in the red light district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite hot and stuffy.

    Great location right in the red light district. Perfect if you had a few too many beers and just want to walk around but need an accessible restroom without having to pay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff and the location is very good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel wasn’t clean enough there are bugs in the rooms and the bathroom is too small not a good place to take a shower. Also the breakfast is not very good.

    Staff and the location is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Heart of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit dark and we were staying at 3rd floor, stairway was really narrow. Locker was problematic sometimes since it is electronic.

    Great location with canal view. Friendly stuff, clean rooms and cool free breakfast. Bathroom was inside of the room which is also cool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Mixed feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom were gross. They were tiny hardly any room to sit on the toilet or to get dressed after a shower. They were Super dark and Paint falling off. It felt dirty. I wouldn't stay there again

    Breakfast was included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Recommended if you just want a comfortable bed to sleep in close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and especially the toilet in Lord of the rings room need work done. Toilet seat was very scratched and yellow, looked disgusting. The only way to store your luggage for a few hours after check out was to leave it at your own risk in the public room by the reception, where anyone has access.

    The location was perfect, right in the Red Light district, bed was comfortable, every bed had a nightstand with light and plugs, which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    You can see Red light district and girls from the windows =))))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    internal conditions of the building (walls, corridors)

    Location in a real heart of Amsterdam. Convenient and free lockers. Free towels. One bathroom for one room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    definitely a place to stay if you are in a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the toilet is the main issue,the smell is awful,it stinks+++..no shower gel and tissue paper available in the bathroom.

    i like the location.its only 10 mins walk from the central station.plenty of bars and within district area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Atmospheric adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were many signs of heavy use. You can expect loud groups of people passing in front of your door in the middle of the night.

    The Hollywood theme and funny staircases made it interesting! The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the bed comfortable. They even surprised me with a towel! The staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    The hostel theme for the rooms is good and works well with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not very clean for the most part, the shared bathroom/shower room is horrible and the stairs are very difficult because of the darkness and the height. It's okay for the price and kinda worth it, but I personally prefer better looking and cleaner places even if paying a little more.

    The hostel theme for the rooms is good and works well with the dark ambience of the the building. The breakfast was good, the best part of the stay. The beds were comfortable and the location wasn't perfect if you want to be near the station, but it's an interesting area to be staying in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, fans in the rooms, good lockers, decent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No night lamps, rest rooms in the room were dirty as hell, nobody told me at the check-in that I should bring a specific token to breakfast.The lady at the dining room interrupted my breakfast after 15min to go upstairs to the reception to bring the token. Receptionists were not super helpful.

    Location, fans in the rooms, good lockers, decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    Good spot for a solo trip, but too expensive for the weekend when compared to the facilities provide
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was dingy and poorly lit. Mobile charging point wasn't working in all beds and it was a bit inconvenient having to climb up to the upper berth every time for charging. The WiFi in the room was very poor and spotty. It is non-existent in the top bunks, maybe since they are too close to the ceiling The lady at the reception was gruff and cold. Not very helpful

    Extremely good location and close to many tourist spots

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Great when with great people!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dirty and toilet has the last visitors droppings!! This happened even though we left our bags as we were too early to check in(10 am) finally in our room at 3pm

    No crossants. Good basic continental. Staff at the desk very friendly, breakfast and cleani staff not so. Great location close to restaurants and cafe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Probably wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot, no aircon. Beds were lumpy, squeaky and pillows weren't good. Breakfast wasn't the best. The showers we're too hot and small and the toilets I couldn't sit down without my legs around my neck.

    Free towel and the staff were nice great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    Room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty floors, broken materesses, a squeegee in the shower for guests to stop it flooding. No table. And about 10 degrees hotter than outside! At least they provide a fan if you book a separate room.

    Get in amongst it all in the middle of the main red-light Street. Very relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Big room, great location, so far this is the best hostel I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative I can say about hostel is maybe beds can be more comfortable, and common area could be organized better. But for Amsterdam beds and common area are not priority so thats not big problem :)

    Big room, great location, so far this is the best hostel I used to stay in Amsterdam (in this price range)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    It's what you get for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation , small lockers , sound from upstairs travels down , tourists always outside even late into the night

    Walkable from the centre. Close to the action.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Don't stay here. I'd rather buy a tent and sleep next to the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse place i've ever stayed in. Everything from the shower to the towels was broken. Got no sleep at all due to the constant noise from the guests to the cleaners. I've been in police cells with better beds.

    The location was the only good thing. Everything else was terrible. I paid £332 for 2 nights, i think £32 would of been over priced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.6
    Was to expensive for what it is!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, and the first bedroom they gave us, is a shame that someone give you that bedroom . Not even for £2 a night.

    Was to expensive for what it is! The location is good, but is amazingly overpriced. The first bedroom they gave us was the worst hostel/hotel bedroom I have ever seen in my life.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.8
    Absolutely nothing
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly noisy, it was sleeping inside a cloud of hemp smoke. The positive reviews I had read about this place are evidently fake, I see now :( Horrible place, never again!

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Location is the touristic center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok so on the last night I found bedbugs on my pillow. Because of that I couldn’t sleep so just had a walk outside and decided to sleep at the airport. I didn’t say anything at reception because other than the guy at reception are not nice. Breakfast is poor, but I guess for the price it’s ok. Sound isolation - zero. I guess it is better to stay a bit away from the center but in a clean and calm place so you can at least sleep after crazy night without bedbugs! Maximum for one night. Not recommended.

    Location is the touristic center. The guy at reception is helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Heart of the Amsterdam Hostel Review
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quad Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is a big difference from expectation on the picture uploaded online by booking.com versus the reality when you got there. not so nice.. it must be as close as possible to reality the picture it is.

    so close and near the touristic places and the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and it was easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in the room. Beds are awkwardly laid do you tend to disturb someone when trying to get on a top bunk at a crazy hour in the morning.

    Location was great and it was easy to find. Lots of cafes, bars and restaurants open till late just around the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    "This is a budget hostel" - a very budget hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The explanation of service desk receptionist on my questioning of unmaking of the bed as "this is a budget hostel" was really poor. The hostel costed actually more than another hostel we stayed at the night before (since HB was fully booked) while providing far worse quality. 1) The fact that guests have to make the beds on their own is disgusting; 2) Lack of iron is absolutely irrespectful provided that there were mutiple irons available in another hostel, actually closer to the city centre; 3) Very bad state of the bathrooms; 4) Holes in the (very teeny tiny) towels - you should really buy new ones; 4) Lack of ladder in the bunk bed is dangerous;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    it was ok with especially location for a one night stay for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    i dont like if a hostel sells locker. If you earn from space by selling 10 beds in a one bed hotel room size room, than you have to provide a small space at least for the persons valuables. another minus, fan in the bathroom was so noisy because it was unwound.

    location, price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    No drama please
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found this hostel on booking.com but I didn't do the booking because I want to check out the hostel first. Then I arrived at the hostel and asked if they have a bed for me. The guy coldly replied, "Yes we have, it's 19 euro for the bed." I checked on booking.com earlier and it's 17 euro ;) I haven't said anything yet, but then the guy continued, "It's 19 euro if you pay now, and I will raise it to 25 euro in one minute". I was laughing inside...and said to him that I saw it 17 euro in booking.com, and of course he replied, "That room is sold out". So I stood there at the lobby and booked my room with booking.com and showed him the booking confirmation. He got confused but that ended all the dramas. I just wished that guy at the reception doesn't do drama because I hate dramas...

    It's right in the center. And for the price you paid, it's fair enough if you could ignore what is lacking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Really easy to find, less then a 10 minute walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress was too soft and made our backs hurt, especially during the first night. There are no real windows in the room that you can open for fresh air (just ceiling windows).

    Really easy to find, less then a 10 minute walk from the central train station. Staff was really nice, check-in and check-out quick and easy. Location in general superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.1
    It was good for economic angle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should be separated female and male, and the location was not good. The distance from the station to here but little bit scary. And it force me to wake up because of noisy outside.

    the staff were really friendly and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Decent stay, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been abit more accommodating, they were perfectly polite but a fake smile once in a while wouldn't go a miss! The rooms were okay, not as clean as I'd hoped but I managed.

    Room size was good for the 6 of us staying, the location was great as was right in the centre of the red light district and in perfect walking distance to other popular areas. Cleaners were nice and gave us extra towels when needed and came in and cleaned if we wanted them to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Great Location if you are here for the Red Light District.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a joint sitting in my cubby above my bed when I left for the day. When I came back to my room in the afternoon, the joint was gone but my bed was made and I had a new towel. House cleaning had come through and I suspect that they stole my joint.

    Location was great. (Middle of the Red Light District) On the weekends the Red Light District gets rowdy. If that is not what you are there for it might be too much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is perfect for those who wants to stay in the middle of the red light. Rooms are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quad Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small problem with the shower but nothing to worry. The stairs could be a issue if you are traveling with big luggage and there's no lift access.

    Location is fantastic and the breakfast is good. Our room was small but functional. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location and good value for money. I would stay again if the facilities were upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t overly impressed with the cleanliness (hairs in the bedsheets and bits of dirt / the toilet in the room was not clean nor the shelves / the decor was flaking in the hostel).

    Central location was excellent! The staff were very pleasant, helpful and a bit of fun!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.8
    Shockingly bad! Feels a bit like a prison.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start... We had a double twin room on ground which seemed perfect for us, right outside the smoking area and in ground level very handy. However there are number of signs and registration form states no one outside in the backyard between 10pm - 10am to avoid loud noise etc but this was definitely was not kept to. Loud music, banging, screaming and shouting till early hours every night a foot away from our windows and staff just didn’t seem to care! So many times I had to tell them to keep the noise down as it was 5am and we hadn’t slept a wink. One night the room next door/opposite us were throwing furniture around the room, doors slamming, loud banging, screaming and shouting for over an hour, finally staff came to tell them to keep the noise down but they didn’t listen and continued. There’s a step outside our door on the main corridor which people can’t see and trip over or down and make such a loud bang constantly. Our room was black black and more black and there were no adequate lighting it was low and poor, bulbs missing, we’d open the curtains and everyone in the smoking area can perve in! The toilet seat and lid were hanging off, no tissues, dusty and dirty floors through out, the drain in the shower stank of rotton sueage, the window in our room opens to the smoking area but wouldnt close properly, so a constant stink of stale smoke would linger into our room. We didn’t get our room cleaned everyday, maybe 3 times over the week, no clean towels or toilet roll, when it was apparently cleaned the bed sheets were stained and dirty with hairs stuck to them - gross! The staff on the desk were blind and deaf as they didn’t seem to sort the noise or mayhem in the hotel!

    Breakfast ok, vending machines very handy, hotel location perfect and the look of the reception lobby area is quirky.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Can't beat the location -- right in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the cleanest place I've stayed, but okay for the price/location.

    Can't beat the location -- right in the middle of the Red Light District.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    great location is what it is a cheap grotty hostel but since i was off my head on shrooms and weed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cleanliness and a shower that was broken also the stairs were awful and although I don't have a full understanding of the dutch health and safety policy I don't think there was any plans in place incase of a fire its a disaster waiting to happen

    location!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Only Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms extremely explored need renovation! No proper housekeeping during day:no towels change had to ask for toilet roll! Poor breakfast few pastries would make a difference! Asked for early check in-didn't happened, fine but why special request during booking! Poster saying to use toilet in room only when u need to was more than appropriate!slow wi fi! NOT EVERYONE IS COMING TO AMSTERDAM FOR COFFEE SHOPS!

    Location ,location,location!friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    The place was close to most things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was beside right light district. Dark rooms, reminds me of a brothel. Employees were not friendly..

    The place was close to most things. But do understand by the "heart of Amsterdam," what they actually mean is that they are at the heart of the red light district. Literally right beside all the prostitutes.... Honestly, I seriously debated whether the hostel used to be a brothel...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some fresh fruits might be nice for breakfast but otherwise it was good. The lighting in the bathroom was pretty dim so it was hard to tell how clean it was.

    Great location, friendly and very helpful staff. The bunk beds come with a reading light, outlet and plenty of space to put stuff you want to keep nearby. All the rooms have a unique color scheme based on a movie.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice hostel in the middle of the city for a really good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The locker they provide wasn't fully functional. I did not even use the locker at all while I was there because the system of the locker is not very friendly that the staff asked me to wait every few minutes and try it out which is totally not the best solution ever.

    I love the vibes the cleanliness of the hotel itself. The bathroom was perfect even sharing with 12 people. The hotel always keep i clean. The bed was comfy. The location was smack right in the middle of the city of Amsterdam nearby to tourists hotspot around there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    The best value hostel I’ve been in my several times in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head couldn’t stay in place and no proper water draining. WiFi speed was very poor.

    The best value hostel I’ve been in my several times in Amsterdam. Comfy and ready-to-use bed with built-in locker. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Fair breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Location perfect. Hostel as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was broken completely. They took the money from my pre with card before I even checked out which stopped me using a different card.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Noisy and old
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, my heater didn’t work, so old and dustly, they don’t have elevator

    It is en red district... close to the interesting places, some people from staff were friendly, close to central station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Wonderful location and good beds. The best is the breakfast, the worst, the tiny toilets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets in the room are so tiny and dirty (that's probably guests' fault) that there were impracticable.

    The beds are very comfortable and clean, with good individual lighting and lockers. Breakfast included was over my expectations. So good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast facility opened only 8-10..For those like me who are catching an early morning flight, too late.

    Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Can recommend to anyone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a stay with a group of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are reeeeally small and there was this horrible smell of urin in the bathroom. It looked clean, but smelled bad. Also the breakfast was really just the minimum, but alright.

    The staff was incredibly lovely and helpful, the location is perfect, we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.0
    great location, no rules regarding noise, place for all night party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bedroom was between reception and smoking area with no sound isolation, other guests screaming, partying and slamming doors until 5am making it impossible to sleep.

    Hostel was literally in the heart of amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Basic but good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, room was cold & quite noisy from other people, strong smell of cannabis coming from garden into our room and shower flooded bathroom.

    Beds and pillows were comfortable, breakfast was enough to fill us until lunchtime & location was perfect to be able to explore the surrounding areas by foot. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    2.5
    Terrible staying experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning service and towels change for 4 nights stay. Hostel facility but 3 stars charge. Never ever use again. Located at heart of Red Light area street noise countinuing all night till 5:30 am on the weekend stayed.

    None of anything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    The Hostel in the Red Light street. İf l Came again Amsterdam, sorry but l dont choose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room is really bad. And bed not comfortable.and the breakfast is no good.

    The Hostel Just central of Amsterdam, this great. You can walk dem square and Amsterdam central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Was right in the red light so close to popular coffee shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator was making a terrible nose all night I tried to resolve the problem myself but was useless

    Was right in the red light so close to popular coffee shops

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.8
    A somewhat run-down hostel in a central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looks like it hasn't been renovated in at least 15 years. Carpets, stairs, walls, everything needs to be patched up. The shower door pane was separated from the frame and has obviously been that way for a long time. Breakfast was OK and as long as you expect only the very basics. Met two different staff at the reception -- the woman at check-in was not at all friendly, the woman at check-out was very pleasant.

    The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The price for a complete quad room was reasonable. In-room locker available for a 5 Euro deposit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink is tiny.... take face wipes. Don’t attempt face wash unless you want a very wet floor. Also take ear plugs

    Great place to stay, provided lots of laughs and had a v convenient vending machine! Best location we’ve ever stayed in and I’ve been 4 times. Wouldn’t stay anywhere else if I was going to the centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    The hostel is right in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the cleanliness of the bathroom could be improved.

    The hostel is right in the center. The breakfast and the facilities are more than enough for the price paid. There's party all night in the neighborhood because of the red street location of the hostel, so if you are looking for sth calm maybe that's not the best choice for you, otherwise you will have things to do around the place during the day and the night out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice but not clean. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet wasn't clean, there seems have some insects on it. The bath room always stock after showing.

    Good breakfast! It include in the price, they provide 2 kinds of bread, 3 kinds of butter, 3kinds of jam, also cereal, tea and coffee, but be careful that the breakfast only provide in 8 to 10 am. We ask them to print document, it's free! Really thank a lot for their immediately service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Good trip on a budged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Found Bed bugs in our beds. No shower curtain or threshold to keep water flowing from the shower to the rest of the room.

    Very good hotel when travelling on budged, great location, friendly and helpful staff. Facilitates where acceptable - You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice little hotel, nice location, nice staff apart from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quad Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little hotel, nice location, nice staff apart from the Asian girl she was a little cocky and stuck up. Apart from her everything else was good. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice location, friendly staff, quiet bed dorms, decent bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Private Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we had clean bed sheets, a friend had to deal with some bed bugs. The breakfast was basic and tasty but we missed some fruit.

    Nice location, friendly staff, quiet bed dorms, decent bath room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    ideal for single travelers on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff could have been friendlier but everybody has an off day!

    2 showers and toilets in the room, locker provided with €5 deposit key option. shelving available beside the bed for storing personal items, breakfast included in price and location perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    Good for those wanting to stay in red light district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was overflown with water after 1 shower. Black room very dark not a lot of light.

    Location was the best I’ve stayed in. And for the money we’ll worth it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are old and umconfortable.

    Very well located, at the heart of red light district, very near a tram stop (Dam square) and a metro station. Within walking distance to Central Station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Very good location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy next to me snoring so loud it was impossible to sleep even with earplugs. The bathroom floor was wet all the time. It is dangerous if someone would slip.

    Very good location. Breakfast was included. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff was kind, location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For dorms, shower and toilet must be seperated imo, it makes guests wait and also harder to clean there for staff.

    Staff was kind, location is great. 5 min walk to the central train station. Rooms have concept, makes your Amsterdam ‘trip’ more intense lol.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked them some days before to have soy milk, just one package for my 3-night staying there and I would have appreciated it, but they ignored it completely. The only vegan option for breakfast was bread + bread + juice

    They were very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfy beds, clean hostel at large and a cozy common area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been greater if the breakfast was a bit cheaper so that everyone could join, even those travelling on a budget.

    Great location: a short walk from Central Station. The beds are comfy and give you a good sense of some privacy. The common area is a great place for relaxing, reading a book or chit-chatting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Perfect Hostal in Beautiful City
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift was there and stairs was so tiny. Washroom was neat but the commode seat was very old and was not in good condition.That must be change.

    Its very close by to Centrum.Very nice staff, friendly and co operative all the time. Good value for money , Clean rooms and toilets. Breakfast was also included that was Ok as far as room price per day was concerned.Overall, it was Great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good, outlets for each bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dorm rooms are pretty crowded and there is only one shared bathroom in a 10-bed room without other available showers.

    Breakfast was good, outlets for each bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    “Kinda” dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I seriously don’t like the male staff who checked me in ! He was not attentive.. He seemed lazy and rude.. I could not find my room so I go back downstairs and asked for his help. He was sighing right in front of me before explain to me “first floor, go to the right,” and bla bla bla.. Sighing? Wow! Why didn’t he just slur a curse words to me?

    Suprisingly, I love the black guy cleaner.. He was so friendly.. I asked him about where can I get the best price to rent a bicycle.. He tried his best and spent his time to help me out.. I love the male receptionist who checked me out.. Location was good, it was exactly in Red light area and Amsterdam central was few mins walking distance.. Room was okay for me..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.1
    The location is very good, and there is a bathroom inside de...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff when I checked in was very rude, he doesn’t explain anything about the rooms, facilities etc, and when I went to ask it was like he was doing a favor, the others was ok.

    The location is very good, and there is a bathroom inside de room, so you are going to share only with your mates. If you are looking for a bed to sleep this is definitely a place you have to go.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing days in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs are tight, you must watch your steps.

    The position was perfect for me and my friends needs. We were close to shops and bars. You can walk to the major locations without any problem, the distance is not that big. Each person had a safe, if you visit in a smaller group. Me and my friends had a whole room to ourselves. The heating and shower are also very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    we got a own room and so we had our own restroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we got a own room and so we had our own restroom. The place is very good but if you search for a place with a quiet night so its not suitable. For young people who wants to be in the party scene perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    Stay for not longer than 3 nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 4 floor building without a lift. The bathrooms and bed are not clean enough. And by not clean enough I mean, dirty

    The location is the best if you go to Amsterdam to do the stuff you can only do in Amsterdam, in the middle of the red neighborhood and half km away from the train station. Really good breakfast included and great wifi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    close to almost everywhere by foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should be cleaner

    The location is perfect which is the thing about this hostel!The stuff was helpful and the breakfast was okay. As for the rooms they had good space and a nice shower with always hot water

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.4
    Great location and great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly difficult getting up to and out of bunk beds without proper ladders. Bathroom smelt a bit mouldy and shower head bracket was broken but overall cleanliness not to bad.

    Beds were comfy with good storage space and each bed had its own plug and light. Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    Great location (central city) and staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Private Room (8 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dark and stuffy. Slightly unclean. But for the money it wasn’t anything we weren’t expecting!

    Great location (central city) and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in Dormitory
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (the male one) was rude. Someone took my place when I already book the bed. Not really safe for girls. Exactly in the red district

    Location is great

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Budget Hostel Heart of Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: