Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herberg, Het Wapen van Tilburg

Spoorlaan 362, 5038 CD Tilburg, Netherlands

#9 of 9 hotels in Tilburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Hotel price, hostel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny and next to the smoking area which meant we kept our windows and curtains closed the whole time. The walls are paper thin, all of the doors slam and the sink in the room gurgles every time someone uses the bathroom so its incredibly noisy. If it was half the price I wouldn't complain, but overall we had a really bad experience.

    It was clean, close to the station and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Prefect location to train and downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little noisy.

    Clean/Nice Guest house with common use bathrooms and showers. The owner was nice and helpful. Restuarant food was good and the beer was tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.2
    At least it didn’t smell bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    45* Celsius at night, no air condition and the window can‘t be opened more than 2 cm. Noise from the trains all night. At 4:30 begins the noise of the drunken guests who come back. Much too expensive. Not at all a good location for families. Incredible that it is advertised as family friendly with family rooms.

    At least it didn’t smell bad

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    A very personal touch, without missing out on freedom to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit of a high price, but that could have been because of a festival that was going on (and that we were actually attending too ;) )

    A very personal touch, without missing out on freedom to go your own way. I expected things to be really noisy, but it was not bad at all. Very lovely rooms, very housy feel, great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.6
    Just for one night, but not value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was at the other side of the corridor. Going for a bath in a mix-gendered floor is always complicated, and there was no space to leave the clothes, so no other option than going with just a towel. In the second day, only one shower was open (and I was waiting for my turn for quite some time, with just a towel). There was no soap in the bathroom, so I had a shower but just with water. Being in the old part of the town, with pubs around, it becomes is a little bit noisy during the night because of people stopping in the corner. It is above a pub and there is no reception, but instead you go inside the pub to get the key. Difficult steps to reach the rooms with luggage.

    Service was nice and helpful. Free coffee from a machine near the bathroom. The location, easily reachable by train since it is virtually in front of the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Great for students, less so for business people.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy roadworks going on outside, people shouting in the street at all times of night. Woken up many times per night with the outside noise. Not the fault of the hotel but I'm a light sleeper. Room up a very steep flight of steps. There is no lift. Guus helped me with my case up the stairs but he wasn't around to help me down with it and I struggled.

    Close to the station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money - would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtains weren't big enough and had a huge gap in between. Its very very odd and I woke up every day with the sun shining on my face at 6am.

    It was good value for money and what we expected. Great location and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, smart value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't receive replacement towels but aside, no complaints.

    Fantastic location for Tilburg station. Staff very helpful and friendly. A simple value for money destination.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    Avoid! If you want a good night rest, a nice breakfast and a kind/generous host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception of our stay was superficial and hasty. The bedroom corridors noisy. The neighbors partied till late. The bathrooms showers were not up to standard and lack maintenance. The parking space we thought to be included, wasn't. The breakfast had little choice, old bread, no butter, no coffee (available ONLY in the morning, and then out of order). The average bnb we visit scores so much better!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    A Waste of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisey. More like a converted house. Drunk people arriving in at 03.30 shouting. Very little wardrobe space as there is both a safe and a fridge in there. If the fridge is running in there this can lead to a build-up of heat which is very dangerous. Also electrical wires everywhere. Use of extension leads with too many bits plugged in. Dangerous. Exposed calling light fitting no cover on same. Dangerous. Room for two extremely small. Heat was not on first night of stay. Draught through badly worn windows. Toilets and showers are communal to all guests but are tatty and Old. Stairs up for older guests in this place would not be suitable. This in all my travels is one of the worst places I have ever stayed. I would recommend demolition of the place. Best description a damp student hostel.

    Close to station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Free Coffee and Hot Chocolate, but the machine was not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a window directly to the terrace, so everyone could watch, no privacy. Also it was really noisy and drunk people made really disturbing noises at night on the hallway. Also the trashbin in the room was not emptied when I checked in.

    Free Coffee and Hot Chocolate, but the machine was not working every morning... The location of the hotel is really good. Very close to the city center and station. Price was OK and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    Friendly place, but rooms not too comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy street and noisy hall on the second floor. No sound isloation at all, in the wooden rooms you feel like inside the drum. The furniture was not fitting to the attic room, so you can hardly pass around it. A lot of painful hits in our head from the sloped ceiling.

    The staff is really friendly and helpful. Beer and food was also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Not recommended:very uncomfortable, no bath!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a shared shower, which is in the coridor next to the room, where it is outside temperature. Impossible to have shower unless you are cold immune... There is no hair dryier or so, no nothing. The beds were very uncomfortable, only single bed in my case. There is no desk or anything. Even just for a night sleep it is much below the value of the money! Staff are not friendly, they are just trying to get their money...

    It was a little cheaper than the big hotels in Tilburg (almost same price with IBIS) but very uncomfortable! The only positive thing about it is its location! But this is not enough for the money you pay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Definitely recommend to anyone going to Tilburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my worst official travel commute day (never catching the Eurostar again unless it is the last resort!) But after keeping in contact with hotel, Guus kindly waited past closing hours for me to finally arrive. After my awful day and especially as a girl travelling by myself this was an even more appreciated gesture which I was super thankful for. I only stayed the one night but it was a great location, bed was super comfy, clean room, food delicious (pic inserted below) and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Highly recommend and thanks again to Guus for all your help! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Everything was super clean and the people working there were...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know about the rest of the rooms but the "brown" room is next to a roof terrace which means that there was constantly noise coming from the rest of the tenants that were sitting there! Also I was unable to leave the curtains open since there was constantly someone at the terrace which meant that the room had barely any light.

    Everything was super clean and the people working there were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.8
    It is a dangerous place, unmanned.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a dangerous place, unmanned. The other rooms were occupied by many drunkards which screamed a lot and slammed doors all the time. Scary, uncontrolled persons going around, in a place that has no personnel, no access control, and does not refuse such people. The bathroom was outside the bedroom, and so I could not use it. The glass upon the sing was not fixed and fell down. The so-called ''double'' room is 2 mt x 3. It is NOT a place that can keep a hotel licence. You should erase it from your list. really DANGEROUS and scary.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location - handy for station and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind.

    Excellently located, just a few minutes from the railway station. Room clean and comfortable. The shared facilities were well maintained and looked like they were regularly cleaned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxed accomodation, staff friendly, no breakfast but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very relaxed accomodation, staff friendly, no breakfast but good value. No cycle parking, but secure cycle parking at the train station across the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location in Tilburg, really close to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny, really tiny room. If you are not careful enough, you bump your head all the time. Noisy - the sound from the traffic is ok but those coming from slamming doors late at night or early in the morning can be really disturbing. Two non-working fridges, despite all the efforts of the host, trying to solve it.

    Excellent location in Tilburg, really close to the train station and 013 concert hall. Clean room, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Het Wapen van Tilburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to tell.

    It was precisely as described and precisely what we needed. Right next to the station and some 5 min walk from the city centre. Their restaurant is great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    The stuff was extremely useful and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be additional lightming in the room and the mirror in th room is too high to do make up. The bed was OK but a bit too soft which makes it difficult for the back sometimes. The room was clean but might need a little bit of decorations to make it prettier. Finally, the showers and toilette are outside and communal. They were clean,but would be nicer if the female and male areas were separated.

    The stuff was extremely useful and helpful. Provided me with all the additional info on the city and of every thing that I needed. The location was great, close to centre and station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.3
    Bring earplugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit off soundproofing would really improve the place. Late guests smashed doors, screamed and talk loudly. Had to get out and ask them for a bit a silence, which of course was denied. Did not get to sleep till 02:00 AM. Smell of cigarettes in the room via a slot under the door. The mattress was backbreaking collapsed. The night door did not close properly, found it open twice. Not a complaint, but something to keep in mind: on Mondays the café is closed and there is no permanent staff.

    Friendly staff, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location, cheap and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike cheap and cheerful.

    Great location , close to the train station , friendly staff and nice clean room , would definitely stay again ☺

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    6.3
    Nice, homely place, but not ideal for working traveller.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from road and trains, dark in the room (blinds fixed down and blacked out) and chilly when windows opened. Also, not really anywhere comfortable to sit and work (but that's only a personal issue) or place to put clothes when staying more than one night.

    Location is great and felt very safe, which when on your own, is the main thing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Extra points the cutest cleaning lady!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors are heavy and slam easily if you are not careful....and neighbors were not at 3am...

    Small room, but super-comfortable beds on a very good location. Ideal for a short trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Ideal if you just need a place to sleep for the night, after a night on the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suuuper squeeky bunk beds. Only one toilet for all guests.

    Nice clean sheets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    No no once again no
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommend, dirty, terrible room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.9
    The worst place I have been
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is dirty. On the bed you can find red or yellow signs. I was afraid for my health. The stuff is generally uncomfortable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Prefect location to train and downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy.

    Perfect location with comfortable beds and good wifi. The owner is helpful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything!!! My stay in Tilburg was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    3.3
    Not very happy with this place at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything

    Not what I expected Nothing to like

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.2
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness, cold rooms, noisy quests.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    everything we need was there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking facilities

    location and price and it was clean and free coffee

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    2.5
    Bad experience
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was worse than an hostel but charging like 4 star hotel

    Very bad it was

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Not a good price/quality balance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for just a small bedroom.

    Good location. Central and close to the trainstation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    I liked it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mediocre bathroom

    Great location and cosy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.2
    Great location near trainstation but horrible inside.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. There was dust every where. They didn't vacuum the room.

    The location is good just across the trainstation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    no parking, unpleasant receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking, unpleasant receptionist

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    Proximity to city center;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom/toilet; small beds

    Proximity to city center; low price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the water in the showers isn't hot enought

    the staff was amazing. Guus was very friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good boutique hotel, close to O13 arena . Walking distance to several restaurants and even has a good restaurant onsite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    The staff was really friendly, comfortable bedroom, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested a double bed but we got twin beds.

    The staff was really friendly, comfortable bedroom, nice terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    6.7
    No bathroom in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    8.3
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold in the room and too cold in the hall with bathroom

    Very good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.1
    Visiting a concert in 013
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night when other people come back late at night.

    Has a nice pub

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    Good beer and good burguers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good beer and good burguers. Friendly staff. Great price and good overall environment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have been better

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: