Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Bovenkarspel hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Het Roode Hert

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Het Roode Hert 2 stars

Hoofdstraat 235, 1611 AG Bovenkarspel, Netherlands

#3 of 4 hotels in Bovenkarspel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 405 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 47

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay in a former historic inn in the quiet village of Bovenkarspel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was a very historic inn that has been extended to the rear, this part is where the bedrooms are situated. The hotel is in the quiet village of Bovenskarspel which is on the main railway between Enkhuizen and Hoorn The nearest shops are in the next village of Grootebrook a 20 minute walk. Bovenkarspel has no night scene to speak of but it is possible to get to Enkhuizen , Hoorn and even Amsterdam by train. This may not suit everybody's requirements but the village was ideal for me due to family reasons.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All Good: no negatives.

    Charming hotel in a great location. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast tasty and plentiful, and the staff friendly and helpful. Even my bicycle enjoyed it's stay indoors. Ideal for my trip around the old Zuider Zee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start. Bathroom from the 70's with no place to hang the towels. Stains on the carpet. Stains on the office style chairs. Tv on the desk not in front of bed so no chance to watch tv from your bed. Curtains with no blackout so good luck with sleeping late. Bed ok. Basic breakfast with a small insect in the tea. This place didn't feel loved by it's owners.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    It was okay. we had no complaints. and just good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One chair in the bedroom was a bit chintzy and no hooks in the bathroom..

    Breakfast was good in a rather imposing dining room. Our room and bathroom was rather spartan , , but very clean. We felt it was good value for the money. I t was very well located for the famous Museum Zuider Zee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    very happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon, so had to keep windows open for air. The result was room was noisy from outside traffic and I had a bad nights sleep. Also at night when you turn off lights they turn to a mode of just simmering on which also affected my sleep negatively. i like a dark room to sleep.

    Staff very friendly, room very clean, comfortable and modern, breakfast great, new bathroom. Central, near bus stop and station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room was cramped. Towels were tiny. Stairs up to the rooms are very steep.

    Close to the station. Nice room. Breakfast was ok - usual cheese/meat sandwiches. Not a buffet though. Didn't sample the restaurant proper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value. As a base for exploring this part of the Netherlands, hard to beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are in a more modern extension and very simply furnished. Facilities are small but very modern and sparkling clean.

    The old part of the hotel is very atmospheric with lots of ornate timber. The quality of the food in the restaurant is very good with a wide choice of dishes. Service is good with no language problems.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    It was not bad
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Requested to check out late on Booking.com and they said that my wish is approved but then when the check out Time came I had to pay more and that was not mentioned on the website

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    10
    All fine , pets for free.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good restaurant

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean, small room, very fair rate and top class restaurant on site if you need it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the rate my expectations were exceeded.

    Rooms are small but great value for the rate. Staff are very friendly. The restaurant is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    All that was on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi

    All that was on offer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly personnel, good restaurant, good rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Restaurant Promotion
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly personnel, good restaurant, good rooms and value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    A great stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Restaurant Promotion
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    We were lucky, very unexpectedly discounted for the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were lucky, very unexpectedly discounted for the excellent place and service . I advise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    I go to sray when I visit my friends nearby, I go there more iften
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the train station so easy to travel to and from the hotel, a realky short walk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Good service
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Nice stay at Bovenkarspel, to see our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went there to see friends and enjoy their concert nearby, and we had a good time and a wonderful stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    the history and decor of the greater rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the history and decor of the greater rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you sit on the WC there is no space the front wall is very close and you almost can't sit properly.

    Cool old house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.5
    Very bad Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor service !

    I did not receive breakfast for 5 days for which I paid !!!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    Friendly stuff
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small beds

    Friendly stuff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.6
    Breakfast was nice, but limited - the lady brings you cheese...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was extremely small and not very clean.

    Breakfast was nice, but limited - the lady brings you cheese and bacon - that's all. Also we have noticed that she gave somebody cucumbers and tomato, but we didn't receive them. Not very nice. Private parking.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.8
    I like almost everything about the place.
    • Solo traveller

    There's no trash bin in my room, and no iron, and any water cooker.

    I like almost everything about the place. It's comfortability and quietness.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    Good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms need painting and furniture in the room is plain. windows have gap and needs repair.

    Good food Nice furniture in the restaurant comfortable beds clean value for money

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    the bed was very comfortable the staff extremly helpfull and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not much room on the toilet.the stairs were abit steep but it was a very old building so not realy a negative.

    the bed was very comfortable the staff extremly helpfull and the restaurant was excellent .

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff are super kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff are super kind and helpful. The hotel has lots of character and charm. The price is amazing especially considering the wonderful breakfast that is included. We were treated so great by all the staff. The rooms aren't fancy but they are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and super clean. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    I was on a cycling holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was on a cycling holiday. this is a great hotel to stay. It is in a beautiful location and I had a nice walk in the evening. The food in the evening was excellent. There is a special menu with a 3 course menu with really tasty food. Breakfast was nice and Dutch. The rooms as good and the service is excellent. The downstairs of the hotel has a lovely restaurant with traditional furniture and very grand. I was there on a Thursday night.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    The room is basic, but clean and great value for money -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The room is basic, but clean and great value for money - comfortable place to lay your head. We had dinner and the quality and service was fantastic, with nice touches- aperitif and sorbet. Very friendly staff and a homely feeling

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds very small. Room and corridor looked rather tired (and stained in places) and in need of refurbishment.

    Good location. Easy to get to town centre. Shower room looked newly installed. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked interesting.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.5
    I thought the owners were very professional and couteous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I thought the owners were very professional and couteous The surrounding area is very peaceful The restaurant must be very good because it is filled with locals every night

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    Great dinner!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Great dinner! Friendly staff with good services Value for money

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    6.7
    Restaurant and staff service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant and staff service

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    8.5
    Bathrooms modern - large shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Central heating had a few air bubbles. Took long time for hot water but it did come and was very hot.

    Bathrooms modern - large shower Superb food

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    2.5
    Alles
    • Couple

    Alles

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    8.8
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad to write about

    Quiet. Easy parking. Superb modern bathroom. Excellent dinner. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    The location was where I needed to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was where I needed to be. The restaurant is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Kind stuf excellent food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kind stuf excellent food

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    Outstanding Food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outstanding Food in the restaurant. Room clean if a little small.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.9
    excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.8
    I liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked everything. We were allowed to park our bicicles inside. Great restaurant, worth a long detour by bike!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    Delicious food, furniture in resataurant/lounge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs too narrow

    Delicious food, furniture in resataurant/lounge, friendliness

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    All and the kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All and the kitchen

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    8.3
    Very welcoming staff, an unusual dining room with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very welcoming staff, an unusual dining room with an excellent 'menu' evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs may be a bit steep if you have one too many to drink lol

    Staff Room size Private bathroom

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    9.2
    Nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The radiator in the room was not turned on arrival, so it took a while for the room to be warm.

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    6.3
    Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cold rooms, took a long time to warm up. Old, could use some maintenance.

    Restaurant

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 47

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: