Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Het Scheepshuys

Teteringsedijk 196, 4817 ML Breda, Netherlands

#6 of 26 hotels in Breda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 419 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    The room was very comfortable, we slept very well and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot say anything bad about the hotel, maybe is not so close to the city center but they have bikes!

    The room was very comfortable, we slept very well and recovered from our bike trip. They had toys for children, my son could play in the garden and also in the room! The breakfast was also amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    it's a nice small boutique hotel that has a fair...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing :)

    it's a nice small boutique hotel that has a fair location ( can tak bus from station and city center ) we would like to have a bit early check-in and staff is quickly arrange through emails and texted me ahead.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a beautiful city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a lovely hotel . Tastefully decorated, friendly welcoming staff who really make you feel comfortable . I hired a bike from the hotel which helped me explore the beautiful city of Breda . I recommend this hotel to anyone . I will be returning 😘

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    We loved our stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was wonderful!

    We loved our stay here!! The owner was extremely pleasant and accommodating. It is a beautiful place to stay and we would stay here again if we were in the area. The rooms were lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was perfect and we rated this boutique hotel and five star! Thank you!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in at 4pm.

    The location is 25 min walk to the city centre. A pleasant walk on a sunny day. You may even take a bus close-by. Friendly staff - we had a good welcome from the nice owner. Clean and spacious room. Good breakfast. Small parking space but ample place in front of the hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful and relaxing place to stay, however location & smell were a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was disappointing (looking straight onto factory building, not sure how you can describe the location as "idyllic"?) and there was an awful smell in the room coming from the sink. I also wasn't too impressed with the picture of Kate Moss in playboy outfit exposing her breast in the room. Bit tasteless and not very woman-friendly in my opinion.

    The staff was friendly and welcoming, the was building amazing and very nicely redecorated, comfy beds and the breakfast was superb. We used the cycle hire service, very good value for money, good bicycles and hassle-free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to make your own Tea or Coffee No coffee machine in the breakfast area Very much noice from traffic i slept very bad woke up all the time from cars driving and passing by It is a main street to the centre ,much traffic. No security during night You have to call the staff member or owner if something happens or call just 112 that means. If something really happens you will be to late !!! Before somebody finally arrive’s things could all ready be way to late

    Location Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have a parking but a space is not guaranteed, so if you move your car to go into the city center you might come back and not have a space. It is also quite far from the city centre but the bus stop is 5 min walk from the hotel.

    Very nice and welcoming owners, always willing to help with any questions. Lovely hotel and rooms, with toiletries which is always a plus. Breakfast was also very nice and varied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming and a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its hard to fault the property but maybe the location would be an issue as it is further out of the main town centre, but this was not an issue for us during our stay.

    The rooms had been recently renovated and were very comfortable and well appointed. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and check in was easy, we also received a glass of wine to help us settle in and relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    - very friendly staaf
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - no internet during stay (also because of raodworks?) - because of roadworks difficult to find parking, but we got a better room to compensate

    - very friendly staaf - very good breakfast - possibility to rent a bike

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Great little place with lovely breakfast and garden to enjoy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in the city centre, but still okay to walk for about 15-20 minutes from the train station

    Great little place with lovely breakfast and garden to enjoy a late-night beverage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice decorations bring a feeling of home.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a bit distant to city center. The loft is nice but not easy for those carry big luggage.

    Nice decorations bring a feeling of home. Breakfast is simple but impressive with quality. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Basically all necessary shops are within 10 minutes walking. The mini garden provides a good place to relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic little gem in Breda
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and helpful staff, great breakfast, great atmosphere. Loved the little folder in the room that contained info and the history of the hotel. It was clear that the staff were all really passionate about the hotel and that the recent refurbishment had been done with care and with attention to detail.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Swish Scheepshuys
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee in public area. No microwave. I needed to cook porridge for my cholesterol level.

    In a beautiful, newly refurbished house from 1927. 12 rooms all tastefully decorated. A real treat. Owner allowed us use of the fridge. Had a cup of coffee on arrival. Would have liked coffee/tea facilities in room or publIc area, at least. Lovely garden. Ability to park car. Hammock.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Wanna sleep in a boutique hotel? You are welcome!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one chair in the three person room and hotel is not close to the center. One of the beds in the triple room is not so comfortable as the other two. There is not free electrical socket in the room so you have to unplug the lamp to charge your phone.

    This hotel is very nice, the building is fascinating! The staff is polite and helpful. This is one of the most romantic places for couples in love! You will remember your stay there!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful period piece....... well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great experience, For the owners nothing was too much bother , extremely welcoming, helpful and pleasant. The bikes for hire were excellent, Breakfast had most things that one could want, unless you were really picky (viennoiserie, cheese/ham, fresh fruit, breads, eggs ...... you did not have to leave hungry ! Beautifully presented. A bedroom with all l needed, A lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Very cosy, good for car users
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, because is a bit far from the centre of Breda, however if you travel by car is perfect because you are close to the motorway and the easy way out of town. I was travelling by train and the station was about half and hour walking.

    The hotel design is very good, the quality of the rooms very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous boutique hotel in strategic location, lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous boutique hotel in strategic location, lovely staff. Easy to find with secure car park. Very comfortable beds!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    No sockets for Electric toothbrush
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sockets for Electric toothbrush No sockets for re charging telrphone, i pad, etc. Bathroom exceptionally small

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great back yard for laying in the hammock and enjoying sun.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great back yard for laying in the hammock and enjoying sun. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    We ate at a local restaurant called Spice and Ice which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic outside. On a main road. Main light in bedroom did not work.

    We ate at a local restaurant called Spice and Ice which was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    This was overall a perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was overall a perfect place to stay. The breakfast was very good!! Only thing that bothered me was that our room was a bit too cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a charming and civilised place to explore Breda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    As you would expect of a boutique hotel , it was luxurious and welcoming. Very personable and relaxed .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant place with nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    had to carry the luggage up on some abrupt stairs

    location , architecture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming property with cosy rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming property with cosy rooms. Excellent service. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Excellent would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent boutique hotel, good location to walk to the centre of Breda

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Good vibes & atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good vibes & atmosphere!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Cosy hotel with a history behind
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very cosy and a nice design hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice staff, clean rooms and amazing beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff, clean rooms and amazing beds!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely staff and great hotel. Works if you have a car to get around as it’s not close to anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold and toilet is not in the room but fine to visit.

    The staff are amazing and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    You really feel like home!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You really feel like home!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Staff was friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and helpful! The room was cozy and clean and breakfast was good! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Beatiful hotel, warm staff, very relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely welcoming, warm and great atmosphere!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Cosy and historical place in Breda
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast options were limited but ok

    Nice cosy hotel with nice garden and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, excelent wifi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Perfect breakfast and perfect service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect breakfast and perfect service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The hotel owners were very helpful and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel owners were very helpful and very friendly. Lovely hotel with a nice feel. Breakfast was just right.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    4.6
    Would not return or recommend
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Warm and Welcome Boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, friendly staff, nice room. We like it!

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: