Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Het Witte Paard 3 stars

Oude Bredaseweg 15, 4872 AB Etten-Leur, Netherlands

#4 of 5 hotels in Etten-Leur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    Just about OK. Things perk up if you pay for breakfast, as that's good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    A towel, when unfolded was dirty. The shower had mould on the ceiling. The room was musty. Someone else was booked into our room after us, opened the door with their keycard and walked straight in. Luckily, we were there. Luckily, we were fully dressed etc. But it was an unnerving error of their checking-in staff. However, this is not an expensive place and for the money we paid, we didn't expect much so it wasn't a disaster and I wouldn't go out of my way to go back but I wouldn't avoid it, either. The breakfast, though not cheap, was good.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.9
    unhelpful staff, dated & disgusting rooms, not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    photos misleading(they are of the bar),pubic hair in bathroom, lights broken, carpet dated and stained, rusty radiators, no phone in room(only in dingy corridor, poor wifi in room, dated room, unhelpful staff, noisy drunk people at night heard from room, noisy in the morning(got woken up), they just want the money, not worth the money, Worst hotel in Holland in my opinion, STAY FAR AWAY!!!

    the location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    As bad as the rooms are so friendly is the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small, stuffy, window can only open 10 cm, far too little in summer. The rooms are very noisy. We were kept awake from the snoring of a guest in the room next to us. Toilet stank of old urine. Mattresses were completely sagged.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful. Food is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    It did the job,but would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room,thin walls,not enough sockets,nowhere to put anything in room or bathroom.very worn and tired decor,bed tilted to the right.

    Location,friendly staff!Restaurant and bar area nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant and I will use this hotel again in the future!
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking can get expensive. The hotel has only 5 free parking spaces. If they are full you have park on the street and pay at the meter during day hours.

    The staff were very friendly, the room tired, but adequate. Pleasant bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Everything was spot on price food staff could not have...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on price food staff could not have pickef better place for our return journey home will put it pn my to revisit list on next trip to holland

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.1
    It was fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and you either had all th blankets on or all off - no in between. Difficult to find - the signage was not prominent.

    Location to visit our friends

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Charming and worth the three star rating it has. The dinner in the restaurant was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in tub needs a safety mat. Kinda slippery for this ole gal and tub is pretty high. Americans like showers and this property is very Dutch, so tubs prevail and more handrails are advisable in the tub.

    Yes, I made us scrambled eggs. Yes, there was wait time. But there was also no rush.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    Advise to have a hotel reception, improve rooms and install phones in rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is no reception!! The restaurant staff takes on the responsibilities for the hotel guests. They do this sufficiently. However: -- there is no reception, no staff at night -- the rooms have no telephone. It seems that the owners are focussing on the restaurant facilities with the hotel as an "add on". This is a serious downside for hotel guests. The rooms are very simple indeed.

    The breakfast was good and in nice environment with music. Sylvia who serves the tables in the morning very helpful The location is very much centre town. Weekend nights live music closeby till 12.00. So, guests need to be prepared for that. At the back is very nice park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    6.0
    Arrived at twelve, as told check n not possble until one o...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at twelve, as told check n not possble until one o clck, came back after walkng around for an hour. was then told there is a mistake and can only check in at two o clock. Not very happy about this

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    breakfast was a great value and really relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    was expecting a double bed, as that was what was advertised, but it ended up just being 2 singles pushed together. photos were a bit of an exaggeration in terms of quality

    breakfast was a great value and really relaxed. view of the park and church were lovely. it was quiet and very central!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little basic, but generally OK.

    Nice location with a good bar. Very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Local bars and restaurants are a few minutes walk away and well worth a look.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.2
    A hotel with an extraordinary kitchen!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed there several times before, and also had dinner. The kitchen has always been good, besides a nice hotel with good value for the money, the food has been an extra reason for staying there. I had to write this comment since this time the dinner was even better than before, it was really extraordinary! //Louis

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Very good bed was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Very good bed was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and comfy lovely little town with plenty of places to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have coffee making in room

    Friendly staff room clean beds made each day and comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was fine ,very nice selection ofvread
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is still a query on the bill regarding a room payment

    Breakfast was fine ,very nice selection ofvread

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Very small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit difficult to understand where is the entrance in the hotel.

    Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Practical and warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel hanger next to the washbasin.

    Cozy and friendly staff. Warm ambiance. Excellent food and wine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyable 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very tasty, breakfast tasty Would not hesitate to stay again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    2.5
    Party night in the town could not sleep until 12.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Party night in the town could not sleep until 12.30 need to start work a 6.00am

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    2.9
    Poor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value. Nice breakfast and bar/restaurant in the evening. Great wine selection, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    The glass partition outside the window was absolutely filthy...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass partition outside the window was absolutely filthy and caked in cobwebs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Euros 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly friendly, very polite and gave recommendations for the town which was also lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful restaurant & bar and morning gourmet breakfast in charming town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms a bit small, but ok

    Fantastic gourmet buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Delightful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delightful setting

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Stay for son
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfaat

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Very nice to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a rather small bath.

    Very friendly personnel and great breakfast/lunch room an we had a nice quiet room at the park-side

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great Hotel & Location in City Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly warm staff,,great location, easy to find, very clean & comforatble

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    5.4
    Welcome on the Hotel of money Is king and profit Is queen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Welcome on the Hotel of money Is king and profit Is queen Customers? They have to adapt as the owners have not been hungry for a long time To make it short the owner could sell our rooms at a higher price to other customers without booking.com So they proposed an alternative but of a poorer standard at the same price ....they initially requested more money than what we booked on booking!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    5.8
    Location and outwardly the building had a lot of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms was small with no facilities to make coffee or tea. Bathroom poor with no automatic temperature control on the shower. The breakfast table is not very varied and I did not expect to have to cook my own eggs!!

    Location and outwardly the building had a lot of charm.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.7
    No charges for a pet
    • Couple

    When in the restaurant, the bar maid brought us a wrong size of beer.The "service" from the waiter was poor: there was no salt/pepper on our table, and we had to take it from another table, as the waiter was not to be seen. The tea light lamp on the table was not put on although the sun had set - there were guests at two tables only.. You can have fried eggs or an omelet for breakfast - but you have to make it yourself.

    No charges for a pet

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    I liked the location and it was very close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    I liked the location and it was very close to the centre The people are extremely friendly and very and helpful I am a vegetarian and I had a choice of various meals and also around the town centre they have lots of local shops bars and restaurants very easy to get around and walking distance from the train station. My stayed was great I felt like I was at home a feeling of sheer comfort. I invited all the belly dancing ladies to come back from the workshop for lunch and my friends where extremely happy too

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    8.8
    The hotel location is perfect,3minutes walk from the center,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    One of the workers, the tall man wasnt smiling at all and giving aggressive face. Prices at the bar a bit expensive. Room area small.

    The hotel location is perfect,3minutes walk from the center, 5 minutes to train statiin, very quite and beautiful area. Most of staff are so nice smilling al the time speaking englishbreakfast was so good. Hope to come back again and I recommend it to anyone seeking a comfortable place

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    10
    very nice people and helped us a lots
    • Business trip
    • Group

    very nice people and helped us a lots

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    4.6
    Located centrally in Etten-Leur
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not comfortable, the rooms look old.

    Located centrally in Etten-Leur

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    We were on our way to Belgium and decided to stay one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on our way to Belgium and decided to stay one night on the road. Great place and wonderful dinner.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    6.7
    Location/Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Location/Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    5.5
    Goo restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Goo restaurant

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    Was warmly welcomed and the service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was warmly welcomed and the service was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.6
    Helpful, friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful, friendly staff; park view room.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.2
    Separate (late nite) entrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Separate (late nite) entrance Breakfast Gardenview Clean & comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    5.8
    location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    beds, and no private parking

    location

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: