Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Heynen 3 stars

Broekhem 40, 6301 HJ Valkenburg, Netherlands

#12 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though I really liked everything about the hotel. Just to give a mention: you can only pay by cash.

    Kind and helpful owners. The lady serves you the breakfast everyday with all warmth and happiness!! I was really new to the country and the owners really helped me settle down. Also I must mention that the hotel is walking distance from the Valkenburg station and is close to the Centrum! The city is a calm and pretty one. A few supermarkts are just at a walking distance from the hotel. Believe me I was in so much comfort that I stayed here for more than a week. And the breakfastvis really filling.. :) totally loved you guys!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Towels in bathroom could have been better, hand towel was so thin didn't dry you properly and the bath towel was too small and again on the thin side so took a while to dry yourself.

    Warm and friendly staff. Lovely clean bright rooms. Plenty for breakfast, too much really.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patron and his wife were charming and most helpful. The room I had after the first night was most comfortable and on the ground floor which suited me. I am an old man who is partially handicapped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice clean rooms. The owners were very friendly. The property is easy to find. It is within easy walking distance of the train & bus station and the beautiful town center. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast and lovely owners. We had to leave very early on the last day and they prepared a breakfast box for us. Nice renovated bathroom. Very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are smiling and helpful people! we had to leave the room early in the morning and they were so kind to prepare us a basket to take away for our breakfast. The hotel is very close to the train station and to the center, really easy to reach for people without car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My experience was consistent with the more favourable reviews below, bearing in mind that this is towards the budget end of the price range. The room was kept clean, the water was hot, and the room was quiet even at the weekend when the hotel was full. I found the managers very hospitable. You need to be prepared to pay in cash and be aware that, as in many towns, a city tourist tax is added (it's in the booking details). The hotel is 10-15 mins walk from central Valkenburg and 10 mins from the railway station. Across the road from the hotel is a bus stop for Maastricht (#51 half hourly) and Gulpen (#49 hourly) which is the transport hub for the surrounding villages. Both these routes pass through the centre of Valkenburg. I got around with a two day OV bus Toerpas, €9.95, sold at the VVV. Breakfast comprises a boiled egg and a tray of cheese and cold meats with various types of bread. It is filling but without variation. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have a clean bed it's not the main things in hotel business. No hospitality,staff not friendly at all. Breakfast....!!!.Better if they wrote:no breakfast. 1 boiled egg with 2 thin slices of ham and chees + bread is not a breakfast. Such kind of breakfast hostels offer for free. It's only for one night standing place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very wheelchair friendly,only one ground floor bedroom which was very cold and damp.The choices for breakfast was limited to continental only.I think there could have been a choice of yoghurt and fresh fruits.It was extremely hot in the bedrooms so a fan or air conditioner would be good to have as the opening of the windows was limited.

    The location was good,and the cleanliness was excellent.The beds were comfortable and the hosts very amicable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful, quiet place to enjoy your holidays. Excellent quality, everything you need included. We just felt as warm and comfortable as at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR STAY IN HOTEL HEYNEN

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like having the same breakfast every morning.

    Clean and well decorated room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good service as always, free parking, friendly owner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and good parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very caring staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have been more choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air-conditioning - noisy road (front rooms).

    Good price for this type of hotel - very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. It suited my overnight visit.

    Professionally run family hotel. Free parking available. The breakfast included is simple but fit for purpose. My 2nd floor single was a tad small & a bit budget, but seemed newly renovated & was well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed could have been one matrese and not two small bed attached together

    The owners are a nice couple. They give really good service. The breakfast was good. The rooms were small but comfy, we didnt need more than that. Really a good value for money hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Group

    I visited this hotel 3 times in the last 18 months, because it is nice family hotel near to the hart of beautiful Valkenberg and very close to Maastricht.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A bit tired looking at reception.

    We really enjoyed the breakfast and the suggestion by our hostess that we should visit the local town was absolutely spot on.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would be nice to have cereal included in breakfast menu.

    Nice friendly people, nice room.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was too soft for our taste.

    Location in de centre of valkenburg

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good, local style breakfast. Excellent Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was poor

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to city center, clean, quiet place, very nice people, will be back.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent small hotel with 10 minutes walk of Valkenburg centre. Room was of a good size and was spotless. Bathroom excellent, with quality fittings.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, welcoming and informed owners, great room, nice backyard, good breakfast and a beautiful huge cat :)

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Missed wifi.

    Quit hotel and for the fair price even a simple breakfast was included.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: