Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4 stars

De Boelelaan 2, Zuideramstel, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#237 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1419 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Corner Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found it expensive.

    We booked for 2 seperate bads, but they had a room with one single king bad. Although we checked in lately, they areanged a good room with 2 seperate bads rapidly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was clean in the room.. the shower/tub was a little dirty. But that was my only complaint!

    Staff was great and really helpful! The hotel is literally next to the tram and train station, which at check in the receptionist told us exactly what tram to take to the city center and back. She also told us that street parking was free, which was a bonus! We only had to pay for one night of parking at the hotel and we found sports close to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Corner Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk staff and restaurant staff were not friendly ... rarely helpful ... occasionally downright rude.

    Housekeeping staff was efficient, friendly, and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was too warm, AC was off, windows could not be opened

    Nice bar/breakfast setting, great to get to from Metro, great rooms. Cute idea having Angry birds in the elevator..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Corner Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a walk-in shower when I booked, it was overlooked. One Dutch female receptionist was not very friendly and answered questions in a way just to get red of you, she was not doing her job in the right way she is supposed to. Although exec. room, the bathroom is outdated. No close supermarkets or restaurants. One complimentary water bottle, and none was added. Half of the TV channels were not working, hardly an executive suit. Breakfast was the same for 6 days, with fewer options than other hotels. Restaurant is relatively small to the hotel capacity.

    Room upgrade by Theo was a nice gesture, and he was very friendly. The location next to RAI CC, metro and tram stations. The bag with room service supplies if room is not cleaned due to the sign. Ice machines.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I came my room was not clean. I took picture of the the towel also were not clean. The staff were not helpful and friendly.

    The R floor was so nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    I was greeted well and allowed to deposit bags early before later full check in. I only used the hotel for sleepover (no food/drink or other facilities used) but it was very handy to be so close to train station and RAI conference centre. Room was clean and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my stay was not good at all there was alot of noise in my room and i couldn`t sleep ; i tried to change rooms 3 times but the noise is in all the hotel its nort comfortable at all its not worth the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    30 euro for parking each night... and my water took forever to go out the shower.

    I love that there is parking right at the hotel.. and it’s only a 15 minute drive to centrum city and red light district... and the staff were very cool and a big help 💪🏾😎💪🏾

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant (I think I was just unlucky) didn't meet expectations but after I raised the matter the hotel and staff were excellent in addressing it and the costs were removed from my invoice.

    Great rooms, excellent friendly staff and when there was a problem the hotel staff were excellent in addressing it and the associated customer care was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location especially when traveling in by car as there is good parking facility in the Rai. Very friendly staff and even a (probably temporarily promotion) free Starbucks upon arrival. We certainly will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a tad pricey but was to be expected for a hotel bar

    The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. Tram out back takes you right in to the heart of amsterdam. Cant go wrong

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast which was included in the price was excellent. The room was spacious and the 2 double beds accommodated 4 of us comfortably. Good location little bit out of the Center but easy tram ride to get there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location for working at or visiting the RAI its only two stops on the train from the airport and then a very short walk from the station, lots of restaurants nearby and a couple of supermarkets all ATM not far away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We are still waiting for payment back - the hotel overcharged us for breakfast however we had breakfast included in the rate.

    We are still waiting for payment back - the hotel overcharged us for breakfast however we had breakfast included in the rate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the mornings, our wake up call was the fire alarm. The alarm sounded and this is obviously an advantage when there is a fire but it continued to go off and we evacuated our room because we were not told otherwise. when we got down to reception we asked about the alarm to find out that it was a false alarm but for future reference, it would be helpful to alert guests that it is indeed a false alarm rather than having guests panicking and evacuating their rooms in the morning.

    The bed was extremely comfy, room was very spacious and I was made a member and because of this, i was able to check in early and check out later at 2 pm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold and the heating did not seem work properly. Also, it was very noisy. The bed was uncomfortable, mainly due to the small, flat and lumpy pillows. Staff at the breakfast were quite rude and abrupt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Corner Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in very late and not gust oriented Personnel’s are accountability but not more responsible Internet was poor specially at night

    Close to Train, Tram

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had called and emailed the staff, but my requests were all not answered. After my arrival it was confirmed that my request mail had arrived, but had been ignored. No compensation, just a short apology. In addition to that I had sign both that I would need to pay 2ü0 euros if I possessed or consumed illegal drugs on the property. Felt like a criminal.

    Breakfast included fresh fruits. Bar and restaurant had good style

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Corner Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold - 3 outside walls - and the heating system was poor so we got two electric heaters. That helped but it did not make the room any more pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old and could use an update. More importantly it doesn't have a hotel shuttle service from the airport although it is a Holiday Inn. Very disappointed.

    The room was clean and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think getting to the hotel from Schipol is a little difficult and it might be helpful to consider a Holiday Inn controlled shuttle - perhaps connected to 2 or 3 Holiday Inn or IHG properties. Cost is a little higher here than I think it should be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service poor at dinner, but we discovered they have to cover room service too, so perhaps not surprising. Difficult to locate entrance by car as the start of the drive is shared with a commercial car park. A sign at the turnoff from the side road would help.

    Decent size room with two large beds. Well locates for RAI.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating. The room was so cold because the switch off the heating when there is no card. Due to the snow though, it was very cold outside but also in the room. The 2 small AC airways can’t heat up the room adequately. I had to take the blanket from the other bed and sleep with 2 blankets. Service at the Restaurant: Paniked, stressed, they brought me a glass of water with the lipstick from the previous person on it!!!

    Location was good. Also the room was big.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant / bar did not function at all. Personnel were overlooking guests (didn't take orders, didn't come when requested to pay the bill, gave wrong advice), guests had to go to the bar to get orders or pay the bill.

    Easy to book. Fast check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Corner Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good size room. Excellent choice for breakfast. Loved the complimentary Starbucks coffee. It's location to RAI and tram stop was 300m straight to centre of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Carpet was very smelly please find some kind of febreze spray. 2. Before going to bed I ordered my breakfast for 6:30.. But at 6:45 I was told my order had not been taken in. Had to leave for my meeting hungry. A bit of a shame

    Surfaces were clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While Starbucks are offered within the hotel, the drinks are not 100% identical with the ones offered at the original stores.

    Very close to the metro and train station, taking directly to the airport. Amazing bed and quality of sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little further out than most hotels however this was not a problem, the hotel is located a 2 minute walk alway (if you go out the back exit) to the tram terminus, metro station and bus station so an excellent location and only a 20 minute metro ride to the centre. Unlimited travel tickets for 3 days around Amsterdam were only €22.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiles need grouting but it was clean and had a powerful shower.

    The staff were nice. The room was big with two double beds. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was a flat screen tv with English channels. There's a Starbucks on site and a pizza service that runs until 6am.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King Corner Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved the executive room we stayed in. The whole hotel is just what we wanted and the tram took us straight into the centre. Angry birds in the lift was a nice touch would definitely go back

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a business and you are going to a fair/expo at the RAI, the Hotel is just round the corner. The area lacks some good restaurants, but overall it is good for the scope indicated above

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Corner Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with housekeeping. Day one the only half cleaned our room. Then day two they didn't clean it at all! As they said we'd requested no cleaning, which we didn't as we left at 8.30am that day and knew we weren't back until 10pm.

    East to get to using the metro. And better value than city centre accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly clean. Bathtub could have done with a little more attention.

    Friendly staff, all talk english. Very helpful and ready to answer any questions. My room was upgraded to an executive suite which was fantastic, 15th floor, great view from hugh baloney. Quite and tidy room. Breakfast was fine, a lot of food options. Bottle is around 20minutes drive from the centre but is serviced by the metro which take 15mins to get to centre. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Corner Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath and tiling in bathroom was dated. Bed, bedding, decor and everything else was good but having paid 200 euros per night, would have expected better bathroom - a shower curtain is quite dated these days in my opinion.

    Great location for the airport, RAI and train station. Didn't use another taxi during 4-day business trip - used trains and metro including back to airport. Very quiet around hotel so got a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Corner Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too old , itchy. Bathroom and toilet very old, not clean. Hotel elevators do not require room card to access. Therefore no security.

    Closeness to rai station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you have an event at RAI Conference center this is the best location. It is also exactly next to tram 4 line, metro station and train station. It si one 12 min train ride directly to the airport and easy to get around Amsterdam using metro and trams. The hotel has been recently renovated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect! The AC in my room did not work, but the maintenance person came immediately and fixed it and left a chocolate bar for me! Very nice staff!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Corner Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom needs refurbishment. Traffic noise can be heard at times. Breakfast always cold. Coming up to finishing breakfast time 10am, you feel rushed out, therefore you have to arrive 30-40 minutes in advance.

    Nice comfortable room, Hotel is well located near the train station and Tram stop. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice comfortable sitting area with big flat screen TV in front lobby. The Hotel is very modern in appearance as you enter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Corner Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    please remove asap the dirty old carpet from the 9th floor, it will make a huge difference to the 'quality feel of the hotel', it is a pity as the rest of the hotel is nice, clean and even hip.

    Ground floor, restaurant, lounge area , room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included Hair on one of the towels No stops or restaurants near Nearest shops about 15mins walk Restaurant quite expensive

    Easy to get to the train And trams Quite location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy room because of some constant fan or air condition that was not able to regulate to get normal silent conditions for sleeping.

    Location was excellent. It is close to train and metro station (13 min by train to the airport) and close to Congress Center RAI.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) They should at least give two small complimentary water bottles every day. 2) There is no eating place close by. 3) There is no super market close to the hotel.

    1) Tram for Central Station is hardly two minutes away. 2) Metro station and Rai train station are not more than 4 minutes walk. 3) Staff is cooperative 4) They give concession coupons for different attractions in Amsterdam. We availed the coupon for Hop on Hop off Bus and Boat trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last day there was an Asian origin man, maybe Chinese, he was assigned as a waiter during breakfast, he misbehaved many times! I asked for a baby chair, which he provided and when I thanked him, he replied ok thanks and bye bye have a nice day, then he came back and told me to help my self as this place is not a casino? Ok! Like I am a mother of two children and I was there with my family and I am never the kind of person who would ever go to casino, it was very insulting for me. Then again he crossed by while I was giving food to my baby, he commented that hope you are enjoying although this is not a casino! Seriously I wanted to slap him right at the spot but definitely I didn't wanted to ruin the rest of our day while creating a scene there. I felt like crying as when he said that a lot of people looked at me..how could the hotel management employee such a person? Just to insult their guests like that??

    It was a great trip, Rai Amsterdam Central Station and Tram stop was just behind the hotel, there were grocery shops and a whole lane of restaurants by walking distance, we were very satisfied with the location, too calm and very nice breakfast with nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After disembarking a cruise ship which docked in port at 8:00 am, we arrived at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam much earlier than check-in time, but they were able to have a room ready for us within an hour. The front desk clerk was also very friendly and helpful in providing us with a map and explained the tram system for reaching popular tourist locations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival, the staff told that my room was sold and I had to go and find another hotel. It was a guaranteed booking, prepaid. It took me up to the GM and to call booking.com to get the staff to get me a room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We weren't given a room until one and a half hours after the designated check-in time, which coupled together with us arriving a bit early meant that we had to spend our first two hours in Amsterdam waiting at a hotel reception. While the room we ended up having was on the top floor and it was a larger room (one of the 'executive' floors), I would have happily stayed in a normal room which was available on time. We had booked a standard room. More annoyingly the staff kept telling us the room will be ready in 30 minutes. Once we were in the room it turned out that it wasn't even cleaned properly. The only alternative we were given was a room with better disabled access which we didn't want in case somebody else needs it more than us. One of our towels was not replaced after the first night and we found the general cleanliness of the room was not great. There was rubbish on the balcony from the previous stay.

    Bed was very comfortable. Location is great as both the city and the airport are within 15 minutes by metro/train. The hotel is also very close to Amstelpark which is amazing on a nice day. We were offered free Starbucks coffee because of the delay which was nice. But again I would have preferred not to have been delayed in the first place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing that can be better in this hotel is the breakfast, I think the hotel with these facilities must have a better breakfast it should be available for different nationalities with different religous.

    I had a comfortable stay in Holiday Inn hotel. I went to Amsterdam to visit the exhibition it was very close to the exhibition about 5 min walk and also to the subway and tram, too, so I could go to city center easily. Generally it was a good stay for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with City View - Top floors
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In January, booked and paid for 2 executive rooms, for 2 nights inJune. We arrived early so our rooms were not ready. We checked in and left our bags in a locked room at reception. On returning to the hotel at 6pm, we were told they had ' given away one of our rooms that afternoon' and told no other rooms available but had a room available in another hotel. As we were travelling with a larger group of 40 people, this was not acceptable.When we asked to speak to a manager, we were told there was none on the premises. When the trainee receptionist realised we were not going to go away, she went into the room behind reception and would not come out. After standing there for over an hour, we were given keys to a second executive room!! Unbelievable!!

    Close to trains and trams.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked I put in close to the railway, unfortunatly it was not amsterdam central but amsterdam rai. Saying this the transport link between each of the stations was very easy and frequent.

    The room was spacious and the bed was very wide, could have slept 3 in the bed with comfort.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was hectic the first day and coffee facilities weren't fully working, also the bacon was undercooked to our liking two of three days

    Perfectly situated for our trip with very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room warm

    Had a nice relaxing bath but only realised in the morning that there was a minibar with cold water in it- room quite warm but couldn't keep the window open. Certainly would recommend and stay again!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks expensive and is around 15-20 minutes by tram into the centre of Amsterdam.

    Bed very comfy, hotel,very clean, staff friendly and helpful, good breakfast and evening meals were lovely. Great location for Rai convention centre and tram and train station 2 minutes walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The windows couldn't be opened. I would've liked to see extra blankets or covers in the room's cabinets.

    The comfort of the bed was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verry nice; good food; the breakfast was delicious, huge variety of food. The rooms are very big am comfortable. I higly recomand this hotel. This was thw best hotel in which I ever staied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the city center but super close to the metro and tram. Also information regarding the breakfast, I lost it on Monday because on the weekends it's served until 11 but no one informed that on the weekdays it was until 10.

    The room is great, super confortble bed, love the bathrobe and the size of the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very rude and sarcastic. When I asked the lady at the reception how long it would take to go to the airport in the morning and how much time in advance do I need to go to the airport. The lady was rude and sarcastic and said that as I don't have a private jet and I am a private airport and as I am not the only person flying, I should go there early. It was not a joking conversation either. . Such sarcasm was not required for a simple question for a new visitor to the city. I arrived late as my flight was delayed, tired and hungry , only to be told that the kitchen was closed and the only thing available was a pizza or Cheese platter. The location of the hotel is so far from city centre, that there was literally no options to eat. The receptionist then gave me a website for a local delivery I could order, which took more than an hour and half to arrive, by which time I was already sleeping. I asked for a Iron board and a UK plug adapter, for which I was told to sign a declaration that I would be charged €50 euro's if not returned or damaged. The adapter never worked in the first place and I had to go to reception everytime to change it to a working one - poor service. I checked out early in the morning as I had an early flight. The receptionist took it upon himself to order a taxi although I had arranged one myself through Uber and was upset that I did not take his taxi. I would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend. If you have a choice, stay elsewhere.

    Convenient to walk to the Convention centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants near the area of the hotel

    Area is good but it far from center about half an hour by the tram But the hotel is near the station / easy to find transport

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient access to public transport and location for visiting Amsterdam (15 minutes by Metro to Central Station) . All you need for good breakfast is available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a 4 start hotel just because of the Holiday Inn legacy. Otherwise, the room itself was not up to the standard. Wardrobe hinges were broken. Toiletries were not sufficient and not replaced. Iron didn't work, intercom didn't work. However the staff did take corrective measures as soon as they were informed. But, I had to inform them.

    Location was great. Easy access from the airport via a 10 mins direct train to Amsterdam RAI station. Hotel is at 3 mins walk from the station. Getting to Central is also very convenient by Tram 4 and by Metro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too noisy: old windows that need to be replaced by windows better stopping the noise of the very busy traffic. Old airco system continuously making noise, even when switched off.

    Hotel and rooms comfortable, but without any character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we liked everything

    The hotel was conveniently located close to the RAI Convention Centre. The open lobby area had a good vibe. The staff were friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking a table for 7.30pm and eating our mains at 10pm, leftover food from previous occupant in fridge for whole of stay - I even put a note on it 😔 Tea and coffee tray not replenished, floors not clean from previous guest and very dusty room - all reported to reception but nothing fine about it !!!

    A wonderful reception to promote new lobby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with City View - Top floors
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning didn't work which made it uncomfortable, we advised staff and moved room but didnt work in that room either

    Awesome breakfast and really helpful staff!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with City View - Top floors
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault this hotel the staff especially bar staff and facilities were just phenomenal defiantly will return to see some friendly faces highly recommend this hotel ❤

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay at the holiday inn... will def be back :) the receptionist Daphne was the most cheerful,helpful receptionist ever ... she's very welcoming... loved the hotel overall ... great location and easy to get to dam spuare on tram etc :) barman was a funny wee man too .. great craic :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I checked in they gave me the house rules for having a dog at the room, where it was mentioned that it is not allowed to leave the dog alone at the room, only when you visit the hotel restaurant or hotel bar (why not restaurants/ bar outside of the hotel?). I came all the way to Amsterdam (from Luxembourg) to go out with friends so I didn't have the intention to take my dog with me. After the hotel created an uncertain situation they came with a solution

    The hotel gave me a free upgrade, 2 free drinks and I only had to pay 15 Euro for 24hrs parking. The room was brand new, clean, modern and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location - there is a bit of a suburban feel already where the hotel is located, although it is just besides a major transit terminal.

    the breakfast buffet was great, with big selections and lots of healthy, fruity options

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathrooms require overhaul. Stained toilet and tub. Overall cleanliness needs improvement.

    Location next to RAI Conference Center and public transportation access.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at check in was very slow, we had to wait 20 minutes as there was only one staff member on the desk although others were sitting in the office. We also had to change rooms as the tv was broken. We were shocked at the price of the bottled water and were disappointed not to be given clean cups and supplies of tea and coffee everyday.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendly reception staff. I felt judged and looked down upon by them. The scrambled eggs were cold in the breakfast and watery, the bacon though was delicious. Bonus points for pastrami as a meat option in the breakfast table, it was really good! They didn't offer any transportation to Amsterdam RAI, and I had to drive 30 minutes to get there due to roadworks blocking what otherwise would've been a super easy access.

    Loved how spatious the room was, bathroom was really nice and clean, bed was comfy, and they offer a selection of pillows. The best part though was the lounge/bar/restaurant hybrid they have on the first floor. It's really casual and cozy, there's TVs tuned to sports games if that's your thing, with couches around. The food there is great, served fast and with a smile - if only the people at the reception were as friendly, I would've rated this 5 stars.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great apart from the location being quite a way out from the city centre, 20 minute taxi rides can be very expensive.

    Very nice hotel. Modern, clean, comfortable and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was full. Had to roam around to find a free spot on the streets. Bathroom was ok but was lacking some good feel. Every corner was yellow. Lining between the tiles was yellow. Doesn't match the standards of a decent hotel.

    Location, area of the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff who were always happy to help. Really welcoming upon checkin and extremely helpful. Perfect location and a lovely Hotel that I shall be happy to recommend

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've left my travel adapter for charging in my room after my check out. And after return nobody can find it. Nobody has seen it while cleaning. That was really unpleasantly

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: