Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Leiden 4 stars

Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG Leiden, Netherlands

#10 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3467 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I used to stay at this hotel on numerous occasions in the past. This time the hotel felt very dated and it didn’t age well. Especially the swimming pool facilities and showers there were in a need of an upgrade. Sauna was out of order during our stay. The staff at the restaurant was not very helpful, the breakfast was poor and well below 4* standard. My daughter made a coffee in one of the coffee machines on the way to the breakfast table and was accused of stealing the coffee by the waiter! Without having to ask her first whether she paid for her breakfast iin advance. She was told -“ the coffee is not for free, you know, but be my guest” which I found very rude and that incident spoiled her morning. Definitely not a romantic place to stay, but reasonable for a business trip or a family stay.. Dissapointed this time around.

    The reception staff was very helpful and pleasant. The parking facilities are great compared to other hotels in the Netherlands.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms windows going out to the patio (no direct daily light) - it should be mentioned in the offer.

    Good option for families with kids. Nice staff, clean swimming pool, indoor playground for chlidren, breakfast variety, big parking place. Walking distance to the Corpus Science museum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisy in the mornings due to the restaurant but ear plugs were provided. Breakfast was a bit expensive.

    We liked the creative design of the restaurant which had a water feature with tropical fish and turtles. We enjoyed hiring bikes at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently close to the A44 and the city centre, very good room with a/c and a double bed with 1 large matrass, nice setting of the restaurants with natural trees and a pond with fishes. I really recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms towards the inside do get some noise from the restaurant. But, its usually not a problem in the night. Rooms are a bit small.

    Child friendly hotel. My 4 year old loves going there. The play area inside the hotel is a great place for kids to unwind and parents can hang around in the adjacent restaurant area. Breakfast is great. Ample parking space. This is our 2nd stay in same hotel and we would go back again for sure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms could be bit more clean, we came for the Leiden Marathon and the hotel was supposed to be the official hotel for the event., but when we checked the front desk people did not even know this, therefore could not help with late check out and having able to use the shower after the marathon.

    Rooms are fairly big, common areas like the lounge are very spaces and good to have small group discussions, plenty of parking spaces at a reasonable daily rate, did not eat at the hotel - expensive, close to a very good super market.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms accessibile via outside corridor only. Others located at the busy, noisy diner floor. Bit outdated furtinure. No vending machines.

    Family friendly hotel, busy in the weekends when non residents come in for diner buffet including swimming. Nice facilities like pool, fitness, play area. 360 Parking for easy access to all rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite having been forewarned that there was a disabled person, and requesting a room as close as possible to Reception and lifts, we were allocated a room which must have been the furthest away. However, after making a complaint, we were quickly given another room very close to the lift.

    Comfortable and clean room. Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, location in a 20 minutes walk from Leiden central station, playground for kids, swimming pool and even sauna

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was so warm! The AC didn't work at all!

    This hotel was very pet friendly! Absolutely loved that we could bring them with us! The breakfast was really good and the location was perfect. About 20 minutes from the beach and 15 from the Kuekenhof!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhappy about booking.com , it was indicated free parking but I was charged 5€ per night. It was indicated 20€ extra for breakfast, but hotel charged 20€ per person

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - problem with parking gate, each time doesn't work with room card - have often problem with room card for access in hotel - small room

    - not far from sea - swimming pool - good price for value for this season (May)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Housekeeping was poor- missed cleaning the room twice, didn't put enough decaff, didn't replace toilet paper and towels (once). 2. Charged us for peanuts we had not used and argued with us about this subject. 3. Did not supply with all traffic information (shuttle bus from the hotel to town)

    Breakfast was ok, decor was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is necessary to have the curtains always closed for some privacy.Food OK but expensive,25 euro for one buffet plus extra for tea and coffee.Nasty local 5 euros a night tax,and another 5 euros to park in what looks like the free one of the two car parks. Odd layout for this Hotel with each room having a large window looking out to a public corridor. During our visit children were allowed to treat the dining room as a playground unsupervised by parents or staff.As the food is self service it was a problem carrying hot food about. This hotel is not good enough to justify its high cost(154.33 euros per night plus all the extras)

    Happy cheerful staff,nice rooms,lovely dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have provided more teabags and proper milk - powdered milk is no use in tea No USB charging facilities in the room (didn’t find any in the computer area either) As an EV owner, we required a ‘type 2’ socket to charge the car, but you only had 8 standard domestic sockets (well done for providing those), but other types of charging posts would be very useful

    Large bed, plenty of spaces for clothes, plenty of towels, complimentary robes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms have a very thin wall to outside. The door is the only "window" to get fresh air. You hear every noice, really every word spoken on the floor. We had luck and got a room with view to the parking and just left the door opened for an hour at the morning for fresh air. But there were a lot of rooms looking at the garden restaurant. Swimming pool is small and only usable for kids.

    Good location, in 10-20 minutes with car you can visit Leiden, Haag, Katwijk, Noordwijk etc. Room was also Ok and clean. Air condition makes the room good also in hot days. Also a very nice garden restaurant. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's not really free wifi (in theory there is but limited to only 4mb, if you want more you have to pay).

    Good for kids, with playground and swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    we did not come across anything we did not like

    My partner and i had a wonderful time. all the staff at the Hotel were absolutely wonderful, friendly, helpful and nothing was ever too much. A special mention to Luca Piras in the Ocean Bar who made us some fantastic tasting Cocktails and was very attentive. he brought that extra special bit of something to our trip to Holland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is cold when coming in/out of the rooms in the outer ring (especialy after going to the swiming pool)

    very good breakfast very nice swiming pool open until 2300 (indoor, heated) very kind and helpfull service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inner ambience, the fun filled atmosphere, the family friendliness. Simply great. It's perfect for families with kids where the kids enjoy their stay and the holiday as a whole. Besides, it's easily accessible to Keukenhof by car. So, families would enjoy the tulip garden and the hotel atmosphere. Thank you, Holiday Inn, Leiden. Keep up the good work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet cost were high. Thankfully kids under 12 eat free with every adult meal when we were there. But the beverages for the dinner buffet are not included so that made for an expensive meal paying for three adult meals-when one "adult" is a pre-teen that eats like a child still not an adult. The quality was ok for the dinner buffet and they didn't seem to replace the food that was eaten up if you ate later. So the selection became even smaller.

    The facility definitely met our expectations. Check-in was quick and easy, free parking, easy to get around the hotel, clean areas, and friendly staff. The kids were given a box of goodies that they were thrilled to have something just for them! The center of the hotel is the restaurant, children's play area, and indoor pool. We were very pleased with the set up and we would rate this hotel a great place to stay with a family. Unfortunately the "family room" is a standard room with two queen beds. With a family of 5 we had to get two rooms which added to the cost. It was an easy drive to the gardens for the tulips and the windmill town. Very nice indoor pool and the kids loved the ball pit that is in an indoor play area. The breakfast buffet is a English breakfast with European breakfast foods as well that was delicious! It seemed a bit high in cost, but it got our days started off with a full belly and no one was complaining about not enough to choose from. Overall, we are very happy with the stay and would recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be quite noisy as rooms facing directly out onto quite busy corridors, but most of the time it was ok.

    Friendly, interesting and lots for kids to do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Automatic light in the lady changing room delayed too long. Bike hire wa a little expensive at €10/day.

    Very high level of cleanliness, helpful staff, excellent parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great; fit our family of four snugly. We spent most of our time out and about so it worked for us. LOVED the fact that we could rent bikes from the hotel. Breakfast was good. The pool entertained my kiddos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room cleaning needs improvement. Some facilities like Microwave, Iron and bathroom slippers could make the stay more comfortable.

    I liked the hotel lobby and easy access. Very nice parking. Good and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed thinking that it being Holiday Inn, the breakfast was complimentary...come to find out it was 19 euros per person...this is extreme. Ended up eating breakfast at McDonald's for under 19 euros for all 5 of us.

    Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast and the dinner buffets were excelent. The pool was outstanding and the opening times from 0630 to 2300 allowed us to use it at the end of the journey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexible catering.. we reached the hotel at 9.45pm after a 13hr flight and the buffet got over at 10 so we didn’t get a chance to have dinner.

    Starting the trip for the tulip garden this place was a great place to stay. About 20 mins bus ride from the tulip garden, this place offers a great breakfast and very child friendly environment. They have a nice heated swimming pool and many other play activities (play area with jumping castle/ pit with balls/ video games etc) for kids to enjoy during your stay here. The rooms very quite comfortable but a bit small for a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) The room walls are very thin so you can hear everything outside. Cleanliness- 4/5 Rooms 3/5 Breakfast 5/5 Staff 4/5 Proximity 3/5

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its too far from the City Center, no nearby cafes, supermarkets, etc. A small microwave in the room could be more helpful. Breakfast at 19,95 Euro per person is expensive!!!

    It is a good place to stay in Leiden especially if your travelling with kids. Overall good. Very close to Corpus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have been slightly bigger but was alright for our needs.

    The hotel had a lovely feel. Very child friendly and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was very comprehensive, catering for all tastes. Pool and gym had great opening hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No slippers in the room.

    Very good breakfast, that's the main reason I choose this hotel again. Staffs are very kind and friendly. It is a good choice for family with a small child. Not very far from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside, the hotel looks small but it isn't until you step in then you'll realise how massive it is! We thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast and dinner (can be quite expensive) but bear in mind that it is buffet, so this is reflected in the price. The pool was nice and warm and it is also generous in size. There is a play area for children and a beautiful secured fountain in the middle of the dining area which has turtles, which is also a lovely attraction for children. I cannot fault this hotel except for it's location but it shouldn't be a problem if you are driving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. Not much in room for accommodating your stay, no iron, no coffee pot, no alarm clock, no atm onsite. We had to pay for coffee, which is usually provided in room or up front at other hotels. There was a way to make tea, but I prefer coffee in the mornings, fresh not instant. Could not iron our clothes. The cost was about 200 US dollars per night and we have had much more included at much cheaper hotels, including ones with a jacuzzi onsite.

    Clean facilities, kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family rooms (to accommodate larger families) would be the only thing that would make it better !

    Perfect for a family ! Great food options after a busy day of travel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanness not 100%, but still reasonably good.

    Very good for a holiday with children, many activities for them. Breakfast and room service also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the bill at checkout, but it was resolved.

    The buffet was great and the staff was amazing. The children's play area made our trip more than expected for our kids and the holiday events were fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. (WiFi sometimes).

    The easter bunny and the 2 playgrounds and cinema for kids where fantastic. Very good and friendly service and many (easter) activities in and around the hotel. Breakfast was good and the choice for kids excellent. The pond with turtles and fish in the indoor garden restaurant create a good atmosphere. We stayed in a room with 2 large beds and a good view into the jungle playground (open till 21 hours). At night the sounds of the burbling of water inside I found quite relaxing - but very considerate - ohropax are offered for those who do not. Parking but also several bus stations are nearby - a good location for visits to Keukenhof and Duinrell. I personally was more positively surprised by the hotel than by the attractions. Good value for money. We had a very pleasant stay and we can recommend to friends and families with children (age 4-10).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little out from the city but having said that perfectly suited to see the flowers. Hotel slightly outdated and I can imagine some rooms are slightly noisy overlooking the eating area.

    The hotel exceed our expectations since we were expecting a budget hotel given the price range but it was very far from it. They’ve created a great feel with the water features and tropical area with koi fish and terrapins in the communal eating area. The staff were very friendly - we were greeted pleasantly, helped plan our tourist outings & were so good with the children in all the arranged activities. customer service was excellent & attention to detail was superb e.g. small notes to guests in the bathrooms in case they had left any toiletries behind, the choice of a soft vs hard pillow & amazing child care facilities. An excellent place to stay with children if we are in the area again we would choose to stay there for sure - great job Holiday Inn!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bad was not the size for 2, at the most it was 1 and a half. Rooms without windows or you cant open them, fresh air would have been much better. Swimming pool was dirty, even with paper. Poor breakfast and dinner variety.

    Free parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom light gets turned off automatically. Cannot leave light on at night. No window to outside in room making it a bit claustrophobic...

    The swimming pool. It being child-friendly. Good, wholehearted meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That our room was not really attached to the main hotel and we needed our key card to get inside for breakfast and to use the other facilities. Our room was across from what looked like the delivery area for the hotel.

    It seemed to be under construction at the time of stay. Our room was more of a motel type room, we had to walk outside to get to it as it wasn’t attached to the main hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything. It was noisy, i became sick of the breakfast which was way overpriced. Couldn't sleep because of noise from water pipes and people running

    The turtles in the pond

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room for 3 (my wife and our son, 4y.o.). the room was small and low level quality compare to the price (125 €). the configuration of the hotel puts rooms with view inside a big "hangar" with the restaurant, kids playgrounds : it's very noisy. other rooms have outside view, more quiete i guess. the kids playground is small with few activities packed with ultra-activ teenagers, don't go with a child... same for the little swimming pool... once again, it's really overpriced, this hotel for 75 € breakfast included would be fair... very disapointed. we always spend week-ends in Holland, so we exactly know what to expect from an hotel at this price...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean, and a bit small, but well laid out. No iron or ironing board in the room, and no safe in the room.

    The hotel was easy to get to from the highway. We liked the dining area and kids room just off the dining room. The main entrance was nice, clean and spacious, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality and the choice of food was rather poor. For the price almost 30€ per person (eg. dinner) you could have more expectations. Tennis table just one piece and always occupied. The soccer table should be for free.

    The room and the bathroom was clean :) Lovely that you do not need to pay extra for the meals for the kids under 12. Availability of the swimming pool :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast had very bad cost-benefit. room 104 was a bit smelly and no room in this hotel had windows that could be opened. the bathroom light was automatic and very bright, so entering at night I was blinded.

    located very close to the site where I had to work. free of charge plenty of space to park the car. my room was large. the bar was well equipped and staffed offered some complementary cheese and bread.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal preference but one to be expected at some Holiday Inns..the room is in need of a carpet change and updating. Not sure what cleaning fragrance they use but it’s one that I would quickly end in favor of more natural scents.

    Great facility for kids to run around and use up all that energy before sleeping. Unfortunately, I never made it to the dinner nor breakfast as we arrived for the Christmas market (5 min drive ) and ended up eating out. Parking was on site for around 20 euro and location was near the markets - what we expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Last time i stayed my room opened to the outside rather than into the hotel. But this time i asked to have one opening into the hotel and it was a lot better.

    The swimming pool, gym and sushi bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the bath towels wasn't clean and because the lights in the bathroom were motion-activated they turned off while I was in the shower. They needed a longer dwell on them.

    Had an excellent meal in the restaurant

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free WiFi is too slow.

    Great location, 25 minutes from Schiphol airport, easy access from highway. Close to Amsterdam and to Hague, many places to go out in the evening also in Leiden. Comfortable spacious rooms, quiet and clean. Excellent food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy access from highway, close to Amsterdam and to airport. Very clean hotel, friendly staff. Excellent meals. Nice night bar. Excellent for business and family trips, close to lots of attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not particularly nice. Although we can't say they were rude, most of them were quite unfriendly. Their overall attitude was quite unpleasant although in a very subtle way. We didn't feel very welcomed at all.

    Once inside, the hotel is very nice (the outside is really ugly), with a lovely water feature with fish and turtles, which our daughter loved. There is also a very nice pool for the whole family. The room was big enough, clean and smelled really nice and fresh. The buffet breakfast and dinner were very nice, varied and very well cooked. Parking was very good, no problem parking by the door and it was free, which for Holland was a first!! A big plus was also the fact that we got there quite early but our room was ready so we could check in straight away. It also has a late check out compared to other hotels, which is also nice and gives you a bit more time to enjoy breakfast without rushing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffer dinner and breakfast were too expensive for the variety of food provided.

    The facility was very large. It has great activities for the kids with a large play center and a swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly warmer swimming pool water. Noisy till quite late due to the proximity of the rooms to the restaurant

    Very child friendly with so much for kids to do. My 5 year old had a blast and we look forward to visiting again and again! Very impressed with the common restaurant area. The buffet breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy both from neighbours, and from outside. It was next to outside smoking/meeting points, which also means this non-smoking room was quite smokey.

    Easy accessible location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place for a family stay (and even more so for several families of friends staying together, with children). Very spacious (room, bathroom, but also halls and inner courtyard) and children friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange layout of rooms with no possibility to open windows for air. Very chilly in the restaurant at breakfast

    Warm pool water. The pond with fish and turtles. Great coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The playground just outside the room, turned out to be quite rumorous in the morning.

    The room (2 queen beds) was quite big, the breakfast was fantastic, and the dinner (buffet) was generous (starters, main dishes, desserts) and the quality was very good. The staff was helpful and very professional. The playground is ideal if travelling with small kids. The hotel is optimally served by public transportation and the shuttle service nicely covers peak hours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Small rooms. A room for 4 and for 2 persons are of the same size. The difference is additional double bed. Extremely small for 4 persons. - No windows - Out of city center, no view

    - Children playground - Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI Limits.

    The room, while small was very comfortable. I did like the Wi-Fi features. If you offer free WI-FI then why have a limit? Why have a middle option at all. The restaurant was amazing and the facilities for kids made the stay very nice. The outside hallways were a bit musty but thats to be expected in a wet country like Holland. All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room window was directed to the restaurant and therefore was close and no light from outside.

    The location is close to the airport and Amsterdam, the breakfast is good, free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Apartment was opening towards parking lot. Felt less private and like a stay at a motel and more cold.

    Swimming pool, sauna were nice. breakfast was Ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds slighty hard, family rooms double bed, but just 140cm. WiFi is free, just 4Mbit. Breakfast ok, but rather simple. Coffee machines at breakfast area often need service. Family rooms bit small.

    Parking on site and swimming pool. Good flatscreen in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is facing the restaurant and therefore it was noisy in the evening

    Familiy friendly facilities (including pool), very nice and helpful staff, breakfast buffet, bike rental and pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    every thing was perfect, parking, Staff, Facilities, Cleanliness, Comfort, breakfast ...etc. it was really a great stay. and sure I will stay again in Holiday Inn where ever I go. the breakfast for my kids was free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towels to be used for the pool are the towels from the room which should also be the towels for the bath. There are no windows in the rooms which can be opened (all windows are an inside windows to the hall). The beds are small 1.4 m

    good location Good WIFI Nice pool and kids playground Very good breakfest

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom water drain is not ok (Collecting water in tub and very slow drain of water) Room lighting not good. need more light. Breakfast not good since its no changes in food items. Every day breakfast items are same (have only one menu). Swimming pool is not clean.

    Sauna, Decoration, Bed, Staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. We will go there again!

    I loved the pool and sauna, especially when the weather is not so great outside. From the hotel it is easy to get to the beach, Leiden or Hague...all beautiful places. For families, I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only concern was we paid for our dinner in advance by cash,and when we checked out they said we have not paid for for the dinner because we paid by cash we had no proof as the waiter kept our card,this upset us and put a shadow over our stay with them,

    Could not fault anything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioning was not working good, the room is small and too tight, don't really like the settings of the room!

    I like the location of the hotel because it's close to the roadside. The food, gym, play ground and the swimming pool was nice 👌💝!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of noice, not firendly, very expensive compared to what you get, food quality poor. I would not advice anybody with some quality requirements would go here..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pressing iron in the room. No information about shuffle bus.

    It was a perfect place for kids.More could be done to improve. But we were satisfied because our kids enjoyed their stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet at dinner was low quality. Dirty pool (guests), guests not knowing how sauna works and taking kids in it

    Fruit at breakfast, quite isolated rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a baby bottle warmer available on request of needed. The kettle took a while to boil when warming bottles up ! Found the bathroom hot tap a faster way in the end haha ! The bar staff did give us a perfect sized bucket for putting hot water and the bottle in though. Not really a complaint or something I didn't like, more a little constructive criticism.

    So clean. Very friendly staff. Very helpful when it came to accommodating the baby's needs. Delicious breakfasts..big enough variety !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very noisy. Absolutely not sound proof.

    Very kids friendly hotel. Fitness, swimming pool, the breakfast buffet, ... Close to the center en close to Valkenburgs Meer where you can drive with a real steamtrain!!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Leiden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: