Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hofje van Maas

Hogeweg 38A, 2042 GH Zandvoort, Netherlands

#23 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Zandvoort

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 844 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and nice location within short walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Wifi, but I didn't really mind.

    Quiet and nice location within short walking distance to the beach, dunes and the city center. Terrace, fridge, free coffee/tee. Parking spot for 8€/day (next to the dunes, easy to walk there).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    car parking available - at a fee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Ground floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress was uncomfortable, felt the springs. Mix of old and new furniture - did not match. Not much privacy when on ground floor, difficult to leave the curtains and doors open as neighboring apartments seem close by. No teaspoons for making coffee.

    car parking available - at a fee. Soft bedding

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place for a sleep and a shower.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small place, furniture needs to be updated. Bathroom sink had a drain problem. Not too bad, just annoying. Staff were excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    It was the perfect 3-day escape from our regular life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that could be improved is having fresh instead of instant coffee available.

    The location and room were both adorable, the beds were comfortable, and the hotel is located very close to the city center and the beach. The staff was very friendly, they upgraded us to a better room because the hotel wasn't fully booked and let us stay an additional night without any issues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.4
    Not bad, but could have been better
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking place was quite far away by foot and inconvenient since guests usually have quite a lot of baggage. Apart from that, to get to the room one needed to climb some very steep stairs so our dog got panicked and we had to carry him every time up and down (our dog weights 25kg). If you bring a dog, make sure you ask for a room on the ground floor. The room was rather clean but we were expecting a better comfort. Unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable with extremely soft mattresses bigger than the bed frame, so they were hanging over the edges of the bed. As mentioned, the mattresses were too soft and we had back pain in the morning both I and my husband. The rest of the furniture was nice and we liked the small kitchen we had in the room. Another aspect we didn't like was related to the bathroom/toilet. The shower and sink were very small and not practical and the toilet seat was too high (but that is quite typical for Holland). As a general comment, the hotel was ok but it depends very much on the people's expectations. We would have chosen another option given we knew the quality level in advance.

    The location was really nice, very close to the sea but also to some small hilly area perfect for dogs. The center of Zandvoort was very close too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice secluded quiet clean room in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's pathetic really but window wouldn't stay open above door (no8)

    Comfortable double bed which did make room a tad small but wasn't a problem..nice little flat screen tv..great that you can step outside door into a decking/balconys type of garden area with table n chairs..another nice touch was having a refrigerator an kettle in room which saved me euros

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.6
    Never, never again!
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very, very dirty. Dirty floor, dusty armchairs, dust everywhere. MOLD IN A BATHROOM!!! In the shower you can set only "hella hot" or "cold", and it's changing suddenly, so you can get burn. Disgusting smell of cowshed (no exaggerating) WiFi was working only on 1 device.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Sweet backyard good location rooms depending on which one you have
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we had not such a nice room because it was directly at the entry gate and therefore as it was in the first floor we heard everybody passing by and could not open the window (no fresh air). The room had a second floor which we had a look at and it was really dirty but we did not use it anyway and maybe it was not intended that we use it. price versus what you get could be optimised.

    Sweet little backyard. Easy and relaxed check in . nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel/apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location great, the room and balcony fantastic, the bed however was way to soft . It was a twin with them pushed together, but beds came apart. But was not important, I would highly recommend this place .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.4
    Good location for Keukenhof, the bulb fields and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "nearby" parking was a 10 min walk away and the breakfast available at an extra cost was in a restaurant 10 min walk in the opposite direction to the car park.

    The room was nice and warm and the water was always hot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No barrier for the shower, so the whole bathroom floor gets wet. The room could have been a degree or 2 warmer, but the heating wouldn't come on. The towel bar was only slightly warm - not enough to feel warm in the bathroom. There are no toiletries provided, only hand soap.

    Very comfortable bed, extremely clean and quiet room. Room is off a pretty little courtyard. We were able to lock our bikes right outside the door. Shower had lots of pressure and plenty of hot water..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    4.2
    My trip was nice but the sleeping is terrible. Horrible bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is HORRIBLE. Moving all the time (we had the twin bed. Cant even sleep in the middle a bit without moving everything. Major disappointment!

    Well it was in a good location and the bathroom is quite ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Very clean rooms near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small window, cleanliness, bed linen

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    perfect location very helpful staff,absolutley great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location very helpful staff,absolutley great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    Could put up with it for our 2night break but not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Toiletries, room was cold, staff nowhere to be seen , no breakfast or suggestion of place to eat.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Very much enjoyed our short stay, comfortable and quiet. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy, nice large windows and even a little patio!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Sunny room in Zandfoort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast, but plenty of options nearby.

    Kind and helpful hosts. Extremely reasonable price for a very roomy, comfortable space with fridge micro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Recommend for staying in Zandvoort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and clean apartment. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Bed was uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Very nice room n location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy party type guests so not quiet at all. Also u have to pay in cash if u don't have European debit type cards!

    Very nice room n location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Ground floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location, comfortable accomodation, services

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    good bed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good bed; big room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Ground floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more staff at breakfast

    Great view of canal from the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Ground floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    clean, comfortable and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Clean quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean quiet! Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.6
    The lady at reception/owner was incredibly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pretty much perfect! Some plates/bowls and cutlery in the room could have been useful but only a minor point.

    The lady at reception/owner was incredibly helpful giving us information and was also great when we had a slight problem with the payment. Cracking location less than 5 mins from town centre, supermarket, restaurants and rolling sandy beach. Train station less than 10 mins away with trains direct to Amsterdam in approx 30 mins. Room was very clean, beds were incredibly comfortable and nice little terrace outside really nice in good weather! Overall a great place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    7.1
    The terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were not very confortable, you could feel the springs and they were too soft.

    The terrace! It was great to have breakfast there, and the small fridge in the room is very useful when you want to buy your own food. Also the tea and coffee supply in the room was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.2
    beautiful terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    there was some garbage left from the person before me (empty bottles and wrapping paper)

    beautiful terrace. the location is only a few minutes from the sea

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    4.6
    The pure girl left over to deal with all the broken...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Ruined bed. - Not working WIFI - Dirty old leaking bathroom - Breakfast deal with restaurant half km away. Remote control TV not working

    The pure girl left over to deal with all the broken infrastructure did her best.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    We always stay in zandvoort when in Holland but first time...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We always stay in zandvoort when in Holland but first time at this hotel. Couldn't find a fault, was such a great spot will definitely be back soon.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.9
    Lovely rom with fantastic shower, the terrace area is great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it was very warm when we were there and the room was like a sauna. A fan would be a great addition

    Lovely rom with fantastic shower, the terrace area is great too.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Excellent accommodation in a fantastic location, glad we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we couldn't stay longer

    Excellent accommodation in a fantastic location, glad we picked this rather than a larger hotel, felt like home from home

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Nice quiet courtyard hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Registration requirements unclear on Booking.com website. Is cut off time 18.00 or 22.00? In fact receptionist can be called by entry phone.

    Nice quiet courtyard hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    5.8
    They sent e-mail asking for an ETA for arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They sent e-mail asking for an ETA for arrival. Responded with a 1300 time and asked if ok. No response so assumed ok. When arrived no one there and msg that said e-mail them (not sure why when they do respond to one sent days in advance they would respond to one right away!) was not disappointed they did not respond to the send e-mail or the phone number given. When I did get a hold of them said 1400 when did check in was noted on the paper they had for a 1300 check in request. So at least I knew they got it. Not too impressed will avoid staying there again. Don't like when customers/guests are asked to do something do it and they get nothing in response.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.8
    Convenience, cleanliness, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking can be a pain

    Convenience, cleanliness, staff

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    Parking
    • Group

    Parking

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    5.4
    very good location, clean,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no kitchen, bed not comfie, cold.

    very good location, clean,

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The accommodation was in a very central, tranquil location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The accommodation was in a very central, tranquil location only a five minute walk from Zandvoort aan Zee train station and all local amenities.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Heerlijke bedden
    • Family with older children

    Heerlijke bedden

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.6
    friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    friendly welcome. imaginative use of location round old courtyard, privacy and outside tables and chairs, well fitted bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    I really liked the terrace outside the room,
    • Couple

    I really liked the terrace outside the room, the really good position and the facilities for coffee and tea (the room had also a little fridge).

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: