Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hof van Marken 3 stars

Buurt II, 15, 1156 BC Marken, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Marken

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. Thanks for getting our luggage upstairs. Lovely room on the top floor with a great view between the rooftops down to the harbour. A very interesting and relaxing place to stay especially after all the tourists have gone home. You feel like a local.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best ! Truly historic building in the heart of the village. Perfect location, a very charming and romantic place. The rooms are cute and very comfortable, with excellent bedding. A big thank you to our host, the owner who so warmly welcomed us and made us feel at home. It must be said, his homely breakfast are excellent. Totally enjoyed our stay, exactly what I dreamed for it to be. We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property owners are very kind。they help contact with the airport service for my baggage which does not follow my flight and is sent to the hotel almost midnight,they do not sleep until baggage arrives。

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was often busy through the day, with tour groups....but after all it is a holiday destination....and after the holiday visitors and tour groups have left in the late afternoon you have Marken to share with just the locals. Pretty perfect really.

    Attractive building, great location, very good choice of restaurants and Guido was an excellent host....who makes a fantastic cup of coffee. Our room was lovely and had a beautiful outlook over the small village and countryside. Guido also very kindly allowed us to ride his bikes out to the lighthouse... about 3 kms along a quiet country pathway...offering great water views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave.

    It was a lovely quaint little hotel and the service was impeccable! I had injured my back the day before and the owner made an appointment for me at the local doctor and also for a remedial massage. Highly recommend the breakfast with the freshly baked bread and squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is unattended so you need to tell them when you are arriving, not a big problem but we were not warned. You park in the public carpark. We paid for 24 hrs then found that the hotel can give you a card to put in windscreen of car - free parking but their details say PAID parking- a bit of confusion. We tried to ring them but the phone was not answered.

    A unique hotel, small and private. Very happy with room. Location is superb 2 minutes walk from sea and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't have breakfast the next day as it was quite pricey and there are some nice places near the harbor where you can get breakfast for less. The steps up to the first floor are very steep which could be a problem for less mobile people. Also, it got very warm in the room at night but if you keep the windows open the blinds bang against the sill and keep you awake.

    Nice location and old traditional building in the centre of Marken with a place to lock your bicycle. The owner was welcoming. Good shower and size of bedroom (they upgraded us for free).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were fine, but very narrow steep stairs to carry luggage. Of course, the owner helped!!!It would be difficult for some people.

    The owner was wonderful. Nice retreat for small island. He had bikes available for the 4 of us. We had a great time!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was reasonably priced and very nice. We rode bikes from Amsterdam to Edam, then took the ferry from Voldendam. Owners were fantastic and very accommodating. We had a nice walk around the village the next morning before collecting our things and riding back to Amsterdam the next day. Excellent place to stay for an overnight trip from Amsterdam!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing!

    Very welcoming owners. Fabulous for our dog. Beautiful old building. We hope to return some day. We would recommend you stay in Marken, rather than staying in Amsterdam if travelling with your dog. Marken offers, peace, beauty and tranquility. Great start to our holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a traditional Dutch building located in a stylish, beautiful village, which is only 20-30 km by car from Amsterdam. Room is nice, comfortable, clean. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very straight stairs (typical of a Dutch house)

    Quiet and nice place in an authentic Dutch house. Welcoming owner who speaks French and serves a good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cosy but quite large enough. The atmosphere of staying right in the heart of Marken well and truly made up for it. We could see the harbour between the houses. The owners were very helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great room...lovely comfortable beds....lovely house....the best location...made to feel very welcome....friendly and helpful owner....great breakfast...hope to return some day..

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haven't slept so good for long time :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location Staff very friendly A bit over priced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no negative.

    The personal attention by our Host Guido. The charm of the hotel was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The wellcoming, the location, the quietness. It was perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding breakfast. Self-serve bar. Comfortable beds. Good WiFi. Very gracious host.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper thin walls

    Fantastic owner and wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly. Comfy. Quiet. A good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful room with sea view, fabulous breakfast, friendly host. The town of Marken itself is extraordinary, a walker's paradise!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of dust on above bedlamps.

    The dining room with its cozy feel. A breakfast to remember especially the green tea and fresh fruit!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most charming hotel i ve ever stayed the attention its personalized me and my wife are inlove with this place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Put a thermostat in the bedroom (n°5) : easier to chose the temperature :)

    This small place in the middle of a polder. Great place to stay !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was phenomenal. I rarely saw such variety of choices.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host, lovely place that is full of character and free bikes to explore area. Also, good wifi and tv which is a bonus!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't add extra bed....not ideal for odd guests amount

    Nice Host,great Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too hard too book, always occupied.

    Free bycyle lending.we have been caught in a storm when cycling around the island on the morning we checked out. Owner offered us free breakfast(hot coffee and croissant.We really appreciate his hospitality!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The duvet has been washed in the washing machine causing the filling to spread unevenly. However, it didn't bother me once I lay under it.

    The breakfast served was excellent, the location of the hotel is perfect. I like the atmosphere of the hotel as well, the room was cosy. The bathroom was clean and contained everything you needed.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Camas demasiado blandas. Beds too soft.

    Personal muy amable, nos dejaron una bicis para dar un paseo. Friendly staff. They lent us bikes for a ride.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating did not come on in the morning until 9 am. We would have been happier if it had been switched on at 7 am, when we got up. It was very cold!

    Good breakfast, beds were comfy.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very steep staircase. Host helped us up with our bags, but it would be difficult for anyone with a disability.

    Lovely village hotel, loads of character. Very hospitable host, great breakfast included. Lovely quiet village, a great place for a relaxing break.Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs are very steep. It wasn't a problem for us, but could be for elderly people.

    The location is excellent. It's just a short walk from the waterfront where all the restaurants and shops are.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was available everywhere in the hotel, but signal was too weak in our room.

    The service was absolutely excellent and friendly. Very good suggestions were made and bikes provided free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is patchy. I think a booster box would help. Also the restaurant/bar was closed and that was one of the reasons we stayed there, the restaurant used to be the best in town (and there aren't many either). We weren't told this before we arrived.

    The location is excellent, right in the centre of town. The decor is lovely and the manager is very friendly. Although he said the bar would be open in the evening and it wasn't. He should run an 'honesty bar' for guests. The wine in other establishments is not so good.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is just wonderful. The hotel is special as you are in the middle of unesco heritage. This is our second visit and we love their breakfast with excellent coffee. The owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very few negatives. The wifi was not great - especially in the bedroom. I would not recommend it if you have very young children or are not that mobile, as the stairs to the bedrooms were very steep and possibly difficult to negotiate.

    Charming hotel, with a very accommodating owner who made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and at a time to suit us.Operated an 'honesty bar' in the evening - we were told to help ourselves and simply inform the owner of what we had before checking out; a nice touch and very trusting.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The basic rooms are a bit small and you can hear your neighbours. Breakfast is a bit expensive but delicious.

    Sleeping in Marken is in itself is very special and lovely, with an "island feeling", the hotel is greatly located next to the harbour and restaurants. Friendly staff and nicely decorated.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind owners Opportunity to serve yourself at the bar Extraordinarily delicious dinner Very quiet and intimate place Harbour within 1min of walking

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast and very nice location and host. Awesome stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hospitality and attention to detail. Breakfast was served in the most beautiful restaurant and everything was super fresh and absolutely Devine.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2 separate beds

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    A stylish hotel in an old building, in an area like a skanzen.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Simply perfect!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxed, clean, friendly plus almost magic location just 30min from home and the city. Perfect escape.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Warmth of welcome. Peace and quiet (after the trippers had gone home). Wild and windy (not always - just when we were there).

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in the heart of the small fishing village. Cordial host. Free WiFi.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hof van Marken traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: