Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hoksbergen Hotel 2 stars

Singel 301, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 WH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#284 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1365 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows weren’t double glazed and we struggled to sleep with the noise outside. Also, the building next door was getting work done to it and the builders started drilling and hammering from 8am!

    The staff were great, really friendly and exceptionally helpful. One lady spent around 15 minutes giving us tips and drawing directions on a map. We also like the fact that all the drinks were free.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    A pleasant experience with room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not forewarned construction was major next door. Room could have been cleaner dirty curtains room needed a wash. No aircon. Noise from street no double glazing . No help to take bags up 4 flights stairs very steep.

    Central location. Good breakfast. Solid comfy bed. Good bathroom products. WiFi good. Secure. Good canal view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    The staff was kind and told us where to go sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny. You did not want to stay in your room for too long.

    The staff was kind and told us where to go sightseeing. Especially the breakfast was awesome! The best we had in our hostels till now. We also liked the house and its construction as it is very old and small. Lot’s of atmosphere in there. Amsterdam is just sweet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    Not what we had hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had been given to another couple initially, the shower head leaked and wasn't replaced for 3 days, one day our room was not cleaned and the taxi was booked for the airport not the train station as requested upon departure.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    A decent stay but expensive for the facilities, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive for what we got. We did book last minute but for the cost I would expect a cleaner more updated place. I don't mind old, I don't need fancy. But I do mind rundown. For example, the carpet in our room was grungy looking in places including down beside the bed. Even just pulling up the carpets would help. The bathroom was very narrow, my husband had to open the door for enough room to dry himself off. The fan did not clear the steam well. The bottom of the shower curtain was really grungy. I assume we paid that much for location and canal view, not facilities. Otherwise, a good stay.

    One of the reception staff was super friendly and helpful, lady from spain with the short blonde bob (the other reception lady was less approachable). The hotel has a fancy coffee machine and staff will make you coffee, expresso, latte, etc, for free anytime in the day. Fruit and pop and fruit water were also free all day. A nice touch. Breakfast, included, was fine. Continental with cold cuts and cheese and hard boiled eggs, breads, yoghurt, cereal - some healthy options. Pretty standard but good. A variety of fruits. No elevator and steep stairs but doable and common. Big windows in our room with a canal view. Central to everything, including a grocery store. Not too noisy on the street below. Either the walls were pretty soundproof or we had no noisy neighbors, but the only thing we heard was a key opening a lock, otherwise no voices or footsteps above. The breakfast area was right in the lobby so a nice place to relax with a coffee and internet on a rainy afternoon. Internet was strong both in the room and the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Adequate accommodations in great location; I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels in the room when we arrived. Trash can was still full from previous occupants. Cigarette smoke wafted in from another room or dwelling when we opened the window so had to keep the windows shut. Very narrow, steep stairs to climb but we expected that since it’s a canal house, and based on reviews by others.

    Unique old canal house, original charm. Very helpful and responsive front desk staff. Tasty breakfast and coffee provided in the morning. Great location on quiet canal but still walkable to everything. Beds were comfy. .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.3
    Only the location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely old with alot of work required in the rooms. The rooms are extremely small. The bathrooms are old with serious problems. No air conditioner.

    Only the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    New bathroom was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entry way needs a rehab. Since the rooms are small the table in room 6 needs to be smaller. When I raised the window I thought it might fall out of the frame. Walls could use a redo in the hallway.

    New bathroom was very nice. The staff was wonderful. They performed their jobs well and were always pleasant. Breakfast was very nice. Was a fun place to stay. Not 5 star for sure but charming. Bed was great. Room clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay if not the best when the weather is not to hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air-condition was really hard on me. I would not recommend staying there in the summer and especially when there is an heatwave like the one in 2018. The cleaners also forgot to clean my bathroom one day.

    Really great staff. Took time to talk to you when you came in and told you about different places that you might be interested inn. There was also free drinks and fruits available all day long. The hotel is also really close to one of the best bars in Amsterdam, one of the Gollum bars and all other "necessities" you could be in need of. To find a grocery shop you only need to walk south over some channels and look to the left side of the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really, really small, but it was okay for us.

    The young lady on the reception was really nice and friendly and could help us with everything we needed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Hoksbergen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that there was a bad smell in the bathroom, I don’t know if it came from the sewer system.

    Nice river view, comfortable bed and very good breakfast! We were staying at the top floor!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    it was enjoyable and the Hotel is clean be it very cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are incredibly small and you can hear the other residents in the rooms next door, upstairs and downstairs. it would have been great if one could have some beer/wine that you could order.

    The breakfasts served were adequate. It would have been nice to be able to have coffee in the mornings before the kitchen opened as we had to walk to Starbucks to get some coffee in the mornings. It was in a wonderful location and a typical Amsterdam feel. We would much rather stay here than at a typical Western hotel as you really got the feeling of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Perfectly perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might have been nice to have had air con.

    Great location great character building next to the canal on Singel. Perfect for the tourist districts with lovely little bars and eateries used by locals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Cute hotel facing the canal in a wonderful location. Serves a great array of breakfast too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were tiny especially when you have four people in a family room.

    The staff were friendly and recommended us places to visit nearby. A good breakfast and free flow of drinking water and soft drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Tiny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as advertised. We got the super tiny room. The cover of the toilet kept closing by itself touching your back, badly installed i guess. Bathroom overall super small but the provided shower gels very nice.

    The owner of the place is really kind providing advise for interesting sights and landmarks. The breakfast is good. Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, which is part of the appeal but as a result there is a bit of an older smell, it fades as you stay in the room. Otherwise very clean. There is no elevator or lift, which was fine for us as we only had a small overnight bag and backpack but if we had brought our luggage that would have been a challenge going up the stairs. I'm glad I read the reviews ahead of time.

    Great location, friendly staff and the breakfast was great! Staff very willing to help and accommodate. Room size was average and the history of the hotel and it's age is very interesting. The breakfast in the morning was awesome, best one we've had and it was included in the cost of the room!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing - totally overpriced for the room standard provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms had no furniture, nothing to place, hang, or put my belongings. There was no air conditioning, no fans or anything else to help with the summer temperatures.

    The location was acceptable/good - quiet, slightly out of he city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Good for a day or two...but for longer stays might get irritating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So much to write...cramped staircase, very small room, no moving space in the bathroom. Also had expected toothbrush, paste and shaving kit as basic toiletries in a decent looking hotel. Had to purchase all over there.

    The location was great, a five minute walk from the Royal Palace and Madame Tussauds. Also it was canal facing which was great. The hotel looked wonderful from the outside. Staff very warm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to higher levels but it's normal for old Amsterdam buildings

    Everything was Perfect for short stay. Free tea and coffee .also free soft drinks , decent breakfast and very very friendly staff.place to stay for short break.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, the house was authentic, our room had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but what can you expect in this price range in such a central location. The stairs were steep like most townhouses in Amsterdam so maybe not suitable for people with disabilities.

    Location was great, the house was authentic, our room had a nice canal view. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The room was cosy although very small and it was clean. There were shampoo and shower gel available. Place was quiet although so central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice staff but ridiculously uncomfortable room and extremely expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small. We have never stayed in a room this tiny and I am not exaggerating. The bunk bed was not safe, so my daughter slept on the floor. Unfortunately during our stay there was construction that started at 7:00 am each morning right outside our window. We were on the second floor, so the stairs were not a huge issue, but I wouldn’t recommend a high floor because the stairs are very very steep. The cost of this hotel was outrageous for what you get. After 4 nights living in this box, we were so happy to leave.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The check-in was very easy and efficient. The location of the hotel good. The breakfast was ok, the coffee and fresh orange juice were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was wonderfull, the view from the window was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air condishinig, and there is noice from the street. But it's not that bad due the location. The starcase was tiring espacially with havy weight.

    The location was wonderfull, the view from the window was beautiful, and the staff of the hotel very friendly and helpfull. Would recommand this hotel for travel purpesess and less for a romantic getaway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -my booking was including breakfast but was not served because reception was not open till 1pm which i had to pay double at outside which was disappointing. -the room has no air-conditioner. -wc/bathroom was the smallest i have ever seen.

    -location -wifi works okay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    I wish I were still there!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It was typically Holland as I have repeatedly experienced it since age three in 1948! Friendly, open, witty, delightful, with a superb aesthetic sense...and the certainly know how to dance as they did at our Paul Simon concert! I love boats and water, so a lovely change from the Swiss alps where we live! Very kind and helpful staff at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    STOP LOOKING. You found the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom air vent was a little dirty. That's about the only thing I can think of and that's being very critical.

    Absolutely everything! Location can't be beat. The free breakfast spread is serious business.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Quaint convenient hotel to stay in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was advertised as a small room I didn’t realize how small. As well as the bathroom. Had there been a little more space it would have been perfect but I can’t dock them too many points because as I stated it does say small room.

    Very convenient location and helpful staff. Breakfast in the morning which was great and it was really cute. Everyone working there was nice and attentive. Thank you for a great stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    From the moment we arrived we were greeted so well and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the moment we arrived we were greeted so well and the staff at Hoksbergen could not have done more for us, even coffee on arrival. Breakfast was lovely and the location was superb with an amazing view of the canal from the window. I will be staying there again anytime I find myself in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    For the price we paid I would have expected at least a clean shower curtain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room, windows very hard to open to let in fresh air, and the shower curtain was mildew stained! Ran out of plates/silverware and breakfast food.

    The availability of the pop and water during the day was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with a beatiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complain was that there was building work going on next door, although this was no fault of the hotel!

    Lovely small cosy room, the location was great too. Free soft drinks/water available all day. Staff were friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    2 nights in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so If u have heavy luggage and have a room in the top floor, it's a task to handle the luggage through the narrow steps. Also the reception is not 24hr and since we had an early checkout, we didnt have much help with the luggage.

    Free beers and the breakfast was decent. The room was over look in the canal so we just sat there and watched the people walking around. The location is optimal. We walked to all the main places and also the tram Spui is near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay, I would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was a little bit high but I didn't do a lot of comparison so it may be typical for central Amsterdam.

    Good central location. Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Snacks & drinks available throughout the day for no extra charge. Steep stairs and no elevator - would not be suitable for anyone with difficulty walking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    The staff was awsome, specially Brendan was really helpfull...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a construction going on in the next door building and it was noisy in the morning.

    The staff was awsome, specially Brendan was really helpfull and weolcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    A very clean, convenient hotel in historic part of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairwells are very narrow & steep with no elevator. The staff graciously helped us with our bags.

    Every staff member was friendly, polite, helpful & welcoming. The breakfast was very good; delicious yogourt, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed O.J., freshly baked croissants, breads, cheeses, cold cuts & espresso coffees made to order. Coffee available all day. The rooms are small but have full bathrooms with a great shower & everything is well maintained & very clean. The location is fabulous, on the Singel canal, 5 minutes walk to Dam square, 1km. walk from the train station, & lots of restaurants & cafes nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff, great location, all necessary facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel cannot easily be visited by people with mobility issues due to the steep stairs that are typical for this kind of building.

    The cleanliness and facilities were perfectly fine, exactly what one can hope for at a 2-star-hotel at this price. Breakfast tastes good and was served by friendly staff members. We were even allowed to get ourselves free soft drinks throughout the day. Different attractions can be found within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Loved the location and friendlyness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning - but we had a fan

    The lady at check in was so nice and informative and the location was awesome. The rooms were small but very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    We had a very nice stay and despite the tiny room, I’d go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super tiny and there was no AC.

    The staff was super friendly, the breakfast copious and good and the free drinks available for guests was a nice bonus.The location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Quaint, small canal house hotel in central Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THe wifi was spotty at best. The TV ,newly installed a month earlier, didn't work and although we asked the staff there to fix it on the first day, nothing was done about it. Be prepared to climb very steep stairs. There was not much additional room in the room to move around.

    The breakfast had a wide range of options with fresh orange juice and if you wanted a coffe you could get an expresso or latte as well. The central location was convenient. The rooms were very clean and looked over the Singel canal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    A small hotel in great area/view; close to everything; safe and comfortable. I recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room small, but expected; no phone in room, like for wake-up call, but I had cell alarm; staff leaves around 8 PM vs available 24 hrs/day, but area safe. No real complaints. I enjoyed the stay a lot.

    Great breakfast included; special attention for what you might like (eg, a cappuccino vs reg coffee), even if you miss breakfast; excellent location!!; small, quaint room/great view of canal. Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great view, comfortable and great building location but be prepared to climb the stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Lift on the premixes and I found the stairs difficult as I Have a sore foot. I would recommend that people over 50 get located on lower floors and get assistance with luggage when leaving

    Breakfast was lovely and coffee and soft drinks were readily available all day long Staff were very accommodating and carried my luggage up to the room on my arrival Bed was very comfortable and the view was amazing The building location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    Great location, disappointing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, old canal house. We were placed on top floor (4th floor). No elevator. Crazy narrow, winding stairs up four floors with 2 pieces heavy luggage. Room was teeny tiny. My husband and I had no where for the luggage to be readily available. Mine was under the small “desk”, my husband’s was standing upright on the little room safe. Could not pass each other until the other was sitting on the bed. Soft bed. Surrounded on 3 sides so the inside person had to CRAWL over the outside person to get out in middle of night. Not too many plugs. Old. Bring adapters as there are no 110v or USB ports. No night stands. Toilet uncomfortable as your knees were so close to wall, cover barely stayed up. Persistent odd odor. Hall fixtures all with missing bulbs. Many outlets kind of hanging off the wall. Exhaust fan in our bathroom was in the shower and hanging, wiring exposed. Good water pressure and plenty hot water. No A/C so very hot on 4th floor and open windows allowed so much noise and an annoying fly in the room. If I had paid 100 Euro or if I was a single, maybe I would not have been as disappointed as 2 people in this little room at over 200 Euro per. The second day, no cleaning occurred despite us being out all day without a do not disturb sign. The 3rd day, we hung the maid service please sign. Garbage cleared, towels changed but no vacuuming. I have booked rooms for the last several years on booking.com and all have been pretty spot on as advertised. The room we had just left on the river cruise was a bit larger and significantly more comfortable than this room. Can’t vouch for any of the other rooms as we didn’t happen to catch any doors open. Amsterdam is full of small houses - but I guess how they lay it out, update it, market it (1 vs 2 people in that room), and price it would all significantly affect my expectations. Poor layout, no updating, listed as double for > 200 Euro per night left me very disappointed. Hope this helps others looking at this...

    Excellent location. Staff friendly. Breakfast serviceable. Keeps no cost soda, water, light snacks out all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    It was a great location and nice hotel, but I just can't do those stairs again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small. Stairs were a Killer!! Had to go up on my hands and feet, had to come down sideways!

    Great location! Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Free drinks!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, nice staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, some can not be sold as double or singles. Too small. Guests need a closet.

    Great location, nice staff, good breakfast. Poor cleaning, change of towels and room makeover every two days unless required. Avoid the "small double rooms with a view of the canals", especially the room 4, too small and uncomfortable for two people and no closet or luggage space, without any support or coat hanger. Good only to sleep, like a prison cell. Good other rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel has great location & very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small especially the bathroom. The curtain was disgusting! The curtain was falling down the curtain rod & nobody cared to fix it or maintain the room. We believe the bed sheets are not changed everyday & not enough towels provided especially when the lady housekeeper is off but must give credit to Janet & Brandon, they were very helpful, they were awesome!

    Great location but needs a lot of work done in the room appearance & maintenance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel in the heart of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dirty bathroom. There was no iron on reception desk. We was not able to check out during 15 minutes (the taxi was waiting for us) as there was nobody on the reception desk.

    The view from the window is very Amsterdam-like. Tha area around is a heart of Amsterdam. Bed was good. I was very surprised to see Rituals cosmetics in the shower room. It was a pleasant impression! Breakfast is plus or minos normal: one cup of coffee\tea, croisaants, bread, two types of cheeses, two types of ham and very salty jamon, some flakes and fruit. There were also eggs but they constantly came to an end and we did not have time to take them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    We were very well welcomed by the recepcionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have big luggage, the stairs should be a problem. Stairs have narrow steps and width. Bathroom should be a little bit bigger.

    We were very well welcomed by the recepcionist. The room had a nice view and suited our needs. The hotel was clean, breakfast was ok and localization very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wider selection for breakfast but for the price we paid it was very reasonable.

    The staff were very welcoming and made us all very comfortable. A young gentleman took time to help us find things to do throughout the day and was very attentive. The room was clean and comfortable to stay in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Traditional, friendly, central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It should be pointed out that this is a 300 year old typical Amsterdam canal side house. So expect steep stairs, not large rooms and small ensuite bathrooms. Therefore it would be difficult for those who have problems with stairs.

    The location, staff and cleanliness were excellent. We booked canal view rooms and that is what we got. It is very central to most things in Amsterdam. There was a free very nice breakfast, which wasn't publicised. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They paint walls in the stairway, but that was not really really big problem. Taking into the account the price that we paid, the smell was almost imperceptible.

    Perfect location. Rooms overlooking the channel will give you time to relax by the window. Very friendly staff, good breakfast included in the price (not just jam, bread and butter). Last minute price impressed us a lot - you can't find it in this expensive part of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, small old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, very narrow staircase, small room - for me it was not very negative, because we stayed for one night without luggage. But you need to concider these sort of things making your choice. I can mention as real negatives, that room was not very clean (especially floor between the bed and the wall), looks like room was repaired last time long time ago.

    Very good location - city center, but not noisy (at least when we stayed); friendly staff; fruit, some snacs, lemonade, tea and cofee available during a day for free; good bed, good breakfast. Good choice for one-two days

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay staff super friendly would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was small and we couldn’t get WiFi access we was on the top floor though

    The staff was brilliant they really went out their way to help you the location of the hotel was ideal breakfast was excellent and also throughout the day when we went back to the hotel you could have coffee tea and snacks and wasn’t charged for it this was a really good idea and it went a long way on thought about their customers would definitely stay there again really great stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Warm hospitality in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Cleaning services in the rooms can be improved - general hygiene was good but we were disappointed that the towels weren't changed for the whole stay of our holiday (6 nights). Was a bit noisy in the early morning due to refurbishments being done.

    We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist on check-in. The other receptionists were also very helpful during our stay in the hotel - A+ to all for their hospitality. Bed was extra comfortable. Generous breakfast with fresh croissants and fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.7
    Staff was very good and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors had stains on them and was dirty. toilet was crooked and couldn’t hold up toilet seat. Otherwise everything else was good. Constructive criticism!

    Area and I was thankful for the late nite check in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs but then my experience of Amsterdam is that all the stairs are like walking up ladders

    Very clean staff where fabulous and was near everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of staying the hotel was undergoing redecoration (from 7am onwards) and the building next door is undergoing reconstruction (from 7am onwards). Our first night we left the bathroom door open and woke up due to a smell of drains (not bad just a drain smell) but on shutting the door we couldn't smell it. The next night we didn't have this issue as water maintenance was serviced that day. Room is very comfortable, overlooking the canal and the rooms are very warm. This hotel is a diamond in the making. As long as you understand that you'll have a great time :)

    The room and bed was very comfortable. The staff were very pleasent and the breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.2
    Dont stay in 5his hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in couloring time and was smelling and stinking...the workers sometime started to work in 07:00 in the morning. The were things that were missing like a shelf or avtable to put personal things,no cupboard to put our clothing...

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the day we were leaving we asked the staff our breakfast to be ready at 7.45, just 15 minutes before the official starting time. The guy wasn’t ready at all at that time which was unpleasant.

    The location is great, just few steps away from the Dam square. Hosts are ready to answer your questions and provide guidelines. They serve coffee and tea free of charge all the day. The breakfast is simple but very good. The room is small and with basic equipment but we had everything we needed. The wi fi is good also. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location friendly staff but expensive for the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint fumes in room irritated my asthma. Building work next door woke us at 7am but that wasn't the hotels fault and hairdryer faulty we reported it but nothing done

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    most disappointing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    walking up and down the stairs inside the hotel was a hazard where they had plastic sheets on the stairs, not to mention that one's clothes, shoes and bags got dirtied in white cement. This hotel simply should not have shown up in the search and should have been closed.

    It was a horrible experience. the hotel was under renovation and I couldn't sleep or relax from all that hammering and workers talking in the morning and at night there was the awful smell of chemicals that didn't let me sleep. the hotel should not have been functioning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    I liked the place of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When i arrived the reception was not in the hotel. So for 15 min i was truing to call someone to let me in. Be carefull at the stairs, very steep! no elevator, to up the case to the 3rd floor is a challenge

    I liked the place of the hotel. Very close to the center. The bed was quite comfortable. Good place for one night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    Great location, good breakfast, friendly service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Under renovation, noisy, paint smell and my room seemed unfinished (there was not even side table beside the bed).

    Great location, good breakfast, friendly service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    Quite disappointing but some positives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint smell, plaster dust, noise of renovations, room more basic than the photos show on line. Would have been wise to shut down for the time it would have taken to complete the work. Would have been nice to have known in advance as we would have booked elsewhere. We stayed out as late as possible and left as early as possible as it was hard to enjoy being in the room.

    The positives: front desk staff person was excellent, breakfast was too as was the little breakfast room, bed was comfortable, and location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Great located place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very little and not worth that price. They are old and don´t have decorations. Also there were dirty underneath the heater and the bed.

    The location is perfect, the staff is super nice and breackfast was good too. You can order you coffe to go!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Cozy and central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, the rooms are a bit tiny and the stairs are super steep... but that's Amsterdam! (get used to it) And travel is all about being flexible, right? The receptionist is very nice and friendly. The hotel is cozy and central. My friend and I basically walked everywhere. The hotel is in front of a canal and it's near Dam Square. The food is great and the prices are not that high. What else could you possibly ask for? I highly recommend it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.6
    Helpful staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked for 3 nights checked in on Friday the 16th February 2018. It was a birthday present for my husband. We could not stay more than two nights and checked out early to stay next door. The rooms were very very basic and uncomfortably small. We paid £442 for three nights so I was expecting fairly comfortable room though I knew the rooms were very basic but didnt expect it to find the way our room was. It felt like we were staying in a hostel. We were given number 13 which was on the top floor. The two single beds were pushed together to make a double bed which was very uncomfortable and wonky , there were hardly any space to move. Booking.com should have made it clear on what to expect on arrival i.e realistic description of this hotel and pictures which gives the holiday makers an option whether to go ahead with booking or not and most importantly not to get the shock of their life when arriving at the hotel. The rooms looked nothing like the picture provided online. The rooms werent cheap either! The next door hotel which is a 4* hotel charged same price as we paid to Hoksbergen per night and the rooms were above and beyond our expectations. Sadly this has been my worst stay ever and I won't be recommending. This experience has put me off booking via booking.com.

    Helpful staff and good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Central location. Good breakfast although if you don’t get down early enough it isn’t replenished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was our second stay here in two years. We could immediately tell that it wasn’t the same owners. The shower curtain was mouldly as was the bathroom ceiling. The floor wasn’t hovered properly either.

    Close to dam square

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of the employee Elanna was very bad. She never smiled, was very arrogant and had lack of professionalism in public attendance.

    The breakfast was fantastic. They had great crispy croassants but they finished fast and there are not replaced. You need to eat before 8:30am. The location of the hotel is very central with a view of the canal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    This is really a hostel not a hotel. Great value in an expensive city but very basic. But clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Four flights of stairs with no lift. Room was abt 7ft square. No fridge, kettle etc in room. ( no room for them). Few tiles off walls in public areas( prob because guests have to bounce luggage up and down narrow stairs ).

    Location amazing, staff( all two of them) very helpful. Clean towels, sheets and bathroom( really wet room).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was excellent-fresh hard boiled eggs, breads,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I rated the cleanliness low but it was really just the floor carpet in the room-can't say when the last time it was cleaned or even vacuumed. We did not want to walk on it in our bare feet nor with just our socks on.

    The breakfast was excellent-fresh hard boiled eggs, breads, meats, cheese, fresh squeezed orange juice & great coffee!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very small Room for 2 people especially the toilet - the Price Was very high compared to the room standard

    - friendly staff - good location - good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at the hotel to let you in overnight, I couldn't get in the hotel because my friend has the key and she was asleep so I had to stay at another friend's sofa.

    The staff were lovely and so accommodating!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    It would be ok, but the cold room was unforgivable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed one night. It was freezing in the room. It was like the window and the door was open all the time. The next day my girlfriend and me were literally sick. It is pity, because except that, it was a nice place. But this was very bad for me.

    Great Location, breakfast ok, the girl at reception was great, clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Great first trip to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strong smell on entering the room but this subsided after a few hours so was likely the previous tenants. Rooms are dated but still comfortable. There was a continuous loud noise each morning, however not sure if this was inside or outside the hotel.

    Excellent location, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the bed was very comfortable! Room and bathroom were clean. Having 3 locked doors at night also meant the room and all belongings felt secure at all times. Also a nice, simple continental breakfast each morning which was very flexible with any requirements.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.0
    The view and its central but thats all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are very dangerous the rooms are is terrible need of upgrade not good value for money and the windows are full of mold the radiators don't work asked the man at the front desk to have a look to try to fix it and he never came back to let use know and the bathroom u can barley move in it the shower curtain full off mold and stains on the walls looked like blood not impressed with it not worth the money we paid

    The view and its central but thats all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Location was very good. Room very small and dated but clean. Expensive for what it was but think it was because it was new years eve. Like that they offered free hot drinks in arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Perfect 2-nights stay in the heart of Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very steep stairs (we were on the 4th floor) and very-very small room (no. 13) , but for 2 nights stay no problem at all. Anyway, as a tourist you are most of the time outside.

    Loacation - PERFECT! Everything is on a walking discance. Close to DAM square (2 corners), 9 streets... No need to use public transport unless you want to go to Zaanse Schans. Staff very kind. Very good breakfast. We had luck so room was free before 3pm, so basicaly we had early check-in (around 10am). Luggage storage for the last day. You won't miss with this hotel for 2-3 nights stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hoksbergen Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: