Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Epping 3 stars

Utrechtsestraat 44, 3401 CW IJsselstein, Netherlands

#2 of 3 hotels in IJsselstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 477 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Suzanne managing the desk was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is unattractive and does not live up to the posted photos. Rooms were tacky and VERY small. Price seems way too high for a 2 star kind of place that needs total refurbishment.

    Suzanne managing the desk was fantastic! We had great difficulty locking one of the rooms. She patiently helped us in every way possible and was very friendly and kind. She and the breakfast were the best part of an otherwise poor hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    The owner was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was really helpful. We requested early breakfast, and he organised it for us immediately. We were with bicycles, and safe storage was provided for the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly charming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, clean and climatic hotel located in the centre of small picturesque village. Lot of restaurants arround. Parking is only few minutes away so for me wasn't problem with luggage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i go down to take the breakfast....was surprise....was nothing more..(at 10o clock)..and when i Say i want to eat because i pay for IT...She get nervouse...and Say to me i m the last one for the breakfast and that's IT....(was really really embarasing)...total desapointed....

    Location....and really clean...for the money that i paied...really really good...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great alternative to Utrecht
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trash collection truck at 6:30am was a bit jarring.

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Room was very practical with a comfortable bed. So glad we could still get dinner arriving at nearly 9:30pm! Breakfast was hearty. On a very charming walking street with canals, yet easy parking within a block.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Would used again. Nice small town location. Bigger town than I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance did not give a great first impression looked like some automated checkin, but the reception was around the corner in a restaurant. Once we got there then the impression changed. Very friendly staff.

    Nice friendly hotel. Nice touch was a post card thank you for staying. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice but a bit remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey breakfast A bit far from Utrecht, difficult to find during nights. Only public paid parking available.

    Nice and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel at reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking in the hotel. But public parking is rather close and not very expensive.

    We didn't know the town when we booked (just looking for a hotel at reasonable price around in the south of Amsterdam), but the place was a nice surprise. The room and bathroom were very large. Staff was very nice ; and prepared some extra things on request at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    We traveled through Europe for 15 days and this city was one of our favorite places to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rollaway bed was not comfortable.

    The area was awesome. We loved the little streets and the street fair that was right on our street A quaint little area that we thoroughly enjoyed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Good place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee in room

    Hotel is good value. A short walk from car Parkinson ng. Our room was ok but being on 2nd floor dogs were frightened of the stairs So had to carry them up and down as very steep. I missed breakfast as had to leave before the opening time. Tea coffee facilities would have helped with an early cuppa. Unfortunately I didn’t try the restaurant but it looked very good. I would stay again as beds very comfortable and a good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central heating contained a lot of air and made a huge noise. It woke me up at 3am and kept me awake the rest of the night. In the morning I had agreed to get breakfast at 7:00am, at 7:30 I left because there was still no bread on the table.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    This stay was the best among the three hotels I used
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing one would not llike like

    What I like the best was the moment I entered the hotel reception I was received by the owner and right away he made us feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Can recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. No A/C in room and as very hot while we were there all we could do was open both windows.

    Lovely restaurant downstairs. Friendly helpful staff. Good location, Ijsseltein is a very pretty town.- with a working windmill. Room very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again and would recommend others to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Scrambled eggs in morning too dry. Would have liked to have tea/coffee making facility in room.

    Small but friendly restaurant downstairs. Only had one meal but can recommend the food. Plenty of choice. Good breakfast choice. Well situated next to shopping centre. Quiet at night. Room very clean. All staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Road trip in the Netherlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room would be good.

    The hotel is in a lovely little town with pleasant surroundings, shops & cafes. It is within easy walking distance to public transport to travel to visit the town of Utrecht.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at at least by 1400. With priority booking, I expected to get 2 hours before. However room wasn't cleaned up until 1415.

    Room has everything needed for short stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Night of luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast food good but expensive for what you get :(

    Staff every helpful and friendly took the time to show us to the room. When we came back for a drink later was prepared for us to try till we liked the taste! Room clean and comfy we were upgraded as hotel full. Manager advised us to come fro breakfast at a time when a large party would have eaten and gone which was great as we had a quiet time over breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    This location near Niewegein and Utrecht is a must see!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms decoration and furniture is dull

    Location, great looking village, easy access from Utrecht station by direct tramway, very easy to find Main Street address. Great staff, good dinner, great restaurant concept : Tapas " all you can eat" and a normal menu. good choice of beers. NO cat pee Heineken, Yeah !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    clean and easy, but not warm and cosy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    felt all a bit cheap and outdated, and some paint coming off in the bath room.

    spacious room, good bed, clean bath room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location, great on-site restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh towels every day.

    Good location, great on-site restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds. No parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Norhing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible hotel

    Norhing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rich breakfast, good value for money in general.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Would stay For a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean,close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms, dingy rooms, can't open windows due to smell outside...not a clean property

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice budget rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in the room.

    Nice budget rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Breakfast was a bit avarage, very salt actually.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit avarage, very salt actually. Good selection for the size of the hotel though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.4
    Not the value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper tab pressure for the bath No coffee or tea in room

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    3.8
    All in all very low standard, poor breakfast, old facilities...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All in all very low standard, poor breakfast, old facilities - elevator not functioning properly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The accommodation is near to highway (30 minutes from...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation is near to highway (30 minutes from Amsterdam), friendly staff and the main street is full of shops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay with no problems. Not very nice view. Beds separated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the room

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast and restaurant very good, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and restaurant very good, very friendly and correct staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and several times knocked at my door having the not disturb sign

    Price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Good location and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and surrounded by many restaurants and cafes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Very welcoming & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming & friendly staff. Great having a different type of restaurant on site. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    very cosy and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice design, staff, surrounding, location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Cozy, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Loved the room and the town. Comfortable, nice view, cozy, great location. Looking forward to a return trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Hotel Epping. Lovely...just lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is OK.

    Great location. Lovely staff and good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    very nice personnel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very nice personnel! highy engaged! very nice bar!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Right in the romantic centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right in the romantic centre. Extremely quiet! (no cars)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place, beautiful city. It's really cheap price for normal hotel and hotel is in really good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the city centre of town Ijsselstein surrounded with all amenities. Nice food & beverage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    - perfect breakfast (also eggs, sousages, bacon)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - perfect breakfast (also eggs, sousages, bacon) - located right in the center - nice staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.7
    Heating was not good but they fix it , parking was not...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was not good but they fix it , parking was not guaranteed we find it but there is no guarantee that you will find it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.5
    in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no private parking

    in the center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Shower
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    nice, quiet location with a good access to motorways,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a bit varied

    nice, quiet location with a good access to motorways, friendly staff, decent food at a restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.5
    fair size room, the AC worked well, but I did nit need it, ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bells ringing in town all freakin' night long, but no way the hotel can control that. The steak was a bit overcooked,more medium-well than the medium-rare I ordered

    fair size room, the AC worked well, but I did nit need it, bathroom was clean, restaurant was attached.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.1
    Nice location, pleasant interior, nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No kettle or tea making facility in room. Fridge broken and not replaced. Shower could not be turned down.

    Nice location, pleasant interior, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    The location is very central,the staff is very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Finding the parking area near the hotel is a bit of a disaster but this is not the hotel's fault, it's the fault of the towns council.

    The location is very central,the staff is very helpful and friendly, the room was very cute and the breakfast was lovely. Overall this hotel is really good!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice welcome, good breakfast, ideal location...
    • Solo traveller

    Room was quite cool - and i rarely find hotel rooms too cool! Also no remote control for tv meant i had to mess around with tiny buttons on the side.

    Friendly staff, nice welcome, good breakfast, ideal location for my purposes.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    5.4
    The location is wonderful, close to canals, the church,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a very badly stained carpet and dark furniture. We had to go up very steep stairs to get there. However, the bathroom was very nice.

    The location is wonderful, close to canals, the church, shopping. We loved IJsselstein.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast had a decent selection of food, both hot and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was very comfortable and clean, however there was an issue with a leak from the air con unit. Mr. Epping was helpful but was unable to fix it in the short time we were in the room. His solution was to place a bucket under the unit to catch the water. There was only one member of staff on duty in the morning we left and she had to rush around between the breakfast area and the check out.

    The breakfast had a decent selection of food, both hot and cold and the selection of bread was good. Mr. Epping and his staff were very welcoming if a little busy at times

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is in the middle of the village,very nice and...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast pretty expensive comparing other Hotels.Parking about 200 meters from the Hotel.

    The hotel is in the middle of the village,very nice and quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.9
    Helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Took a while to get the air out of the plumbing to the top floor. All good once working

    Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    NIce and calm place
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing to say:)

    NIce and calm place

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.3
    The staff is very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is very nice and helpful.Reassuring hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Secure bike storage in locked room, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really its a 3 star cycle tour overnight

    Secure bike storage in locked room, good breakfast. Good eetcafe, de Stee, nearby

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    6.3
    located on the main street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no smoking room smelled like a smoking one

    located on the main street

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NO KETTLE or FACILITIES FOR MAKING DRINKS.

    Staff. Helpful & friendly. Large room. Lovely restaurant

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    3.8
    Location of Hotel-
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms are old, beds not comfortable, room was not clean

    Location of Hotel-

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.2
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.8
    Pretty little town outside of Utrecht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty little town outside of Utrecht. The hotel is a small, cozy and comfortable. Definitely worth a try!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    6.3
    The surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insufficient info on parking

    The surroundings

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Great staff and wonderful position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff and wonderful position. Excellent ratio price services in wonderful and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. Also the pillows.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Location, staff, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, staff, food

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room floor with carpet and not clean. We found different thing underneath the bed that illustrates that carpet was not efficiently cleaned

    Location

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Hotel Epping traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: