Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel City Garden Amsterdam 3 stars

P.C. Hooftstraat 162, Oud Zuid, 1071 CH Amsterdam, Netherlands

#303 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2488 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice spacious clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excruciatingly slow elevator. Turns out it’s quicker to walk to the top floor.

    Nice spacious clean room. Fairly close to the main city, not a far walk to the tram.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent. Enjoy my staying in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit surprised room was not ready at 3pm for checking in, otherwise it was excellent.

    Room was clean & tidy. Location of the hotel is excellent. All in walking distance to get tram, bus & boat etc..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.5
    One we will remember!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an issue during the night that caused much distress but the staff on the reception apologised for not being in a position to assist with the issue and promised to refund in full the charge for that nights accommodation - which they did.

    The room was a good size, breakfast was excellent, location very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    We got what we expected. Nothing more, nothing less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a family room for three. Space was tight and the mattresses no more than adequate. Inevitably we were paying top city prices for location, and getting broadly Premier Inn quality

    Acceptable everyday bed and breakfast. Excellent location. Near a tram stop but it was no hardship to walk everywhere - very close to main museums and 40 minutes from Centraal Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast better than expected and a nice touch of fruit bring out into the room the following day. Staff were brilliant and very helpful. Area is beautiful and quiet but not far where it is busy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful staff, reasonable price, but must be willing to live without airconditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small. We had to store our large suitcase downstairs because there was barely enough space to open a medium sized suitcase. There were no drawers into which to place clothes. The room lacked air-conditioning and there was no screen for the window. The small fridge in our room didn't work but the staff put our leftovers in the kitchen fridge.

    The staff was helpful and offered to store our large suitcase in a locked closet because the room was so small. They also helped confirm our flight, print boarding passes and arrange for taxi pickup. The location was wonderful near major museums, a lovely park, and public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know why the receptionist was like uncomfortable when I asked to leave my very small bag at the reception to go to Rijks museum when I had checked out already.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff exceeded my expectations. I had a mistake with my reservation, and the staff fixed it on the spot, without any extra charge. Highly appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and enjoyable hoilday with my lovley wife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing great stay

    Great little hotel we have been to Amsterdam 5 times and we still haven't done it all. This is a great hotel for the money its right next to the park that my wife really liked on last years trip so we was walking around that most mornings, we didn't eat breakfast or dinner in the hotel so I cant review the food all the staff was really nice and friendly and we will be staying again !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    A convenient hotel for a short stay in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a single room, and i would say the space is quite small. I was also given a room on the ground floor - so very close to reception and the luggage storage room - this meant it was sometimes noisy in the night/early hours. So not the best location in the hotel

    The reception staff were very helpful - and willing to assist on any matters that i spoke with them about. The breakfast was what i expected and there was more than enough to satisfy. The location of the hotel is fantastic; a stone's throw from the wonderful park and galleries

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    The worst
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst hotel I stayed in in years. The noise is extraordinarily high. There are people in and out at all hours. Smokers in reception and drunk louts hanging outside in early hours of morning. No consideration for people sleeping.

    Nothing!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My incoming flight was more than 12h late, but arriving at the hotel, hoping to get some rest, I discovered that my room, even though paid for, was not available anymore. When trying to argue, I was told that this was booking.com fault.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    not bad, not good, just for a one night stay, you get what you pay in an expansive city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no slipper. the lady receptionist is not so friendly (but not rude either). no air conditioner. shower is old and tricky to use. television is not hd.

    for a cheap stay in the Amsterdam and not far away from city centre (by bus 5-15 minutes, on foot 20-40 minutes). luggage lock. free coffee and tea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Good and comfortable, but watch out they have only one lift to cater all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift was not working properly and was out of order on our day of departure. We had to bring all our luggage from 3rd floor to reception. It has only one lift and same is used for service purpose also.

    Location is apt, with luxury shopping street just round the corner, big Vondelpark for small picnics and very close to Rijksmuseum and others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room measured 7.6 x 18 feet.There were two bunk beds 2.5 feet apart against each wall, the sides of which were saggy as this is where guests have sat ,therefore staying in bed was a problem ..This measurement includes the bathroom.! The toilet was 18 inches from the door so anyone over 5’7 wouldn’t be able to sit down. This room was on the ground floor at pavement level and because it was warm we had the window open making it noisy.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room. Too small for a couple. Far too epensive for such a small room. Access to the room was diifficult for luggage. Ie high and narrow steps to get in hotel, then tiny and very noisy lift to get to floor, then a door to get to corridor, then 8 steps stair to get to the room..........

    The location was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Not good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The behavior of one of the receptionists. The room in the basement with no windows. They took me money (still not released, 3 days after my stay) from my credit card and there I payed in cash, again????

    The coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    2.9
    Bad hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Big Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is very small and dirty with coat hangers rusty and the shower didn't drain. breakfast nothing special. Too much expensive for the quality we have found.

    Nearby Vondel park, Van Gogh museum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Affordable with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite warm on the day I checked in (late spring) and my room was very hot and stuffy, there was no air conditioning.

    Affordable hotel in a great location. Really liked the proximity to Vondel Park, the Rijks and Van Gogh Museum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    not so bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we couldn't use Wi-fi and outside was very loud untill 2 or 3 clock.

    very good location for sightseeing. very near the museum of Van Goch, National Museum, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Amazing location to explore Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing to explore Amsterdam, almost all popular attractions/restaurants and bars are on walking distance. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Definitely a hotel that will give you a ‘home’ feeling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location, decent stay, but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, the quality and level of facilities weren't up to the mark. Didn't justify the €100 per person per night price tag. The Hotel staff insisted on receiving the complete payment up-front.

    Bed and bathroom were decent. Location was really good, very close to most attractions in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was only plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. Plus there was only one chair in the room and there was not much to sit on in the lobby-a bench. The rooms carpet was very spotted and the walls needed to be Cleaned or painted. Do not stay in room 51. The trash bin is outside the window.

    Breakfast was adequate. I’m not sure how to describe the beds. Location to visit the main art museums was terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be more varied. Every day there was the same supply. The walls were thin, so We heard the guests talk in the corridor

    Location was great and accessible to everywhere within a short walk. Breakfast was simple but good. Tea/Coffee facilities are provided free in rooms and in reception area. Wi-fi also free in all areas. The bed was too soft to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    We stayed in the double, twin room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in the double, twin room. Very small and cramped. However, the room and bathroom were clean and the beds comfortable. It is located a few blocks away from Leidseplein (night life area) and Museumplein. A perfectly decent hotel, but in retrospect I would have opted to spend a bit more money to be in a somewhat more centrally located area (nearer to the canals). While everything in Amsterdam is very walkable, after a full day of walking, the extra 5-10 minutes to the hotel can seem endless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed .✌️✌️✌️
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    How amazing stay . It’s the second time for me here in this hotel but this time it was really amazing . You guys made my stay perfect .clean , comfort , location ..keep up the good work .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Location is ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with thin mattress on bed. Below ground room. Occasional street noise. Desk was only big enough to be a side table.

    Location is ideal. Limited number of staff but helpful. Kept very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable stay in lovely surroundings. I was happy we had booked here rather than in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Big Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the fourth floor. The lift only goes o the third floor so we had to carry our cases up a steep flight of stairs. The room overlooked the park but was hot being at the top. Would advise against this floor for older people like ourselves.

    Great location. Right next to beautiful Vondelpark and within an easy walk of lots of restaurants and bars. Also very close to all the museums. Easy to catch a tram (2 or 5) a short walk away to the centre of Amsterdam and the central station. Note payment on tram by card only. Also the red Hop On Hop Off bus stops on the main road close to the edge of the park and you can also take boat rides on the canal there Hotel is small but clean and rooms have all you need...a fridge, coffee machine, heater and fan. Staff were helpful and efficient when we had a problem with our safe. Breakfast was simple but adequate.. Easy to book taxi for return to airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.9
    What a miserable, old and dirty hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Big Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, rundown and dirty with unpleasant staff: the door of the room didn‘t close; the floor and matress were dirty; the walls so thin that you could hear the neighbors... - this was the worst hotel we ever stayed in - never again!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Apart from the room, the hotel was OK, free Wi-fi and coffee, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds in small room 173 were very narrow, mine slightly tilting, so I felt I was sliding off onto the floor. No bedhead, so couldn't sit up comfortably, even when a second pillow was provided. I suggest bedheads could be fixed at the other end, facing the window, which would provide more comfort.

    Good area, helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Goos weather helped a lot. Next time will spend more to have bigger room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Extremely small room. Strange breakfast - very poor for 10 EUR/pers

    Great staff, helped a lot. Beautiful park next to hotel entrance. Close to museum places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    All in all we were happy with the hotel & enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air-con and our windows didn't open. Fortunately there was a portable fan provided but for obvious safety reasons we couldn't leave it on while we were out. This meant, as the weather was 20-23degrees during our stay, the room became very warm & stuffy.

    The hotel is in the Museum district and very close to the beautiful Vondelpark. Tea/Coffee facilities are provided free in rooms and in reception area. Wi-fi also free in all areas. More than ample selection of foods available for breakfast. There is a Tram stop close to the hotel but plenty of attractions are within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    Really not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really not good. Why was the hotel room the size of a bathtub? I couldn't maneuver in the room at all, complete joke. Was the fire alarm going off all the time an added bonus? If so, thanks, it scared the crap out of me every time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant and smooth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very basic and a little dated but it's perfectly acceptable for the price and location.

    Great Location, right at the entrance of on of most beautiful parks in Amsterdam. You can rent a bike from the hotel and zoom around the green spaces and that canals. Great and inexpensive way to see the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    It was an ok place to lay our heads, but nothing to entice us to return or refer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How thin the walls were and how the door up our room didn’t quite meet the frame ( you could see light through the hinge side of the door). These issues allowed all noises from the hall to come into our room at all hours of the night.

    The woman working the front desk in the mornings was both friendly and informative, but the gentleman on shift after her, always seemed put off and uninterested with anything we had to say or ask, including our hellos and good nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Great, comfortable stay. Would definitely re-book.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No late check-out times available.

    Really nice and comfortable room. Cleaning staff was so nice and polite, even left a plate of fruit after they cleaned up. Location was great and accessible to everywhere within a short walk. Great park with a lake behind hotel to chill and hangout, to take a walk or even run if you like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.6
    Museum’s and explorig the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A false fire alarm went of at 2am and that is unacceptable. Bad sound isolation to the corridor and out to the street. Stayed in a basement room that i have no problem with but people throw joints outside the window that made the hole room smell like marijuana. Paid 600 euro and that was way to much for the standard.

    The scrabbled eggs was perfect. Good wifi. Was able to change my room from a two bed room to a singel big bed the same day we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely small room and toilet. No power outlet close to the bed headboard. No A/C. 6 euros for a can of coke...

    Close to a tram stop and relatively close to downtown. The room decoration is good. Really close to the museumplein.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location, staff friendly, good value for money, would book again and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, close to city center and public transport (tram), large, clean and comfortable room for 4 persons, large bathroom, water heater in room, tea, coffee, sugar available to be self prepared. Quiet place, view on large garden behind. Substantial choice for breakfast. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.3
    uncomfortable rooms and poor cleaning and breakfast yet the location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location but very uncomfortable rooms and bad cleaning in the night heard rats walking in the ceeling

    Extremely small room and bathroom and very poorly cleaned

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Interesting first visit to Amsterdam - Blue Boat canal trip was good - use booking.com code
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room allocation a little chaotic - intially given key to a room that was occupied with someones cases. then was to be offered a basement (dungeon) room but declined this before being given a first floor street view room that was acceptable.

    Very helpful staff - descent continental breakfast - warm room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    We had a fab time celebrating a friends 40th.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit poor but ok. Coffee not good but overall fine.

    Basic but clean fab shower comfy beds perfect location easy reach of all places and perfect for tram links nice breakfast friendly staff and would highly recommended for groups away to the dam...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    It was nice to have fruits on plate in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To much noise from lobby , i did stay on ground floor. Wc was too small. I am 1,8 m and if was say 1,9 then it would not be possible to use the toilet.

    It was nice to have fruits on plate in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Neat & Clean Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were given the basement room instead of our special request for the high floor room

    The property was nicely located and even the staff was very cooperative and helpful in all respects. It bit far from the bus stop or the tram stop if you are carrying 2-3 luggage. But otherwise the rooms were neat & clean. Coffee was good at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Third time at this hotel, and I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N.a

    Third time at this hotel, and I would return. This time around, it looks like the Hotel has came under another group, ‘WIN Hotels’. The room we had on the third floor was bigger than what we have had before, the welcoming addition of a fridge and revamped rooms. I assume that will or has happened to other rooms. If this is your first time to Amsterdam, I wouldn’t be put off by complaints of the hotel rooms being small, that is very common in the city - due to the building style. The staff are friendly and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Good base for sightseeing. Not much else to recommend it above others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are not the friendliest in the world. Did their jobs but a smile would be nice . Rooms could do with a freshen up but as hotel is 3 star can't expect too much.

    The location is excellent. Easy links from airport and around the city. Close to lots of museums, etc. Borders Vondelpark which is a lovely place for a stroll. Didn't spend much time at hotel but used it as a convenient base fro sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    3.3
    Room was tiny and not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and not very clean. Staff didn’t take much notice of you. Area was ok. But I expected to enjoy my time a bit more here but unfortunately did not.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    4.6
    Nice location next to Vondelpark
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window didn't shut properly making a loud banging noise all nigh. We could also hear the lift from our room and found a mouse in our room.

    Nice location next to Vondelpark

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Cheap, cheerful and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too small , mattress kept slipping off the bed Heard strange noises coming from around my bed at night and behind in the wall- potentially a rodent - was upsetting Noise from building outside the room was very loud - no one warned us of this

    Nice room, perfect for two friends sharing. Pay for what you get. Nothing luxurious - but would come back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window didn't close properly. This made it ice cold and the bed was right next to this. We couldn't use the tv as there were no remote controllers

    They surprised us by giving us a plate with fruit in the afternoon and by doing the bedding. It is also close to the vondelpark, which is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    The beds were really annoying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really annoying. They had mattress toppers on then which kept sliding off the bed so everyone had to keep repositioning them in the middle of the night. And there wasn't enough space in the room to remove and store them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Location was decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and bedsheets were not changed over the four day period we were there. Walls were stained and cracked. Staff were unfriendly and not very chatty. Also hotel withdrew €100 from my bank account without my knowledge and left me short of money over there and am still waiting to be reimbursed owed money!

    Bed was nice and comfortable and location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.6
    Hotel City Garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar. Beds are really uncomfortable. You have to leave bathroom door open to take a dump as it's so small when it on the toilet. Toilet brush had remanents of previous guests. Reception staff were friendly. But not very helpful.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Good value hotel for explorers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Big Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street location was a little off-putting. Breakfast expensive for what you get.

    Good location for museums, comfortable bed and good basic facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    5.8
    It served its purpose..as in a place to freshen up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room bed is two singles put together with double topper..so kept rolling to middle....staff not particularly welcoming or helpful...a lovely garden but not in use....water turnt off in rooms n no apology

    Good location,clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic breakfast with a lot of choices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too soft and the blanket too heavy for you to feel full recharged. The Wi-Fi lost connection for a short period, but a lot of times.

    Fantastic breakfast with a lot of choices! Very good position for travellers to go all over Amsterdam!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    There was a problem with the water ,two days in a row there...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the water ,two days in a row there was no water in the morning so I could not shower and this was quite annoying, specially in my departure day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    All we needed for a relaxing comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Big Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spare pillow. Little more instructions in the folder as I had to go and ask how to use the coffee machine. Slightly noisy neighbours on one side one night. Wish I had asked for a garden view!

    Nice and central. Warm and could adjust heating easily. Clean and tidied every day. Staff helpful especially night porter. Easy to use safe in room. Hot drinks available all the time. Breakfast choice wide enough for us. Room comfy and spacious. Shower excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.4
    Far from Central and the Rooms at the ground floor which I also stayed too much noisy, can hear walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from Central and the Rooms at the ground floor which I also stayed too much noisy, can hear walking the people, single room was so small with a tiny single bed like a hostel. Breakfast was fine.

    Close to the museums

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Souterrain
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was enough big to accommodate five people. It was clean and with in reach of most amenities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    friendly staff, clean room, comfy beds would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra comfy beds, brilliant staff, right next to Vondal Park, walking distance from Leidseplein centre where theres loads of places to eat. Near to I am Amsterdam sign. Easy accessible by tram 2 & 5 from central, 10/15 mins into Dam Sq on the tram. Taxi service to the airport available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfortable but it could been a bit more.
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was really bad it didnt work at all... toilet was good but the shower was very bad...

    The bed was comfortable but it could been a bit more.... room was a bit small but ok... Location is very good... the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    The single room was very comfortable and not as tiny as in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my bathroom I could feel tobacco smell, I assume there was a smoking room downstairs, since my room was on the first floor. But I was really happy with my room, so didn't ask to change. Had I complained, they would have changed the room, I assume.

    The single room was very comfortable and not as tiny as in other hotels in Amsterdam. There is everything that you need plus you get a kettle and free tea and coffee. On my last day a got a plate of fruit,wich was a pleasant surprise. The hotel is situated in a very convenient place, close to a part and the main museums.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location; staff need to liven up
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unfriendly. The property stated no pre-payment, yet took half the booking amount a week before.

    Great location. Room was, on the whole, clean and modern. In a quiet and gentrified neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Room meets your needs for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was clean but could of been cleaned better, by this I only mean as in hoovered in the corners of room and by skirting boards. Tea and coffee in the room was a bonus but would of preferred milk rather than the sachets of creamer.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 407 which we were upgraded too for no reason which was a large double. (we had booked a small double) so this was a nice bonus. Rooms are pretty basic but have everything you need i.e. Loo, shower, sink, tv, kettle and coffe machine, hair dryer and also fresh towels daily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    A Hotel in a nice area in Amsterdam , that has the potential to be a really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi goes on/off, and poor connection, Still dont understand in this day and age, why hotels cant get reliable super fast internet installed for prices they charge. Room - Cleanliness in bathroom could have been better, as could have the maintenance, stained carpets/ TV bad reception on most channels (even though was out most of the time, and only put on a couple of times) Window area and shower area could have been maintained better. Staff - Could have been a bit more friendly and attentive.

    Nice Location, in a nice area by Vondelpark, close to the Museums, and Amsterdam Central (if you are looking to stay near the Station or Red Light District) its a good 30min walk, but would recommend this area over the red light area. The Bed looked new, and was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Would recommend for cheap and cheerful city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work being carried out in the hotel during the day but that wasn’t a problem because we were out and about until evening time.

    Location was perfect in relation to trams that allowed us to travel wherever we wanted to go. Cute cafes in area. Staff helpful with arranging taxis to airport. Room was small but expected. Got what we paid for

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues.

    Good budget hotel. Recommend you go for larger double room as standard rooms are quite tight in size. Handy for the art museums and a short walk to Liedsplein. 10 to 15 minute tram ride to city centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Small, low service, but clean and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This really feels like more of a hostel than a hotel, although it would be a nice hostel! It's very small, which I knew going in, but I didn't realize how difficult the bathroom, with its exceptionally tiny sink, would be to use. The front desk staff was mostly not interested in customer service (at one point, we asked them about tram fares, and although the man answered all of our questions, he never once looked up from his computer). The beds have a mattress pad that continuously slides around, which is pretty annoying, especially since there aren't many places to sit in the room.

    The hotel is clean and it's close to many attractions, but it's still outside of the really crowded central Amsterdam. Great location, very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was located in a lovely place, close to the Vondelpark which is peaceful and pretty. It is also located by some great shops (but expensive). Trams are easily accessible but me and my partner used Uber as it is much cheaper than the taxis in Amsterdam and they are quick and efficient! The hotel is great value for money and I would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Lovely warm, comforatable hotel with very good breakfast. Short walk to tram stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff in dining room, no smiles - did try a smile to female in the dining room but they seem very glum. Chap on reception was a little better. Could hear dull rumble of traffic in early hours of the morning (before 6.00 am) although the hotel is not on the main road.

    Room lovely and warm, comfortable beds, large room, easy shower to operate though fixed head (prefer showers I can move around and control myself, good selection at breakfast, tram stop not too far away - number 2 or 5. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    3.8
    Thank God Amsterdam has decriminalised certain drugs, because staying here sober would be traumatic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    George Orwell wrote of the horrors of Room 101. He was close, but, obviously, he meant room 364 at the City Garden in Amsterdam. Our "double room" was obviously a single room, with a double bed base put in, 2 single mattresses, and a very thin double 'mattress' on top of that, which made it a very uncomfortable sleep. When we removed the double mattress to fix it, as the 2 single mattresses underneath kept moving, causing a gap to form in the middle of the bed, we were greeted with 2 of the most disgusting, stained mattresses I and my girlfriend had ever seen. I shudder to think what made those stains, or the thought of anyone else having to see them, but, since the cleaning staff didn't know how to make a bed properly, any future guests will probably see it while adjusting their sheets. I dropped my kindle behind the bed one night, and it slipped down and went under the bed, forcing me to lift the bases to get it. What I was greeted with could only be described as its own biome. I was surprised not to see James Cameron filming his next movie there. Being the nice person I am, I always let my girlfriend take a shower before me in the morning. I never once managed to have a hot shower in my entire stay. An explanation for this was never forthcoming. The walls were paper thin and blocked no sound. I am more than prepared for the fact that hotels don't have soundproof walls, and you will be able to hear some of your neighbours. However, hearing people get off the lift on the floor below us is not acceptable. Thankfully, nobody near us was feeling particularly amorous on their trip. I found it very odd that, after being told that our room was ready, we went there, unpacked, and headed out for a few minutes, to check the nearest tram stops, and which trams stopped there. In the space of what was maximum 15 minutes, someone from the staff had been back in our room.

    It was near Museumplein and Vondelpark, and had easy access to the trams.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    Only fair. Not really worth the money being honest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups / saucers in bedroom were dusty. No actual milk, but dried milk. One particular staff member was quite rude when I rang reception to ask if there should be milk in the room ("we don't do room service" was the response). Another staff member let themselves into my room without knocking. Construction going on by lift so lots of noise throughout the afternoon and into the early evening. Not a very relaxing stay. Room was TINY.

    Great location. Only around the corner from the Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum (maybe a 5 minute walk?) which was the reason I booked this hotel. Street was quiet so no noise from traffic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    The Hotel is incredibly well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some towels were very old with holes on it, and they didn’t change the covers of the bed sheets

    The Hotel is incredibly well located. It’s everything walking distance. The staff were nice and the room was always warm and with a nice size. Good price/quality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, well designed hotel but staff need not wake people who don't have a wake up call set.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even on days we were not due to check out staff were knocking on our room door at 9am. There was no lie in availed of. 9am may seem late to some but it was no necessary for staff to knock on ours or other doors.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: