Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Utrecht Province hotel reviews
  4. Utrecht hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Strowis Hostel

Reviews of Strowis Hostel

Boothstraat 8, City Centre, 3512 BW Utrecht, Netherlands

#24 of 36 hotels in Utrecht

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 556 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2019

    8.8
    The staff are so friendly and the Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's beautiful centrally located old house where the walls speak at night so if you need a good night's sleep bring some ear plugs.

    The staff are so friendly and the Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2019

    6.7
    Nice people in a not too much comfortable place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are not so comfortable, they are cold for my standards. The toilet I could use had no windows, shower needs a bit of renovation

    Staff is very friendly and always available for any need

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2019

    10
    everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator, not good(for old) if staying in the 2nd floor. on the otherhand, it's a good exercise going up and down

    everything! +welcome drinks!!! +friendly and helpful staff +wifi everywhere +cleanliness (they always clean the room, toilet, shower, kitchen, and changes the beddings every guest) +good kitchen +lockers +lounge +environment friendly (automatic lights, water saver showers) +guests are friendly and observe hostel policies +good location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2019

    6.3
    Terrible place compared to €85 it charges for a room!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for a room for one person was a RIP off!

    I had a double room for one person. €85 per night. When I arrived, there were NO towels. The shower was terrible! Especially in winter, when you want to have continuous shower. Now where to put clothes! The floor was extremely cold Location was greatZ More what I DIsliked! Perhaps, if one pays €27 per night, with the mimd set thst it is nothing but a HOSTEL, the place is satisfactory. But when you pay €85, you expect some amenities.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    9.2
    Not perfect, but perfectly adequate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a couple of small comments. Shower rooms did not have a dry space, so hard to avoid clothes getting a bit wet. Some pillows contained feathers, so be aware if you are allergic/sensitive. And my 6-bed dorm contained only one small table and one chair, so hard to find anywhere to put anything down (not even a small shelf by each bed).

    Very friendly hostel with pleasant bar / lounge/ common room area and nice garden. Excellent central location. Toilets and showers were adequate. Wash room clean and spacious. My dorm bed was very comfortable, though I did get disturbed by noise from the street a couple of times during the night (but what can you expect in a central location).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much space in the room to store your stuff, and the bed side light didn’t seem to work

    Great location. Quiet street but plenty going on on the streets next door. Nice living room and bar area. Hired a bike from the hostel too which was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    7.1
    despite great staff and atmosphere an expensive and sleepless night!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls of my room were paper thin and I was kept awake all night by someone, who was obviously ill and was coughing up phlegm - disgusting! Maybe its just Utrecht - or just the Netherlands - but accommodation here seems VERY expensive.

    Great Atmosphere & very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly staff, warm room and good music at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was fine for a hostel but priced like a hotel room once you add on the breakfast (€95 per night).

    Good location, friendly staff, warm room and good music at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice Smallish Hostel, Felt Like Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room felt slightly cramped by the huge roof timbers. I managed to beng my head more than once. And like many Dutch hotels and hostels, the stairs are narrow and steep. Both of these are minor quibbles.

    Strowis Hostel is on a quiet side street off Voorstraat, which has a good choice of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. It has a homely feel (I believe it may have once been a family house), a nice garden, and wonderfully friendly staff. The common areas are cosy and pleasant. We felt that we got good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    The staff was comprised of the loveliest people in the world...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was comprised of the loveliest people in the world, extremely helpful and friendly! The property was really nice and clean for a hostel, the common area downstairs had a really chill vibe and great music, the garden was also sublime!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Nice. Relaxed. Friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing to dislike.

    Relaxed hostel with a laid-back atmosphere. Don't go here if you're in a rush or are expecting deluxe treatment. People are nice and friendly. Hostel is fun and adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff and the communal area and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside the room would be nice the addition of any kind of storage for your clothes, we found just two angers. And just a suggestion, a member of the evening staff was folding the bed sheets in the middle of the communal area, over a table with all the guest around, I think would be better doing this operation in a more appropriate place. Anyway we loved our weekend at the Strowis, these are just constructive criticism 🙂

    Great location, friendly staff and the communal area and the garden are great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    We stayed here twice- at the beginning and end of a 5 week...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here twice- at the beginning and end of a 5 week cycling trip. The staff were unfailing friendly and helpful. The lounge and garden were charming. The room was simple but large and comfortable. The bar was great It was simply a lovely place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location, strange atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were strange. I over heard some staff making unpleasant remarks about guests. Showers were awful, push button type every 20 seconds.

    Good location to city. Has a nice back garden to socialise with other guests. Close to interesting parts of city centre. Strange atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    A nice friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice friendly place. I stayed only one night and had a long journey. Checking in checking out and the friendly staff made it a good relaxing experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    3.8
    Would not recommend unless you enjoy street noise throughout the early AM.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clear at all on Booking. com that this is very much a Hostel type of experience, much more clarity is needed to set expectations. A very noisy hotel, starting at 9 PM through 1 AM, and then occasionally at 3 AM and 4 AM. Noisy inside the hotel, considerable street noise.

    Only 15 minutes from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    Fine for a few nights while travelling. Wouldn't recommend for a work trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable: foam mattress with cheap synthetic duvet that was too small for the bed. The facilities were very basic, they didn't even have an iron available, which struck me as strange for a hotel.

    The staff are friendly, the communal space is pleasant and options for refreshment is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Cosy and nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It could be great if shower and WC could be separated by a small barrier/cover or wall so that all WC would not get wet -The sheets and pillows could be cleaner

    The staff is very friendly and helpful The atmosphere of the hostel is cosy and has a nice cafe where you can rest The garden is really nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    Probably good for backpackers, not so great for a work trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room (single room), seemed to be a router issue but nobody at the hotel was able to solve it. Walls are paper thin. I could hear my neighbor snore. For ~75€/night that’s very bad cost/benefit.

    The staff was very friendly and easy going (though they didn’t help with the wifi issue, see below).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best places i stayed in. The hostel's vibe matches that of utrecht. Very friendly and helpful staff, beautifly designed, great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Suggested to young travelers for a few nights
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our personal experience: I must say that we had a big issue concerning the heating: the room was unbelievably hot. The radiator was on and even if we had the window opened (it was snowing outside) we didn't manage to cool down the room because we could not turn the heating off. As a consequence, we could not sleep well (also because of the noise of shutting doors of the other guests in the middle of the night - but it's a hostel so I guess you have to know already that it can be noisy). Apparently the heating was on because the roof in the attic was made by wood, it was moulding and the hot temperature is supposed to fix that, but I cannot see how guests can sleep in that tropical room. Plus, when we entered the room, there were two other radiators in the middle of the room and we had to move them because we couldn't even walk(see picture). There was a sign on the door saying that they were working in some rooms, but I'd suggest either to stop renting those rooms or to lower the price and send a message to the guests before they arrive, so it won't be a surprise. The breakfast was ok. Not good for 6.5 euros (which is quite expensive), but we had it for free, so can't complain.

    I loved the location and the lowest price in Utrecht for a double bedroom with shared bathroom. The staff tried to help us concerning the heating, did not manage but gave us the breakfast for free because of that :) which is very nice and appreciated. Despite the problem we had, I'D SUGGEST THIS PLACE for one or two nights because being Utrecht it's cheap and the location is perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Very relaxing hostel environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and attentive staff, who were amazingly good at remembering names, and were really caring. Good location, which is very close to/from Utrecht Central Station for when you have baggage, but not that far from the station if you travel light.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Wish I could stay one more day !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and friendly place for a person willing to share a short and nice stay as I wanted to, can't recommend it enough for the kindness and the location !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Near to the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to the center of the city. Very good location and also not that far from the train station. The guys from the reception were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very enthusiastic and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower room was really cold. There was also a great problem with hot water(

    The staff was very enthusiastic and helpful. Also there is a nice lounge zone to spend the evenings. have lunch or to chat with other guests

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    We’ve been to the strowis before and once again we weren’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ve been to the strowis before and once again we weren’t disappointed. It’s friendly, welcoming and honest with a fascinating history and bright decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, to be repeated
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was bit noisy next to the street (although it became quiet on time), but maybe the window could be bit more isolated.

    Very characteristic stay, excellent personnel, good value for money, the atmosphere was great. Bed was good. I would definitely book this place again, also my ten year old daughter liked it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hostel, exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one pillow per bed and some where alittle lumpy or really hard but thats personal preference.

    Loved the Strowis Hostel, we had a twin room and it was really comfy. Shared bathroom which was very clean and the staff were really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Super nice staff people, long reception opening hours, bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms should be soundproofed better. Water in the shower was a bit cold once.

    Super nice staff people, long reception opening hours, bar inside the hostel. Cozy rooms and great position in Utrecht! And big beds for tall people ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice hostel with friendly ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower doesn’t have a curtain and the water finishes on the same floor of the toilet. Not very comfortable.

    The receptionist who checked us in was very kind, helpful and funny (when he told us about the night watcher he quoted GOT “Winter is coming”, you are amazing, I wanted to tell you!). The staff in general is friendly and nice. We liked the garden and the breakfast was ok. The location is very good and the value for money is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - pretty noisy: I woke up several times at night because of noise from outside and slamming doors in the building - my room was very cold at night.

    - super nice staff - good coffee - location is very good, bars and cafes are very close, just few minutes to the central shopping area - nice garden - I never saw a hostel that clean. Even my bathroom was cleaner than in most hotels. - wifi stable and fast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice welcome with a warm cup of tea, clean towel and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No electrical outlets close to the beds. Noise from the street easily heard through the windows. Staff unfazed by the fact that shower water was cold.

    Nice welcome with a warm cup of tea, clean towel and a pleasant conversation. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Really good :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If I have to be brutally honest the showers could be improved I am definitely not a fan of button showers. But as I said the rest compensates for that.

    This hostel is pretty awesome. I have always felt like facilities are not what makes a good hostel rather than the whole "traveler", open minded, nice atmosphere. This place is perfect for that, you might not be in the most modern building in town but you have a nice place to enjoy the company of people from multiple countries, have a nice vegan dinner on sundays and listen to occasional live music. The staff is a 1 million out of 10. I always prefer this kind of hostels rather than big chains where everybody comes and goes and nobody talks to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff with a friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I wish I had my private shower n toilet for the price I paid.

    1) The staff were wonderful 2) The location was good though 15 min walk to the centraal station 3) They rented bikes 4) There was a verrrry nice lobby and yard where we sat and talked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was great! He was competent, friendly and always smiling! I really enjoyed staying at Strowis Hotel, even if it was only for a night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Cheap hostel without luxuries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bunk bed was old school, not like the newer hostels with comfy sheets or cushions. Very plain in the room, nothing fancy. Tried to use kitchen first night we arrived starving to be told staff were using it from 1-7pm so we sat and waited at this point so hungry until 715pm to eat which put us in a bad mood. Lockers were downstairs three floors away from rooms- very annoying to carry stuff up and down.

    Window view onto the street, nice greenery at the back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, bicycle rental with a reasonable price,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    pantry is quite dirty, cooking utensils are quite dirty too, the drain is not that working the day we use the pantry, which makes cleaning difficult not close to train station

    Very friendly staff, bicycle rental with a reasonable price, clean room, walkable distance to main attractions of Utrecht

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    The best hostel in the Netherlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly it was an incredible hostel, but the 6 euro breakfast could have included a bit more - it was rather small.

    Strowis Hostel was my favorite Hostel I have ever been to. The staff was incredibly helpful and kind, there is a lovely garden where most guests hang out, and the guests themselves were A+. I loved the city of Utrecht as well! A great Dutch town that has a wonderful energy, food, sites, and nightlife.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location, atmosphere and security.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took a bit of time to heat up but was fine after that.

    Comfortable and in a good location. Had our own room. Never waited for The shared shower or toilet. Friendly staff and the welcome drink was a bonus! Utrecht is a charming city. Go up Dom Toren.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great hostel in Utrecht.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I would have stayed here the entire time I was in Utrecht.

    I picked this hostel last minute and was very pleased. Dick was extremely nice and helpful and the other guests were great too. I recommend this hostel to anyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If they provide a male and a female toilet in each building that would be perfect. if breakfast is at 7.30 would be perfect

    it is a historical building and located in central of the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Home feeling, excellent staff and location, nice facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is super friendly and made me feel at home as soon as I got there and during all my stay. It has all the advantages (great location, good and clean facilities, nice garden, kitchen) plus a very nice wamth feeling :D A staff member whose name is Juan told me about the history of the hostel and how the community organized to re-build, set-up, manage and continuously improve this place, which is something they really care for! And one can feel that. If I travel to Utrecht again, I'll stay at their hostel for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough outlets near the beds. There are two outlets next to bottom beds, but they are occupied by lights. Would be better with more connections and outlets extended to top beds.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Utrecht!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really, the place was great!

    Strowis was a great place to stay and affordable! The location to the city center was amazing too! I definitely recommend this place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money and gret location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers a bit broken and not possible to adjust temperature of the water

    Great location, friendly staff, cozy backyard, great to have the possibility to cook in a common kitchen and store food in a fridge

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful backyard chillout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has,a beautiful little garden at the back. It is rather calm and relaxing. You can rent bikes for 7€ the whole day there and it is just right in the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not 24 hours front desk.

    The hotel staff was great, well inform and very polite, the hotel is located a walking distances from many interesting places and museums.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    The staff immediately made sure that I was comfortable,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff immediately made sure that I was comfortable, offering a choice of refreshments, and were amicable throughout. Facilities were extremely clean and all public areas appeared well cared for. The location is impossible to beat for the best of Utrecht's center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2019

    4.6
    not adapte as older tourist traveller
    • Solo traveller
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sleeping in a kid bunk bed

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2019

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. Staff is also great.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2019

    7.1
    Very friendly staff, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not really soundproof so you can hear everything

    Very friendly staff, excellent location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2018

    10
    Amazing reception by the staff and other travelers including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing reception by the staff and other travelers including a great Christmas' dinner

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation, run by helpful professionals, in the heart of historic Utrecht.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are very helpful, and the building is a beautiful old house, built by monks several hundred years ago.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change the room because of another guest.

    Warm and well located

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is wonderful, nice atmosphere and remarkable garden. Also super helpful staff, definitely recommended!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    9.2
    Great Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inevitable steep, narrow Dutch stairs.

    Very friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice common areas, friendly staff, and a decent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room got a lot of noise and light from the street.

    Nice common areas, friendly staff, and a decent location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    5.4
    good location, very basic accommodations and very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise, lots of noise.

    good location, very basic accommodations and very noisy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.5
    cosy, comfortable and relaxed atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    relaxed atmosphere. very quiet...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location, lovely back garden with a tiny pond.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    You can meet new friends there and the bed is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can meet new friends there and the bed is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Just a bit noisy outside the building in the night ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit noisy outside the building in the night ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisy at night, because people outside were drinking too loud.I heard everyday is like this.

    Reasonable price. Clean enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Very nice staff, cool atmosphere, great location and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Very nice staff, cool atmosphere, great location and clean facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Special atmosphere, beautiful old building
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special atmosphere, beautiful old building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Stepwise Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great smell in the shower...room was expensive for a hostel.

    Location and lovely garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Yes There Need to take care off the Flees
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Flees

    Yes There Need to take care off the Flees

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Close to the centre, comfortable bed in a good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the centre, comfortable bed in a good size room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    great location
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Cooking smells
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooking smells

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    It's good to have slippers for bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's good to have slippers for bath

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    A great relaxed place for budget travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    This is a friendly, laid back place in a central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy with people shouting in the street outside till the early hours.

    Central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!