Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dutch Design Hotel Artemis 4 stars

John M.Keynesplein 2, Slotervaart, 1066 EP Amsterdam, Netherlands

#205 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2612 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Very clean very easy to get to from airport and to trams...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our welcome wasn’t very helpful requested early check in our room was ready but waiting on house keeping to sign off but wasn’t told what to do in mean time where to sit or anything got stared at blankly and when Room was ready we wasn’t told until we went and asked

    Very clean very easy to get to from airport and to trams into town and room was made special for a birthday surprise

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Acceptably nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above ^^

    Nice hotel, clearly not very busy due to location being far from everythin. I think this is why rooms were dusty as though they haven’t been used in a while. We were also able check in hours earlier as the rooms were empty. The hotel is lovely though,could upgrade the very minimal gym, perhaps supply water in the gym too. No pool or spa. Little shop in lobby to buy snacks which is useful as there’s literally nothubf but houses close the hotel. About a 30minure journey to centre. There is a shuttle service if your willing to pay. Spa would have been great as the hotels really boring so you spend all time in town. Perhaps suitable for a couple who want quiet time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    good comfort, friendly service and quiet atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more of a business hotel directly in the middle of all the business complexes. located really far off, although there is a tram/bus 10min-walk away which takes 40mins to the central station.

    good comfort, friendly service and quiet atmosphere!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, a place I would recommend!
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, theres nothing bad I can say about this place.

    Everythings great, great value for your money. Staff is really friendly. Good quality rooms and service. Definately a place I would recommend and come back too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    We log our complain and as a compensation they extended our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not clean when we came back in the evening even the washrooms dustbin was not empty and was filled with the garbage.

    We log our complain and as a compensation they extended our checkout time till 5 pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel if you have business in the neighborhood but double check what they are charging you!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly lots of things went wrong with my payment. First of all they charged me for a two-person breakfast even though I was alone ("oh, our system says you are checking in with two people"), and then they charged me the whole price twice. I paid with a debit card and the first time the system said the payment didn't go through so I had to pay a second time. Turns out that both payments were successful (and both with that added cost of one breakfast too much). I spent way too much time at the check-in desk to explain the problem and try to get my money back. In the end I got it back on my bank account after two days, but I would've appreciated a voucher for a free drink or something in the hotel to make up for the trouble and time. Especially considering that my colleagues got such a voucher when they checked in, for absolutely no reason. Also didn't get a printed bill, as asked for on booking.com.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    In the room you will have all you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way from central part not so near.Then from park 10 minutes.The tram number 2 going perfect all day, you need 35 minutes to centr of the city.No market and magazine near hotel.

    In the room you will have all you want.The room is large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing hotel! Staff were lovely. Decorated our room for our anniversary, which was fab! Loved every minute of our stay, second time staying aswell! Would go back for a third time when we next go.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you plan to go out to downtown a lot, this hotel is not for you. To far to go each time with uber or taxi. Bathroom door was from matt glass and did not close. There is nothing designer about this hotel.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Just outside of Amsterdam, a nearby tram ride of 20 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could comment on.

    Just outside of Amsterdam, a nearby tram ride of 20 minutes takes you to the centre of the city & trams are very frequent. Tickets are available to buy in the hotel. Quiet location. Very comfortable beds & clean midern rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Great stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing bad to say about this hotel. The beds were super comfy, the staff very friendly, the outside area was lovely and relaxing and the tram into central Amsterdam was so convenient only 5 mins away and took 15 mins. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples and family's .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Good, functional hotel for a short business stay. Nice breakfast terrace by fish pond.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was very expensive €15 for 12hrs; €21 for 24hrs. No discounts for hotel guests.

    Nice clean comfortable room; self-service 'grab & go' snack kisok. Nice breakfast terrace by fish pond.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Perfect for everyone location is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overlooked supplies for two in a twin room. - it did not spoil our stay because they are so nice and friendly and I think it was just an oversight

    Really great Hotel staff were helpful and always welcoming - the location the reception the artwork on display the food the peace at night the breakfast in the morning the rooms everything about this place is great highly recommended by me

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Very handy little shop in the hotel lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door was a little strange as it didn't have a lock on it (more down to personal preference). We were provided with a lot of decaf coffee despite only drinking the regular coffee sachets. Again, not really a problem, just a bit odd!

    Very handy little shop in the hotel lobby. Bed was incredibly comfy and room service was fast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    We loved the property, only one drawback, if you have young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the property, only one drawback, if you have young children the metro is a LONG walk for little ones and it truly takes about 15 minute walk and then 40 minutes metro to center, so one hour each way... not easy to go in and out for sightseeing. We loved the hotel, absolutely no complaints regarding people, rooms or service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about hotel .

    Nice hotel in a quiet district , a bit far out from central Amsterdam. But staff really friendly and terrace excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    100%recommend ***** Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we did nt like was having to leave the hotel to come home

    This hotel is absolutely fantastic. We were made to feel truly special on our arrival as it was our special occasion. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to help i would definitely stay here again. The art is fantastic and breakfast was superb. Easy commute to town centre. Thanks for a wonderful trip hope to see you again soon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Clean room, silence, good and quiet air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the downtown but acceptable without baby. Nothing close to the hotel. The hair dryer is a joke ! Room not ready at our arrival at 3pm (arrival possible at 2pm). Quiet expensive for this kind of service.

    Clean room, silence, good and quiet air conditioning. Good bed. Good breakfast if ordered 24h before (15€) if not 27€ and too much expensive !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing and environmentally friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The aforementioned towel policy could be improved: only change the towels that are on the floor, not change all if only one is thrown down.

    Comfy bed, great service, nice environment. I really liked the intention to minimise the impact on the environment with the big hand wash and shower gels instead of little bottles, and the towel washing policy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    service and communication

    The hotel qas clean but very slow service, responding to any issue would take hours of wait. Staff were not friendly at all. hotel representatives were not helpful and would not concidet helping in any circumstances. Having said that For some urgent circumstances I had to reserve for an additional day, which i did aroud 10:30 in the morning, however my situation changed and i am aware of the other hotels that they do allow extended checkouts, it was around 1400 when i approached hotel staff and requested if that’s possible, however they were regid on their decision and just dismissed it at all without concidering the situation, which any hotel would do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.3
    Calm but ageing hotel in middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a 10-15 minutes walk to tram/bus station through a kind of rundown area which does not make a comfortable walk. Shops are another 30 min walk. There was no bed or sofa for our 5 year old son.

    Hotel is located about 20 minutes drive from the tourist attractions and crowd.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff, quiet and the internet is free and no limit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, hair in the bed, low lights,Dust in some places in the room and the refrigerator is not clean.

    Friendly staff, quiet and the internet is free and no limit for devices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk in the room for our tea. Pillows were extremely flat and only one provided. No extra pillows in the room

    The hotel was basic. Had everything you would you want. Location is fine, only 20 mins from the centre. Wouldn't recommend for a romantic break but very good for business or group of friends exploring Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice and clean room. Location is a bit off the city centre, but only 8 minutes walk from the tram. Very kind and helpful staff. Quite tasty breakfast. Overall good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice and quiet and the staff were amazing. They made a little birthday cake for my nieces 18th in the spur of the moment. The staff were very helpful loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was more than i expected

    Lovely hotel rooms they were really nice and so were the facilitiesl also lovely staff who were very helpfull would stay here again and would recommend to friends nd family x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Reception was kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy and my room was near lift. So noise was double. I couldn’t sleep during stay. Parking costly . I paid 25 € just for parking. It is hard to find parking around hotel. Breakfast was expensive and not really good.

    Reception was kind and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    quiet, peaceful, comfortable, cozy family friendly hotel only 30 min simple bus ride to city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we went in June, I couldn't believe how expensive all the hotels were! This was the cheapest hotel we found but it was outside of the city center. 30 min bus ride to get to the center of Amsterdam.

    We stayed here with our 15month old. The room was cozy with a fridge. The breakfast buffet is a must because it's not likely you will find a breakfast place near the hotel because it's in an business/ commercial lot. The hotel offers to purchase affordable daily bus/train passes so you can get around. Local bus and train transportation is a must and very reliable. We definitely recommend staying here! Enjoy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab, super, awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were commuting back and forth to the centre of Amsterdam it was a bit time consuming, however, this is not the hotels fault as I was the one that booked! It’s a great place to stay even though it’s not in the centre of Amsterdam.

    Lovely staff, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Te breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's far away from the center of the city. You can still get there easily in tram or bus but do not forget to get the ticket to use those transport services.

    Te breakfast was great. The art exhibition in the hotel was amazing. Great bike rental service!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel and location, but don't expect too much service or food quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ate in the hotel twice during our stay, first night was very good, prompt service good food, second (different staff) was slow, food was cold and had to be sent back. Breakfast was very average but costly.

    Hotel location was good with pleasant surroundings, excellent access to public transport into Amsterdam city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Nice but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the hotel in general looked tired and could do with a refresh. The location is not ideal for central Amsterdam. There hotel was full of coach parties which meant that breakfast time was chaos.

    The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, spacious rooms,close to tram, bus and metro stations
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap forms of transport should be offered, there should be shaving kits in the toilet and house keeping staff should be instructed to replace shampoo, soaps when they seem to finish.

    Clean, spacious rooms,close to tram, bus and metro stations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Amazing staff and hotel.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    First of all the staff is so so nice at any time, so friendly, specially with children. The room was perfect and the food from the restaurant...absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    They really got on my nerves!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rarely a hotel gets on my nerves. Artemis did! A series of hotel policy-related issues added Artemis in my "never stay again" list. After arriving exhausted at around 9am, after a 6-hour flight and practically no sleep, I asked if there was an available room to check me in. The reply, no sir, check-in at 2pm. I was handed a map with transport information to the city center. Decided to have some rest in the lounge and evaluate some sightseeing options. At around noon, I approached reception and asked if they could check me in. Again "no sir" without even checking for room availability. It was clear that this was hotel policy, which in case there are available rooms is very unreasonable. My booking did not include breakfast but it was available at 19,75€. Next morning I went to have breakfast, gave my room number but as breakfast was not included, I was asked to go to the reception, PAY for the breakfast, get a voucher and present it to the staff to allow me enter the restaurant and have breakfast!!! In the evening I decided to stay in and order room service. No catalog, but there was an online menu. Great, I thought. Must be up to date. It wasn't! Anyway they read me the catalog and ordered some pasta. "Cash or credit card sir?" WHAT??!!!! "Are you paying cash or with credit card?". Can't you just charge my room????? "Let me ask (!!)"... "No sir only cash or credit card. Shall I bring the credit card machine?" I paid cash. Bath towels were too small. TV set was at least 10 years old.

    Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice, with heated floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Only for short stay business traveller looking for a hotel in the close by business park
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were small and not well equipped for a 4 star hotel (small towels, no basic toiletries, water etc) Staff had a very "dry approach" and were not really efficient in case that we requested their help ( e.g. information or booking the cattle service). The reception was understaffed The breakfast was poor in quality and variety in relation to the price The location was non convenient for either the centre or the RAI

    Bar and reception area. Outside deck area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.2
    Big beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad room service: - Blanket is not cleaned - Dirty drawers - Glasses not cleaned - Floor is not swept Expensive Cannot alter air-con temperature

    Big beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.0
    Nice hotel, with confy beds, decent size rooms, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to do around the hotel area but only 20 minutes trip to Leidsplein

    Nice hotel, with confy beds, decent size rooms, clean bathrooms, quite, helpfull staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money, would recommend hiring bikes, would save you a lot of time and money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The hotel is only 4/5 km from the center, and a 10m walk to the nearest transport links. This can mean around 30-45m journey from hotel to center. The distance is made clear however before booking. -Air conditioning not great

    A few issues with our initial room, however the situation was quickly rectified by Lisa at the reception. We were then moved to an executive room (without additional charge), and were offered free use of the hotel bikes in addition to complementary breakfast. A very nice touch to receive a letter of apology from the hotel manager also!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been a flippers to wear, Little bit far from the city center, Parking is a little bit expensive compared to central parking stations (21€ for 24 hours is more expensive than the parking places in city center). However, you can speak and ask for a better fee at reception (I got 15€ for 24 hour)

    Bed was very comfortable. Very clean room Very spacious room. Great wi-fi Nice bathroom 10 mins to airport 800 meters to Tram and metro. You take Tram# 2 to Central Station and it totally takes 45 mins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    All in all, I can't recommend the stay at this hotel and I personally won't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Negative: Very long way to the city centre; "Design" in the room was very old fashioned with clearly visible marks on the furniture + old fashioned TV with very few Programs; Parts of the room were not clean at all (p.e. big birddroppings on the window); Climate system was very loud the whole day and night with no chance to regulate it (the staff checked it - which was clearly positive that the man at the reception desk listenend to my claim and came to my room to look after it - but than he wanted to tell me it was all normal, trust me it wasn't normal at all); Highway nearby with clearly hearable traffic noise at evening and night... So all in all, I can't recommend the stay at this hotel and I personally won't stay there again.

    Positive: Bath; Bed; The nice terrace with waterplace outside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Handy for the airport and RAI
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in the mini bar - not even a bottle of water. Beds could be comfier. Gym quite limited.

    Fine for a business hotel, but slightly chaotic service at dinner and breakfast. Rooms nice enough, and heated bathroom floor is a treat!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Although the location is not central (10 minutes to the tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the location is not central (10 minutes to the tram and 20+ min to the center), we were happy that we stayed there. It's nice residential area with small houses and a park with rabbits playing in the grass. It was interesting to see another side of Amsterdam. By the way, the road to the center is supposed to be one of the most beautiful tram routes in the world, which is also worth something. Also, the restaurant is nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive althought the food was fresh it was way over priced for the food selections. The air conditioning was good but could have been colder

    The staff were all very friendly. The hotel systems were down when I went to check in but that did not stop them. They took my information on paper, have me a room key and just asked that I come back later when the systems were working to electrically check in. Room service was fast and yummy. The bed was big! There was information at the front desk on public transit into the city (8min walk to tram and bus) but they also had a shuttle (for a fee) that would take you into the city. You could even buy city attraction tickets at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.8
    Not going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not smile , bed had a dip and were not comfortable, toilets did not have proper doors/no privacy. Room service food was tasteless. One day we got back at 5pm and the cleaners were only just cleaning our rooms and we had to wait in reception until they had finished. Our shower head was broken and only worked at a certain angle. Walls were thin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good stay with family, little bit away from the crowd of Amsterdam city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping on the second day was not complete, though it was specifically requested. The trash from the room was not taken away (from both the rooms we booked). It was unexpected service from such a good - 4 star rated - hotel. Hope this will be addressed.

    Hotel is very nicely designed! Rooms are quiet and sound-proof. Staff and room service was excellent. As we were traveling with 2 small kids, we had a couple of special requests. The response to special requests was handled happily. The reception also guided on public transport information in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very fine city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is well out of the city centre, so it is necessary to use tram 2 every day and a bit of a walk to get into town

    The design aspects. An exhibition of modern design in the lobby improves the atmosphere. Breakfast was extensive and actually quite good value compared to the city centre. Being able to use tram 2 to come and go enables access to many of A'dam's attractions Nieuw Meer is nearby and a good venue for a morning run.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To far to Amsterdam City centre, journey 20mins .You can get a Tram back up until 12.00 midnight or you can get a bus every 20mins till 3.00am. Taxi from city centre was 40 euros

    Staff very friendly, made us feel very welcome, lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was very clean and had good connectivity to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and had good connectivity to the city centre by using Tram 2 which was just 8 mins walk from the hotel Tickets were available for sale from the hotel it self and the staff were helpful is guiding suggestions for travel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    A good 4 star hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's tv was old and I couldn't find the stairs at my floor so I used the lift everytime.

    The Room Design was pretty and the hotel's athmosphere gives peaceful sensations thanks to his essential and modern layout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Nice hotel, poor staff and cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not cleaned for two days. The staff only made the beds and did not vacuum or pick up any used mugs and glasses. We had to call reception at midnight to come and clean the room, and all they did was pick up the dirty mugs. It was really poor since we paid for a fully serviced room and it was not serviced at all!! Did not get my value for money.

    The rooms were spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    3.3
    I don't like the way of work in that hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is too bad and everything we should pay for this is first time in my life I go to hotel like that they don't have room service and we must do self-service . For ex: I ask for water to bring it my room they want me to pay for that a money , I think this is not how the hotel it should be this like I'm in flat , I'm really upset about it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel in most respects but it is a little way out the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location, even though we checked it out on the map, was quite a distance from the Central Station which is where most things start from. Due to my mother's nerves and mobility, we had to get taxi's and it was EXPENSIVE, a taxi to Central Station varied from 30euros up to 38 euros in rush hour. There is a bus service but cards have to be purchased in advance and if you are unsure it is rather worrying. It was 20 euros for breakfast but if you book in advance it drops to 15 euros.

    The food was excellent and very well prepared, the breakfast included a large selection of items and there were a lot of choices. The dining staff were very accommodating and friendly, service desk staff were very helpful. The whole place was in excellent condition and the rooms comfortable. The outside was very pleasant as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    If you prefer hotel that is far from the downtown noise, this is nice choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor Wifi! We have found some hair in one of the beds. We have booked the hotel one night prior the visit, probably this was the reason of high price.

    Very friendly staff at reception! Very tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean, convenient and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very close to Schiphol airport but not running an airport shuttle, only a shuttle to the central Amsterdam And not exactly catering to airport traffic - reception staff recommended to use public transport when I was trying to catch up my connecting flight. God bless Uber, I've made it

    hotel is modern, clean and nicely designed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Private and feel refresh everyday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    6km far from city, environment around hotel are silent, not much people and no super market nearby. Even nearest transportation station is tram around 1km. So if we can connect to city more easier, i’ll love this place more.

    Private and feel refresh everyday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    I liked that the standard processes were well oiled and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a booking issue whereby the firts booking appeared not to go through. Using the sms link provided to check once we have downloaded the app, the app also did not have our booking loaded there. As we were about to board a plane and also not having received the email confirmation, we rigtlhy assumed the booking did not go through. We then proceeded to book again from my app an not my partners and it went through. The problem however came in when we were charged twice as the other booking miraculously seemed to have work. The process of getting this sorted was a terrible customer experience. Being thrown between the hotel and bookin.com, finger pointing and what felt sometimes like straight faced lies. Finally this was resolved and charged back to the card after much persuasion with the person heading up the front desk team, so thanks for that.

    I liked that the standard processes were well oiled and working with friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.2
    Not staying here again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a nightmare stay, started from small room with two separate beds, asking for 1 double bad and had to pay extra 60+euro, Iron had something sticked that destroyed my tshirt and I was told they have the tshirt cleaned next day, how will you clean a tshirt thats burned...... Asked for things and there was no follow up and I had to make a call again to get something.

    food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Modern, clean, not far from a tram stop, staff so friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About 35 minutes from central station so not the closest but trans were so easy to use

    Modern, clean, not far from a tram stop, staff so friendly and fluent English

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    Too expensive for what is offering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drainage of the sink was broke. When i entered the room at 11 pm (after a long walk through the city) and used the sink, the water just flooded the floor. There was hair on the sink, so the conclusion is that there was no cleaning before (because if it were, the cleaning staff should have seen that the sink is broken). Too expensive for what they offer. The beds are hard, pillows very bad quality, old TV.

    The breakfast is good, the staff is very nice. They changed my room after the incident, but unfortunately it wasn't enough for me, because from that moment the lack of cleaning was on my mind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Not a bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness is not very good. a lots of dust under beds (found it when try to pick up kid toys). No free parking. Public transportation need 15 mins walk.

    Good cost performance Close to airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff is very nice, always answered and helped me with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BUT ... Hotel may need to re-think the service with Tour and tickets. they charged me extra money to transfer the ticket to next trip to kukenhof which is really disappointed

    Staff is very nice, always answered and helped me with a smile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice new facilities, perfect breakfast (wasn't included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little creepy route from tram station to the hotel at night or late in tne evening.Wi-fi is not always stable and pretty slow

    Nice new facilities, perfect breakfast (wasn't included but worth it's price), really comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.5
    The hotel made our first visit to Amsterdam a one to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fault at all with the hotel, the only frustrating thing is that the closest shop/supermarket is around a half hour walk away so make sure to go there first thing when you arrive if you’re wanting to stock up on juice and snacks! We also noticed all the supermarkets close fairly early compared to the UK, we couldn’t find any shops open past 9 o’clock. Not really a negative thing though!

    The hotel overall was amazing, from the design of it to the staff. Everything was great! We had booked the suit on the 7th floor for a 3 night stay and I couldn’t believe how stunning the room was, the bed was super comfy and the bathroom was very luxurious with the two sinks. It takes around 35 minutes to get to Dam Square from the hotel, 10 minute walk to the tram stop then it’s 25 minutes on the tram. Once you do the journey a few times it’s fairly straight forward and very pleasant as the scenery is stunning!! We jumped off at various stops along the way and walked to the centre just to see the shops etc. We had room service the first night, I ordered a burger and chips and my partner ordered a pizza, everything was lovely and well cooked. Our order was delayed but they were very apologetic and gave us complimentary cheesecake and brownies which were amazing! All the locals are lovely and the hotel staff were extemely helpful! We had no issues at all the full holiday. If you enjoy BBQ food please visit pigs&punch, you can find it on google maps very easy. Most amazing ribs I’ve ever had!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing and very very overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - staff forgetful, not very friendly, somewhat disorganised - the room was small, freezing cold and pokey, - we called reception twice about the faulty safe, they said they’d send someone up to fix it — no one came - towels were smelly, called three times for fresh towels - none came - they said they don’t send water or drinks to the room - I spent what it costs to normally spend two nights at somewhere like the Ritz Carlton but for what felt like a 2/3 star budget hotel

    Very little. The only redeeming fact is that there’s an iron and ironing board in each room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supermarket next to the hotel would be great but thats not a point. The cleaning could be more carefully.

    The rest was perfect for 5 nights. We slept very well, love this bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    This is the 2nd time i have stayed here and both times were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Bed and pillows were lovely i slept well. Very nice hotel with easy travel links 24 hours a day if needed. Helpful staff who were brilliant on check in and provided me with all the travel information i needed which was a great help. Beautiful surroundings especially in summer when you can enjoy a nice meal and drinks at the outside area to the rear of the restaurant .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable furniture and warm light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom door cannot be locked and fully closed. Quite a rough walk to hotel from tram station in winter.

    Comfortable furniture and warm light. Fast lifts. Voucher for one free beer in hotel bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was clean and presentable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid extra for late check-out however we were disturbed several times in the morning by different members of staff coming to our room

    Hotel was clean and presentable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Wicked!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff didn't help me order a pizza online, it was all in dutch and i couldn't understand!

    The lobby was awesome, really like it, our room was also lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall lovely hotel full of art work and staff were always there to help out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was far out from the city centre where we preferred to spend our time

    Staff were quick and efficient when calling down to reception with requests

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Very nice location for business purposes, cosy lobby and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Missed hanger to put my jacket on right near the door (had to take one from wardrobe and move closer to the door). Rooms has speakers mounted in ceilings (for emergency announcements I assume). These produce barely heard high-frequency sound if you are in ~1m radius from it. A bit of annoying especially during the night

    Very nice location for business purposes, cosy lobby and restaurant, good rooms. Good breakfast in general but day-to-day food rotation can be better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Calm but close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was comfy and we were quite close to a tram stop so it was handy to get to the city center. Nice calm spot away from the hustle and bustle of the main city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    The location is far away from the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is far away from the city center. Our event was nearby, so location was perfect for the occasion. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.0
    Hotel is generally nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very expensive for what it is. Restaurant was nice but also expensive, couldn’t eat the burger there was that much grease running off it like a tap. Whole thing was drenched. No sanitary products at the reception or in the ladies toilets - not good! Location is not good at all if you want to go to the centre it’s €30 in a taxi or you can get the tram which takes a while. Wouldn’t stay here again based purely on location.

    Hotel is generally nice and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dutch Design Hotel Artemis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: