Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel 3 stars

Stadhouderskade 131, Oud Zuid, 1074 AW Amsterdam, Netherlands

#193 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1999 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get clothes from the wardrobe because the bed was so near that I couldn’t open the door totally.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff, good location (near tram stop, albert cuypt market street, de pijp)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with more hangers in the wardrobes and more tables in the restaurant

    Stayed in Room 101, one of the larger rooms. Clean & comfortable. Staff were great, very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here over 2 nights with a uni friend, and it wasn't a great experience. we had one of the rooms on the fourth floor - where the lift doesn't reach, and the stairs from L3-4 are extremely safe. they climb the level in about half the space of a standard set of stairs - carrying our luggage was a nightmare The aircon in our room didn't work -the room was boiling hot and we woke up throughout the night the shower was boiling hot when on hot - great, but it was the same temperature as cold as the shower went, and it didnt stay constant. and to top it all off, the lift broke on our final day, so we had to carry our suitcases down 4 flights o death staircase - for which we didnt get an apology or the like. the hotel didnt tell anyone - we were at breakfast in the basement with a lot of elderly, who were queueing for about 15 mins for the lift, with no one going down to tell or help them at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was in 4th floor with No lifts going up from 3rd floor. Stair went very narrow as going up bad for disability. We had 2 rooms booked and nx to each other. One room had boiling water which was to hot to shower they could not sort it out as was weekend. So that room had to come and shower in the other room. Luckily it was a group booking.

    Friendly staff and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst breakfast in my life! Almost no choice and the cheapest products of the lowest quality.

    Good location - close to the city center, but not so noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with small double bed was fine for one person with overnight bag, but not if you are two with luggage.

    Great location near the Heineken experience, canal boat and Albert Cuypstraat street market. Small but well-designed room. Free wifi and great breakfast spread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly hotel in a great location. I was attending a conference at the RAI and the hotel is right across from a tram stop that takes you straight there in about 15 minutes, or into the centre in the other direction. The museums are a stroll away and there are loads of good places to eat very nearby. I had a single room, which was small, but perfect for my needs and very comfortable and clean. Great shower! WiFi worked brilliantly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room. That was okay, but mattress was 4 inches thick. Plumbing in ceiling (wall) above bed made water dripping noise constantly. Television worked for 5 minutes then went black but sound still on. Told desk. Nothing changed.

    Very convenient location. Breakfast was fine and convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dull room ok shower very good Breakfast very poor cold and tasteless I would not rate hotel 3 star would give it 2 stad Good distance from city center Hotel rate very expensive

    Staff very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but we weren’t using it much other than sleeping so not such a problem!!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful! A big thank you to them for making it an enjoyable stay :-) the breakfast was also good and the location was great for the market and lots of eateries!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was nice and right on site. Didn’t like the stairs which you had to use for some rooms. Very narrow and challenging for elderly and kids in our group. Adding luggage was even harder. Nice location. Clean. Beds were not the most comfortable. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not very nice. Too bulky and thick.

    The front desk staff were amazing. Super friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. The lady’s name who was particularly wonderful was Tania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i have nothing to complain. but there are some things to remember: a. there are stairs at the entrance b. the rooms are rather small as it is located in the old dutch house. c. the rooms at the front side can be noisy when opening the window. d. the breakfast area is small and sometime you have to wait. but as i remarked earlier the value for money and overall atmosphere is great.

    location, staff, other guests, who where quiet and focused on city visiting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    The staff was very helpful and kind in any regarding matters and the breakfast was very delocious and they have lots of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One individual on Sunday afternoon was completely useless when we asked for his help arranging a taxi. We waited 15 minutes in the lobby before he informed us of a taxi rank around the corner.

    Tanya was extremely helpful and provided an excellent level of customer service. She should train her colleagues, who were nowhere near her level of competence.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs we had to walk up to get to two of our rooms were quite steep.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having Electricity (but we know it wasn't your fault) it was the whole city block

    We had no electricity on the whole block, so it made our stay very difficult. The power came back on at 4am, but we had no hot water for showers, so we heated water in the in-room coffee pot!!! LOL We are still laughing about it!!! The staff was very friendly!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tiny breakfast room for a lot of guests , tiny very small room called double room , very noisy room with double glazed not closing properly , airport take-offs very noisy in the area, room nearby the lift- could hear people coming and going at all times.

    decent breakfast, very friendly and efficient staff (Romanian chap from Housekeeping team and Russian ladies from breakfast room and reception), very close to tram line 4 that goes straight to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room 117 Bathroom too small, shower too small. No extraction fan in bathroom. Air conditioning not working. "free wifi" was off most of the time. Pillows were horrible. 7-10am for breakfast is unsuitable for a lot of people who wake up later in the day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small. Bathroom too small.

    Enough for a 3-night period. Public transports very near. Main museums are close to the hotel, so it's a good options for a leave the baggage after check out and enjoy that part of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room left me almost no space for bags or clothes. I was pinned up next to a diagonal wall which meant I ended up squeezing between the bed and the wall to go to the bathroom

    The bathroom was very well equipped. But the smallness of the shower was a little annoying

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    10m2 room really only suitable for one person. Electricity was out in the area one night. No back up for light or heat. Had to use phone to go to bed. Ended up sleeping in an overcoat. Hotel fitted with those stupid greeting TV's, so every time the electricity was momentarily connected, the TV turned on. One afternoon someone entered my room without knocking (door was locked). And my pet peeve, the ironing board offered was an Ikea tabletop model. Fine, except the room didn't have a table. Really, is it so difficult to provide a real ironing board and a steam iron?

    Breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not perfect nor bad.

    the location of the hotel was good. It is a 20 minute walk to the Dam square. It can be reached in10 minutes by tram. the room is cleaned daily and temperature is fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very essential and small perfect if you want to spend there a couple of days but they aren't ideal for a week or more

    The position is near the tram stop, there you can take the tram and arrive in the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a little lumpy but that was just our dislike as we prefer softer ones

    Breakfasts were very very good. Our room was very clean. Staff were very accomadating & friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was located under a corridor in the level upstairs which meant that people returning later at night caused us to be woken by the rather flexible roof moving under their weight. In addition there were occupants smoking Marijuana in the hotel, the smell of which came into our hotel room at night. It is understood that that is the attraction for some visitors to Amsterdam but not all. The room was VERY small, with just enough space for the bed and little else. For the price of the hotel this is not really acceptable. The bed was supplied with a VERY thin mattress topper which did nothing to lrovid a comfortable sleep. The pillows were tiny and uncomfortable.

    The location was very handy for getting into the City Centre and for visiting the local sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean, we were in room 207, helpful staff, the location of the hotel is great and close to the center, we took a tram ticket for 3 days, tram number 4 drives from the central station right away to the hotel, everything was perfect and value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit noisy because the hotel is on a busy street.

    The location was perfect (30 min walk to city centre, 10 min walk to Heineken Experience). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and perfect for a city break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave 💔

    The breakfast, the staff, the view, the shower😍, the friendliness of the staff, the room presentation - colour, mirrors, everything!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are pretty small but had everything we needed. The heating of the room wasn't good enough. The elevator is a bit old and claustrophobic

    Great value for price, not too far from center, the room is fully equipped with everything we needed and in the best shape! Nice breakfast and.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is the bed being a bit too narrow and those pillows are a killer (unless you like tall, hard pillows, then you are OK). Everything else was just perfect.

    Staff were friendly (which is very hard to find in Amsterdam...) especially a Peruvian lady working in the dining room and cleaning the rooms. I believe her name was Mari. What can I say, what a lovely lady, she truly deserves recognition because she was,by far, the most attentive, helpful and friendly of them all. We had a triple room and the room size was OK, we didn't need a palace so we has nothing to complain about. Coffee and tea making facilities with a nice chocolate chip cookie was exactly what we needed after a long day visiting the city. Spotless clean room, comfy enough bed and fairly quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small and narrow.

    Breakfast was decent with constant replenishment. Scrambled eggs were really tasty. Bed was big however room wasn’t really spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was small

    I liked the staff very helpful..breakfast was good..close to amenities like public transport and in walking distance of museums

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing as no radiator worked We did speak to reception and they gave us a small blow heater but this took at least 30 mins to warm the room After a cold February day in the city it wasn't very pleasant coming back to a cold room

    The rooms were clean and the hotel located near to public transport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 4th floor which was up very narrow & steep stairs.Our friends where given a room on the lower level but unfortunately had a little visitor (Micky mouse),thankfully the hotel moved us to a sister hotel.

    The staff we met was lovely,especially Tania on reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would of preferred a proper glass in the room, rather than plastic ones.

    Good choice of breakfast, comfortable, clean rooms, great shower, ideal location, very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was particularly small, the hot water in the shower was quite temperamental. The breakfast selection could have been wider as it began to be quite boring after a couple of days.

    The location, temperature of the room, the ability to drop bags if the room wasnt available yet. The check-in and check out was quick and easy and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so warm & friendly, excellent breakfast, extremely comfy bed, great location, we will definitely return to this hotel next time & would certainly recommend to anyone taking a trip to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water to drink inside No hotel shoes inside the room The bed not as good quality as the bed at ibis singapore Breakfast should vary each day

    Easy and near to take tram. Easy to get food Some front line staff are very helpfull but not all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are difficult to navigate being true to traditional houses in Amsterdam but there is a lift so not a problem.

    Location was great, about 20 minutes walk to the heart of the action. The rooms have all you need, for the end of your tourist day out. Staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful for us with a selection of juices, coffee, bread, croissants, cereal, fruit, meats/cheese and a small hot buffet of bacon, sausage and eggs. Wouldn't have any issue using again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No light above full length mirror in bedroom. Steep stairs to 4th Floor room. These minor points did not in any way spoil our stay.

    Great location in De Pjip area. Easy tram ride from Centraal Station. Great value for money. Helpful English speaking staff on Reception. Modern clean rooms. Nice hot shower. Nice breakfast area. Good breakfast selection. Would stay here again. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great little hotel, will definitely stay here again. Single room was small, yet very well designed with its use of available space. The shower room was new, very clean and the room overlooked the rear of the building with no traffic noise. Was not even expecting breakfast, but it was included in the price and offered everything from cold cuts to bacon and scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast could run a little longer with the colder food (maybe not hot) because after a late night out in Amsterdam we ended up missing it.

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff were so friendly And helped us with everything we needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 307 and the size of the shower really shocked me: I could barerly fit in it and move about.

    The breakfast, the number of mirrors in the room and the fact that the furniture was really new.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning is not sufficient, particularly the bathroom curtain and the walls. Breakfast was simple and basic. Stairs are too steep.

    Relatively close to the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked one of the receptionists to book a specific restaurant for me-which he did- but he misguided us and sent us to another one (same chain of restaurants). We had to walk in freezing cold and rain for 1 hour instead of 10'. Mistakes happen but when I came back and told him he didn't apologize...very arrogant behavior! It's a shame for Ibis. Also, the room wad cold.

    Excellent price for Amsterdam and good location especially for visiting the museums and having a canal cruise. Breakfast was plentiful and I must admit that the room view was unexpectedly beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the price of parking was known during booking, I think the parking was really over priced. Anyone with a family - BEWARE - the stairs to the family room (404) are ridiculously dangerous.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same for all 3 days stayed , should have some variety and change alternate days

    The location and the rooms was very clean. Not far from the tram station about 5 min walk and about 15 min to central station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were noises from other rooms and corridors. The walls must be very thin. They could add a mini bar and fridge in the room.

    It was a clean Hotel and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs and corridors were very narrow and steep. Not a big problem for us, but keep that in mind if you have large luggage or trouble with walking.

    The room was clean and renovated recently. Location near the tram stop was convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other than the small size of the rooms, the Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel was very good. No complaints.

    The location on the Stadhouderskade canal was very nice and also close to tram #4. The room was small but well designed and very clean. Given the steep stairs, the elevator was quite helpful and no doubt necessary for many travelers with luggage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating in the room was difficult to use.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, made a crappy start to our holiday from another hotel turn around to a really great ending!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all good

    The hotel was very well positioned, clean bedroom and lovely bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was so fresh and lots of hot and cold selections. Couldn’t fault it, really enjoyed our stay there and the staff were so cheerful, polite and helpful. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to rooms are very steep, which is typical of buildings in Amsterdam. Hot water pressure in showers can be touchy.

    Clean room. Good location just outside of the tourist madness. Tram station just across the street which will take you the Dam Square, Central Station in 10 minutes. Short walk to Heineken Experience and Rijksmuseum. Fantastic free breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, could not get room warm. Shower is all set out wrong, I burnt myself trying to lower the shower head but I just couldn't reach it.

    It was close to the tram

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic in the nights did wake us up now and again as it’s right on the road but this was only once or twice if a car horn went off etc.

    The room was lovely and clean and the bed was extremely comfy. The staff were also very friendly. The tram stop was pretty much right outside the hotel which we used daily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all as expected.

    The staff were helpful and friendly and all were English speaking, which helps when Dutch is not a language you come across very often. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast is good with buffet style serving. A lovely stroll along the Amstel into the City (about 1.2K).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a drunk man banging on our door at 3am on the last night of our stay, it really upset us but this was not the hotel's fault. It was our fault for not calling the reception to report him....

    Our room was the only one on the 4th floor, it was fantastic! Breakfast was great, all employees were very polite and helpful. Location was very convenient. A very nice hotel - highly recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived late after travelling from the UK and were told the only available rooms were on the top floor - rooms 404, 405, 406 & 407. The lift went to the third floor and so this required climbing a flight of steep stairs, difficult for two 70 year olds with suitcases. However the staff remedied this the next day by moving us to a lower floor

    A good hotel in an extremely good location. Staff were helpful, breakfast was very good and the room we fished with was very good. The tram stop is about 500metres away. Albert Kyp market is also about 700metres away, worth visiting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very loud by the windows due to an outside AC unit (which made it hard to sleep), and the showers randomly get super hot to the point where it burns and you have to jump out of the shower or turn it off and wait for it to cool down (pretty scary) since its really hot. Feels like boiling water almost.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room was very small and due to number of people who were at breakfast there was limited food so we ended up with two small crosissants for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room incredibly cramped and there was a quite a lot of noise from adjoining rooms. The breakfast area was also quite small. I'm not quite sure it was worth the price I paid - location aside, I think I could have found somewhere more suitable for me.

    For me, the location was the best thing about this property. It's easily accessible via public transport and not too far from the centre. You're also in walking distance of a market and lots of shops and restaurants. Breakfast was nice with a decent range of items to choose from.Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs is extremely steep and difficult to climb, however there is a lift also!

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially reception staff, explained in great detail about the best places to go for nightlife/restaurants and explained the tram facilities very well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpet looked a little worn out. The toilet had some stains when we arrived, but told the reception staff about it and had it immediately cleaned.

    Great location, just a short walk to the tram stop and Albert Cyup market and about 20-30 minutes walk to dam square and museum quarter. The rooms are rather narrow, as well as the hallways and elevator, but that is not a problem. Room had a nice view to the canal. Breakfast was nice too, with fresh bread and croissants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Everything was very good except the room was a little on the small side. With a suitcase in the room it did not leave much extra room to walk around the bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    Beautiful location away from the main hustle and bustle but near enough for easy access. Super comfortable beds and fantastic shower. Breakfast was great as were the friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were very small, on several floors with one lift and very steep stairs which we all found difficult. The party was aged between 64 and 75.

    good choice at breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep staircase to our room; if we stayed for more days, we would have a bigger luggage - I really don't know how would we take it to the room. We stayed at the top level, no elevators, just extremely steep staircase.

    Really nice and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, hotel local to city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At 300 euros a night, it was the most expensive and worst placed we stayed. We spent 4 nights last month at the Ibis next door and it was larger, better, and less money. Next time we will not choose Ibis

    The room was a large closet with no room to move. The Breakfast was limited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the was extremely cold in our room. Additional our room was at last 4 flor and we have to carry our bags upstairs by ourselves (elevator doesn't go there) which was very inconvenient because the stares go practically vertical

    Breakfast was very good. We were unlucky about our room, but in general it's value for money. WiFi connection is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dim lights and darkened mirror at dressing table

    Good choice for breakfast. Good location for no.4 Tram which takes you to all major attractions and straight to and from Station Centraal. A Lidl just around the corner for cheap snacks and drink.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a bar/restaurant/coffee shop but didn't really matter as so much close by.

    Friendly helpful staff & good location. Only 10 minutes walk from museums, local markets & good restaurants in area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Breakfast room very small 2. Temperature of Shower in bedroom ,once set, did not remain constant and fluctuated from cold to scalding. 3. Stairs very steep to our room (4th floor) and would have been unusable to many others

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small property but very well situated for public transport away from the centre. I was able to get from airport to hotel via one train and one tram so the Amsterdam card is the best way to get around. Not many good restaurants nearby that I could find but I'm sure there are with local knowledge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room on fourth floor,stairs to it in no way would pass health and safety standards. I had to come down backwards like climbing a ladder they was that dangerous and throw my suitcase to the bottom first.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: