Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9 ALKMAAR 4 stars

Geesterweg 1a, 1921 NV Akersloot, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Akersloot

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1108 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's quite big hotel, so the directions to the room could be better - first time I took the longer way:)

    Very nice room and pool facilities, very good breakfast - it was a nice stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't much around the hotel however staff booked us taxis and we were able to get around.

    We only stayed one night and didn't have time to make use of all the facilities however the room was amazing - spacious, comfortable and very high standard. The choice of food at breakfast was very good, with something for everyone. The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The magnificent 25m pool, had the water a little too hot to allow comfortable swimming session.

    Excellent bed and room, top breakfast, friendly and true caring staff. Good restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant/Bar Staffs are not trained very well. One staff made some mistakes about the order and bill. Also, another staff forgot the order.

    Very comfortable hotel. The atmosphere of bar and restaurant is amazing. We enjoyed delicious sweets and beer at the bar. We slept very well with a good bed. Location is very nice. They are located convenient place if you go there by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff has no idea what polite means or what means to make guests feel welcome. Reception lady went to the 4th computer coming from her desk behind (all 4 computers were free and functional) instead of coming to the computer I chose (the first one), so I had to move 3 pieces of luggage just to comply and be in front of HER so i can do the check-out. Restaurant staff is treating the guests like they are not there or like they are annoyed by the presence of the guests. No hello, no good morning, no good bye, not even trying to help when necessary. They just don't care. They are too busy. To say nothing about the bed. The bed sheets were covered just not to be visible that they did not arrange the bed. The bed sheets were exactly as i left them in the morning.

    Excellent appearance of the hotel. Excellent facilities, nice and warm pool, excellent gym, sauna, jacuzzi and relaxing area. Very nice, big and clean rooms, very nice bathrooms. Good and fresh food at the breakfast and excellent coffee with several options. Fruits, salads, juices, diet food, everyhting you may dream for a breakfast and all in a very good price. I think that the staff in the restaurant was doing an excellent job to prepare all these things. The beds were comfortable, maybe the matraisses are a bit soft for my taste but this in not something to complain about.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room floor was not clean and hair was in the bathroom when I arrived. The counters had not been wiped clean.

    The breakfast was good but 5 years ago it was better. Many times the scrambled eggs were not cooked all the way and they were cold.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very annoying swimming lessons of the local kids in the swimmingpool and wellness of the hotel. Not done for a 4 star hotel. The relaxroom was therefore noisy, and the pool had only access for a quarter of half of the space. Sundaymorning i left the wellness surroundings because of the noise of 30 children and parents. Also the finnish sauna was not working on sunday morning. The helpfull staff couldn't get it fixed. I booked the hotel to relax, and especially for the pool and sauna. Only saturday evening it was nice and quiet, and everything was working. Pity, because the hotel has big potential. They should announce the fact that there are public swimming lessons.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Superb breakfast. Beautiful location near the dunes and beaches, plus some typical dutch lakes nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets in the room seem to need some cleaning. I would prefer hardwood or tile floor (seems cleaner).

    Love the bathroom and whirlpool tub. Hotel is very comfortable and has great swimming pool, sauna/spa center. Great place to relax after a day in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were really unfriendly and not professional. When we checked in, the staff did not explain anything about breakfast, how to use swimming pool, Wifi pw and check out time.

    facility, breakfast, cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the jacuzzi (at the pool) wasn't that warm, so people stopped using it after one minute or so.

    The pool is awesome, one of the biggest I've seen in the Netherlands so far!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saw a RAT as having a drink in at the in house bar! Told the manager & expected a bigger apology than given. Felt he was a little shocked but very blasé. Was meant to have a kingsize bed but they had put two single beds together that kept separating which made it very uncomfortable through the night. Bedsheets not secure to the mattress. Very poor bedding. Dusty room. Cleanliness missing!

    Hotel was pretty. Spa facilities were excellent. Spa bath in the room was the best feature in the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unfriendly, arrogant and incompetent (or they didn’t care, who knows). Room smelled funny. Stains on the walls and very dirty windows. Size was okay, though small in comparison to other Van der Valk hotels. The pool/spa area was occupied all day by swimming classes (they are there everyday during the week!), so relaxation was not possible. No reserverd parking for hotel guests. The glasses in the restaurant were dirty, and the croissants burned.

    The pool is fairly large.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very far and needed a long walk and i needed to carry all the bags on a trolley myself. An option for a (paid) porter serive would be very useful. Also due to myself stuck in traffic and my wife with our baby who couldnt pack very well we were late for check out. I called at 1130 to warn and i was promised an eye will be closed as long as before 1300 but it still became a problem because there was someone in the room. After lot of debate the extra costs was still waved but ai would have preferred immediate understanding. The distance of the room didnt help

    Good hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drive to airport are little bit hard in the rush hour in the morning, if you want to catch a morning flight, you better check out early!

    Wonderful hotel,just 30 minutes drive from Amsterdam, 25 minutes from airport, food is just wonderful, swimming pool and steam room are perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout and signage for the rooms is very confusing. Stayed on the second floor and spent a good five to 10 minutes trying to find the room.

    Typical English pub/restaurant feel to the place. Nice bar, swimming pool and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff told me that it was my fault that they had only activated my room key for one night instead of for the 3 days we were staying - because I put it too near to my mobile phone. Some of more expensive rooms appear to be because of the addition of a couple of brightly coloured seating cubes only. Light bulb above bathroom mirror had gone and this must have been obvious to housekeeping staff before room was occupied. It is lovely base for touring and pool is a joy.

    Pool has been recently refurbished and is lovely. Gym stuff is good. Sauna is better than the steam room. Bed was bit too soft and this could not be remedied. Restaurant staff better at looking after visitors than reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking though vast was crowded due to extra people using the dining facilities. The rooms have whirlpool baths, very nice, but they tend to be noisy late at night. All this said one of the very best hotels apart from the very expensive ones I would compare it too!

    This hotel always tries to maintain a very high standard and the staff could not be more help full. the problem with giving this hotel such a good review is it will be harder to get a room next time. I did not rate the pool as I did not use it but I know it is of a good standard. You can tell the food is of a high standard as the restaurant is always busy with the local Dutch people using it for their celebrations. Ooh and the cream cakes are to die for.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were given a room that met our requirements stated in the special request area of the booking page and exceeded by allocating a room with direct access to the grounds, a pleasant bonus with having the dog.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was at 2, but room not available till 3. No apology and just told to come back later. This was mildly disappointing.

    The room was large and spacious. The leisure facilities are excellent. Free parking and close to highway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like leaving.... when we left the location, staff and the Netherlands at its most beautiful... Spring we were grateful however a little sad...

    We stayed in this facility in 1988 for our 25th. Weddinganniversary. We were not disappointed in our nostalgic stay 28 years later. Geographically it was a perfect location, experiencing what we considered the best of our childhood roots.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was soft. Housekeepers did not follow their own rules. I brought my own towels (beige color) with me and hung them up nicely together on the heater/rack. (They were NOT in the bathtub.) The big towel disappeared when we came back from our day trip. Told management about it but no resolution.

    Parking and the size of the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was slow in the restaurant.

    This hotel is very close to the motorway but I wasn't disturbed by noise. My room was large, comfortable and smart. The restaurant was very busy but the meal was really good when it arrived. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "double bed" in my room actually consisted of two single beds, which were merely placed next to each other. Hence, they always moved apart, when bodily movment occured.

    Thankfully, front desk upgraded me to another room with a real double bed, when I informed them about the issue with the moving beds. The rooms in general are quite spacious and very comfortable. I would certainly come again, if I was in the area again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness is appalling, the maid service was dreadful, we had food brought to the room so two plates & two glasses from downstairs were ready to take away and be dealt with...but...the maid just left them on the dresser when she came in next morning to make the beds! There are only PAPER cups on the room tea-tray and powdered milk for coffee but no milk for tea. We arrived and there was building work being done but we were not told about it, I had to complain it was just too much so they moved us into a newly renovated room... In the brochure it looks lovely but when you're in the room OMG. The finish of the renovations are abysmal and should never have been passed, the maid hasn't quite grasped the concept of cleaning and the bed in the pic was how the maid left the room, the new sink...look at the filth in the overflow, the wires hanging on the balcony, the builders & their skips underneath our first room, the chair got moved to find price tags and dead moths ! I could list a lot more but you get the idea, outside room 112 there was (& could still be) a wooden stirrer stick on the hallway carpet..it was there for the four nights we stayed there, even when they had apparently cleaned & vacuumed the corridor the stick was still there...decide for yourself.

    The restaurants are the hotels best part, the reception staff were excellent, the waiting staff from breakfast to your late evening meal were all excellent. You were close enough to the motorway literally minutes but you couldn't hear it. The food quality was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no minibar in the room. The bathroom seemed to be lacking a fan.

    The room was very clean and spacious. Coffee and tea available in the room, the towels were changed every day. The bed was extremely comfortable. The lighting in the room was also very diverse - both dim and intense lights were available.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed for renovations, perhaps that is something that could have been arranged during Autumn or winter.

    All of our stay was enjoyable, comfortable, and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big rooms with excellent beds and bathroom. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice breakfast, great conditions, clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a remote location.

    Quality, staff and food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is excellent in many ways.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, nice room with jacuzzi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent, good sound proofing, clean and comfortable, good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find anything I DID NOT like :)

    Simply a lovely hotel with lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the bath was dirty and the bedroom.

    It was all fine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    X

    X

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating not working (they provided a fire). TV not working. Tried to fix but couldn't

    Large room. Lovely view from my bedroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atleast room service for all rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is simply nothing not to like. Totally excelllent. I will always stay here when in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and complete

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent room, bed, cleaning staff and the pool is kept a warm temperature which is good for kids.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one lice in my bed. One can happen. More would have been bad

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    huge room very clean and also restaurant is healthy(amazing)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fungus in the shower 😖

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The modern room was big and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very delicious. A negative aspect was the defect TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was cold ! :(

    Swimming pool big and nice! Sauna, Turkish bath nice! Nice place to be whith kids, they got horses!!( ponies) Food fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was delicious, the restaurant very comfortable and beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a good position not a high rise building clean and modern 👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Great facilities - pool, fitness studio, parking etc. Modern, large rooms. A good range of foods for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, spacious rooms with safe, fridge, iron, large shower and spa bath. Good food, lovely cakes. Busy lounge and restaurant. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff, wonderful restaurant, comfortable, clean room and facilities, overall a very good stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really, perhaps the amount of guests staying

    Great Location for Airport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness of the bathroom.

    Spacious room, amazing breakfast, parking free, spa facilities free!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have bubble bath and some one used it at 2 in the morning, like a fighter jet going through the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location, room, bathroom, restaurant and staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    City distance

    Everything awesome and value for money,only distance from city.spa swimming pool abf outlandish

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    traffic noise; despite sound insulation still audible

    lovely cakeshop and open until late (23.00hrs) modern and luxury bathroom very welcoming staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to reach your room based on the indications in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Plus Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast and comfortable modern room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking. Smoking hear front door.

    The spacious room. The parking. The food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were working at 07.00 in the morning and they made a lot of noise. That wasn't told by anyone before!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating could not turned off

    Spacious Room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was a bit slow.

    Good location for me near the main road, very large car park, good size room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor connections to Amsterdam city

    Great and quiet place to stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little chaotic - but nothing to worry about

    Generous and well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very comfortable place to stay with rally genuine staff and helpful and very clean hotel will recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not strong enough...

    Nice big room and a fantastic bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it but was upset the pool was under construction

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only small issue i had was poor internet connection in my room (connection in reception/restaurant was great). Maybe it was just the location of my room? Being alone and abroad I rely on free wifi. Otherwise I had a great stay.

    The room was huge and with comfortable beds. Had its own balcony with table and chairs outside. Room well appointed. Bathroom had both bath and separate shower. Very quiet location. Restaurant was very good value with good food and service.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Very busy. - Apparently staff/hotel can't handle bookings through booking.com. I book all my hotels (20+ per year) through booking.com and it is always right. Here they could not find my booking, booked under my first name instead of last name (i used my standard profile as usual), breakfast was included although booking.com said it was excl. breakfast, room price different than listed on booking.com...

    great location and good restaurant. Nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Van der Valk is a big chain but funny and surprisingly they DON'T UNDERSTAND ENGLISH. 1. They don't even know the difference between 1 large double bed and 2 single bed together 2. Room rate which is more than Euro 100 per don't even have a mini fridge 3. Photo of the hotel and in real has no connection at all. 4. Room full of cigarettes smell. Myself and my child still struggling with it 5. House keeping just walk into room at 11.15 am itself 6. Just want to charge where ever possible but don't deliver what ever being mentioned 7. This chain hotel usually good but this is the worst and hopeless.

    Beautiful but not worth a single penny.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The matrass and pillows was terrible. No confortable. The single duvet is ridiculous. My bed was queen with 2 singles duvets. I no requested singles duvets.

    The Personel from restaurant was super!

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is self-contained as it is out in the country -- very bucolic surroundings and it was a nice change from the city of Amsterdam. Close to the North Sea and Akmaar, a sweet town. My daughter enjoyed the pool -- it's not fancy, but it's clean and it was nice for some exercise and play in the water. Staff were pleasant and the restaurant had a wonderful breakfast buffet as part of the room fee.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is a factory, and helpful for a night of rest if you're on the go. Staff is running all over the place and lacks professionalism (smiling sometime would help), buffet options are average and breakfast is just a joke. Wouldn't be so critical if room rate was in adequation with the mediocrity of the services offered

    Location is ideal, very clean and offers spaciois rooms

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: