Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Hotel Ben 1 stars

Beursstraat 21, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 JT Amsterdam, Netherlands

#396 of 449 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1725 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.1
    It was very close to the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had very steep stairs and in my opinion it is not suitable for more senior travelers. It was not at all noise-proof either. Suitable for young people

    It was very close to the central station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little bit too expensive.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Perfect location, central area of Amsterdam. If you need just a place to sleep over night, then this is it what are looking for.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Great welcome clean very close to centre our room was very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise outside window was incredibly loud but it was close to red light district opposite an irish bar but amazing value for money

    Close to centre able to book in early basic room but clean and cheap

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    The Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2nd room we had was up A LOT of stairs, but the view from the room was amazing and totally worth the effort!!

    Fantastic lotcation. Cheap price. Helpful staff. We stupidly missed our flight and hotel Ben (although basically full to copacity) sorted a room out for me and my 2 friends with basically no notice & at a great rate! Clean and cheap... So pleased and so grateful! Thank you Hotel Ben :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    i like the location its really near to the trainstation and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    its hard to go upstairs cos theres no elevator .

    i like the location its really near to the trainstation and the redlights and canals and everything :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Location near to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay using cash due to the machine not working

    Overall is ok..comfortable & clean.. really near to the train station..very convenience for us..near to tourist attactions place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    We enjoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    But very small room, without natural light, bad bathroom (all the time was wet). Very very small bathroom without equipment (hair dryer, carpet in front of the bathroom - when you have wet bathrooom, its so comfortable,...). We have double bedroom, bud it was two single bed together. In the night we have big hole between us.

    Nice place, near train station, sympatic staff, room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great central location and a 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Central station. As advertised, the rooms were clean and had everything needed for a short stay (towels/clean bedding/private shower and toilet/tv/WiFi). The hotel is not the height of luxury however it is what to be expected for the price and we were very pleased on arrival. The staff were very friendly and allowed us to store our bags before and after checking in/out. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place as the price is excellent and we were very happy with our room. I would recommend booking a room for 1 extra person than going, for example a room for 4 people for a group of 3, just for the extra space.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    3.8
    STEER CLEAR OF HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! I had bites on my ankles an elbows from the bed!😠 no facilities in the room HATED STAYING THERE...WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOVEL TO ANYONE!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator meaning we climbed three flights of really steep stairs. Not a good option if you have lots of luggage, or have accessibility needs.

    Location. Location. Location. Close to the train station, and to many late night restaurants/food options. Somewhat noisy, but to be expected being on the edge of the Red Light district.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    It’s very cozy, it’s right in the center, so if you want...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located by a Church which plays quite often during the Day.

    It’s very cozy, it’s right in the center, so if you want whether you want to shop or get some food, it’s all within walking distance. The central station is also located about 500 meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Knew we weren’t going to live in luxury for the weekend but was good enough to crash every night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bells going off every half hour from 9am, and all day on Saturday.

    For the loacation and for about £50 per person per night you can’t really complain about the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Clean, central and good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that you have to pay a security deposit and it hasn't been returned to me yet and was taken the day I booked. No-one informed me of this before-hand which wasn't very practical. Booking.com aren't great at dealing with issues regarding this either.

    As a group of 5 we were able to stay in the same room. It's clean and the staff were nice. Close to all the nightlife and centre. 5 minutes walk from Central station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel Ben Nevis
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely steep steps to room- like climbing a mountain, no air con or fan. Quite aged bathrooms.

    Location was amazing, so close to train station and tram stops. Close to red light district. City centre location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    not value with the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.only one electrical plug for 4 people... 2.room is too small for 4 people and no place to put things on 3. no proper light and room is too dark 4. no fan when in hot summer peak 5. don't know where to hang to tower 6. internet is quite slow

    good location to main railway station and city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Little steps requiring attention when climbing, expecially when with heavy luggage.

    Close to the city center and to the train station. Good communication with the stuff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, only 5 minutes from Central Station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used air-con but this year heatwave isn’t exactly a regular occurrence so not a major criticism!

    Fantastic location, only 5 minutes from Central Station. Basic rooms but very clean and fresh towels/room cleaning every couple of days. Really helpful staff and convenient vending machine in the reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok. Amsterdam is pretty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room just next to ours there were people smoking weeds and there was intensive smell on the corridor. The problem persisted during all stay. We informed the stuff but no successful action has been taken. We have been also severly bitten by some bugs in the bed.

    The service was very kind and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in cheap, clean, friendly accommodation in Central city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor and that meant lugging luggage up several flights of steep stairs.

    It was clean. Room and bathroom small but adequate. Staff friendly. A good budget hotel in centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Good value for a short stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite noisy in the room next to the stairs whenever people get in and out. If there is a fan in the room would be good, cos It was quite warm at night in summer.

    Good location and good value. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Very central and has a 24-hour friendly member of staff by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not suitable for elderly or children - the stairs are VERY steep and we happened to live at the very top. The area around the hotel gets super noisy which is one of the 'perks' of living central. There is definitely not enough plugs in the rooms.

    Very central and has a 24-hour friendly member of staff by the reception desk. Speedy free wifi covering the whole hotel. A ginger cat living downstairs is cute. The location is more than perfect if you are an adventurous youngster: only 10 minutes away from Amsterdam Centraal station. Lots of shops around + Starbucks which opens at 7am if you crave coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Everything we expected. No complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One large bed rather than two pushed together would have given more comfort and stopped me calling down the middle.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good location, budget but very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    Too noisy, when people in the room above my room walk or...
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too noisy, when people in the room above my room walk or take shower, you can hear very clearly so that it's very annoying when you try to get some sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    great hotel for a lads holiday, not for kids or older people. You get what you pay for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs could be a problem for some older people and children as they are very steep. Lighting in the room was quite dark but not an issue through the day due to big window. I also did not like the fact that the cleaner was very abrupt in trying to get into our room to collect bins and used towels, even when the rest of us were in bed and I was trying to tell him all we needed were fresh towels he came in and had a look around. Another problem was that someone had been sick in the corridor and they tried to claim they had seen one of our group do it on the cameras which I think was an effort to charge us a fee as we were not the culprit so they were lying.

    Very cheap, excellent location, beds were comfy and the hotel was kept clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were all lovely and very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all lovely and very helpful! We were able to drop our bags off before check in and check out, and staff helped us with tram and bus routes when needed. Overall I had an amazing holiday and budget Ben was in the perfect location and had exactly what I needed for my stay! I would definitely come back again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room on the 4th floor, without lift. The rooms look like there’s no renovation since 1970. My night was till 10:30 am, but the personel came to my room at 10 and told me that I have to go out in 10 minutes..

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is perfect, good to stay for couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel won’t accept credit cards has to be cash which is so dodgy and room wasn’t clean everyday but they’ll go to your room just to replace toilet paper bed wasn’t even made

    Location is perfect, good to stay for couple of nights

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs, we were on the top floor.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi Arrived 1 hour early and staff let us check in which was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.2
    Disgusting place. Not worth the rate they’re charging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty place......snot wiped on the walls and dried boogers on the sheets. We requested a non-smoking room and got a room that smelled like a fire pit. We stayed two days and had to bag all our clothes when we left because they smelled so bad. Very thin walls. Girls next to us talked and slammed doors all night long. None of us slept much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    It is very well situated, just round the corner from many...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the payment for the room had been preauthorised on my debit card. I understood this as a precaution, but we were then told we had to pay again in cash. We were told that we would be refunded the amount already preauthorised on my card, within 14 business days or less! So essentially, they wanted me to pay twice and then be refunded one payment later. I feel that this system is not at all useful for the customer and while the man at the desk was polite, I didn't feel put at ease when he told me I would be without 150€+ for my trip (even if I'd get it back later). I would have preferred if the Hotel had simply demanded payment in full before arrival. Regarding the rooms, they are indeed quite noisy. Due to the heat, we had to have the windows open and so we could hear every bit of commotion and traffic in the street. However, we expected this and were tired enough that we were still able to sleep.

    It is very well situated, just round the corner from many bars and cafés. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was more than adequate. If you need only somewhere to sleep safely for the night, then this hotel is good value for money and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    I love Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It feels like home, it’s got exactly what you need, the basic essentials and nothing more and also free WiFi which is very handy! The staff are helpful and honest, would always book again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    the location is perfect, the train station is really close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the area is really noisy during the weekend, on Saturday night the music was really loud.. it stopped at 3am. the blanket above the bed wasn't very clean. lot of narrow and steep stairs to arrive at the room.

    the location is perfect, the train station is really close.. it is a cheap solution if you want just a bed and a hot shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Decent budget hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not that I can think of personally. This hotel has probably the steepest staircases I've ever seen in a hotel, so if you have heavy luggage, be aware of the difficulty. Also, if you are paying by credit card, then there is a 5€ surcharge, so better pay in cash.

    Decent budget hotel, superb location, decent wifi, way cheaper than any other surrounding accommodation. I only spent 5 hours in the room due to late flight arrival and very early departure, but I say that this will be a good option for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep staircase and no tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Excellent location. But if you prefer peace and quiet once you retire for the night give it a miss as it's very central to busy bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, very close to central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, we had to climb all the up the stairs with our luggage. Really uncomfortable beds. You can hear EVERYTHING that’s going on at other rooms!

    Good location, very close to central station. Surrounded by many places to eat at. We had lovely view from our window

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing, can’t wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs up to room were rather steep, but soon learnt that Amsterdam stairs are all like this 😊

    Staff very pleasant and extremely helpful. Accommodation as advertised cheap and clean. Location excellent for all sights of Amsterdam. Would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    3.8
    Hear noisy stairs all night, they demand cash payment once you booked: SCAM!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You hear people on the stairs whole night, Scam: they advertise that you can pay with credit card but after booking they say the machine doesn't work and they demand you to pay cash so they don't pay taxes and you can't proof you stayed there.

    Only good thing was location, everything else bad!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a rude front desk officer and even shouted at me. My first time to encounter that kind of front desk!!! Very bad attitude!!! They did not even say sorry to us!!!! Not recommendable to anybody!!! Pls dont ever think of staying in that hotel!!!!

    Nothing!!!! Because of the rude front desk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    The location was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel blocked a night's fee from my account. On arrival I had to pay for the whole amount of my entire stay. However, they have still not unblocked my money. They were inflexible. I did not get a repeipt. Hopefully I will get my money back...

    The location was fine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Cheap and cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was rubbish, a trickle wouldnt being doing it justice! There was also only one plug socket in the room which was rather frustrating.

    The hotel is perfectly located if you want to be in and around the centre of Amsterdam

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant hotel and in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room like cared up 3 flights of stairs and so central you here noise which means not much sleep

    Room had shower in and they knock an hour before check out so that you can vacate the room. They allowed us to store our luggage during the day after checkout! A nice personal touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.8
    Great location, old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel just needs a massive revamp. It cost us almost €1000 for three nights between five of us, which is a hell of a lot of money for what we got. Incredibly old fashioned with the smell to match. We found out we would have saved €500 just turning up at the hotel on the day - surely they want people to prebook? Confused me. They also asked us to pay cash, so it was inconvinent to be carrying €1000 (a lot of money) from home to Amsterdam. There were no maids (or we didn’t see any) and the staff just walked in your room at any time - not ideal. They woke us up at 9am the day of departure demanding the key and remote - we just opened our eyes!

    Perfect location is the only positive of this hotel really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Exactly as described, cheap and clean with ideal location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs isn’t ideal but it’s the architecture of the building and most restaurants were the same.

    Exactly as described. Very cheap and ideal location. Went as a group of 4 girls with one boy and we felt completely safe at all times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    It's cheap and you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bits like the window ledges, the glass, the door ledge in the bathroom were filthy and mustn't have been cleaned for years!

    It's a one star hotel! A friend removed his mattress cover to reveal some questionable stains! If it's a cheap deal like we got, go for it! It's a lot better than other one star places and is bang in the centre! Just sleep fully dressed, live from your suitcase, you'll fine!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.8
    The worste room I have ever booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Small and narrow room like sleeping in a corridor. Very dull .. you cannot look outside of the window as window pane is opaque. A big smell of cigarattes in room. Uncomfortable beds. Bery steep stairs.

    Very good location only.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and dilapidated. No amenities, no elevator, security was minimal. Paper thin walls. Blankets were old and tatty. Shower was cold and unpleasant. Basic accommodation.

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Perfect location but poor amenities and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Constant noise of people walking up or down the the wooden stairs, which is rather disturbing. Rooms are very basic with no amenities and one charging point near the toilet, which you need to climb a few steps. Spent almost £750 on 4 nights, which is not value for money

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and central but nothing else good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard tiny beds. Smell of weed is just everywhere!!! Cannot escape it. The hotel is so loud. Outside the streets are so loud and the stairs are banging all night with people coming in and out. There is a loud buzzer to let people in and that goes off all night too. Didn’t have one full night. Probably didn’t even get an hour!?

    Location and that’s pretty much it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    5.4
    Perfect location, but smelly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a smoker Hotel- you should just let the people know. It’s old fashioned and you wonder why they do not spend any money on new duvets or furniture.

    Perfectly located in the middle of the city. Easy walk to all important sights. Restaurants are close- for all occasions (breakfast, lunch, dinner)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    The hotel Ben is in a superb location, staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel Ben is in a superb location, staff very friendly... room basic but clean and comfortable... will definitely stay here again. Thank you :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were right at the top so it was a lot of stairs! There was three of us but they only gave us two extra blankets and two towels

    Nice staff, generally it was quite clean, great location, they can look after your bags after you check out which we liked. We were expecting a really bad hotel but actually I was quite surprised.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Central location, free WiFi, comfy beds, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for those who don't like stairs. Constant ringing of bells due to being near a church (you get used to it after a while)

    Central location, free WiFi, comfy beds, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Apartment is really nice. Beds are so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little difficult and we had to do laundry but dryer took forever to dry.

    The apartment was very nice. Beds were very comfortable. Apartment provided everything you needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Would definitly revisit and suggest to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot/Cold water was a bit tricky to balance otherwise everything was as expected. The stairs are steep (true) but that is a local feature and you'll find it in most of the places visited

    I liked the fact that what you see in the photos is what you get so advert is very honest. Also that it was very close to all the main attractions (food, shops, coffee shops, etc.). It was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Basic, affordable, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no bin in the bathroom. The radiator was on a timer and couldn't be turned off.During the night it got very hot and one of the beds was right beside the radiator. There were a lot of bells that rang during the morning, not the fault of the hotel.

    Staff allowed us to keep our bags in the hotel after we had checked out. Great location. Perfect for students or anyone with a really meager budget.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    We love the Ben :)
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Close to everything — cheap and clean — nice staff all round nice place. I went with friends we just wanted somewhere nice and relaxed we could sleep and this is the place !!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    smoking rooms and location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 beds in the room but only 2 plugs nobody could charge there phone most the time as there was more people than plugs. and bathroom was not very clean, toilet roll was like cardboard.

    smoking rooms and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Really good location, 6 minutes walk to Central station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound insulation of the room is not good. The guys lived in the room next to me made noise the whole night, I couldn’t fall asleep.......... So noisy.....but this was not the fault of this hotel.

    Really good location, 6 minutes walk to Central station and there are many sightseeing near the hotel. I had a fever in the 1st night in the hotel, and the staff gave me lots of hot water. So sweet~

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Very close to everything and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smoking room that smelt strongly of smoke. Narrow very steep staircase, narrow room. Very thin walls.

    Very close to everything and clean. Bargain price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    great for staying the one night, easy to find as it is near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wouldn't be able to stay on my own for the price of one night, luckily I was with people for this trip.

    great for staying the one night, easy to find as it is near the main street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    It is well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel has no free internet, as it is described in the booking.com. Also, you can hear every time someone arrives - during the whole night - because of a loud bell that rings when the door is opened.

    The Hotel is located at the center of Amsterdam, quite close to the main train station. You can walk from there to the main tourist points within 3 km maximum.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    Non smoking room had an ashtray and reeked of marijuana to...
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non smoking room had an ashtray and reeked of marijuana to the extent that our pyjamas stunk of it the next night at a different hotel. The beds were not full size single beds. Staff allowed people to make excessive noise at all hours of the night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended for short terms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and the stairs from the reception to the room are really steep

    Well-located hotel,pretty close to the dam square. The rooms are really small but they are perfect for short term.. quality/price really good . Highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Amazing location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and not very well isolated, we could hear our room's neighbors even though they weren't talking loud. Rooms were clean but we slept there 3 days and nobody cleaned the room during our stay, just towels changed last day.

    Amazing location and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location and nice facilities for budget trips!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of elevator and the many stairs make some rooms unreachable. At nights there were sounds and screams from outside and from the other rooms of the hotel. Really bad soundproofing.

    Very clean rooms, great location and relatively good price compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.7
    a warm bed in the red light district, and not much else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower only had hot water. And it was not just warm, it was scalding hot. So basically no shower at all.

    a warm bed in the red light district, and not much else

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Location was excellent, staff were nice and room was basic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin and had a noisy group next door to us. No tea/coffee making facilities and so many stairs

    Location was excellent, staff were nice and room was basic but clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    A much better stay than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were smaller than your average single bed. Stairs are a bit of a struggle when your room is on a higher floor.

    The location was amazing!! You are literally in the heart of amsterdam! No need to get any trains/trams/taxis. The staff were really nice and even let us leave our baggage in the reception after checking out because we had a late flight. Also we had a problem with the people next door being too loud and they sorted it out immediately! Overall ideal place to stay with a group of friends when you wanna make it a cheaper holiday. We stayed in the family room with five beds and it was a laugh.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    A nice/cheap place to stay a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many stairs.

    The location is great. The bed is nice. The room and bathroom are quite small but enough for a couple of days. It is a nice place for those who want to travel, have their privacy but pay less than normal. As someone said "you get what you payed for".

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    Could be much better with another attitude from the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was rude at reception, no payments taken by card due a supposed change of system, by email they did recomended to pay by card but not made it mandatory, the staff in there did, they also took the payment in advance giving little or none margin to complains the room was fine, clean, noisy, not enough plugs if you are a big group

    The toilet was clean and there was towels and shampoo

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location, but pretty much only that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for people with physical disabilities! Lots of stairs and a VERY small space. The room was really small and the bathroom was clean but still kindda creepy. But then again - it's a budget hotel so that's expected.

    Great location - right in the center of the city. And that's more or less the only great thing. The receptionists were also nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    2.5
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like feces and was not clean. They ask for a 10euro deposit for a key and the remote control... something that usually comes with all hotels? They also asked when you leave the room to leave the key at the desk or risk losing the key and forfeiting your 10euro. Very questionable.. they didn't give a receipt I had to ask for a photocopy of the booking. Paid With a credit card before arriving and then on arrival they asked for the payment again stating it would be refunded. Waiting for this to happen.. before I call the bank. I made sure to get the proof of payment. Please avoid this hotel, it is not clean or cheap.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    BRILLIANT location, clean and comfortable - great value for money!!! (would return)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't both us both stairs are VERY steep and finding your room was abit of a maze, View from room was a room opposite but we didn't spend much time there anyway!

    Location was brilliant - 5minuite walk from central station. Room although very small was very clean and comfortable! TV with loads of channels (if that's what your after!). Also a large window in the room which opened right out which was nice! And even tho it was so central - hardly hear any noise!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Cheap and cheerful, you get what you pay for no extras but good for a short weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were noisy people in the room next door banging until 3am. Also our room was facing the front out onto a main busy road which was very noisy all night. However didn't keep us up as when the window was closed and tv was on it seemed to drown it out.

    It was in a brilliant location, right in the centre of everything. Didn't have to walk very far. The staff were also very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs to the room. Very narrow beds

    Basic but done it's job, ideal for a group of friends traveling, but I wouldn't stay there with my family!

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Budget Hotel Ben traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: