Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotelboat IDEAAL

Amsteldijk 729, Oud Zuid, 1074 JH Amsterdam, Netherlands

Review score

Based on 46 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Incredible experience and comfortable stay during visit to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even before our stay Martin was very responsive to my messages and making sure we got to the Hotelboat okay. He provided a warm welcome when we arrived and an overview of what we needed to know. The hotelboat had everything we needed and was within walking distance to the tram line that takes you around Amsterdam as well as the airport/main station. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and would highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    When in Amsterdam..... sleep on a boat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It was great fun to stay aboard the Ideaal as the whole concept of sleeping aboard a boat was new for us. There was lots of room for the three of us and the boat was very well equipped with a microwave, coffee machine, kettle, hairdryer, etc (and stuff I didn't use - like the ironing board and iron!) As it was cold when we were there, we were very glad of the boat's efficient c/h. The area where we were moored was pleasantly quiet but a number 4 tram from the tram stop about 250 metres away quickly and efficiently took us to the city centre. Martin, the owner, was especially kind and attentive, giving us excellent directions from the moment we arrived at the city's central station. In fact, everything went like clockwork thanks to his clear instructions/communications.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Great experience. Lovely, comfortable boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!!

    The location is awesome. Great part of town and very well connected. Not in a "touristy" area and that is wonderful as Amsterdam is crawling with pesky tourists. Yet, very close to the whole city (its such a small city in any case). And the neighbourhood is crawling with places to eat and drink. Martin was extremely helpful, courteous and responsive. The person that one has to deal with is as important as the property and he was great. Most helpful with everything, from directions and local tips to allowing us to check out a tad late. The boat itself is wonderfully charming and has everything that one needs, right from a washing machine to air conditioning to coffee maker! Martin has maintained the boat very well and it has a character of its own.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    I loved absolutely everything about Hotelboat Ideaal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved absolutely everything about Hotelboat Ideaal. Martin (the host) was super friendly and very helpful, the location was very good. The room had everything we wanted: comfortable beds, clean bathroom, coffeemaker and even a computer! Wi-fi was stable. I would recommend the hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Consider staying on this houseboat if you are visiting Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this beautiful houseboat, really cosy and warm with everything we needed. The owner, Martin, was very helpful and even looked after our bags after check out time so we could continue sightseeing as our flight wasn't until the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Great way to stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good, no complaints

    Everything you needed was there. Washing Machine and dryer, coffee and tea, plenty of space, good information about how to get into Amsterdam and surrounds. Martin made contact with us to make sure all good on our third day, was a good touch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    We loved staying on this canal boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying on this canal boat. We walked to all the sites in Amsterdam we wanted to see. It was quiet and pleasant in the evening to watch the crew boats go by as we relaxed on the deck. We shopped at local markets for breakfast and dinner to prepare on the boat, microwave and cold dishes. It was roomy and comfortable for the three of us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Casual in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The boat was super, easily accessible and really comfortable. During the night it was peaceful, we could rest well. It was very clean and we liked so much the fact that we are actually on a boat. :) Although, don't worry, you don't feel the waves. The owner is really nice and answers to all the questions - we were keeping contact on WhatsApp, so it was casual. I highly recommend the boat for a smaller group of friends or families, you can feel like home there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Perfect romantic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely greeting by the owner who gave us a tour and made us feel really welcome!! Boat was really romantic and in a great location!! The space you get is massive compared to hotels of the same price in the centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cosy athmosphere, really nice landlord (he lives on the other half of the ship). When you rent bikes (which is GREAT!) try to find a bike store in the really nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Amstel adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Stay on the boat is real adventure. Especially for kids. Apartment was comfortable and big. Nice surrounding. not far from centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    The boat was a hit with our kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat was a hit with our kids!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: