Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bor Scheveningen 3 stars

Haagsestraat 53, 2587 TG Scheveningen, Netherlands

#5 of 26 hotels in Scheveningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1485 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's small. Basic.

    Friendly helpful, easy check in. Room is small basic, but clean & it had everything I needed. Great location short walk from the beach plenty of bars and places to eat in the area. Some interesting looking shops (I never got to browse short stay) I would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay extra for the breakfast for the 6 years old child (10 euro) or to choose a larger and more expensive room. Parking is very problematic. Around the property is limited to two hours (and it costs 3,5 euro/hour) between 10.00 and 0.00 (yes, really till midnight) and the garage nearby cost 2,5 euro/hour and maximum 20 euro/day.

    Got the 4-bed room, that was quite large and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in room did not work and then we were told the next day to just connect to another room- this could have been communicated upon check in. Bed was very soft and half of it sagged so one of us felt we were rolling off it. A bit overpriced considering those issues.

    Friendly welcome, varied breakfast, fantastic location, nice balcony and eating area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an amazing time at Bor. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes away (by foot) from the Pier and the beach. The room was really clean and the hosts were friendly. Highly Recommended! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    Nice location there ere bus station just walk 3-5 min. Easily to take the bus to centraal. Nice Room wider room compared to hotel locate in center city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected it to be a more elegant hotel but in the lobby you feel like you're staying in a cabin as opposed to the rooms which are really nice. Also the stairs are really steep. Seemed a bit dangerous especially with young children, I would be scared to have them up and down the stairs alone.

    Breakfast was great and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street parking, but only because we had a larger vehicle.

    Location was convenient and close to the beach. Bathroom was perfect with large bathtub. We also enjoyed the English channels on the TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs are steep - as everywhere in the Netherlands. And sound proofing could be better.

    I was given a double bedroom, rather than a single - which was very welcome as i know from previous experience that the single roms are very small. This was comfortable: twin beds, nice tv, desk, shower, safe in the wardrobe. Nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about: - friendly staff - quiet, spacious and clean room - good breakfast with fresh fruits, fresh bread, ... - 10 min walk from the beach - good price-competitivity

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to call by phone when arriving to get an access code. There are better methods.

    Good bed, excellent bathroom, good breakfast (I'm a "continental" breakfast type), easy access by bus from the train station, no waiting anywhere, good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Climbing the stairs to our room on the top floor. Parking was strange as it was street parking, if not booked ahead or there was not a vacant spot you would have to park in another street. The restaurant was toward the city.

    The hotel was situated not too far from the main restaurants. Public transport was within 100 metres from the hotel. It was only a fifteen minute bus ride into The Hague. If you walked to beach area the alternative tram could be caught into the city. The bathroom was large and clean. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator and my room was on the (US)3rd floor but I didn't have much to carry so it was no problem.

    Excellent hotel, clean, friendly, super nice location, and perfect for an overnight business traveler. The double room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and big. I really liked the breakfast and the minibar located in the breakfast room so that all the items in the minibar were fresh. I really liked the location; its really close to the beach village with a pub, hamburger joint, grocery store, public transportation, and shops but located on a side street so I could keep my window open all night without being disturbed. I like the cozy feel of a smaller hotel and Hotel Bor provided that plus all the convenience and room-size of a larger hotel chain.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wardrobe was too small.

    The location of the hotel is excellent for both of work and sightseeing! All the personnel was very polite and helpful! Breakfast, wifi, clean environment and a comfortable bed! A lot more, nothing else!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small that we had to stress up onze after the otter of nog we wouldn't fit... and considering the money we paid for a simpel one night stay, that was very disappointing

    The breakfast and service of the staf was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    €70 (reduced) was a bit much for an indifferent reception upon arrival, a tiny bathroom with no place for your toiletries and no power sockets, a bar with self-service and no restaurant. You really only pay for the location (seaside near Den Haag).

    Cosey interior and superbly comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Considering what we paid and what we received, I am truly happy with what we received, keep up the good work

    There is a welcoming staff, little hard to get to but that is Holland. Great place, and breakfast was excellent, eggs ,yes eggs, meats cheese breads and all good things. Bed good, parking on street, did find a place. There is a charge for parking on the street. Leaving early morning for flight to Paris, staff member, sweet person, got up early for us to have coffee, hard boiled eggs meat and bread for breakfast, just so accompanying. Hotel is close to all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge. Street parking available so it's your luck really. Breakfast was very limited for vegetarians- fresh fruits would have been nice and some cakes and pastries would be great. No hot breakfast.

    The room was very spacious. We were a family of 5. 4 adults and 1 child so perfectly equipped. The location was very good- 3 minutes from the beach and restaurants. Brekfast breads were delicious!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and coffee facilities in room would have been good.

    Freshly baked bread, comfortable quiet room, close to buses, shops and beach. Friendly staff, clean room, good wifi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no staff present after 18:00. There is no lounge, but you can hang out in the eating area which is cozy. The down side is that for a room near the eating area, if a group decides to have a party, a) you hear it real good, and b) there is no staff in the building to tell them to quite down or stop (you can call and they will come however). Parking costs 10 Euros, and is a pass for the street, so if you are not lucky you have to go some distance to find a place to park (there is no unloading parking place either so you have to be fast because you are blocking the street)

    Breakfast was great - usual buffet, but with a few extra touches that made it better. It was cozy overall. I would consider going back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big spider in my room

    Courtesy of the staff. But they forgot to tell me not to park in a street due to the local market of the following day. Police took it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sagging mattress. Automatic light in bathroom goes out when under shower so left fumbling in darkness.

    Good breakfast. Convenient location. Quiet road.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's just a hous with backyard. no gym or other facilities. not air conditioned. It was warm in the August.

    kind staff, good breakfast. it's not located by the beach but it's nice to walk. nice district close to grocery store and almost everything you need. clean room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At this price, nothing at all!

    Very friendly owner and a very good breakfast. The wifi connection was very good, no problems connecting to Youtube, for example. The neighbourhood was quiet but there were some bars and restaurants opening late.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware that if you have the family room (room 1) other guests are less than considerate when they return after an evening out, banging doors and talking very loudly. The hotel had a strict policy about noise levels after hours but the onus is on guests to follow it.

    Second visit to this hotel and again staff were amazing, welcoming us as if we were returning home. Breakfast was varied and very filling, staff always reserved a breakfast table for our little family group. Towels changed everyday, quick and efficient room cleaning. New in the garden area a trampoline for kids.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location is good near to beach, shops & restaurants. friendly staff. room was clean & comfy & had a good shower. continental buffet breakfast had nice food and was plentiful. really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didnt have babychair for breakfast and bed for baby was very uncomfortable - we needed to share bed with our son, eating room is very small;

    Playground for children en small garden, beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs redecoration

    The city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some personel at breakfast was not very kind.

    Nothing really exciting, but also nothing to complain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean and new. Nice staf and close to boulevard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first time visiting this hotel and my family and i will sure visit again soon... We loved everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really small. The breakfast could be more diverse.

    Quiet neighborhood. The room was clean, with large windows and really warm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iii

    Aaa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Clean, spacious, modern room, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Quite neighbourhood friendly staff. They need to add more than bacon in the breakfast menu. Overall excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were very narrow and a bit scary to walk up on.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was oké

    We had a familyroom and it appeared to be a whole house!! Clean, cosy, fine shower, and a luxury breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast options were very limited, coffee, bread, cheese and ham had no real taste.

    Enormous room, friendly staff, beautiful location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much for the price.

    The scarmbled eggs were superb!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Narrow steps to second floor with suitcase...

    Good advice where to park without fee Nice and tidy room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking, you need to find parking place in the street, no coffee corner in room

    Good breakfast, within distance walk to beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Kind personnel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staffs are very kindly. The room is comfortable for 4 people. Te specially atmosphere. Varied breakfast. The beach is very near. Good hotel!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great. We could park our bicycles by the front door. The staff was friendly and helpful. 10 minutes walk to the sea.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep stairs

    In general clean, small hotel, good breakfast, walking disctance from the see side in Scheveningen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice, everything was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, while stairs are narrow and steep.

    A good place for holiday. Peace and silent, not far from sea beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early checkin/out

    Very comfortable bed, tasty breakfast, 5 mins walking to the beach (a quiet and nice neighborhood), very friendly and kind staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Perfect accommodation, best value for the money, friendly staff. Rooms perfectly clean and inviting. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast and a nice owner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation is awful

    Central place Close to the beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    FINE ROOM AND FRIENDLY WELCOME. POSSIBLE TO BUY TICKET FOR PARKING IN THE STREET

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Staff excellent friendly very helpful. Breakfast very good rooms very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in a residential street in a parking zone. Not always easy to park near the hotel. Be aware parking is 10 Euro/day tickets from the hotel.

    Spacious comfortable room. good breakfast dining room. Located in quiet street 10 minutes from the beach and centre of Scheveningen Bus and tram to Den Haag centre and direct to Delft just a few of minutes away.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A minor thing is that, as could be expected, the breakfast is a dutch breakfast, which in my opinion isn't as good as a full breakfast including fried eggs, bacon and sausages. But this is just a minor remark.

    Very friendly staff. Also we, without noticing, left a bracelet in the room and when we came back to get our luggage they gave it to us. Very nice spacious bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Carpet floor in the rooms may be a problem for people with allergies. And also not so easy to clean I think. It would be the one and only point of improvement but no major issue

    Very big bathroom and clean room! Breakfast is complete with croissant, bread, jam,... 10 minute walking distance from the beach and it's shops. The hotel was full booked but even then we had a warm welcome and service. The hotel guests were calm, no noise, etc... It's close to busses and trams that brings you to the city center and central station

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Helpful staff - for instance staying late to check us in on the first night. Comfortable, quiet room with pleasant, very clean shower-room attached. Very good buffet (Dutch-style) breakfast included in the good value price.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As it seems a quite old house, there was limited sound proofing, so could hear other guests coming back late and getting up early. They were not especially noisy, but the sound of movement was noticeable. A minor point, and it would not stop me going back.

    Comfortable, boutique style hotel. Plenty of space in the room. Staff seemed very nice and 'motherly' in a matriarchal sort of way. Good continental breakfast. Central 'honesty' bar was a very nice touch. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really to complain. There was no mini-fridge in the room, but we wouldn't had no use for it anyway.

    Staff friendly. Everything went smoothly. They even had fridge downstairs where you could get a beer or another beverage. Prices were modest.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Efficient check-in, spacious room, quiet. Good en-suite with excellent shower. Clean. Good breakfast selection. Parking in the street with permit (not included). Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staggeringly poor noise insulation inside and outside, you can hear pretty much everything going on the street and in the lobby as if it was in your room. Single glazed windows do not help either. For the benefit of other families visiting this hotel, the family room number 1 has 2 beds at ground level, and 3 further beds in the basement, no doors between them and you can hear a whisper between the 2 levels due to no door and poor noise insulation. Overall, the hotel is not value for money at EUR200/night incl breakfast for a family of 4, at under half that amount I'd consider it again.

    good breakfast, friendly staff, clean

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location is a bit interior from beach and also it is located at residential area, difficult to locate, no support staff after 6

    staff (the lady at reception), cleanliness, best part is breakfast

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Family with young children

    None

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Perfect location in a quite street whilst very close to the beach and boulevard. Breakfast is varied with a good selection of food.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking could be included!

    Very convenient, close to the beach. Perfect

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little garden where you can sit outside. Good breakfast. Nearby the beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    there was no such thing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • People with friends

    Klantenservice

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We got a room for 5 people. It was very cute and over 2 floors. Lots of space. Walking distance to the beach. Nice breakfast. I would go there again.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good down-to-earth Dutch hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    missing elevator

    the staff, location and cleanliness

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bor Scheveningen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: