Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Centraal 3 stars

Brouwersstraat 12, 8861 CX Harlingen, Netherlands

#5 of 7 hotels in Harlingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been nice, it was so hot during our stay.

    A good breakfast offered with excellent coffee. Friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Although the hotel is in a traditional building, my room was in a more modern extension at the back of the ground floor. Wood furniture and natural daylight (provided by a large skylight) made this a very plesant room. Skylight was remotely controlled for opening/blackout blind - all very smart. Both staff I met were really friendly. Definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, location, and rooms! We really liked it and recommend it! Definitely will go back there! Special thanks to the staff, really nice people!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a standard room which was a bit small. We we're lucky to have had a window. The other rooms we saw had just a rooflight which you could probably not obscure. Walls are thin and it can get noisy. Back rooms facing a school which is also noisy on weekdays. But the price was still fair.

    Very good breakfast. Super location. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Channel listing and numbers for TV channels in folder in room was different to those on the TV. Only about 30 of the listed channels were actually on the TV.

    Central location near bus stops and railway station. Friendliness of staff. I was made to feel welcome as soon as I arrived.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was disappointing. In this age, you should be able to offer your clients a real espresso or capucino. Not just coffee from a machine. Having a real espresso machine is no longer a luxury, but a necessity.

    Good value for money. Nothing special, but all you need. Clean, nice staff and ok breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Through no fault of the hotels there was a primary school at the back of the hotel, at 8am there was a big event in the playground with lots of singing with microphones.... it's possible that on a normal school day it wouldn't be this noisy.... I had to be up anyway but if I hadn't had to get up I can imagine it might have been frustrating.

    Travelled as a lone female and felt very safe. staff were friendly and helpful, spoke perfect English. I was offered a choice of room locations and choose ground floor. room was well equipped with fridge, free decent WiFi, toiletries, towels etc. No eye level windows, but a sky light velux with remote to open and close window and black out blinds. There was a door at the rear of the hotel that the rooms on the ground floor have a key and access to, which was nice if I wanted to pop out without having to walk through the restaurant. Good choice of breakfast and well made. Cooked, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, juice etc Although check out was at 10am staff were happy for me to leave my bag with them while I went for walk around town before my meeting. Lots of other guests at the hotel from all over the world which was nice to see and hear, the staff were able to converse with all of them. Haarligen itself is beautiful - although much like the rest of the Netherlands it's a bit pricey eating out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing our room lacked was a breathtaking view.

    A friendly lady that took our photo in the street turned out to be of the hotel staff. We could also check in two hours early because our room was ready. The hotel is indeed centrally located. Its decoration isn't super new but it's clean and nice to use, e.g. the fridge and airco were welcome additions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view, only a roof window

    the breakfast was very good. Nice to have the possibility to prepare your own egg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pleace! Friendly people! I can back here every year!!! Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Friendly staff at this family run hotel. A nice selection of food at breakfast. A pleasant relaxing bar sitting around the fire.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Ah - that I had to leave :)

    Everything. Very helpful staff - if you come by car ask for day tickets: At hotel they cost 5€ only!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant bed linen: no polyester. Value for money. Tea facility in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly & obliging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My single room was at the top and, without a lift, the two staircases are very long and very steep

    Chiefly, the staff - very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All perfect, location, staff, food, the room, all great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De kamer was nogal gedateerd...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little cold

    Location was perfect for my work and breakfast was waiting when I got up.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good dinner downstairs. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom pretty small

    Good location near city center Helpful and friendly staff Nice full breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit light on clothes storage space.

    Excellent breakfast, great location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I usually take super hot showers and I think the shower hose had a small hole to begin with. I ended up spilling water all over. Other than that, it is really good.

    This hotel feels like home and the owner is really friendly. He definitely is sarcastic but a really nice down to earth person.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were pretty surley (although the Dutch in general set a pretty high standard for amiability-would have ranked them as normal in the UK!). Public areas of hotel in dire need of an upgrade.

    Room had a proper double bed-not two singles pushed together. Room was a good size and much nicer than the manky reception area and hall ways that you have to pass through to get to it.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't sleep, the mattress was old, very used and full of holes. Also the bottom sheet was not a normal sheet, it was a mattress cover. We asked about it, and the woman told us that it was normal and it was de same in every bed. But for me it is not normal, mattress cover is rough and it's very unpleasant to sleep on it. Old shower, the door didn't close well and the bathroom was flooded. Noisy fridge, we had to turn it off. For standard rooms: bad value for money

    Nice breakfast with many choices. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was bright, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was generous and unhurried this hotel deserves ten out of ten

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    smoking rooms

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were eager to make our visit comfortable. Breakfast buffet had abundant choices and food was of excellent quality.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was amazing, the position as well

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was pretty small.

    Friendly staff. Close to shops and restaurants, Albert Heijn supermarket, Harlingen Haven station and ferry terminal.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Couple

    Kerkklok achter hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kamer achterkant erg veel lawaai vanaf steeg

    Staf, schoon, laagdrempelig

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed mattress is too soft and sinks in the middle cause too old.

    The Friesland wonderful landscape and beautiful villages.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Hotel Centraal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: