Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Doelen 3 stars

Grote Markt 36, 9711 LV Groningen, Netherlands

#11 of 23 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1963 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful hotel with nice rooms but without working wifi and noise at night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no WIFI signal in our rooms. It was possible to sign in but the signal was so low, that it was not even possible to watch the news or listen to the radio. In case someone needs to work there, this is very inconvenient. Furthermore, there was a very noisy party close to the hotel which made it impossible to sleep. It took 3 calls at the reception until the noise became less. However, it was hard to find sleep.

    The hotel is located really central and the rooms are big with new bathrooms. The beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was ok for the price but nothing special. It is very convenient that the reception is staffed 24/7, so you do not have to take the keys with you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.5
    Comfortable stay in a beautiful character building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase into the hotel with some heavy suitcases was a minor challenge.

    The authenticity of the hotel. The friendly staff and the excellent free coffee/ tea etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful historic hotel with lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - just wish I had been able to stay longer!

    I loved my brief stay in this beautiful hotel which dates back to 1798 - lots of original features and very cosy with candlelit restaurant & bar. Staff were so welcoming, & very thoughtful sorting me a quiet room, breakfast delicious with no problems catering for coeliac diet. Location perfect for cafes, bars & quirky shops - Groningen is a gorgeous place to spend time if you like art, music, culture & passing time with glass of wine. I will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay very much apart from little annoyances
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot ,poor lighting and unable to open window more than 2 or 3 inches Fan outside on and off all night

    Friendly helpful staff great breakfast and lovely building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, dated building. No airco, no decent television, nothing special at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The television was smaller than my telephone. There was no fridge in the room. There was no airconditioning in the room.

    The location was good. The staff was nice. The bed functioned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was a bit small and without a window. Take into account that due the location is close to bars and clubs, it can be a bit noisy during the night, specially Saturday night.

    The location is the best. The hotel is located just in the main square, close to the bars, restaurants and clubs. The hotel is in a very nice building and the coffee / restaurant area is beautiful. The ratio quality price is also good. They offer a very nice kit for the traveler in addition to the usual shampoo, soap and so on. Tea and coffee is available for free.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was the small window. It was a little difficult to get some fresh air into the room.

    Staff very helpful and welcoming. Location is very central - and you can have a nice evening on the terrace overlooking the Grote Markt. Room was lovely. We’d definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location, right in the heart of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location, right in the heart of it. Very friendly staff. Liked the terrace from which to watch the world go by with a beer in hand. Free tea and coffee was a nice touch too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Old world hotel charm, in the heart of Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no getting close to the hotel by car. Make sure to Park at Parking facilities in the Centrum area (cost is 20 Euros a day) and walk over to the hotel with your luggage.

    The morning breakfast (10 Euro, not included). Excelent coffee, small crispy pastries, juices, fresh breads, wonderful cold cuts (the real honest kind and fresh), eggs, fruit, in a very nice room. I also liked the staff, kind, good humoured and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Premium service in a Victorian ambient at the prime location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was on the soft side and the room I stayed in could do better with a bit more accessible plugs

    Excellent staff, premium location, generous and quality breakfast and exquisite ambient with rather cosy rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    But the staff, interior and the location - perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can feel the moisture smell in the wardrobe, there’s no conditionnaire, no mini bar in the room.

    The hotel is situated in the very city center. Rooms are clean, bathroom is spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    It's beautifully decorated and overlooks one of the main squares in the city, so you have everything at your doorstep. Breakfast was quite nice. There's a coffee machine downstairs that you can use free of charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Really decent hotel. Kind people. Good service. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There seems to be no air conditioning, but fortunately opening the windows did the trick for us.

    We were actually allowed to see two rooms and choose the one we liked most (nice service!). The bed was nice and comfy. We had two windows in the roof which could could be opened to bring the temperature a bit down get some fresh air.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is fantastic, stay here every other year to watch...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con would be nice but fans are supplied. Steps from the hotel are very very slippery when they wash them in the mornings. I actually fell from top to bottom and my leg is now black.

    Location is fantastic, stay here every other year to watch the Moto GP.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the noise from outside the hotel throughout the night. However, I understand this is beyond the hotel management's control...

    Beautiful setting with close amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and great shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely atmospheric place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel and helpful staff who spoke great English! However, it's worth noting that the hotel is actually in a pedestrian area and you can't drive straight up to it. Parking is murderously expensive in Groningen but the hotel has a deal with one of the local car parks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Great hotel right on the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities could have been more. The breakfast had too little variation. The parking situation is just not good. I believe, however, that it's impossible to park good in the area, where the hotel is.

    Basically everything else. Mainly the location, directly on the Grote Markt square. The cleanliness, the bathroom and the main vintage theme of the hotel, which made it readily classy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    This hotel is in a very central location and across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew that this is a very old hotel, but after reading the reviews, we expected the hotel,especially the hallways and the lounge area/breakfast room to be in better shape. The lounge looked nice with the old furniture, the old pictures on the wall, and book shelves. However, some of the leather seats were broken and overall, the entrance area, the hallways, and the lounge/ breakfast area felt a little ‘run down’. This hotel cannot be recommended for people with walkers or difficulties with stairs!

    This hotel is in a very central location and across the street from the tourist information. There is some construction going on close by, but it did not affect our stay. Our room was quiet and as described on the website. The breakfast was plentiful. The staff at the front desk was very friendly!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay in the center of Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very average. The hotel has no air conditioning - in summer, the room under the roof was unbearably hot. Bed was extremely soft.

    The hotel has an excellent location, the staff was friendly, and the room was well-appointed. Wifi was fast and reliable. Bathroom was huge, with premium toiletries, although showing its age.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on a bike. They just wanted me to pay up at the front desk, but couldn’t tell me if they had a place to store our bike?? Our room faced the back alley where some sort of compressor ran into the wee hours so needed earplugs. The room was hot/stuffy, as we had to close the curtains. We were eye level with a big orange street light. No AC. We were on a 4 week bike trip from a Paris to Copenhagen and found that this was too expensive for quality of the room.

    Nice young man found parking for our tandem bike.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable old hotel in the heart of Groningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Well kept, old hotel right in the centre of Groningen. It's hard to find anything to complain about, to be honest. The service was efficient and friendly, the rooms spacious (I prefer square rooms) and the food in the restaurant was excellent and at a reasonable price. There are plenty of eating and drinking options within 2-5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    The guy on reception was really friendly and helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Room 211 - the shower head needs a good descale and a better clean in the bathroom as the door was very dusty. The bathroom floor tended to flood so the drainage needs to be looked at.

    The guy on reception was really friendly and helpful and there were some bars with terraces right outside the hotel. There’s also a free tea/coffee corner which is available 24/7.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    - The people working in the hotel are very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There's an amusement park a few meters from the hotel which stay open late in the night. The problem was the noise in the room because the isolation of the windows are very very poor which feels like you are in the amusement without be there. - I requested for one big bed. However I catch myself in a room with 2 separated beds.

    - The people working in the hotel are very kind. - The location of the hotel is perfect because it's in the central city which is very close to the main attractions. - The room is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    It’s right in the center and the hotel itself it’s a well...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complains but, by the time it’ asked, the only small complain I can express it’s regarding the room window witch was facing a very small outdoor courtyard making the room a bit dark during the day but very silent; Maybe next time I’ll go I’ll be lucky and I’ll get a room with the view of the beautifull square

    It’s right in the center and the hotel itself it’s a well maintained historical building where all the action is, even at night, plenty of restaurants around and a good steakhouse and bar right in front of it; Good breakfast and good internet, Staff very kind and smiling;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A very interesting and comfortable place to stay in the Netherlands.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room With Sauna
    • Stayed 5 nights

    You have to be able and willing carry your luggage up a long, steep flight of steps at the front of the hotel, but once inside there is a lift to take you up to the upper floors. There are lots of young staff, so perhaps someone would help you with your luggage up the front steps if needed. We were able to do it ourselves. Also, taxis cannot drop you right at the door because of the outdoor cafe blocking access to the front of the hotel.

    It was wonderful to be in a hotel in a grand old 18th century house right on the Grote Markt. Our room had its own sauna, a beautiful modern bathroom with spa bath, was beautifully furnished (leather arm chairs and an ornate fireplace). We were really able to appreciate the elegance of an old Nederlandic mansion that you see everywhere in the binnenstadts (old city centres). The downstairs lounge area was cosy if a little threadbare, but all in all, a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place - the staff we meant were really helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of rooms was too warm but opening the window meant there was noise from others' A/C apparatus outside

    Arrived on Ascension Day weekend and there was a noisy fair on in the square outside one of our rooms, due to end at 1am. The guy on the desk was brilliant and was able to move us to a quieter part. Hotel was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome 'old' hotel in the city-centre, great service, exceeding expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not everything was free of dust. Shower was not very power-full.

    The location is awesome! The classical/old style (1740!) look and feel is great! Our room (206) was enormous with square-view. Staff was very friendly Personally I love the use of an old-fashioned key to unlock and lock the room..! Coffee for free all day long... Hotel-terrace provides an awesome overview of the square (Grote Markt) WIFI was strong

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    The hotel exceeded my expectations.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms a lovely and comfortable. I loved the old pictures/portraits theme of the hotel. I will surely stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    very comfy bed, very fine bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't check room was already cleaned when they give us our key. The given room was not cleaned athough it was already 3pm. They did give us a upgrade.

    very comfy bed, very fine bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A great exrience at the De Doelen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all.

    I was at the De Doelen during the Christmas break and had a meeting at university, so I returned to the same hotel. The hotel is in a perfect location, right on the Grote Market, a few minutes walk to the university. The staff is great and approachable, the hotel charming, the room cosy. I have nothing but praise for the place and hope to return again soon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, would have loved a room on other side away from noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next door is one of the biggest bars in Groningen, so with our stay on Saturday night it was hard to get some sleep from all the noise of the music next door.

    It was a beautiful old building, very special hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in historic centre of Groningen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattrass was very soft, which i dont like. That's of course a very personal thing.

    Beautiful interior, really nice atmosphere, great location and nice staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Amazing interior!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I do not know about anything that I would not like.

    The accommodation was really nice, the interior looked like a chateau! It was very clean, bed was comfortable. I regret I did not order a breakfast because the restaurant looked very cozy (with fireplace).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, will be revisiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cleanliness was a little lax but still up to a high standard. planned maintenance seems to be missing in a few areas, like flooring(carpet was thread bare in areas of no traffic.)

    Staff very helpful and friendly, facilities were well maintained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Hosts, location, room, open fire, service = 100% satisfaction
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful open hearth fire met us as we blew in from icy winds outside! A free coffee/tea service on the ground floor (close to the fire!) made it just perfect. Lovely old building, beautifully decorated. The bedroom was very roomy with a lovely big bathroom! Right in the big market square in the middle of the city..perfect location. Cannot fault this hotel if I tried! 100% all the way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Good, but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in our room was somehow too small for two people. The night was also quite windy and for some reason in our room specifically it was very very loud. The place is a bit run down (we saw a bunch of small holes in the walls in some places). There was only rainshower in the bathroom, which isn't that comfortable.

    Smooth checkin and checkout, super friendly staff, good location in the center of the city. The room was large and nice. Interesting style of the place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, restaurant/lobby with open fire, really spacy and well equipped room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the night we heard a bit noice from the street. Would be nice if the room would be heated a bit in advance before arrival.

    Nice stylish accommodation in great location. Room size, bathroom equipment ever exceeded our expectations. We booked last minute so the price for location was superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in the middle of anything you may look for in Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been a little bit more extended, but it served it needs :-) The double bed was funny, 1 too soft, the other too hard. Slept like an ox anyway.

    Perfect stay, pleasant staff, nice comfortable room, within walking distance of everything you may need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is amazingly charming. The interior (lounge, bedroom, stairways) is kept in a complete "feel like an english lord in the 1890s" style. The whiskey - sitting in a large wing chair in front of the fireplace – tastes accordingly. The staff is friendly, ready to help and, in my case, trustworthy. I forgot my watch (about 1.000€) in the room, called a day later and got it sent home immediately. Personally, I find this a big deal in nowadays time when valuable items "disappear once in a while".

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is situated in the centre of Groningen with many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is situated in the centre of Groningen with many bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Public transport is close by as well as some interesting places. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Very good place to stay in the centre of Groningen.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was okeyish, a bit costly for me.

    It is perfect location...no doubt ...though in the city centre its not noisy. I will definitely go back if I would go to Groningen.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    The room was cold on arrival.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold on arrival. During all night it was a constant noise coming from the outside, near the window. It was like a ventilation system of the building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Fine enjoyed location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should have been included

    I think breakfast should be included in the price we paid for a double room. Room was avarage, small but clean, felt is was costly for room only. The location was good right in centre and staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are comfortable but small. Shower only has a rain shower, which means your hair will get wet. If you want to shower but not wet your hair you have to do this in the bathtub. You can't open the windows since the square with terraces and lots of students can be noisy. With the windows closed you hear nothing though...

    beds are very comfortabel. Great location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location - in the very center.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location - in the very center. Staff is very friendly. Good breakfast. The stairs from the street to the hotel are high, it was difficult to climb with the bag, but inside of hotel they have a lift.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    Right in the center of the town.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy. bars outside so a lot of people having fun just in front of the hotel until 2am. Ideal to party at night, less to sleep. The internet is as slow as 10 years ago.

    Right in the center of the town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    In the heart of Groningen
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That unfortunate incident at the room. And the breakfast was poor.

    Location is perfect. Even though it is on a very crowded area, the rooms were quiet. The staff was very helpful. We faced a very unfortunate incident at the room, but the staff immediately took action and changed our room with an upgrade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking,also not for unloading the car, so that you have to plan ahead.

    Staff is very professional and nice. The hotel has great atmosphere with the old-school interior design. Breakfast: we had normal ones and in the room once. I loved the fireplace at the lobby, you can also order drinks there and enjoy evening. I was in this hotel second time, and if I need to travel to Groningen again,I surely book this one. I recommend it also for romantic weekend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed in room 301 was not good as in the other rooms. I have been in the hotel more then once, so I know they have better beds in other rooms.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    A good comfortable stay in the Centre of the City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a good size once a luxury hotel a little tired in terms of decor but still very welcoming and comfortable. Be aware of the building site over the road.

    The large luxurious bathroom and the central location. The grand feeling of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    so so
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers did not work. No hot water in the morning. Room of my friend had only boiling hot water but no cold water and window did not open at all and was not fixed by hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    The location was great, right in Grote Markt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After we came back from having lunch, our room door was open, but there is no sign of housekeeping. The room was dark, no natural light as we had the window facing an interior garden full of pigeons. Even the artificial lighting was poor.

    The location was great, right in Grote Markt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.8
    Downtown location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at hotel, no car access. "Upgraded" room is facing ugly wall of neighbouring building.

    In the City Center at Market Place (pedrstrian area)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Best value hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they had maybe a smaller surcharge to the room for breakfast maybe it would have been perfect.

    Excellent location, excellent staff and amazing comfort. If you are a couple better choose a twin room or superior room. The double room is too small and you might be disappointed. Hotel offers free coffee and tea which is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Perfect long weekend for brothers special birthday idea for assen race track, shopping, eating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in our room for me but that's just personal preference, and again would like onsite parking or nearer parking but hotel in central square so not an option. If theses were changed hotel would score 20/10

    Tea & coffee as much as u like, staff go out of there way to accommodate your request, breakfast from 7.30 till 11am so can have a lie in if u wanted. Rooms really comfy. Bed a bit too soft for me but everyone else in our party said they were perfect for them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    The trip is a bit too short. I wish I could stay a bit longer next time.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old building equipped with modern facilities. The coffee corner with the ‘library’ feels very academic. The room is decorated with antique-like furniture. The location is perfect and the staff is very friendly, patient and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is nicely kept and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was really not good.

    The hotel is nicely kept and clean. Not recommended for people with disabilities as there are stairs every where (although there is a main lift). Breakfast is not included with the reservation; it is not cheap but very good with nice variety and freshly presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Too much noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room. We asked for a quiet room, but in he night rhere was a party in the court and in the morning there was noise from cleaning up the empty bottles.

    Confortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    cosy stay in city centre of Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to put my shanpoo at the shower floor as there was not any shelf/place to put it.

    The location of the hotel was great, middle of the city centre with lot's of cafées and restaurants. Most rooms ar at backsite of hotel and hence nice and quite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money with a triple A location in Groningen
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little worn out, you could feel the springs. The WiFi didn't reach my room

    Did not expect such a nice bathroom to come with this room. The location was just great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    I would warmly recommed this hotel: great position, friendly staff, everything clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both the room and the bathroom were large and comfortable! The hotel has also very nice common spaces. And the pub below at the ground floor collaborates with the hotel and offers very good meals and beers!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel ! will come again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    to be fair every thing was good - the breakfast buffet was 13.50 euros which was a bit pricey - just did it on the first day and ate out the rest of the time - lots of cafes nearby

    great location right in the main square - market on 3 times a week lots to do and see! the hotel is old style and charming and the staff are very helpful - would stay again and intend to do so. Tea and coffee 24/7 free of charge in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Location, traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast very overpriced, one morning they had no milk. At 13.50 euros per person per day a bit expensive.

    Location, traditional hotel. Large very clean bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    comfortable stay at a nice location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The free Wifi did not work very well at all times, it was very slow. As a couple we prefer to sleep in a one piece double bed, but this one was made up out of two single beds. The breakfast was a little expensive for the type of things there were available (bread slices, cold meat, fruit and little sweet breads). But the bar down the hotel offers a really good breakfast for the same (and even cheaper) price.

    The room and especially the bathroom were spacious, with a bathtub and separate shower. The bed is very comfortable. Next to the reception, there was unlimited coffee and tea available. The location of the hotel was very good, right in the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    If you plan to sleep at night, avoid this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only downside, which unfortunately is important, was that it was just impossible to sleep due to night to early morning (6.30am!) wild parties with very loud sound system in the bar at the basement of the hotel, and loud drunk people outside just beneath our windows. This went on for the whole week, with the nice addition of a giant (and also very loud) fair on the plazza in front of the hotel. Other customers with a room on the other side were less disturbed by noise at night. This was very inconvenient when you have to work all day. Despite of all the other charms of the hotel, I will certainly avoid this hotel in any future visit to Groningen.

    The staff was very helpful and nice; the hotel has a lot of charm and the bedroom was large, comfy and with much charm too. The hotel is central but this goes with very serious downsides...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood is not quiet. If you are sensitive to noise, you will not sleep well. The market is awake until very late hours and it is noisy. There were many broken bulbs in the room that never got changed, so the room was very dark during the day and night. There were no electric sockets beside the bed. There were only two e-sockets in the room at the entrance; so for charging my phone and laptop I had to leave them there; and if you have three devices, then you need to wait. The room can use a safety deposit box. The doors are locked with normal keys (not key-cards) and you read in the hotel policies that they are not responsible for your losses. In this case, I think they should at least add safety boxes to their rooms for better safety. You also have to leave the key at the front every time you go out (and the keys leaves a metallic smell on your fingers).

    It is a good hotel. The staff are nice and polite. The location is great if you are in to very very busy main-street-in-the-very-center kinda thing, but for a business traveler who wants to have a good night of sleep, I would suggest taking a quieter place. The neighborhood is not quiet. Especially since Groningen is a student city, there are student parties during the year that you might not know of; and if there are, they are likely to happen in front of this hotel. I liked the room and the facilities. They clean the room up pretty well. I did not take the breakfast, so can't rate that. It is just beside the eating, drinking and shopping areas! So, if you are in Groningen for pleasure, this is a nice place to stay in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, but probably our room was not as nice as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit hard to find a convenient wall outlet to plug telephones or other stuff. Our room was located on the back of the building, on top of the kitchen, and the smell was very strong, so we had to keep the window closed even though the room was very hot

    Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    The location was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No external window I had to keep the light on also during daylight. A support to put soap and shampoo was missing in the shower.

    The location was excellent. The building is charming. Bathroom was equipped with basin and a large shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room With Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was very poor, no options.

    staff was very friendly, room was incredible big and lovely, big bathroom with sauna, we asked for iron and we got it very easily, it was nice from the reception.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    If you live in the room by the side of the road, you CAN NOT...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you live in the room by the side of the road, you CAN NOT sleep well. We have booked a room for Friday night, and couldn't fall asleep until 3:30 AM! Because there are couples of bars downstairs ad they played music very loudly 🙃

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Good quality for reasonable price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I especially liked the old-fashioned furnishment. The bathroom was failry large and equipped with a rain shower. There is a really nice bar right next door. The room, however, was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with character .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a fan in the room and both times we have stayed we have found it quite hot in the rooms . A fridge in the rooms would also be great as would tea and coffee (although free tea and coffee available in breakfast room)

    Our 2nd stay here . Great location , big rooms, clean and friendly staff. some rooms have a feature fireplace that we like . Quiet even though right in the heart of the square .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking for Are motorcycles only on the path out side the hotel not very safe and the bikes where getting touched with all the drunks which where coming out of the night club at 7.00 in the morning ??????

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff and the location were amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It can be a little bit noisy in the night since the hotel is quite central. However, I was not bothered by this.

    The staff and the location were amazing! I did not eat food in the hotel, so I cannot be the judge of that. The service was very good. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, will stay again if visiting Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no rack/shelf inside the shower room so I can only put the soap/shampoo/bath gel on the ground

    kind staff, nice location quite close to the city center and easily get access between Groningen railway station and the hotel by walk (I mean the route is quite simple). They even provide free and nice coffee machine at the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Doelen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: