Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandton Chateau De Raay 4 stars

Raayerveldlaan 6, 5991 EN Baarlo, Netherlands

#5 of 6 hotels in Baarlo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 423 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    A really enjoyable stay in this luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was excellent from all staff, and our restaurant experience was really great, good food, wine pairings to match, and good service. A lovely luxury end to our holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    The quietness and history of the buildings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wait 1 hour and 10 minutes for 1 entree to arrive. The head waiter completely forgot us. If the restaurant had many people eating we would not have minded, but there was only 1 other table occupied at 6.26pm when we say down. We had to approach the waitress to ask the where abouts of the entree. Our entree arrived at 7.50pm.

    The quietness and history of the buildings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Very happy to have stayed here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of things: 1) The mattress protector wasn't big enough for the bed, meaning that the bed was effectively about 30cm narrower and one of us was sleeping on an 'edge'. 2) The menu in the restaurant is very 'haut cuisine', and so is the room service menu. We had great food there on a previous say, though, but it was priced. If, like us, you just want something simple like a steak (we had driven 400km that day) you need to walk into Baarlo itself (only about 1km). Still, a good place to stay!

    Lovely place - the second time that we have stayed here on a journey back to the UK from further east. Excellent staff and a beautiful old building with nice grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    The young employees working as waiters need some more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The young employees working as waiters need some more training. They are too relaxed for the image the premises would like to project. Like: different wines are not supposed to be served in the same glass ! When you spill water on the table you are serving at, you are supposed to clean it and not leave it there :(

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel, with excellent staff, and outstanding food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slow, but ok The bed was too soft for my personal taste, but that's my preference, not a criticism

    The hotel was stunning, and had a beautiful feel to it The staff were friendly and incredibly attentive, without being intrusive The food is exceptional, and the chef is passionate and knowledgeable The room was beautiful...well equipped and just what was required

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    One of my favourite hotels in Europe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant is incredible, I wish the breakfast was a bit fancier for that price.

    One of my favourite hotels in Europe. Great experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    A great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was beautiful, the bed was incredibly comfortable, the grounds are very pretty and quiet, the food in the restaurant was excellent. The chateau is a lovely old building and many original features have been kept, whilst the more modern parts of the hotel blend well with the older ones. We only stayed one night (sadly!) on our journey home from eastern Germany and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Ambiance of the property is very beautiful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance of the property is very beautiful and relaxing. Also the surroundings are great for a short walk or intensive run. The food in the restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Amazing and perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos don't do justice of the place. It's so much nicer in person. There is not a lot of restaurants around in walking distance (unless you like to walk a lot) but with the restaurant they have, why would you want to go anywhere else???!

    The service was extremely helpful, the food was out of this world (I had the lobster and it was amazing), the room was super nice and huge bathroom (great for when you are with three in the same room (no one is walking over each other). The terrace is amazing, the location calm, the food perfect, the ambiance equally to other compliments. All in all, I should have stayed a week, instead of a weekend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    The staff is super friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit disappointed to see that my room had no bathtub. Some of them have, some haven't. Also and most important, there were a significant number of flies and mosquitos in the room. I got stung several times during the night. I understand that the pond is very close to some of the rooms, but the hotel should do something about this.

    The staff is super friendly. The restaurant in the garden is just beautiful. It was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice and large bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is way too expensive (25 euros per adult and 20 euro per child): even if good, this is not worth it!

    Nice and large bedrooms Nice outside restaurant in the garden Bikes to rent for both adults and children

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room service was the worst ever. Food was poorly presented. The kipsate sauce was tasteless. Even the fries had no salt. We had to wait almost an hour because the restaurant was too busy. We were also restaurant customers . Lame excuse for a "fancy " restaurant as the one the hotel brag about. No compensation was offered for the long wait. It's better not to offer the room service if the kitchen cannot manage it. We also reported to the reception that the fridge in our room was not plugged in. An extension cord was required because there were more appliances than available plugs. That was never taken care of. We had to choose in between using the mini fridge or the reading lamp. Some of restaurant staff in the dinner service do a good job in terms of serving food , setting tables. However , they were not polite or customer friendly/oriented. The roof in the restaurant was leaking.

    The duck sculpture used as a " do not disturb" sign . Bedroom curtains. Our room had a small Walk in closet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    5.8
    NOT FANTASTIC AT ALL, NOT AT THIS RANK
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In comparison with the room that we had experienced a couple of months ago, this one, which should have been the same as confort one was quite much more "tied" than the previous one. The cleaness under the bed was not fantastic at all and probably not done since a couple of weeks... The small TV was set up on the table ...office table so not easy to watch from the bed and certainly not a optimize place...The bathroom was very cold despite the heating turned to 5, probably due to the fact that they left the middle age toilet in the bathroom (remember that they were doing they things through the wall outside...:-(. anyway this room is very cold. Additionnally the bathroom products have not been replaced on the second day which was very embarassing as we forget our shampoo :-(. Very noisy stairs as children and families not respecfull at all who were taking dinner in the veranda restaurant jump step back and forth in the step till 23h00 in the evening... Breakfast not fantastic at all, egg with bacon is a joke !! this is for children and again in a highly cold room, cold veranda as heating is coming from the top roof so ;-(

    charming, historical and nature oriented location, parking places well desserved

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    8.8
    beautiful castle, great room - breakfast extremly disappointing, spa missing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast for such a house is unacceptable. quality of food is very poor! discounter bread and cheese (in holland!!!) no fish, no vegan option (milk), nothing housemade - no spreads or small salads! beside cucumber and tomatoe nothing fresh and healthy. very very dissapointing! this must be changed!

    its a wonderful place, beautiful house and area in the woods. the castle-room was absolutely wonderful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    Cosy romantic weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit of a cosy size even though it was an upgrade (thanks!) but it was nicely decorated with wooden beams so it was less of an issue. Otherwise, it was nothing other than wonderful.

    The staff were lovely, and the grounds. We actually stayed on for a few hours after check out just to relax and read and have some drinks in the winter garden. Pity the weather wasn't very good so we culdnt benefit from the grounds to the maximum. The food at dinner was wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at checkin wasn't very informed about their own prices/offerings. The rooms have potential, lots of space and ancient beams, etc...and very little coziness or charm. We loved the Sandton Pillows in Zwolle and Gabe this one a chance because of the excellence there. Unlikely to be back.

    Lovely drive in through an old forest, the "do not disturb" duck used instead of a sign on the door 😊 And the big glass atrium restaurant space

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful Place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were much too soft for me and I felt stuck in the middle.. Not great for my back

    The rooms are absolutely beautiful, very peaceful place. The restaurant is amazing!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    Exellent. Very nice dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One little point. Boiled eggs at breakfast were hard instead of soft . Definately not the kitchen staff from the nigh before.

    Excellent dinner. Star level Good service, nice room with atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice setting, very quiet, wifi works well
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens and bath towels with spots Incredibly long waiting time at dinner (90min for a 2-course meal)

    Nice setting, very quiet, wifi works well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC needed in the summer.

    Love this place. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and overall very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice bed, nice castle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies on the breakfast pastries!! 2 hours to serve dinner of starter and main course!

    Nice bed, nice castle

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.3
    acceptable
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed's where terrible, costs backpain, shower in bath is dangerous !!, in and out difficult.

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    A lovely spot in the middle of nowhere.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect atmosphere with style and confort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Just a pity there is no swimming pool or spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a pity there is no swimming pool or spa

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Rooms great restaurant poor.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very poor restaurant food and service.

    Great rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Top !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top ! Bestes Hotel 👍🏻

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Very clean and beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    The bed was extra comfy and the room was really spacious...
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extra comfy and the room was really spacious with a really nice bathroom. The staff were really friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    super,we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but no salmon for breakfast

    everything super

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    The consumpsions are a bit expensive
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The consumpsions are a bit expensive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and it is one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and it is one of the quietest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Large modern bathrooms. Great staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything in bathroom is useless, i cant even find the shampoo. the breakfest should not be charged,not worth

    bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect Château....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ...

    Everything was fantastic .... beautiful room, beautiful surrounding, very nice restaurant... etc

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.9
    A hotel that was pleasing especially because of its interesting style
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to car park a Little tricky, since i arrived with a van

    Interesting style/architecture

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The character of the property

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't recall that I didn't like anything

    Room was very nice and spacious food was very tasty Bar (cellar) was interesting

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Luxury, pretty waitresses at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is beautiful... But for business trips to southern Limburg it's on the wrong side of the Maas

    Luxury, pretty waitresses at breakfast. Very professional staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.0
    Very nice restaurant and surrounding of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The same category rooms appear in the new district very outdated. Under the bed we found paper & lots of dust. Carpet in rooms a bit dirty, needs replacement.

    Very nice restaurant and surrounding of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice place, very professional and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit "tired", and breakfast was average given the 20€ price tag. Overall the premises are nice, yet need some freshening up.

    Nice place, very professional and friendly staff. Good quality dinner. Overall a good quality for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Super nice location, With a well balanced mix of historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not much, just the bathroom could have been a bit more thoroughly cleaned.

    Super nice location, With a well balanced mix of historical and modern facilities. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Beautiful setting, wonderful food, good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a suite, which was massive and comfortable but could do with a refresh. The tea/coffee making facilities could be improved, and I would expect complimentary water in the room at this standard of hotel.

    Beautiful setting, wonderful food, good rooms.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    The elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The elegance. The quiet. The view over the neighboring farm. The fast wifi. The outdoor dining. The above-average breakfast buffet. The covered bicycle area. We will return to this area just to stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Verder uitstekend hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    het bleek niet mogelijk in het hotel te eten 's avonds vanwege reserveringen. Dat is fout, want de keuken staat goed bekend en dan moet je als hotelgast ten alle tijden kunnen dineren. Schuif tafeltjes bij oid, maar los dat probleem gewoon op ipv botweg nee te verkopen.

    Verder uitstekend hotel. niets op aan te merken verder.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    7.1
    Nice location and old building, good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Door shut around 22.00, staff didnot respond. Toilet and shower under a low roof. Wifi signal not very strong

    Nice location and old building, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.8
    Perfect relaxing accomodation with wonderfull restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect relaxing accomodation with wonderfull restaurant... Very laid back surroundings

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    The room was excellent very clean, wonderful views and...
    • Couple

    The room was excellent very clean, wonderful views and comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly and the food wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    9.6
    Very comfy overall feeling.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Selection of beers and open wines could be wider in the bar.

    Very comfy overall feeling. Attentive staff. Spacious, quiet room, very good bed

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    8.8
    Perfect restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    10
    Fabulous restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arrived in the evening and had a bit of trouble finding the hotel in the dark.

    Fabulous restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    8.8
    soft, comfortable and wide bed
    • Business trip
    • Group

    soft, comfortable and wide bed

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.9
    The restaurant at the hotel is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They couldn't arrange 2 masseuses at same time while advertising lots of possible massages

    The restaurant at the hotel is excellent

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.5
    The "castle rooms" are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular

    The "castle rooms" are great!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff and hotel lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Staff and hotel lovely

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Location and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and ambiance

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.6
    - fantastic bed, the most comfortable ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - fantastic bed, the most comfortable ever! - good breakfast, large choice - very nice dining hall

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Sandton Chateau De Raay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: