Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de Wereld 4 stars

5 Mei Plein 1, 6703 CD Wageningen, Netherlands

#5 of 13 hotels in Wageningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing. It would be nice to have the option of something cooked.

    Really nice place and super friendly staff. Also great restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room - 105 - was large, clean and tidy, but not very welcoming (just cold wooden floors and not many furnishings) and a little cold. The bathroom was spacious but cold and not very well laid out. For the price, I didn't think it represented great value, considering I didn't see many other guests.

    The friendliest staff of almost anywhere I have stayed - very helpful when my flight was delayed and very welcoming on arrival. It really made a difference. The breakfast was excellent - both the food and location. Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a disappointment - no charm whatsoever (I expected some charm from a historic property like this). It was quite sterile with very uncomfortable beds (saggy mattresses). No extra blankets were provided. However, the bathroom was spacious, and I appreciated the coffee maker in the room.

    The location is great if you want to be in the Wageningen area. The hotel has a very good restaurant where we enjoyed a great dinner. The people working there all seem quite nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark and not very luxurious.

    Not totally up to standard, needs some work to meet the expectations with a high class restaurant en a famous name.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtains in room 9 was broken and hanging like there had been a war in the room. Get that fixed, then the room is very nice (when you get used to the ventilator in the night ;o)

    The personal at the breakfast was smiling and kind, and making the start of my day a pleasure!! Thanks for that!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, all perfect

    excellent location close to city centre and bus station. staff very professional and friendly. stayed in the same room as 3 years ago (the suite- was this just a coincidence?), beautifully furnished room, very modern. breakfast was ample - cereals/fresh fruit salad/boiled egg/various cold meats and cheese/croissants and breads/jams/tea, coffee, fresh orange juice. lots of history attached to this hotel. would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy neighbourhood. Groups of young people shouting in the street below up to 06:30 am! Windows of the room not protecting against noice well enough. Old mattress that need to be replaced. No air conditioning in the room. Nobody at the reception when we arrived and it was difficult to find someone. Breakfast table of some other guest so close to the buffet that it was difficult to squeeze in between. I had a terrible night! Never again.

    Nice big rooms, clean hotel located near city center with excellent parking facitily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dusty, and the toilet area smelled unpleasantly. The bathroom had hairs and nails lying on the floor. On our request, the room was vacuumed and the bathroom was mopped, but this did not significantly improve the cleanliness of the facilities. There was a sign to save water and the environment by reusing the towels, however, there were no facilities to properly hang your towels to dry. We used the central heating units and open windows instead. Definitely something to improve on perhaps by installing a rack to properly hang used towels.

    Hotel/restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food in the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was one of the hottest nights of this Dutch summer. I understand air conditioning cannot be installed.

    The spacious room and bathroom, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything I didn't like!

    I loved the historic ambiance of the place and it's great location. The room was really comfortable...spacious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airco available in room, usually not a big issue with the Dutch climate, but with current very high temperatures this makes the room less comfortable then it could be.

    Excellent and very comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was huge, and it was a bit expensive, and there was no second option. That being said, I was not forced to eat the breakfast at the hotel. I would have preferred a lighter option, maybe just the granola bar and cereal for a reduced price. This would not affect my future decisions. I would stay again either way.

    Location was maybe the most important, and best thing about the hotel. The staff was great as well. Without fail they answered every question, and addressed every issue that I brought to them. I also enjoyed the historical photographs. Prior to visiting I didn't even know about the capitulation room! Over all great stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance double doors seemed narrow and didn't open quite wide enough when we came in with suit cases. The breakfasts were very nice but perhaps it could have been varied slightly rather than boiled eggs , breads and meats every day.

    The hotel was in an excellent location for us as we hired bikes. Incidentally, the bike tracks around the hotel are really lovely. The staff that we met we all extremely nice and attentive and spoke English! The room 1.01 was very spacious and provided everything we required.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The modern designed room has several old and exotic elements in it, also a full assortment of coffee, tea and refreshments available with the right glasses and cups. The bedroom is spacious and it comes with an additional big meeting room "en suite”. The staff is polite and very friendly, always ready to help with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved the location of the hotel, very close to the festivities for liberation day. The hotel is a short walk from the bus station. We loved the hotel and the room. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The particular room I had was not accessible by elevator. But the other rooms are.

    Small nice hotel in the centre of Wageningen. The hotel is in a historic building. Clean, comfortable, spacious. I certainly would return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes not been able to find an employee Condition of the bath was lousy They replaced the good bean based coffee machines with cheap Nescafé Dolce Gusto Piccolo ones

    Comfortable bed Constant and hot water in the shower Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the refurbishing of the hotel is strident with the history of the hotel. The breakfast is abundant but there is no choice, you are served with what they have.

    The size of the room, the cleanliness, the availability of the staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got an upgrade for a suite. That meant a huge space for me. Very convenient to get some work done in the morning. A good table and chair and good coffee. Breakfast was excellent as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was pricey.

    Beautifully restored historic hotel with large, clean, comfortable rooms. Quaint village atmosphere on the streets outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot as it was the last floor and when I opened the windows, I was right on the street side, very much noise. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good but they have the buffet for cereals but after you have had it they bring egg, ham and cheese. It would be good to know this before you eat the cereal!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never enough hooks in bathroom. A bit loud, you can hear people in corridor as if they stand next to you.

    Great location, very nice room with large bathroom. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing is the room could use an air conditioning but it definitely is not a deal breaker :)

    We loved everything. This is our 4th time to Hotel De Wereld and definitely won't be the last :) Restaurant O Mundo is perfect! The food is sublime! Atmosphere, staff , presentation is just perfect! Their breakfast deserves a 5 star!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    unreliable and sometimes slow internet connection

    Great location, very spacious room, clean, comfortable and functional; very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing staff that goes above and beyond! The perfect place to stay if you are in Wageningen for a dissertation defense.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine restaurant and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfy and our room spacious. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linens were too warm for the temperature.

    Cleanliness and efficiency.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a bit cleaner. Room was quite dusty in corners

    Wonderful calm spot with very friendly staff and beautiful interior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very kind and helpful. The rooms are very large and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise late at night

    People

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expansive

    Position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make-up lighting in bathroom poor. Payment arrangements vague, eg for minibar.

    Lovely simple design, comfy beds

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    The room was larger than expected and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very spacious rooms, great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large room under the roof, with a huge bathroom. All very comfortable. Breakfast was very good also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening the windows in the bedroom was tricky!, however we had a fantastic bedroom and loved staying in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Minutes from bus station... Restaurant top class... Staff extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very hot and difficult to open window - and to make it stay open!

    Spacious room, very friendly and accomodating staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was perfect. A pity there was some noise from students on the street during the night

    extremely friendly staff. Very spacious room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very kind. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in counter

    Room size and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise from a mechanical ventilation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge would be wonderful.

    It's a old hotel with unique history, and the room also reminded us movie plots😁

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great meal outside on the terrace Good Breakfast Good location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioned falfunctioning Low quality for a 4 stars Bad, small beds

    Free Nespresso Caps (4 for 2 days)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC in the room, only a small fan

    Central, large rooms and nice attentive staff. Will recommend further

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent, so comfortable and stylish.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The television had very few English options and no French. This wasn't a major problem, but a few more options late at night would have been appreciated.

    Restaurant was superb. Waiter was helpful and pleasant. Beds were extremely comfortable. History of the hotel was fascinating. View of the Hoogstraat from our window was delightful.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower in the bathtub, and not screened off very well. So I had a few liters of water on the floor afterwards, each morning. Slowish and erratic wifi.

    3 minutes walk from the bus station. Quiet area without significant traffic. Efficient and very friendly staff. Very spacious room with a beautiful faux-wooden floor and an excellent bed. French windows open onto a flat roof -- lots of air. Spacious and fully functional bathroom with lots of very hot water (1st floor). Good Dutch breakfast with fresh fruit salad, fresh orange juice and just-right boiled eggs. The restaurant is by far the best in town, both for food and for wine.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I felt this hotel was a bit dated now. Have been there a few years ago and it was fab. However, this time we weren't that impressed. The room looked very basic and a bit worn out. Tea ups are tiny coffee cups, which doesn't really work. No robes. It didn't live up to it's reputation anymore and lacked that 'special' feel. Breakfast was okay, but again at 30 pounds it was nothing special.

    Staff were, as always, very polite though and very professional. The bed was nice.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Don't have a reception. Breakfast is good but I prefer buffet breakfast than the waiter bring you things on the table.

    The room are very big. Especially if you have a child

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall experience was very good. Our room ( the suite ) was comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. Quiet location despite being very close to the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street noise from partiers on the street.

    The staff were fantastic. The bed comfy and the room was clean and neat. Breakfast was a feast with great coffee.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All my family stayed the night before my wedding in the hotel. We all arrived in different times, had different needs and the staff was absolutely helpful with everything!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very clean with modern decor and large bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and included plenty of fresh fruit salad and a good selection of warm bread.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The tv was very small. They did not have adaptors for electric sockets. There was a socket on the floor in the middle of the room which Can make the room un safe particularly for young kids. The windows can also improve.

    The bedding was very clean soft and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were professional and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experience at all - if I would make any minor suggestion at all it would be to vary the breakfast options just a little - especially if someone is staying there a week or so as I did.

    The staff were very good - treated me like part of the family, went along with my attempts to speak Dutch and made sure the stay was the best it could be. Dinners were excellent!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WiFi did not give any internet connection most of the second day of my stay.

    The restaurant is amazing ! Serving a delicious breakfast and diner in the evening is over the top.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    An excellent place to stay in W.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was looking a little tired. For a foodie hotel we were expecting a tastier breakfast.

    Very spacious suite for a family

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite soft beds, no hairdryer

    Good breakfast, nice interior, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Why the TV is very small. The bed is also not steady.

    The staff is good.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bad service at the bar/restaurant Floor in the room was dirty

    Nice facilities, spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was more than excellent, and the staff extremely friendly and service minded

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Will be better if there's more channels provided in TV and probably bigger TV than the one in the room.

    Staffs are very kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Facilities provided for the money paid are very good. Real value for money.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was smelly.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Palatial rooms; my room had a bath and two separate showers! Generous breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Top class restaurant; efficient service; clean, uncluttered environment

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Er kon geen raam open in de kamer en er is geen airco of iets dergelijks. Benauwd dus.

    Prima plek, aardige bediening

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the coffee machine in the room and the orange juice at breakfast were great

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    freindly staff

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de Wereld traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: