Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cafe Restaurant Duinzicht 3 stars

Badweg 17, 9166 ND Schiermonnikoog, Netherlands

#3 of 12 hotels in Schiermonnikoog

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 744 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sleep in the front of the hotel and it was very noise on the street, out of the hotel were many smoking people I don't like that.

    I don't write English, the bed and the room were clean and oké, we only used the breakfast, I don't know how was the lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath or Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was not quite to my taste, but there's nothing I could complain about.

    Good breakfast, spacious room, good restaurant. A nice, well maintained old style small hotel, extended with newer wing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI in the room did not work at all, only outside of the room. (Even though it was clearly stated when booking that WIFI would work everywhere in the hotel.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much noice from the street at night, and not enough light in the room and bathroom

    We did like the crew at the bar late night and the breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    prices for food in the restaurant were rather high

    the location and the room are excellent, the staff, breakfast, bar are very good, the restaurant was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very sweaty mattresses, plastic cover?

    Lovely family hotel, friendly and welcoming staff. In a central spot just outside centre of village, on the way to the main beach. Good breakfast buffet, but few fruits. Comfortable single rooms!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Bath or Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a busy holiday (Pinksteren/Pentecost) weekend on the island, so all of the electricity crashed at some point (this is out of the hotel's control, of course)... & the wifi was very slow, so it wasn't possible to get any work done (though perhaps this was for the best, as we spent all day cycling & exploring instead). I do wish there'd been a small refrigerator in the room (for open dog food cans, grocery store milk, etc). Also, the provided toiletries basically consisted of one type of liquid soap/shampoo that smelled strongly of men's deodorant (something odorless would have been preferable). & given that there was no air conditioning (though the fan was nice), it would've also been nice if the windows had wire meshing so we could open them at night without letting in mosquitoes. All of that being said, we had a great time at the Duinzicht Hotel – we would absolutely recommend this place to others, & would be happy to stay there again on future trips to Schiermonnikoog!!

    Great location near beautiful nature; friendly, accommodating staff; breakfast included (with delicious Frisian suikerbrood / "Fryske sûkerbôle"); clean, spacious rooms (which included an electric teapot with teabags, instant coffee, & sugar); & most importantly – dog-friendly (our #1 priority)!!! The hotel's restaurant is also quite good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, old fashioned room (- but to be expected in old hotel). Strange square, uncomfortable pillows (- but these seem to be a feature of many dutch hotels). No air conditioning.

    Great looking, old fashioned hotel. Good location on edge of village, near cycle hire shop, straight onto paths into woods and only 15 minutes walk to a wonderful beach. Very professional staff. Decent bar, outdoor seating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old hotel, so comfort and bedroom facilities aren't great. We asked for a baby cot and it looked like it's been used for decades. The mattress is just very hard, we had to improvise to make it comfortable for our son. 2 twin beds joined together didn't really work, a gap in the middle kept showing up. Overall, needs upgrading especially for the price we had to pay for a night.

    Location is good. Close to the village and close to the beach. It's a small island, so everything is close by. Playground for kids is great. Breakfast is just average.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are paper thin, we could follow conversation in room next to us. As a result we didn't sleep well or long. Room and closet were not clean.

    Location is good, breakfast is ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Very friendly staff, rooms were clean. The restaurant was average, not special but not too bad either. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast in the morning. The kids had a great time in the small playground too. The room was big and clean although a bit dated in decor. Perfect for our stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Specially the food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath or Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Later checkout time. 10 is a bit early

    Just top and great value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and also good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, great staff and felt like home. amazing place to get away and have some me time! Will definitely be going back...!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's at the expensive end but given location that's understandable

    friendly staff, beds were good, breakfast decent, nice location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Savned fresh fruit, god juice and smoothies.

    Central location friedly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Bath or Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too hot

    Nice bath

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps a bid outdated, but that' part of the deal and experience at a dutch islan liek Schiermonnikoog, so bascially not bad at all.

    Great breakfast and personal treatment by the staff! The know you and great you with your name and they know your roomnumber, excellent personal attention from the staff, awesome! Room was clean and spacious! GREAT place to stay the weekend!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Expensive.

    The manager was very helpful and added mattress toppers to the firm mattresses. Very relaxed atmosphere. Seriously like going back to the 1970's!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This may sound odd, but the servings in the restaurant were too big. Maybe people need hearty servings after a day walking and riding, but I am concerned about wasting food in a world where too many go hungry.

    I expected a bit of a cramped room and was immediately delighted with the space, and the balcony. The bed was comfortable, although I could have done with a choice in pillow. The breakfast was well done; I always give points for breakfasts where vegetables are served. The location was very good, very central.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the bathroom was very little

    Well located, good breakfast, strange building

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Matrasses were ok, but warm (too warm for my personal liking)

    A lot of space in the room Breakfast times till 11:00 Very friendly staff

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: