Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Passage 2 stars

Paktuinen 8, 1601 GD Enkhuizen, Netherlands

#7 of 7 hotels in Enkhuizen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

5.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.6

  • Comfort

    4.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    4.6

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    5.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not clean, in our stay in hotel were repair works being done. Personal understand English so-so, mostly like in a joke if do not understand than just smile and tell "yes-yes".

    price and good location. in 50m there is a brewery with a very tasty beer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell. Shower could only provide boiling hot water so normal showering was not possible. Breakfast is very minimal.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.

    everything is fine! a large clean room with a large bathroom. city ​​center, close to all sights. very attentive and polite staff!breakfast is excellent! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean. Window of the room could not be opened because it was full of spiders and webs and it probably have never been washed. And of course no air conditioning. Maintenance lever of rooms and corridors very mediocre.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit tired despite having been semi refurbished and the bathroom was quite dark. It the shower was a good strength with loads of hot water. The bedroom was stuffy, no aurcon, no fan, we left the window open and it wasn't too noisy despite the central location. Probably the grittiest hotel my mum has ever stated in but it did the job :-)

    This small hotel is a bunch of rooms above an Asian restaurant right in the centre of Enkhuizen. It was good value compared to the other options and the included breakfast was fine. We were allowed to store our bikes in an unused part of the restaurant and the helpful young staff member who checked us in took my mum's bags from her and carried them up to our room on the first floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The winding, two flights of stairs. It is not healthy for pensioners and people with mobility problems. They will have to be hoisted or carried to the second and third floor.

    Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not bad but on street. However, free and every 3 hours to turn clock on! Not a problem.

    Really useful being central to this lively small town. You can walk everywhere!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for one night during a month long cycle trip. Although we paid here roughly the price we paid everywhere else, the quality of this hotel was dramatically inferior There was no proper reception, and an indifferent check in occurred through the restaurant. The shared areas of the hotel were very run down - and the room itself was charmless and extremely shabby: Holes in the plaster, peeling wall-paper, ill fitting windows and curtains The room was over hot , but opening the windows brought in much traffic noise from the busy road outside

    The hotel was helpful in allowing us to store our bikes inside, and holding our luggage for a few hours after checkout

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a room that was really dirty..when I complained I was moved to a newer looking room but flirts impressions where not great

    Close to train station and the sea school I was attending

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No telly that worked, no coffee making facilities, rooms in need of decor. Paid €71 for the night, left before breakfast

    Staff very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and I did enjoy the location. I stayed elsewhere when my wife arrived to Enkhuisen, couldnt fault staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were inadequate. Our first one was very hot when we entered; we drew the curtains to close out the light, but one had an 8" tear along its 5" seam, which meant light could not be kept out (and of course, it was unsightly). We switched rooms, but did not check it adequately; it was on a lower level (2nd floor) and faced a utility wall, approached by a small roof over a 2-story building, which it turns out was accessible from another door which was open and unlocked — i.e., our room was really NOT safe. AND the roof deck was littered with an old used dish and silverware, napkins, and some other debris. AND our room did not have a closet! In fact, it proved to be the ONLY room with such a dismal view, and unsafe to boot, So we moved a THIRD time. The first time, in over 30 trips abroad, that has ever been the case. The door at the entrance, leading to the stairs to the rooms, was supposed to be accessed by a key, but it was ALWAYS open. Safe??? The breakfast offerings were the standard - to be expected, I guess. but we would have preferred to forego paying for it and going elsewhere. The staff there was very pleasant, but it too was inadequate; there are not enough people on the desk. No was no one available right away to check in people; it took us HALF AN HOUR to check in (to that abysmal first room). Our overall impression? Hotel du Passage is being run by someone interested in milking every ounce of profit by providing minimal service, with hopes that clients will not, or do not know how to, complain. Probably true in most cases. Not with us. .

    The location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still waiting for my bill.

    Cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was an issue. staff unhelpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filty. I almost stick to the floor in restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene level should be improved.

    Location of the hotel was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast - great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Standard of basic maintenance of accommodation.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    clean, nice staff and great location. I thought the value was a bit lacking paying over 70 euros for a really basic room but it did the job.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too difficult to carry bags on stairs ..

    Location and restaurant of hotel ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was under construction

    Breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of shower wasn't controllable

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room ok, common areas would benefit from a serious refresh, smelly due to restaurant kitchen

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs to a somewhat barren room

    Close to the old town and the harbour

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no arrangement for dinner nearby. But plenty of places nearby for lunch/breakfast.

    Breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    need a permit to park over night room ok but bed not

    easy to find

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    General Ambiance

    Area, Value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spiders everywhere in the room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't sleep because I discovered a big spider on plafon. To warm, impossible to open the window

    Good location, near train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets stained, wallpaper peeling off. Cracked masonry. Toels, very rough.

    The breakfast and clean comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower was rubbish. There was only 1 pillow each and they were rather thin for my taste. There weren't any spares. Also, I would have expected tea & coffee making facilities.

    Great location, 5 minutes from the train station. Very reasonable for a traveller on a budget.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice people, close to the airport, they transport was very nice organized . We arrived at 23.00 hours they arrange the transport from the airport to the hotel. Next day the transport back so we could go to the city center, and the next day we left at 6 in the morning. And they where waiting for us to bring us to the airport again :)

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have a mini-fridge with drinks or anything like a bottle of water in the room. The hotel is on top of a Chinese restaurant, though. The furniture and the interior design was arguably ugly.

    It was clean, indeed. Better than expected. The sheets were clean and the bathroom clean and big.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was a disaster!!!!! The whole place stank of fried food from the restaurant below. Window could not be closed (broken) and the radiator did not work.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The roof leaked throughput the night and there was no one on site to do anything about it. I have asked for a refund and emailed twice now and had no reply.

    The staff in the evening were very helpful, not so in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the broom was difficult to get to because the stairs were steep and winding. although I am 66 years old the staff offered no help and getting my bags to my room. the room was very hot. I had to leave the door open in order to get any air into the into the room.

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was old, very smelly(over the restaurant kitchen, smelled like loempias). Also, the shower was duckedtaped to the wall, the toiletbrush and the bin were rusty.

    The location was good

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Steep stairs to rooms.

    Pleasant room Good bed Free wi-fi Excellent Chinese restaurant underneath

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not an very friendly vibe.....

    Comfortable room with a big bath ! Excellent buffet breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    dated hotel and not very clean. wifi didn't work.

    cheap and location was good

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pass!!

    The owner realised that I was not happy with the room. She made a great effort to please. The standard of the rooms however are poor.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Du Passage traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: